AA Personal Loan Reviews

  Ratings based on 19 reviews       Last review 4 days ago    

AA personal loan reviews on Smart Money People are honest reviews. If you're trying to determine whether this is the right personal loan for you, reading our AA personal loan reviews can help you to find out what other people have to say. Smart Money Peop...

READ MORE

AA personal loan reviews on Smart Money People are honest reviews. If you're trying to determine whether this is the right personal loan for you, reading our AA personal loan reviews can help you to find out what other people have to say. Smart Money People launched in October 2014 to help people like you to find the best personal loans. If you have used a AA personal loan, we'd love you to write a quick review too.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Personal Loan Reviews

19 reviews

Review AA's Personal Loan now

ABSOLUTE JOKE

pre applied and was told 3.1% APR so I applied and then got told its actually 10.9% Obviously I asked why as my Experian credit score is literally perfect 999/999 then tried saying its based on my circumstances! My circumstances of having perfect credit s Read more

pre applied and was told 3.1% APR so I applied and then got told its actually 10.9% Obviously I asked why as my Experian credit score is literally perfect 999/999 then tried saying its based on my circumstances! My circumstances of having perfect credit score, no debt, high income with high amount of disposable income, went striaght to my bank and got 2.9% no issues

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
Rytech LTD's avatar
Rytech LTD

Absolute con

I only proceeded because of the 9.5 out of 10 chance of being accepted at 2.8%. What a con. Just want you to sign up with Freedom Finance at a higher rate. Now have a search on my credit rating with a negative outcome.not impressed I will change my Read more

I only proceeded because of the 9.5 out of 10 chance of being accepted at 2.8%.
What a con. Just want you to sign up with Freedom Finance at a higher rate.
Now have a search on my credit rating with a negative outcome.not impressed
I will change my family AA plan and my business AA plan to another provider.
Very disappointed with AA, I thought they were an old school type of company but apparently not.
You’ve just lost all my business and will only get negative reviews and no recommendations from me.
Very poor.

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
Tom Knight's avatar
Tom Knight

Fantastic

My experience was amazing, the person that attended to me was very composed, and a very fantastic person, it was very nice talking to him, I feel in me that I have achieved all that I was looking for.

Reviewed on 9th June 2022
Bola Awodeyi 's avatar
Bola Awodeyi

stay away

95% preapproved 3% became 12.9%, on top of that put a hard check on my credit history, scammers

Reviewed on 1st June 2022
justinas simutis's avatar
justinas simutis

DO NOT BE SUCKERED IN BY THE FALSE LOW RATE.

999 credit rating. 99% chance of acceptance through Experian. offered 2.8% and switched to 12% after completing the application. Now I have a check on my history that wouldn't be there if they didn't lie about what they were offering

Reviewed on 3rd May 2022
Juniper Bush's avatar
Juniper Bush

Bait and switch

95% preapproved 2.8% became 16.5% very quickly. scam

Reviewed on 7th March 2022
Shaw O'Donnell's avatar
Shaw O'Donnell

Do not go near AA loans

Ugggghhh. Same as below. Got suckered in by the 95% pre-approval rating on Experian. And the fact I always thought of AA as a reputable company. If AA loans came to mend your car you would be stuck by the side of the road for eternity.,. They send you Read more

Ugggghhh. Same as below. Got suckered in by the 95% pre-approval rating on Experian. And the fact I always thought of AA as a reputable company. If AA loans came to mend your car you would be stuck by the side of the road for eternity.,.

They send you a cheery e-mail implying the monies will be with you in 2 working days whilst hiking up the advertised interest rate by 400%.. Then decline your loan and don’t bother telling you until you chase them up.

I have an excellent credit score (990), decent stable income, no black marks against my name etc and work hard to keep things this way.

But the AA said no. And now my credit rating has taken a 15 point hit.

I don’t know what you need to get a loan from the AA. A letter from the Queen, but I do hope you are reading this and avoid them like the plague/ COVID!

Reviewed on 17th February 2022
KJB77's avatar
KJB77

Scammers

In line with many negative reviews on trust pilot I too fell for the 95% approval chance through a credit report. Offered initially 2.8% but then came through as 17% on a £25,000 loan. Crazy. Went with another lender and got 2.8% for the £25,000. Read more

In line with many negative reviews on trust pilot I too fell for the 95% approval chance through a credit report. Offered initially 2.8% but then came through as 17% on a £25,000 loan. Crazy.

Went with another lender and got 2.8% for the £25,000.

So I’m now left with a hard search on my credit file. AA loans have turned into a bunch of scammers hoping to find some poor guy that doesn’t have an option but to accept the ridiculously high interest rates.

What’s even more scary is you can no longer write reviews on trust pilot on the AA loans page and if you search for AA loans on google their page doesn’t come up in the listed searches anymore.

Reviewed on 26th January 2022
Leigh Butler's avatar
Leigh Butler

Avoid AA for loans.

Avoid this company to get loans. They will try to lure you and make it look you're eligible for 3% loan. After adding all the detail the final APR was 21% haha, what a joke. I went with Sainsbury who gave me a better APR rate of 7% and got the money trans Read more

Avoid this company to get loans. They will try to lure you and make it look you're eligible for 3% loan. After adding all the detail the final APR was 21% haha, what a joke. I went with Sainsbury who gave me a better APR rate of 7% and got the money transferred in an hours time all digitally signed. Time wasters and ruins your credit history.

Reviewed on 24th December 2021
Jaineel Shah's avatar
Jaineel Shah

WORSE COMPANY EVER AVOID**

Applied through cleascore on 12th June now 27th and no money horrendous customer service..false promises 15 phone calls no one ever call you back KEEP AWAY AT ALL COSTS

Reviewed on 27th June 2021
Kerry's avatar
Kerry

Do not use

I found a car advertised on the AA website with AA finance available as the AA work with the the dealership the car was from. I was pre-approved for finance but then when trying to complete the process I was told that the AA doesn't work with the deale Read more

I found a car advertised on the AA website with AA finance available as the AA work with the the dealership the car was from.

I was pre-approved for finance but then when trying to complete the process I was told that the AA doesn't work with the dealership the car was from.

Why would the AA advertise a car with finance if they do not work with the company selling the car.

Everything I found was through the AA website not the dealership.

Sort it out AA, you shouldn't be advertising false information.

Reviewed on 12th June 2021
Amy94831's avatar
Amy94831

Took 21 days to decline 999 out of 999 credit rating

I have a perfect credit rating, never missed a payment, household income over £140k with zero debts and 50k in my current account, they turned me down for a 16k loan for a car. Bizzare. Don't waste your time.

Reviewed on 23rd March 2021
xcalibur88's avatar
xcalibur88

Absolutely shocking please take note of reviews

It’s a big con, I used Experian for my credit score which they tell me is excellent and apparently I had 95% chance of getting a loan with AA. So I applied and got approved (or so I thought) signed the credit agreement and uploaded it. It’s then took almo Read more

It’s a big con, I used Experian for my credit score which they tell me is excellent and apparently I had 95% chance of getting a loan with AA. So I applied and got approved (or so I thought) signed the credit agreement and uploaded it. It’s then took almost 3 weeks to tell me I’ve now been declined. I’ve rang up and chased them over and over to finally get declined. The people in the call centre don’t know what’s happening, it’s a shambles. Oh and guess what they say when your refused? Go to Experian to check your credit file..... the same credit file which told me to use AA in the first place. It’s a big con they must get commission from each other to waste peoples time!! Seriously don’t be fooled go to your bank, I did and was approved instantly just wish I went to them straight away instead of wasting a month with these.

Reviewed on 24th October 2019
Marty's avatar
Marty

Worst company I have used

I applied for a loan 1/8/19 to pay off my car. It's taken them 22 days to tell me I was unsuccessful even though I have a good credit rating. I did the pre application which said 90% chance of acceptance. So I sent all my details off bank statement and pa Read more

I applied for a loan 1/8/19 to pay off my car. It's taken them 22 days to tell me I was unsuccessful even though I have a good credit rating. I did the pre application which said 90% chance of acceptance. So I sent all my details off bank statement and passport took them 4 days to day they they needed them in colour. So I sent them again then another 4 days to say the bank statement needs to be in pdf. None of this information was on the website or any emails I received constantly messing around from start to finish only to be told I was unsuccessful. Constant phone calls back and forth the staff were rude and just kept repeating the script they were reading from. Absolutely disgusting service. I then made a complaint to which I have had no reply. So if your looking for a loan go to your bank these are a joke. 22 days to get a decision is not acceptable.

Reviewed on 22nd August 2019
Tanya's avatar
Tanya

3% quoted - 999 credit score sent loan out at 7.7%

Avoid at all costs. They do not give the quoted rates. I was quoted 3%, i have a 999 Experian credit score, zero balance on credit card etc. sent loan out at 7.7%! Complete con and getting that search removed. Also cancelled boiler cover and breakdown cov Read more

Avoid at all costs. They do not give the quoted rates. I was quoted 3%, i have a 999 Experian credit score, zero balance on credit card etc. sent loan out at 7.7%! Complete con and getting that search removed. Also cancelled boiler cover and breakdown cover as a result!

Reviewed on 23rd March 2019
Alastair Tulloch's avatar
Alastair Tulloch

WASTE OF TIME, AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Approved online instantly so I decided to go with them and wait 5 days for some paper work to be sent via post. Upon waiting, I received the documents and signed same day and uploaded on their website. I received an email a few days later stating every ch Read more

Approved online instantly so I decided to go with them and wait 5 days for some paper work to be sent via post. Upon waiting, I received the documents and signed same day and uploaded on their website. I received an email a few days later stating every check has been firmly carried out and we will receive the money within 3 days, I call them up on the 4th day upon waiting and say said we haven't been accepted, WASTE OF TIME! I put down a deposit on a car which is now gone due to these time wasters and liars! AVOIDDD

Reviewed on 13th November 2018
Faruk Kucukterzi's avatar
Faruk Kucukterzi

Terrible

Terrible experience. Drawn out process, customer service awful.  Nobody returns calls, even Managers when a formal complaint has been logged. Extremely slow, all done via post, spent a fortune of sending documents special delivery and calling their 0345 w Read more

Terrible experience. Drawn out process, customer service awful.  Nobody returns calls, even Managers when a formal complaint has been logged. Extremely slow, all done via post, spent a fortune of sending documents special delivery and calling their 0345 where you are left waiting for ages.  Much higher APR offered than advertised. Worst experience and would definitely not recommend. AA should stick to repairing cars.

Uploaded on 21st March 2018
Anon's avatar
Anon

Helpful staff at call centre

I want to change my payment date to the first of the month and its was done in 5 minutes of the phone. Also the APR was considerable better than any hughstreet bank was offering.

Reviewed on 6th June 2017
Simeon boys-Layton's avatar
Simeon boys-Layton

AA's Great Personal Loans

Great personal loan provider, extremely easy online application and low interest rates. Only negatives are that you are not able to create an account and manage your loan online, and they communicate via post rather than via email which is my personal pre Read more

Great personal loan provider, extremely easy online application and low interest rates. Only negatives are that you are not able to create an account and manage your loan online, and they communicate via post rather than via email which is my personal preference. However, the loan was still processed pretty quickly!

Reviewed on 31st May 2017
Chloe Gavin's avatar
Chloe Gavin