Brightside Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 1,385 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Brightside car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Brightside car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our re...

READ MORE

Brightside car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Brightside car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Brightside before, you too can write a short Brightside car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

1,385 reviews

Review Brightside's Car Insurance now

Absolutely shocking

3 emails, numerous phonecalls (to there customer service or lack of) and all I got was the chance to speak to them through a weblink, they should be seriously looked at. Trying to rip people off, £162 they wanted for an exit fee, then I told them I'm with Read more

3 emails, numerous phonecalls (to there customer service or lack of) and all I got was the chance to speak to them through a weblink, they should be seriously looked at. Trying to rip people off, £162 they wanted for an exit fee, then I told them I'm within my 14 day cooling off period/credit consumer act then all of a sudden it was £1.65. I ended up screenshotting It, I never thought I'd be on a page like this but they are a disgrace

Reviewed on 4th July 2022
Stuart Reid's avatar
Stuart Reid

DISGUSTING.

Actually disgusting. Accepted my policy, took my money, cancelled policy for 'unacceptable occupation ' (I'm a stay at home carer for my disabled son) I rang up and asked them to explain, they said they can't tell me any more than what has already been sa Read more

Actually disgusting. Accepted my policy, took my money, cancelled policy for 'unacceptable occupation ' (I'm a stay at home carer for my disabled son) I rang up and asked them to explain, they said they can't tell me any more than what has already been said to me, which was nothing!
So now, because I'm classed as having a policy cancelled, I'm red flagged from other insurers and have to pay much more for a new policy.
How about don't accept me at all as soon as I've declared my occupation?!
Absolutely abhorrent treatment of people

Reviewed on 27th June 2022
Hannah Peck's avatar
Hannah Peck

BE CAREFUL ADMIN FEE £35!

BE CAREFUL ADMIN FEE £35! Please do not get a car insurance! I took insurance under a year ago and oh my what I did not realise this company was about and thank God that my policy is ending soon. Story was that we moved house and my address changed. So a Read more

BE CAREFUL ADMIN FEE £35!
Please do not get a car insurance! I took insurance under a year ago and oh my what I did not realise this company was about and thank God that my policy is ending soon. Story was that we moved house and my address changed. So as being a lawful citizen I went straight to Brightside to update my address. They advise that policy changes can be done on online account and be assured it cannot! They have no option to do changes on the account. Then I tried to message their online chat support and they cannot do address changes there and referred me to a number to call.
Calling was an absolute nightmare. I was calling almost every day and call would take 30-50 mins for my patience to rin out. They have option to leave number for a call back but rest assured that never happens. I must have called 4 times with no luck in a week.
This morning I have finally manged to get through to a different line to cancel renewal (as no way I am renewing with Brightside oh nooo!) that they sent over during the weekend and asked agent to put me through for address change. And this is how I managed to change my details. But wait, they charge £35 admin fee for address renewal!!! YES £35 to change address. Not like other normal companies that may refund you for moving to a safer area (like actually my partner did) but charging admin fee for just a change. As I complained on call that I did not manage to get through their calls and was very dissapointed with service this nice lady (she was actually really helpful so people that work there is not a problem) on call waived the fee.
But OMG stay away from them as God forbid if you need to claim if they are such a nightmare to get hold off and charge admin fees!

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
SigiZa's avatar
SigiZa

Brightside originally Ecars

Brightside , you trust this company at your peril they were originally called Ecars some years ago, they had to change to Brightside after so many bad reviews and a damaging story in The Sun news paper, a Leopard doesn't change it's spots.

Reviewed on 28th October 2021
Honest Dave's avatar
Honest Dave

What a company not all highway robbers wear masks

What a company not all highway robbers wear masks, 6 months to go on my policy that I paid in full, so about £100 not used and they still charge me £24 to cancel, and no refund of policy, this is a joke if I had not done the right thing and said nothing i Read more

What a company not all highway robbers wear masks, 6 months to go on my policy that I paid in full, so about £100 not used and they still charge me £24 to cancel, and no refund of policy, this is a joke if I had not done the right thing and said nothing it would have just expired and cost nothing. Refuse to pay and they cancel anyway and put a black mark on insurance data base that you have had insurance canceled, Brightside and Churchill I will never be using your company again

Reviewed on 6th February 2021
aretec's avatar
aretec

Shocking service

Shocking service. Was told my car policy would automatically renew. Then get a text today saying they omitted to renew due to oversight with system. Asked me to call them to sort it out. So turns out I have been insured for a week , wouldn't have been Read more

Shocking service. Was told my car policy would automatically renew. Then get a text today saying they omitted to renew due to oversight with system. Asked me to call them to sort it out. So turns out I have been insured for a week , wouldn't have been covered had I been in accident and had the audacity to tell me they would offer a new policy but as the old one had lapsed - due to their fault remember - the new policy would increase by 25% . No apology and no offer for a reduction so went elsewhere

Reviewed on 28th November 2020
Crawford Hendy's avatar
Crawford Hendy

Ripped off when I was forced to cancel policy

Unfortunately, I had to cancel my car insurance 6 months into my policy with Brightside due to having an unexpected seizure and not being able to drive. I paid £341.42 outright for my insurance and they offered me a refund of £22 for the remaining 6 month Read more

Unfortunately, I had to cancel my car insurance 6 months into my policy with Brightside due to having an unexpected seizure and not being able to drive. I paid £341.42 outright for my insurance and they offered me a refund of £22 for the remaining 6 months of my policy. Absolute con men!

Reviewed on 9th November 2020
Lee Grey's avatar
Lee Grey

Sneaky hidden extortionate fees, robotic staff.

Poor communication resulting in unexpected, unjustifiable fees. If you insure with this company they won't explain hidden fees/"admin" charges for alterations in policies and pass the buck between them and their underwriters who do not compromise and try Read more

Poor communication resulting in unexpected, unjustifiable fees. If you insure with this company they won't explain hidden fees/"admin" charges for alterations in policies and pass the buck between them and their underwriters who do not compromise and try to squeeze every last penny the can out of you. Better service from admiral and better quotes from many other companies. "There is no bright side to insuring with brightside insurance". Cancelled policy and got a better deal elsewhere.


Reviewed on 20th June 2020
S.O's avatar
S.O

Car Insurance

Had insurance with them but had to cancel due to being laid off work due to covid=19, they would not pause insurance, I had been with them 5 months and paid monthly but they cancelled my insurance and charged me £121, then took it from my bank with no not Read more

Had insurance with them but had to cancel due to being laid off work due to covid=19, they would not pause insurance, I had been with them 5 months and paid monthly but they cancelled my insurance and charged me £121, then took it from my bank with no notice.

Reviewed on 12th April 2020
David Farnish's avatar
David Farnish

Avoid! Never ever again

Avoid! Don't waste your time and money. Very bad experience with them and would not recommend to anyone. My car been written off 4 months ago but they still keep charging me for nothing and they not allowing you to cancel the policy. They saying if you wa Read more

Avoid! Don't waste your time and money. Very bad experience with them and would not recommend to anyone. My car been written off 4 months ago but they still keep charging me for nothing and they not allowing you to cancel the policy. They saying if you want to you have to pay full amount! Customer service is rubbish. They just dropped the phone and not worried to call back. Never ever again! Keep away from this company

Reviewed on 9th April 2020
Aurimas 's avatar
Aurimas

They charged me twice for cancelling.

They charged me twice for cancelling. When I cancelled my policy I found out that Brightside wanted to charge me £60 and the insurer also wanted to charge me £60. This is a scam. I filed a complaint with Brightside at which time I was told I woul Read more

They charged me twice for cancelling.

When I cancelled my policy I found out that Brightside wanted to charge me £60 and the insurer also wanted to charge me £60.

This is a scam.

I filed a complaint with Brightside at which time I was told I would have a response within seven days. No response but they have taken the money, £120.

Do not use this broker, they are a con.

Reviewed on 17th January 2020
A's avatar
A

I would give them 0 stars if I could!

I would give them 0 stars if I could! I NEVER write reviews but I felt the need to share this. Let’s list the problems shall we... When I changed my vehicle using their online service, they decided to also change the overnight location of the car withou Read more

I would give them 0 stars if I could!
I NEVER write reviews but I felt the need to share this. Let’s list the problems shall we...
When I changed my vehicle using their online service, they decided to also change the overnight location of the car without me telling them to do so, almost invalidating my insurance policy and preventing me from claiming when I needed to.
Never sent me copies of my policy handbook - so when I had to claim and the Underwriters tried to impose a ridiculous term I had never been told about they shifted the blame saying it was in my handbook... which I had never been given!
Ignored the complaint I raised regarding the above issue, I’m still yet to get a response so have logged it with FOS.
Charged me MORE than what was owed on the policy after my car was written off.
Took a payment unlawfully from my husbands card when we had explicitly told them they did not have our permission to do so.
Continue to ignore all and any communication made with them to resolve the issues.

Do yourself a favour and don’t insure with them. A friend of mine has had almost identical issues. They simply don’t give a f...

The mildly cheaper premiums are not worth the hassle.

Reviewed on 4th January 2020
Emily Gregory's avatar
Emily Gregory

Woe betide if someone writes your car off

Woe betide if someone writes your car off, as has recently happened to me. They have charged me an exit insurance fee of £107.48. I didn't ask for my car to be hit. When I pointed this out they became robots "Read the Terms and Conditions". I won't be goi Read more

Woe betide if someone writes your car off, as has recently happened to me. They have charged me an exit insurance fee of £107.48. I didn't ask for my car to be hit. When I pointed this out they became robots "Read the Terms and Conditions". I won't be going back there when I find a new car. Rip off merchants.

Reviewed on 8th November 2019
Geoff's avatar
Geoff

Disgusting money grabbing company

If your a day late paying the payment doubles absolutely disgusting. Try and pay online can't seem to do it terrible company.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2019
A Bambridge 's avatar
A Bambridge

good service

It was very easy and simple,was very friendly and totally.

Reviewed on 21st September 2019
Iveta Dzalba's avatar
Iveta Dzalba

Excellent service

Excellent services and good communication skills

Reviewed on 20th September 2019
Zwelithini Nkomo's avatar
Zwelithini Nkomo

Top off renewal quote

Increased renewal premium 3 fold. Went elsewhere for a quarter of their price. Seems there strategy is to loose lots of customers in second year but make money from the few that remain. These cowboys won’t be around for long.

Reviewed on 19th September 2019
Phil's avatar
Phil

Good, reasonably priced policy.

This truly brings a bright side to the car insurance world. Reasonable prices, good customer service, online documents and help available. Would definitely recommend to other car owners.

Reviewed on 17th September 2019
Mike's avatar
Mike

Reasonable prices, good customer service, online documents available

Reasonable insurance prices, good customer service, online documents available, email updates. Surely can recommend to every vehicle owner.

Reviewed on 17th September 2019
Mike's avatar
Mike

Great car insurance

Anything I’ve had problems with they have sorted it with an instant phone call very helpful and recommend if your looking for great car insurance this is the place .

Reviewed on 16th September 2019
Adam gerrard's avatar
Adam gerrard