Ratings based on 49 reviews Last review 2 days ago

Barclays business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at Barclays is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to many...

Read Full Description

owners, Smart Money People is becoming the UK's leading source of Barclays business banking reviews. Remember that you can write yours too, and join our mission to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

5 13
4 19
3 10
2 4
1 3

Our Smart Money People 360° Rating

OK Business Banking Rating
Combines our customer review data set with wider market analysis. Find out more here.

Your Business Banking Reviews (49)

2nd January 2017

Quick, Easy and Good Value for Money

Very quick and easy to set up over the phone without ever having to take time off work to go into a branch. The advisors were very helpful and talked me through the whole process. As I am a new limited company, I get my first year of banking free which is...

Read more

Very quick and easy to set up over the phone without ever having to take time off work to go into a branch. The advisors were very helpful and talked me through the whole process. As I am a new limited company, I get my first year of banking free which is great!

24th December 2014

excellent

Excellent service. My Business Manager at my branch was brilliant, he showed interest in my business & myself. My business manager also arranged a pop up shop for me at my local branch which gave my business the boost & publicity it needed.

23rd February 2015

An honest approach

I have used a number of banks for my businesses over my lifetime - including all the main banks. I have found Barclays approach to be the most straightforward and really honest too. Not everything goes smoothly 100% of the time, but good communication and...

Read more

I have used a number of banks for my businesses over my lifetime - including all the main banks. I have found Barclays approach to be the most straightforward and really honest too. Not everything goes smoothly 100% of the time, but good communication and a can do attitude really help!

5th March 2015

Attuned to mine and my businesses needs

I run a small business and have been pleasantly surprised by Barclays. The process of opening an account is relatively painless and so far the account has served the business very well.

25th June 2015

Great local banking

I've been lucky enough to have a personal relationship manager throughout my time with Barclays. He always tries to be helpful and actually demonstrates a real interest in what we do, so I highly recommend Barclays for personal business banking.

17th October 2014

Great account for new and small businessess

I have had two small businesses accounts with Barclays since 2012. I have direct access to a local business manager via both email and a telephone number. This relationship manager is also supported by a telephone team. The first year of banking is free....

Read more

I have had two small businesses accounts with Barclays since 2012. I have direct access to a local business manager via both email and a telephone number. This relationship manager is also supported by a telephone team.

The first year of banking is free. The second year sees some small, but reasonable charges apply.

Barclays also put you onto their Connector programme which publishes advice on running a small business, this is not so useful, but as it only means you receive emails that give you the option to access further information or not, it is not intrusive.

In summary, great for anyone starting a business.

18th November 2014

Not the most efficient

Overall, I'm quite happy with Barclays - I've never thought of leaving...but I would say that they don't seem to be the quickest / more attentive to business needs. Sometimes things feel like they take too long, or standard questions seem to throw them a bit

Read more

Overall, I'm quite happy with Barclays - I've never thought of leaving...but I would say that they don't seem to be the quickest / more attentive to business needs. Sometimes things feel like they take too long, or standard questions seem to throw them a bit

23rd March 2015

Recommended

I appreciate the ease of access that this account provides, as well as the good online provision. Could be easier to physically speak to someone in person, but on the whole, really provides a good level of service for our needs.

14th November 2014

Tried to open an account...3 weeks wait for appointment!

I was urgently trying to open a business account, and was offered an appointment 3 weeks away...called HSBC and got one in 2 weeks. Maybe they are so good that you just have too wait, but i couldn't wait the extra week

23rd December 2014

Luck whether you speak to someone good on the phone. Charged me for a problem with their international payments documentation.

I've just started my own business designing rucksacks, getting them manufactured in China and brought to Europe. I needed a bank with an international reputation who could handle my international payments to China. My payment didn't go through due to Barclays...

Read more

I've just started my own business designing rucksacks, getting them manufactured in China and brought to Europe. I needed a bank with an international reputation who could handle my international payments to China.

My payment didn't go through due to Barclays failing to include my business address. I called to tell them to amend this. They did but they charged me an amendment fee.

The following took 4 hours of my time to fix. I called to complain, fix their process for future international payments and fairly receive the £20.

My first call was 1 hour long. the first person I spoke to treated me as a threat, telling me I was wrong and failing to grasp my problem. She passed me to two wrong departments and had explained my problem incorrectly to each. When I was finally put through to the correct department, someone accidentally hung up on me.

I called back. An amazing customer services person came on the phone and fixed everything. I'm thrilled I was allotted this person on the phone lottery.

Mixed bag. Broken documentation policy, no admittance of a problem until I complsined a second time. I told I need a work around and there is no solution.

I applaud the final person I spoke to but I'm on the look out for a bank that takes international business payments transactions seriously.

23rd January 2016

No support for cricket club

I use Barclays for my cricket club's accounts. The cricket club operates on very tight margins and when I asked Barclays to support a major fundraising event, they declined. This was very disappointing - I'm sure Barclays could have offered something in the...

Read more

I use Barclays for my cricket club's accounts. The cricket club operates on very tight margins and when I asked Barclays to support a major fundraising event, they declined. This was very disappointing - I'm sure Barclays could have offered something in the way of support.

12th March 2015

Mistakes opening my account, and not interested in helping me develop my business

Really awful. Mistakes, potentially (because of my personal circumstances) putting me in actual physical danger, as (entirely unknown to me) they used the wrong details, the wrong address from a long closed account. I ended up getting compensation (though...

Read more

Really awful. Mistakes, potentially (because of my personal circumstances) putting me in actual physical danger, as (entirely unknown to me) they used the wrong details, the wrong address from a long closed account. I ended up getting compensation (though no proper apology) - this is just 4 weeks after I opened the account. What a start.

Then no interest in helping me to get some cashflow finance sorted - my Business Manager was dismissive and I got no support at all.

And counter staff unhelpful and surly when I tried to change some money.

Website seems ok, but on a personal basis, terrible. I will be looking elsewhere once I have summoned up the courage to actually try and close the account.

Articles related to Barclays