Voting in the British Bank Awards is now open! Share your feedback & enter our £1,000 prize draw.Vote now

Aviva Complaints

At Smart Money People, we use the power of your reviews to help change financial services for the better. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong - whether it be car insurance, pet, life or home insurance, or one of...

Read Full Description

At Smart Money People, we use the power of your reviews to help change financial services for the better. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong - whether it be car insurance, pet, life or home insurance, or one of the other policies from Aviva. You may even be experiencing problems with your pensions or investments from Aviva, and when things don't go quite to plan, sometimes you have to escalate your dissatisfaction with a company. That's why we want to improve the way that companies deal with complaints from customers.

Read and write public complaints

Smart Money People was launched in 2014, and is dedicated to helping consumers get the inside track into the financial services industry. That’s why we’re now offering public complaints. With the help of your complaints we can help make the financial industry work better for everybody. Here’s how:

Voice your complaint in a public forum
Help others and drive real change
Have your complaint sent to Aviva

We believe that your complaints can help other consumers get the inside track on what being a customer with Aviva is really like. That’s why, by sharing your public complaint with us, you can start to help other consumers make better decisions today. You'll be helping us to drive real change by increasing trust and transparency in the financial services industry.

How do I make a Aviva complaint?

We’ve got the simplest (and quickest) way to leave a public complaint. Once you’ve submitted your complaint, we’ll pass it to the complaints department at Aviva. Your complaint will also be displayed publicly on Smart Money People, the UK's review and insight site for financial services, which will help others who might be having similar issues to yourself.

Aviva currently has a score of 4.17 / 5 on Smart Money People.

Disagree with this rating? Your complaint will help to influence this rating, so let your voice be heard and share your experiences with everyone. It’s quick and easy to leave your Aviva complaint below, and we’ll never pass on your details to anyone other than Aviva.

Leave your complaint

Poor customer experienceRoom for improvement...Good customer experienceGreat customer experienceAmazing customer experience!
Not recommendedNot recommendedHmmm...Hmmm...Not lovedNot lovedMight recommendMight recommendYep, recommendedYep, recommended

View more Aviva complaints

See what other people like you have said about Aviva.

10th December 2018

Lost 50% funding in one year.

My pension since 2001 has been doing well in funding growth, suddenly I logged in on my account 10.12.2018 and shockingly 50 % of investment has been gone. NO idea where, no idea what happened. At least some calculation on my online account or...

Read more

My pension since 2001 has been doing well in funding growth, suddenly I logged in on my account 10.12.2018 and shockingly 50 % of investment has been gone. NO idea where, no idea what happened. At least some calculation on my online account or something would have been helpful. I regret that I didn't transfer my pension somewhere else. Its like Aviva has fed me for 13 years with giving me a joy of growth of investment and suddenly in 2 years since 2016 50% money gone. I will see if I can leave them asap.

21st November 2018

Incompetent company caused a county court judgement against me

In may 2017 I had a minor collision where I clipped a parked car. Reported it to Aviva and they arranged for my car to be repaired . This was done and I heard no more about it until September 2018, when I suddenly received a CCJ against me from...

Read more

In may 2017 I had a minor collision where I clipped a parked car. Reported it to Aviva and they arranged for my car to be repaired . This was done and I heard no more about it until September 2018, when I suddenly received a CCJ against me from Northampton county court claiming for the damage to theother car.. Contacted Aviva and forwarded all the documents received , they said it would be dealt with. It was not settled in time and I ended up with a CCJ on my credit history.

9th November 2018

Show Nothing But Contempt for Customers

Aviva paid me money on 4 April 2018 which is in period 12 of the 2017 tax year. They incorrectly told HMRC the money was paid on 10 April 2018 which is period 1 of the 2018 tax year. This error by Aviva had cost me over £2000 in tax. Despite numerous ...

Read more

Aviva paid me money on 4 April 2018 which is in period 12 of the 2017 tax year. They incorrectly told HMRC the money was paid on 10 April 2018 which is period 1 of the 2018 tax year. This error by Aviva had cost me over £2000 in tax. Despite numerous calls, emails and a letter to Andy Briggs their CEO no action has been taken to rectify their mistake. They show contempt for Thier customers. Avoid at all costs

19th September 2018

DO NOT BUY INSURANCE FROM AVIVA!!

Do not buy insurance from Aviva!...

Read more

Do not buy insurance from Aviva!
Worst company to deal with when you submit a claim.
2 months since a car accident where the other driver was at fault and charged and I still have not received a penny for my vehicle which Aviva wrote off.
On July 27, 2018 I was involved in a car accident where the other driver came out of a side street and side swiped my vehicle. Police was called, and the other driver charged since he was clearly at fault. Police filed a report, and, in turn, I submitted a claim with Aviva Insurance same day. Found out other driver has same insurance company. Aviva wrote off my vehicle though damage did not seem extensive to me. They low balled the value of my vehicle ($8,000 CDN). I made an argument that it should be more ($11,000 CDN) and submitted repair/upgrade bills to make my case. They responded that they will investigate but also pressured me into giving up my rental car within 5 days after the accident though rental cost were way below what I was entitled to. I was subjected to 2 lengthy interviews by Aviva that were more like interrogations questioning the accident and costs. Asked for a detailed written report from me and asked for a witness signature, Commissioner for Oaths, which resulted in lawyer fees. Before I obtained the signature, I sent a filled-out form (that had no instructions) to Aviva requesting a review to ensure it was completed correctly so it would not be rejected. Review came back good. I got the signature and submitted the form. It was rejected within 3 days by Aviva. Reason: "said loss was caused by" should have said "Collision" while I wrote in "Improper left turn by other driver". I refilled it out and got a new signature which resulted in more lawyer fees. 2 weeks since I submitted and still no response. I phoned the Aviva representative several times. No response and left voicemails. It is now Sep 19 and almost 2 months since accident and no compensation from Aviva.
Next stage is to get a lawyer and start litigation.
I have had insurance from Aviva for just over 10 years and paid them over $60,000 CDN in fees and this is how they treat you when you make a claim, and not a large one at that.
I have since cancelled my cars insurance, house insurance and cottage insurance with Aviva.
DO NOT BUY INSURANCE FROM AVIVA!

19th September 2018

DO NOT BUY INSURANCE FROM AVIVA!!

Do not buy insurance from Aviva!...

Read more

Do not buy insurance from Aviva!
Worst company to deal with when you submit a claim.
2 months since a car accident where the other driver was at fault and charged and I still have not received a penny for my vehicle which Aviva wrote off.
On July 27, 2018 I was involved in a car accident where the other driver came out of a side street and side swiped my vehicle. Police was called, and the other driver charged since he was clearly at fault. Police filed a report, and, in turn, I submitted a claim with Aviva Insurance same day. Found out other driver has same insurance company. Aviva wrote off my vehicle though damage did not seem extensive to me. They low balled the value of my vehicle ($8,000 CDN). I made an argument that it should be more ($11,000 CDN) and submitted repair/upgrade bills to make my case. They responded that they will investigate but also pressured me into giving up my rental car within 5 days after the accident though rental cost were way below what I was entitled to. I was subjected to 2 lengthy interviews by Aviva that were more like interrogations questioning the accident and costs. Asked for a detailed written report from me and asked for a witness signature, Commissioner for Oaths, which resulted in lawyer fees. Before I obtained the signature, I sent a filled-out form (that had no instructions) to Aviva requesting a review to ensure it was completed correctly so it would not be rejected. Review came back good. I got the signature and submitted the form. It was rejected within 3 days by Aviva. Reason: "said loss was caused by" should have said "Collision" while I wrote in "Improper left turn by other driver". I refilled it out and got a new signature which resulted in more lawyer fees. 2 weeks since I submitted and still no response. I phoned the Aviva representative several times. No response and left voicemails. It is now Sep 19 and almost 2 months since accident and no compensation from Aviva.
Next stage is to get a lawyer and start litigation.
I have had insurance from Aviva for just over 10 years and paid them over $60,000 CDN in fees and this is how they treat you when you make a claim, and not a large one at that.
I have since cancelled my cars insurance, house insurance and cottage insurance with Aviva.
DO NOT BUY INSURANCE FROM AVIVA!

2nd September 2018

Wanted to up my Pension each month

Made a request to raise the amount of my Pension each Month.. never instated. ? phonecalls are left on Hold.. for 20 plus minutes until someone answers then its the wrong department, then same again left hanging on.. Fraustation is the Word! ...

Read more

Made a request to raise the amount of my Pension each Month.. never instated. ? phonecalls are left on Hold.. for 20 plus minutes until someone answers then its the wrong department, then same again left hanging on.. Fraustation is the Word! Incompetent, Slow, deaf.. what is it?

View all 452 reviews