Want to share your consumer credit feedback? Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2019 is now open!Vote now

HSBC Complaints

At Smart Money People, we've been using the power of reviews from consumers like you since 2014 to help improve financial services. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong as an HSBC customer - whether your main bank...

Read Full Description

At Smart Money People, we've been using the power of reviews from consumers like you since 2014 to help improve financial services. It can be extremely frustrating, and often expensive when things go wrong as an HSBC customer - whether your main bank account, PPI (payment protection insurance) claim, savings, mortgages, or any other HSBC financial product. If things aren't quite going to plan, sometimes it feels like the only way to move forward is to escalate your dissatisfaction with a company in the form of a complaint. That's why we want to improve the way that companies deal with complaints from customers.

Read and write public complaints

Smart Money People was launched in 2014, and is dedicated to helping consumers get the inside track into the financial services industry. That’s why we’re now offering public complaints. With the help of your complaints we can help make the financial industry work better for everybody. Here’s how:

Voice your complaint in a public forum
Help others and drive real change
Have your complaint sent to HSBC

We believe that your complaints can help other consumers get the inside track on what being a customer with HSBC is really like. That’s why, by sharing your public complaint with us, you can start to help other consumers make better decisions today. You'll be helping us to drive real change by increasing trust and transparency in the financial services industry.

How do I make a HSBC complaint?

We’ve got the simplest (and quickest) way to leave a public complaint. Once you’ve submitted your complaint, we’ll pass it to the complaints department at HSBC. Your complaint will also be displayed publicly on Smart Money People, the UK's review and insight site for financial services, which will help others who might be having similar issues to yourself.

HSBC currently has a score of 3.74 / 5 on Smart Money People.

Disagree with this rating? Your complaint will help to influence this rating, so let your voice be heard and share your experiences with everyone. It’s quick and easy to leave your HSBC complaint below, and we’ll never pass on your details to anyone other than HSBC.

Leave your complaint

Poor customer experienceRoom for improvement...Good customer experienceGreat customer experienceAmazing customer experience!
Not recommendedNot recommendedHmmm...Hmmm...Not lovedNot lovedMight recommendMight recommendYep, recommendedYep, recommended

View more HSBC complaints

See what other people like you have said about HSBC.

15th April 2019

Should never have given me one

I was off sick from work. They never even asked me my current income or circumstances. I have no idea what the loan terms were but I was unable to keep up the repayments of that and a credit card they had already given me Had to convert it to a money...

Read more

I was off sick from work. They never even asked me my current income or circumstances. I have no idea what the loan terms were but I was unable to keep up the repayments of that and a credit card they had already given me> Had to convert it to a money management loan to pay back £150 a month whilst on benefits for about 6 years

15th April 2019

PPI Nightmare

I made a PPI claim over a year ago but HSBC still haven't paid me. They've made jump through hoops by making me provide documentation, bring it all + ID into branch and then claiming they don't know who I am? Had to get the ombudsmen involved who have...

Read more

I made a PPI claim over a year ago but HSBC still haven't paid me. They've made jump through hoops by making me provide documentation, bring it all + ID into branch and then claiming they don't know who I am? Had to get the ombudsmen involved who have aggreed with my claim and have stated HSBC must pay me out. That was over a month ago but HSBC still haven't paid me.

15th April 2019

Frustrating

I have so many problems with HSBC locking my debit card. It gets locked at least once a week and for a period of a few months they would lock it for security reasons every time I made a contactless payment. They might still do so but I've just stopped...

Read more

I have so many problems with HSBC locking my debit card. It gets locked at least once a week and for a period of a few months they would lock it for security reasons every time I made a contactless payment. They might still do so but I've just stopped using contactless because I couldn't be bothered dealing with it anymore. I also spend a lot of time in Norway and they also lock my card when it's used there, even though I always notify them when I'll be in that country and using my debit card.

I appreciate why banks have these security procedures but it's so excessive and my card has never been used fraudulently and isn't used in any way that could be considered suspicious. What makes it worse is that they never tell me they've done it and I only find out when I come to pay for something and the payment isn't authorised, which is always embarrassing. The only way I can then use the card again is to call their customer service line and the wait is normally between twenty minutes and an hour. They're never able to give me an explanation as to why it happens at all, let alone so frequently and then they always try to sell me on other products of theirs that I've now declined countless times.

12th April 2019

BUSINESS BANKING do not go there!! Awful and ongoing negative experience.

From start to finish the setting up of the business bank and ongoing internet banking issues have been frustrating to say the...

Read more

From start to finish the setting up of the business bank and ongoing internet banking issues have been frustrating to say the least.
I have complained 3 times to date and the service just plods on. Internet banking is a nightmare and fraught with IT issues, the latest being not use of the fob to set up standing orders for the past week. (informed by tel banking staff). Informed that I am not set up for telephone banking so need to go into my nearest branch to set up 4 standing orders............ in this day and age , really???? So I have had to fill a form in for telephone banking and wait for this powers that be to process this. BTW it took over 3 weeks to set up the business account, again in this day and age , really???? Awful experience! Would change banks but really cannot face the same issues elsewere.

26th March 2019

Closed my accounts without telling me why

I had been banking with them for years. Hand no...

Read more

I had been banking with them for years. Hand no problems.

Then one day I couldn't use my card. I couldn't go online, I couldn't do anything.
I was told they had closed my account but it looks like they never sent out the letter to give me notice and they have never told me why.

I explained to them what a ridiculous financial situation this has me in as I can't buy food and they said that I will receive a cheque in the post equivalent to the balance on my account.

What a ridiculous solution to someone who is saying they need their money NOW!

View all 977 reviews