Cumberland Building Society Reviews

  Ratings based on 11 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Smart Money People is the place for Cumberland Building Society reviews. Read and write reviews to help increase trust and transparency in Financial Services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Cumberland Building Society Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

64% of feedback is People related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: App

Cumberland Building Society Products 11

Plus Current Account

Simple and easy to understand the app.

I use this app on a daily basis to keep up to date with my spending. Very easy to understand.

Reviewed on 1st April 2021
Barbara Bates's avatar
Barbara Bates
Write a review

Plus Current Account

A trustworthy current account

I love the Cumberland Building Society. They don’t always get it right but the way they have helped people during the Coronavirus epidemic is brilliant. They have waived overdraft interest completely. This is the true morals of a building society. U... Read more

I love the Cumberland Building Society. They don’t always get it right but the way they have helped people during the Coronavirus epidemic is brilliant. They have waived overdraft interest completely. This is the true morals of a building society. Unlike Nationwide who are still charging 18.9%! Well done Cumberland in doing the right thing.

Reviewed on 23rd April 2020
Neil Gregs's avatar
Neil Gregs
Write a review

Plus Current Account

Great building society

Excellent current account with a fair overdraft rate compared to some of the banks and now the Nationwide Building Society, who are more like a bank!! You can use your debit card abroad with no charge which is a really fair approach.

Reviewed on 13th January 2020
Neil Gregs's avatar
Neil Gregs
Write a review

Plus Current Account

A great Building Society

They offer a fair current account overdraft, as they should as a building society. Unlike Nationwide! They allow you to use your debit card worldwide with no fee. Their customer service is in the U.K. and straight through to someone. Their savings are... Read more

They offer a fair current account overdraft, as they should as a building society. Unlike Nationwide! They allow you to use your debit card worldwide with no fee. Their customer service is in the U.K. and straight through to someone. Their savings are a bit hit and miss though.

Reviewed on 13th January 2020
Neil Gregs's avatar
Neil Gregs
Write a review

Business Account

CUmberland

Customer services internet baking and phone apps are brilliant - the products themselves and the charges are not.

Reviewed on 11th July 2019
ag's avatar
ag
Write a review

Day2Day Current Account

Awful with hidden charges

Avoid like the plaque. Lots of hidden charges and terrible customer service due to their bullying nature towards their staff. They also sent me someone else's online banking details when I requested my online banking pin.

Reviewed on 11th November 2017
Tony's avatar
Tony
Write a review

Savings

Cumberland comes up trumps

Excellent and knowledgable staff, many branches available to help. Various accounts/savings available with competitive rates proud that they are my local building society

Reviewed on 7th November 2017
Sarah Horseman 's avatar
Sarah Horseman
Write a review

Day2Day Current Account

Excellent all round

Cumberland BS have been fantastic - every step of the way, no fuss, no problems.

Reviewed on 20th January 2017
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous
Write a review

Plus Current Account

Free withdrawals abroad

Use your card when you travel for free is the best thing about this account. The staff are supurb.

Reviewed on 7th September 2016
Mark Finlay's avatar
Mark Finlay
Write a review

Day2Day Current Account

A great building society

I have used them for years and always had great service. In fact it would seem that the other reviewer had a similar experience until they incurred a charge and then tried to blame the staff. Take responsibility yourself dear.

Reviewed on 7th September 2016
Mark Finlay's avatar
Mark Finlay
Write a review

Day2Day Current Account

Disappointing considering my Grannie set up this account for me 20 years ago.

Appalling service, sneaky about when and where you'll be charged for unauthorised overdrafts. Rude staff cannot wait till I close my account.

Reviewed on 19th February 2016
Rebecca Hannah McMonies's avatar
Rebecca Hannah McMonies
Write a review