Ramsdens Travel Money Reviews

  Ratings based on 12 reviews       Last review 6 months ago    

Before we go off on our holiday, there's always a last minute dash for some travel money! With more and more options available, it really does pay to do a bit of research to find the best travel money company. Smart Money People is the place for Ramsdens travel money...

READ MORE

Before we go off on our holiday, there's always a last minute dash for some travel money! With more and more options available, it really does pay to do a bit of research to find the best travel money company. Smart Money People is the place for Ramsdens travel money reviews. If you've used Ramsdens travel money before, why not write YOUR own review? You can help other travellers looking for honest Ramsdens travel money reviews.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Travel Money Reviews

12 reviews

Review Ramsdens's Travel Money now

Lowball offer , they think you dont know the value of your items.

Took my £4000 odd pound watch in to go against a loan for unexpected bills , was told it was only worth a grand !!! I nearly burst out laughing …. The reason , if I didn’t come back for it they would have to clean it and service it (still has 2 years left Read more

Took my £4000 odd pound watch in to go against a loan for unexpected bills , was told it was only worth a grand !!! I nearly burst out laughing …. The reason , if I didn’t come back for it they would have to clean it and service it (still has 2 years left of omega warranty ). I think they must be under the illusion that if you need to pawn something that your desperate and will accept any old offer , i could sell it for around £3800 in a private sale so why would i take a grand and not go back for it.
So i respectfully disregarded the offer .
I certainly wont be using their shops for anything again now that I’ve seen the other side of the business . My partner paid £900 for a chain for me that they probably gave some poor bugger a tenner for . Think wisely before giving them your valuables and try somewhere else .

Reviewed on 5th May 2022
Paulapos's avatar
Paulapos

Feel hugely deceived

Went to the Greenock store with a contemporary set of 8 or 9 ct gold total 33 grams. Was told only price for gold weight which i already knew. I did not first check online for day price as I had done price comparison couple of years ago compare them with Read more

Went to the Greenock store with a contemporary set of 8 or 9 ct gold total 33 grams. Was told only price for gold weight which i already knew. I did not first check online for day price as I had done price comparison couple of years ago compare them with the opposite situated pawn store and they had the better quote.
should have compared with online companies.
After some haggling was offered £ 275. Today i went online and got quotes for £ 200 more!! That is nearly twice as much, that is not £ 10 or £ 20 difference, that is simply daylight robbery with no way out. Ramsdens never again.

Reviewed on 12th December 2021
Far Away's avatar
Far Away

Best prices - NOT !!!!

Called in with about 300g of scrap silver - todays on- line scrap price was 43p per gram. Was offered 12p per gram - how is that the best possible price !!!! Do not use this company - rip off merchants !

Reviewed on 15th September 2021
Natalie Heseltine's avatar
Natalie Heseltine

BE WARNED.......

Be warned, if you purchase a used watch from these people which you believe to be water resistant, and it later turns out that it isn’t you will have no redress at all. They don’t service their watches, nor do they offer any guarantee against the ingres Read more

Be warned, if you purchase a used watch from these people which you believe to be water resistant, and it later turns out that it isn’t you will have no redress at all.
They don’t service their watches, nor do they offer any guarantee against the ingress of water at all.
So, the ramifications are, if you purchase, for example a very expensive Rolex submariner, a diver’s watch, and you use it for that purpose and it leaks water into the movement, guess what, tough luck.
Read their warranty details for their watches, the warranty does not cover any issues that may arise due to use in or around water and they do not guarantee water resistance unless we state otherwise. Water damage includes crystal fogginess, condensation, movement damage, dial or bezel damage, seals, gaskets, liquid penetration and any issues pertaining to water.
I, unfortunately, found out too late and took it for granted that what they sell would be fit for purpose, not the case.
So, before you part with your hard-earned cash for what you believe to be a ready to use divers watch, or for that matter any watch which is water resistant, think again.
Be Warned, IF IT LEAKS YOU ARE STUFFED, and you will have to pick up the bill yourself to have the watch repaired, serviced and pressure tested.
Seriously, look elsewhere and perhaps pay a little bit more for a dealer who services, and pressure test their timepieces.
Not a dealer I wish to be associated with and I wouldn’t purchase from them again.

Reviewed on 12th September 2021
Robert Waddington's avatar
Robert Waddington

Poor Price

Went into Altrincham Branch today. Offered £200 for Gold Bracelet. Went down the road to Lepps Jewellers offered £300. I rest my case

Reviewed on 20th August 2021
Geoff Sharp's avatar
Geoff Sharp

Disgusting

Ordered travel money online to pick up in the cumbernauld branch yesterday. I provided my passport email reference And my bank card. I used the security of my old card which was snapped and because my expiry date didn't match the new card I wasn't getting Read more

Ordered travel money online to pick up in the cumbernauld branch yesterday. I provided my passport email reference And my bank card. I used the security of my old card which was snapped and because my expiry date didn't match the new card I wasn't getting my money unless head office said so.. REGARDLESS it was the same card number that I used to pay. The girl wasn't the greatest to deal with.

Reviewed on 1st June 2019
Victoria Bisset 's avatar
Victoria Bisset

TOP RATES

I have used Ramsdens in Kirkcaldy for years and have never had any problems. The staff are always polite and helpful and I have never had to leave a phone number. If I do not have cash on me ,I take my passport as identification. Usually have the best Read more

I have used Ramsdens in Kirkcaldy for years and have never had any problems. The staff are always polite and helpful and I have never had to leave a phone number. If I do not have cash on me ,I take my passport as identification. Usually have the best rates locally too.

Reviewed on 6th April 2019
Catherine Paton Thomson's avatar
Catherine Paton Thomson

Scammers offering Peanuts

I took a 9 carat necklace with a 4 carat emerald on. They didn’t even look at the stone and offered £19.86 which is a fraction of its value. I walked out with the necklace and emerald. Do not pawn here. Sell on eBay you’ll get far far more

Reviewed on 28th April 2018
Samantha Dawson's avatar
Samantha Dawson

Manageress phew what a joke

I have been served before in Bathgate Ramsdens with a lovely lady called Elaine who was so helpful chatty and explained a lot about there services that I never knew, I went back with a friend after telling her how good they were , I still can’t believe Read more

I have been served before in Bathgate Ramsdens with a lovely lady called Elaine who was so helpful chatty and explained a lot about there services that I never knew, I went back with a friend after telling her how good they were , I still can’t believe how that horrible woman spoke to us , when I called shop to complain SHE IS MANAGERESS so sorry but I will not be back , be prepared to be screamed at by a person who quite clearly does not want our business,,,, such a shame

Reviewed on 23rd February 2018
Leighann 's avatar
Leighann

Poor service

I bought currency in December from the Musselburgh branch and they matched the onlin and coyld have been any nicer. However, I went in a few weeks ago to be told they had changed their policy but not only had they changed their policy but the chap I dealt Read more

I bought currency in December from the Musselburgh branch and they matched the onlin and coyld have been any nicer. However, I went in a few weeks ago to be told they had changed their policy but not only had they changed their policy but the chap I dealt with was rude in his manner. I then sent ramsdens an email to complain and they just ignored it. I have bought currency since but went elsewhere and even though ramsdens had a better rate , I couldn't bring myself to give them further business. It's such a pity as I used cheque centre for a number of years buying currency 4 /5 times a year.

Reviewed on 1st April 2017
Helen Brown's avatar
Helen Brown

Not impressed

I went in to Ramsdens Dunfermline today to get some Euros as rates fair considering the drop since Brexit.I did'nt need much as going A.I. on holiday. I swear they would have asked how much I weighed at birth if I did'nt stop the young person at the desk. Read more

I went in to Ramsdens Dunfermline today to get some Euros as rates fair considering the drop since Brexit.I did'nt need much as going A.I. on holiday. I swear they would have asked how much I weighed at birth if I did'nt stop the young person at the desk. They wanted a lot of personal details including my mobile number. I asked why so much required - Company policy I was told. I stopped at mobile number as I was not impressed, the young woman was smug to say the least. I will not use again. Went the post office and had a rate a few cents less but no problems at all.

Reviewed on 2nd September 2016
Christine Burrows's avatar
Christine Burrows

Excellent exhange rate and great customer service

The Ramsdens currency service is brilliant. Their exchange rates always seem to be the best.

Reviewed on 3rd February 2016
Olivia Cudworth's avatar
Olivia Cudworth