Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2020 is open!VOTE NOW

The Co-operative Bank Complaints

At Smart Money People, we use the power of reviews from consumers like you to help improve financial services. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong as a Co-operative Bank customer - whether it's your current...

Read Full Description

At Smart Money People, we use the power of reviews from consumers like you to help improve financial services. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong as a Co-operative Bank customer - whether it's your current account, a PPI (payment protection insurance) claim or your mortgage or savings. If things aren't quite going to plan, sometimes you have to escalate your dissatisfaction with a company in the form of a complaint. That's why we want to improve the way that companies deal with complaints from customers.

Read and write public complaints

Smart Money People was launched in 2014, and is dedicated to helping consumers get the inside track into the financial services industry. That’s why we’re now offering public complaints. With the help of your complaints we can help make the financial industry work better for everybody. Here’s how:

Voice your complaint in a public forum
Help others and drive real change
Have your complaint sent to The Co-operative Bank

We believe that your complaints can help other consumers get the inside track on what being a customer with The Co-operative Bank is really like. That’s why, by sharing your public complaint with us, you can start to help other consumers make better decisions today. You'll be helping us to drive real change by increasing trust and transparency in the financial services industry.

How do I make a The Co-operative Bank complaint?

We’ve got the simplest (and quickest) way to leave a public complaint. Once you’ve submitted your complaint, we’ll pass it to the complaints department at The Co-operative Bank. Your complaint will also be displayed publicly on Smart Money People, the UK's review and insight site for financial services, which will help others who might be having similar issues to yourself.

The Co-operative Bank currently has a score of 4.12 / 5 on Smart Money People.

Disagree with this rating? Your complaint will help to influence this rating, so let your voice be heard and share your experiences with everyone. It’s quick and easy to leave your The Co-operative Bank complaint below, and we’ll never pass on your details to anyone other than The Co-operative Bank.

Leave your complaint

Poor customer experienceRoom for improvement...Good customer experienceGreat customer experienceAmazing customer experience!
Not recommendedNot recommendedHmmm...Hmmm...Not lovedNot lovedMight recommendMight recommendYep, recommendedYep, recommended

View more The Co-operative Bank complaints

See what other people like you have said about The Co-operative Bank.

25th June 2020

Dreadful!

Switched business account a few months ago. It took months to open the account as they lost the application once and the on the second attempt they took so long to process the information it timed out and I had to start from scratch. The business...

Read more

Switched business account a few months ago. It took months to open the account as they lost the application once and the on the second attempt they took so long to process the information it timed out and I had to start from scratch. The business online banking is dreadful, slow, clunky and many of the reports cannot be trusted (they are aware of this, but do nothing). There is no mobile banking app. There are few branches and they generally take an hour to pick the phone up.

25th May 2020

International transfer lost in cyberspace

Their systems are archaic. The on-line chat has a 10 person queue and the system logs you out automatically before you get to the head of the queue. How does that work for customers? It doesn't!...

Read more

Their systems are archaic. The on-line chat has a 10 person queue and the system logs you out automatically before you get to the head of the queue. How does that work for customers? It doesn't!
The phone service is a 30 minute wait - real expensive to call from Australia where I live and, because of the Bank's reduced operating hours, the call has to be made in the middle of my night.
Over a week ago, I requested an international transfer of almost £1000. This is my UK pension money that I transfer each month. It is sorely needed in these times of coronavirus. Not only hans't my transfer arrived, the Bank has not replied to my enquiries and complaints. This is not the first time monies have not arrived and the Bank has had to be chased up.
With service like this, I really don't see this bank surviving much longer.

21st May 2020

Incompetent,uncaring,bureaucratic cretins

Having spent the best part of two months trying to open a simple current account with no credit or borrowing facilities, as a non resident of the UK ,I can safely state that the Coop Bank is the worst bank I have ever had the misfortune of wasting my...

Read more

Having spent the best part of two months trying to open a simple current account with no credit or borrowing facilities, as a non resident of the UK ,I can safely state that the Coop Bank is the worst bank I have ever had the misfortune of wasting my time trying to deal with.The bank advertise current accounts for non residents on the internet making the claim that the procedure to open an account is simple.Once the process starts,only then are the mindless cretins in the bank's so-called security and vetting department in Skelmersdale revealed.The documentation demands from the aforementioned department go far beyond supplying a copy of one's paasport and copy proof of a residential address.No, the bank must have either "certified" copies or original documents.Bearing in mind that the person ,in this case, is applying from outside the country it is impossible to pop along to a branch in the UK and show original documentation.Certification means a written statement on the copy documentation from a notary public or the like ,which is not only an expensive exercise in the country where I am resident as well as being impossible during a lockdown.Correspondence from Skelmersdale to the Netherlands took three full weeks to arrive .One letter said that if I did not reply within 28 days my application would be rejected.I managed to reply within 28 days using expensive couriered post.To no avail -we must have certified documentation.Remember,I was trying to deposit money with this bank not borrow from them.I complained.I receieved an email telling me my complaint had been dealt with.Two weeks after that,again with a three week delay I received a letter telling me my complaint about lousy service,uncontactable telephone numbers and postal delays was not the fault of the bank but the peopkle delivering the letters and the Covid crisis.In short don't touch this bank with the proverbial barge pole.The whole organisation ,including the management and complaints team based in Manchester are totally useless and not fit for purpose.

7th April 2020

Switch to Co-Op and live the banking nightmare!!!

Horrific unreliable service....

Read more

Horrific unreliable service.

Can safely say this is the worst banking facility you will ever get with the most incompetent customer support, specifically the incredibly rude barking chav I spoke to called Helen from their security / fraud department whom hung up the call midway.

Having opened a current account with them only a week ago, it only took a few days of using the account to notice what a disgrace this so called bank is, anyone thinking of transfering over, think twice and then think again, the overwhelming negative reviews against Co-Op are not to be taken with a pinch of salt, only wish I had seen the reviews before I signed up and went through this nightmare with these crooks.

This is the only UK bank which will withold your faster payment transfer for an unknown amount of time and interrogate you on why you are transfering money, what the money is for, why you have used your overdraft and everything else under the sun.

These crooks held onto my faster payment made from my co-op account to another of my bank account in the same name, which i transfered to pay some bills.
There terms and conditions are a joke, it states faster payments usually are instant but can take upto 2 hours, "subject to further checks" and here is the golden point. They seem to think they are within their means to hold onto transfers for a indefinite amount of time, with no valid justification, just "random security checks" and no matter the impact on the customer. In 20 years of banking, I've NEVER had any bank or faster payment take more than a few min, maybe once it took upto 2 hours but when you join co-op you will realise those banks are a god-send with these crooks citing indefinite timeframes until their checks are complete.

Having waited over a day, and missed paying my bills which impacted my credit file, called several times, logged complaints to no use. These scum freeze your account whilst they are doing their "checks".

Am now just waiting to get my money out of and close my account. Having logged a internal complaint, I have the reference to escalate to the Financial ombudsman to shed light on their immorale ways. Major pain to have dealt with these crooks, but the morale of the story is everyone, go with larger establishments that are actually solely banking institutions, co-op are a food retailer and have branched out to banking, insurance and everything else that they deem viable to con people on....Jack of all trades master of none!

Just be prepared to experience delays, terrible support and utter incompetency if you ever try these crooks for your banking needs, something as a simple transfer will turn into a FBI interogation and them witholding funds for no valid reason or timeframe.

Shocking unethical and immorale banking policies and distasteful customer support - Stay away!

17th January 2020

Pay for a current account with terrible mobile phone insurance ?

Coop bank use an awful mobile phone insurance company supplying "refurbished" substandard phones and have horrible customer service who try and make it difficult to claim, spoils any of the good stuff that this bank have. Have been with them 20 years...

Read more

Coop bank use an awful mobile phone insurance company supplying "refurbished" substandard phones and have horrible customer service who try and make it difficult to claim, spoils any of the good stuff that this bank have. Have been with them 20 years but I'm going to leave. It's just not worth it when other banks use reputable companies.

14th December 2019

Nasty vicious bastards!

These nasty evil bastards would not leave me in peace. Constant bombardment of marketing material. I asked them to stop under GDPR rules, but these disrespectful shits told me that an advert for their banking app was 'essential product information' -...

Read more

These nasty evil bastards would not leave me in peace. Constant bombardment of marketing material. I asked them to stop under GDPR rules, but these disrespectful shits told me that an advert for their banking app was 'essential product information' - essentially lying to get around the law. They are not cooperative in any way. The only way I could get anything done was to write dozens of letters asking the same thing over and over and over again to the point where I threatened legal acton if they didn't perform a simple task like change of address. In the end the only way I could get them to stop was to close all of my accounts - even this took FOUR MONTHS!!! If you have a credit card, try finding out how much interest you pay each month - this is extremely difficult information to find - they deliberately hide it in the hope you don't notice. This is not 'cooperative' it's irresponsible at best and downright manipulative and nasty at worst! If this is good business practice in 2019 then I want none of it. Then they have the effrontery to tell me they have spent £17MILLION on their online banking - which as far as I can see is a new login screen with the same outdated pile of crap code on the back end that is at least 15 years old. £17MILLION for a facelift - utterly disgusting while there are people starving on the streets! Absolutely the worst banking service in the history of mankind. They should be banned from ever providing any financial services. 100% NASTY!!
I moved to TRIODOS - the difference is night and day! If you think cooperative are good it's only because you have no better experience to compare it to, make the switch and see what you have been missing out on!

View all 303 reviews