The Co-operative Bank Complaints

At Smart Money People, we use the power of reviews from consumers like you to help improve financial services. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong as a Co-operative Bank customer - whether it's your current...

Read Full Description

At Smart Money People, we use the power of reviews from consumers like you to help improve financial services. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong as a Co-operative Bank customer - whether it's your current account, a PPI (payment protection insurance) claim or your mortgage or savings. If things aren't quite going to plan, sometimes you have to escalate your dissatisfaction with a company in the form of a complaint. That's why we want to improve the way that companies deal with complaints from customers.

Read and write public complaints

Smart Money People was launched in 2014, and is dedicated to helping consumers get the inside track into the financial services industry. That’s why we’re now offering public complaints. With the help of your complaints we can help make the financial industry work better for everybody. Here’s how:

Voice your complaint in a public forum
Help others and drive real change
Have your complaint sent to The Co-operative Bank

We believe that your complaints can help other consumers get the inside track on what being a customer with The Co-operative Bank is really like. That’s why, by sharing your public complaint with us, you can start to help other consumers make better decisions today. You'll be helping us to drive real change by increasing trust and transparency in the financial services industry.

How do I make a The Co-operative Bank complaint?

We’ve got the simplest (and quickest) way to leave a public complaint. Once you’ve submitted your complaint, we’ll pass it to the complaints department at The Co-operative Bank. Your complaint will also be displayed publicly on Smart Money People, the UK's review and insight site for financial services, which will help others who might be having similar issues to yourself.

The Co-operative Bank currently has a score of 4.17 / 5 on Smart Money People.

Disagree with this rating? Your complaint will help to influence this rating, so let your voice be heard and share your experiences with everyone. It’s quick and easy to leave your The Co-operative Bank complaint below, and we’ll never pass on your details to anyone other than The Co-operative Bank.

Leave your complaint

Poor customer experienceRoom for improvement...Good customer experienceGreat customer experienceAmazing customer experience!
Not recommendedNot recommendedHmmm...Hmmm...Not lovedNot lovedMight recommendMight recommendYep, recommendedYep, recommended

View more The Co-operative Bank complaints

See what other people like you have said about The Co-operative Bank.

15th April 2019

After 40 years I have to leave these cowboys!

I have banked with the co-op since turning 16 years of age (40 years ago). Never been overdrawn in my life, no defaults ever with ANY lender, never missed a mortgage payment, top credit score with all agencies and have had for many years. I cancelled...

Read more

I have banked with the co-op since turning 16 years of age (40 years ago). Never been overdrawn in my life, no defaults ever with ANY lender, never missed a mortgage payment, top credit score with all agencies and have had for many years. I cancelled a Credit Card with Barclays and thought I would use my lifelong bank as they ALWAYS ask me to take out a credit card whenever I use phone banking. I asked for a modest credit limit (about equal to 1 months salaries paid into the bank and have been declined with no reason. I checked with he credit agencies as they suggested in their letter rejecting me, yet I have an "excellent" credit rating with all of them. My current account never has less than the credit limit in it as well. I only asked for a modest credit limit (less than half of the size of the Barclays account I had cancelled. After being messed about on the phone for two weeks now and still no reasons for the decline, I have decided to leave after 40 years with the bank. I cannot continue to deal with a company that can't even give me a simple logical reason for declining a trivial credit limit card and they apparently do not either value that loyalty or care that I am leaving. If you are thinking of using Coop bank for anything, I would suggest you look elsewhere because they clearly have zero loyalty or respect for long standing customers. I am surprised they can afford to lose customers with their well publicised financial irregularities and worrying solvency!

16th March 2019

Incompetent

Took out a Fixed rate bond which matured 2016. Received a form to send back with my instructions. When I heard nothing back I rang Co-op who said they never received the form yet had re-invested all my money into another bond. I asked how that could...

Read more

Took out a Fixed rate bond which matured 2016. Received a form to send back with my instructions. When I heard nothing back I rang Co-op who said they never received the form yet had re-invested all my money into another bond. I asked how that could be when they hadn't received my instructions. The person then admitted they had received them but a member of staff had not read my instructions correctly which was to partly re-invest and part to be paid into another account. Co-op admitted fault and apologised and I put down to human error and took out another Fixed rate bond which matured a week ago. Again received a form over a month ago which I returned immediately in the pre paid first class envelope. The paperwork from Co-op bank (no mention of Britannia) gives the option to request a text when they receive the form back. I never got a text and as no money appeared in my account with another bank as requested I rang the Co-op. Once again they say they had not received my instructions (once is an error, twice is incompetent) and it would take a month for me to get my money. Why I asked when the bond had matured and the money was now in an instant access Co-op account. I was going to split the money and leave half in a Co-op fixed rate account but this made me loose all confidence so I have asked for all my money to be transferred into a current account I have with another bank. Still I am told it could take up to 4 weeks but I said this is my money (a substantial amount) and I need it now. The position now is someone is going to ring me and try and speed things up. Why ? At any other bank if a Bond matures you can have the money after midnight the following working day after all it is your money. It would also be helpful, as is the case with other banks, to receive a letter giving the maturity value of the bond. I said I had requested a text confirmation of receipt of instructions but the person I spoke to said the bank don't offer that service and yet it is offered in writing on Co-operative Bank correspondence under the heading "Keeping you up to date" .The gentleman also said my bond is now looked after by the Britannia team so he had to speak to them which surely is a change I should have been made aware of. In the Co-Operative Banks Terms and Condition leaflet it gives out the number 03457 212 212 for complaints. Try ringing that number you will get an automated voice asking for your account number then when you key it in it tells you the balance and that's it. There is no option to speak to an operator and certainly no number to press to make a complaint as suggested. Funnily enough the balance I was given on the automated service was just over zero so now I am sat here waiting for that call from the Co-operative bank wondering where on earth my money is sitting. Today I received a text from Co-op asking for customer feedback on an insight survey and guess what happens when you log on to the web address given on the text - it doesn't exist. When I rang the Co-operative bank I actually felt sorry for the gentleman I spoke to because he was in all fairness polite, courteous and shouldn't be faced with problems like this. I do not put my comments down to individual members of staff but they are aimed at a bank which I feel does not value its customers and prints misleading information which is not fit for purpose.

8th September 2018

Ethical? I don't think so ...

I wanted to believe that this was an organisation I could trust - silly me!...

Read more

I wanted to believe that this was an organisation I could trust - silly me!

In 2008 I joined the Coop under the Ownhome mortgage deal and was given every assurance that this would always give me access to the full range of their mortgage deals. In 2018, when I have come to the end of my 2nd fixed term deal, Coop have changed their minds and are no longer offering any Ownhome clients any mortgage deals. That puts me on their standard variable rate with no option other than to move the mortgage to another vendor (if one is available!) or revert to their 4.99% Standard Variable Rate.

I don't really have enough words to explain how deeply disgusted I am in the way Coop have acted. Even worse any complaint I make will not change what is happening or bring any sanctions to the bank.

31st August 2018

Still Does not reply to emails

I have been quite happy with the Co operative Bank, locally and general account...

Read more

I have been quite happy with the Co operative Bank, locally and general account operation.
I received a letter from The Head of Customer Services, removing my overdraft service.
I have emailed to Customer Service on multiple occasions. I have yet to get a reply from any of them.
This lack of attention to customer queries and the common politeness of Customer Services gives me little confidence in the Management Control on the Head of Customer Services gives me little confidence in the Management. I emailed the Board directly but received no reply. 100% failure all round.
Time for a complete review of the Management Ethic.
I have not changed Banks because it is too complicated.
Why does the Bank find it necessary to do automatic Credit Checks for every customer every year, despite the customers conduct with the Bank after 6 years exemplary conduct of the Account?
Then a letter is sent by the Head of Customer Services, who has no telephone number, no email address, and no Mail Address.
This person does not exist!
I have a small CCJ from a company that was recently fined after admitting to forging documents and using other company details without permission, and using false names on communications.
The Co operative bank do not seem in the slightest interested in facts. When the Judgement was received in contacted Experian that had dropped my Credit reference from 800 to 400, and explained the position, they were aware of this company and promptly increased my reference to 840 out of 1000, an increase.
Co operative does NOT answer.
Credibility does not seem to be a priority.
Why when the rest of the operations is acceptable, slow but sure.

12th July 2018

Coop demonises Israel

The Cooperage have made it their policy to demonise the tiny state of Israel which they have no right to...

Read more

The Cooperage have made it their policy to demonise the tiny state of Israel which they have no right to do.
Israel is a democracy with elected government made up of Israeli Jews and Arabs.
Israel supports womens rights, gay rights education and helps with life saving surgery for some of its more violent neighbours, Israel helps other nations with technology and agriculture and so on.
It's neighbours have some detestable practices including hanging people for being gay, forbidding female education and women's rights, imprisoning people for practising faiths other than Islam and funding terrorist organisations.
Thank Co-op seels to demonise Israel and refuse to do business with any company that supports Israel and yet does nothing of concern to Israel neighbours, this is hypocrisy and to try to interfere with Israel as a sovereign nation is abhorrent.
I have closed my coop account and hope that others on reading this review will also bank elsewhere.
Ask the Co-op directly what their policy on Israel is and ask yourself do Co-op have the right to persecute a sovereign democracy?
Co-op the shameful bank !!!!!

22nd June 2018

Still notanswering emails, unacceptable in the electronic world

The Coop has not answered one...

Read more

The Coop has not answered one mail.
Pretty pathetic.
I had a letter from the Head of Customer services. If any person in authority signs a letter to you, they must be accesible. This person apparently does not exist. She has no phone number, email or contact address. Responsible Officers of any compant, entity, etc, must be contactable.
She cannot be contacted!

View all 256 reviews