Autonet Insurance Insurance Broker Reviews

  Ratings based on 78 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Our Autonet Insurance Insurance Broker reviews can help you to find out what life as a Autonet Insurance customer is really like. We know that a good Insurance Broker can help you when you're looking to find a new insurance policy...so why not tell us abo...

READ MORE

Our Autonet Insurance Insurance Broker reviews can help you to find out what life as a Autonet Insurance customer is really like. We know that a good Insurance Broker can help you when you're looking to find a new insurance policy...so why not tell us about your customer experience today!


Overall Rating

Poor

1

2

3

4

5

Autonet Insurance Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Skills & Knowledge

81% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 45-54

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Insurance Broker Reviews

78 reviews

Review Autonet Insurance's Insurance Broker now

They will charge you tons of money for being a loyal customer

Just changed my car and had to pay Autonet £40 for the privilege. Asked if I can change my reg no when I buy a number from DVLA, yes, for £17.50 !! Will wait till renewal in May and change insurers. Bye bye Autonet.

Reviewed on 28th March 2022
Linda Southworth's avatar
Linda Southworth

You will regret it at some point

Avoid for many reasons. I rang this morning to change my car and give a new registration for a slightly cheaper car with same engine and doing less mileage now as I no longer commute for work. Basically nothing that would have a negative impact on the pr Read more

Avoid for many reasons.
I rang this morning to change my car and give a new registration for a slightly cheaper car with same engine and doing less mileage now as I no longer commute for work. Basically nothing that would have a negative impact on the premium. Spoke to the chap on the phone who was friendly enough but the increased policy was £35 for the admin fee + an increase of £50 on the policy which only has a few months left to run. Multiply that out over the life of the policy and the price of changing car is almost as much as the cost of the original policy!
This is for the SAME engine size, dropping from SD&P + business to just SD&P and a lower car valuation with ZERO other changes.
On top of this, and this is brilliant in today's security conscious world. Going though what I can only describe as the worst phone automated service in the world I randomly got thanked for confirming my policy number (I never entered my policy number) and was asked for my post code and date of birth, to which I replied (Let me speak to a human) I was then thanked for confirming my personal details and eventually spoke to a human who again thanked me for completing the security checks and went on to repeat back to me my phone number and email address without any sort of checks. Basically they do a phone number lookup and the rest is just fake.
Final kicker on it was being told that it had been set to auto renew the policy (Which I previously asked it not too when I Took out the policy) and where as I had asked for insurance to cover driving any other insured vehicle he read out ("Where your named on that policy") THAT has been slipped in and completely out of the blue and certainly not something I was previously made aware of.

Basically, I have fallen victim to the mistake of going for one of the cheapest policies at the start only to have it bite me squarely on the rear 6 months down the line. Pay a bit extra, get a policy elsewhere with a reputable insurance company.

Reviewed on 15th March 2022
gavin fitzpatrick's avatar
gavin fitzpatrick

Liars

Lied about sending renewal invite.( Small print says they will send invite 10 days before) They would've charged more than £100 more on auto renew if I hadnt cancelled.They couldn't have cared less on phone. Makes me wonder what experience I would have re Read more

Lied about sending renewal invite.( Small print says they will send invite 10 days before) They would've charged more than £100 more on auto renew if I hadnt cancelled.They couldn't have cared less on phone. Makes me wonder what experience I would have received if had made a claim ,don't recommend, and make sure you note when renewal is due.

Reviewed on 12th March 2022
Daisy Blake's avatar
Daisy Blake

scandalous charges -- DO NOT USE !!

Hidden charges are ridiculous and policy cost is almost 40% more expensive than elsewhere, Almost impossible to get hold of, unless you owe them money of course, then they hound you like there's no tomorrow. Avoid Read more

Hidden charges are ridiculous and policy cost is almost 40% more expensive than elsewhere, Almost impossible to get hold of, unless you owe them money of course, then they hound you like there's no tomorrow. Avoid for your own sanity.

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
Poppy feet's avatar
Poppy feet

Absolutely Hopeless - No Wonder Their Google Reviews Score Sucks!

Absolutely Hopeless - No Wonder Their Google Reviews Score Sucks! This company has completey wasted my time on 2 occassions, and each time cancelled my policy and then demanded an outrageous cancellation fee! Personally, I would look elsewhere and not b Read more

Absolutely Hopeless - No Wonder Their Google Reviews Score Sucks!
This company has completey wasted my time on 2 occassions, and each time cancelled my policy and then demanded an outrageous cancellation fee!
Personally, I would look elsewhere and not bother with this lot!

Reviewed on 30th December 2021
vernon martins's avatar
vernon martins

Complete rip off of a company

I'm 56 and my renewal this year has come through at just shy of a Grand I've full no claims,last time I changed my vehicle was just under a month left to go,charged £134 told that covered me upto renewal low and behold Clothes brothers emailing I owe them Read more

I'm 56 and my renewal this year has come through at just shy of a Grand I've full no claims,last time I changed my vehicle was just under a month left to go,charged £134 told that covered me upto renewal low and behold Clothes brothers emailing I owe them a month insurance on the day my policy run out Robbing gits still being hounded now for £40 they say I owe I don't think so
Avoid this company at all costs they will have you over
I got my insurance else where for under £400 for the same car

Reviewed on 29th December 2021
Big G's avatar
Big G

Rip off company

Did not renew my insurance with them they still went ahead and stole £57 from my account and are now looking for £160 of me for a policy I did not ask did not renew and did not sign any contract there using the signed contract from year before as the excu Read more

Did not renew my insurance with them they still went ahead and stole £57 from my account and are now looking for £160 of me for a policy I did not ask did not renew and did not sign any contract there using the signed contract from year before as the excuse to rip people off so now it’s costing me £217 for a policy I did not want or ask for theft of the highest order these people should be in prison for white collar crime

Reviewed on 3rd December 2021
D Mc's avatar
D Mc

Worst company

Неastrous experience. I changed the insurance address, the new zone is more risky and they will increase the price from £112 per month to £166 per month. I have received confirmation that the cost will be £166. I thought about cancelling insurance at a Read more

Неastrous experience.

I changed the insurance address, the new zone is more risky and they will increase the price from £112 per month to £166 per month. I have received confirmation that the cost will be £166. I thought about cancelling insurance at all because of such a price, but if I cancel the insurance, I am obliged to pay the entire cost. Then they sent me a letter that I owe them another £387 for changing the address. I turned to the support service and they told me that £387 is an increase in prices for changing addresses and withdraw £154.80 from the card, it's 40% of £387 and the remaining 60% will be distributed to the rest of the months. The next day they send a letter that my insurance already costs £203 per month, it's Ford insurance and my driving experience is 10 years without any incident.

I've never seen a worse attitude towards customers.

Reviewed on 2nd December 2021
Vasile Pana's avatar
Vasile Pana

Totally Ridiculous - Cant get through for support and charge way over the odds!

I originally joined Autonet because the price was good. When it renewed, it did so Automatically and I didn't want it to. I called on several occasions to stop it and was on hold for 20mins at a time before I gave up. 5 Months later, I have called to canc Read more

I originally joined Autonet because the price was good. When it renewed, it did so Automatically and I didn't want it to. I called on several occasions to stop it and was on hold for 20mins at a time before I gave up. 5 Months later, I have called to cancel the policy having done less than 1000 miles in a year and the car being due for MOT, we hjave decided to just sell it. Autonet tell me it will be £135 for the privilege of cancelling! They may seem cheap but in the long run, they're not! Dont fall for all the rubbish about customer service etc, they aren't interested at all. Off to the Financial Ombudsmen we go!

Reviewed on 23rd November 2021
Richie Gibson's avatar
Richie Gibson

Fraudulent Insurance and ot transparent

Hi insured my car with them for 26days after paying an upfront. They came back withi those period to increase my premium 2x the initial quotes. I asked to cancel and they say I will pay £96 in addition to initial payment of £38. I refuse to pay the 96 af Read more

Hi insured my car with them for 26days after paying an upfront. They came back withi those period to increase my premium 2x the initial quotes. I asked to cancel and they say I will pay £96 in addition to initial payment of £38. I refuse to pay the 96 after Pro rate the days.. they went into my bank and took the money after I cancel all payments from my bank and I wrote then severally about the dispute.
Please avoid this insurance they also affiliated with Atlanta 1.

Reviewed on 15th November 2021
Mutiat 's avatar
Mutiat

Terrible company to deal with 4 hours to get through to cancel my policy which was taken out 1 day previous after paying a deposit only to be charged a further £30 to cancel

Contact almost impossible if you eventually get through only to get ripped off for more money I insured my car Sa61lho for 4 hours then changed my mind and tried to get through to cancel took 3 days attempts to get through and after paying a deposit was r Read more

Contact almost impossible if you eventually get through only to get ripped off for more money I insured my car Sa61lho for 4 hours then changed my mind and tried to get through to cancel took 3 days attempts to get through and after paying a deposit was ripped off for a further £30 to cancel god knows what chance you would have getting hold of this company if you had a claim save yourself the stress and search a company that can answer a phone instead of continually using COVID not to answer a phone very disappointed don’t use can’t even put a rating on this scam a christie

Reviewed on 8th November 2021
Alex Christie's avatar
Alex Christie

Appalling

Happy to take your money, until you make a claim, took ages to get it sorted and when agreed stalled the payment for over a month , had to ring constantly to get money , when I got through they said due to technical issues and changing systems all paymen Read more

Happy to take your money, until you make a claim, took ages to get it sorted and when agreed stalled the payment for over a month , had to ring constantly to get money , when I got through they said due to technical issues and changing systems all payments were delayed
Finally got money and made a complaint they agreed a paltry amount of compensation then stalled paying that too!
Took another 3/4 weeks to get that and so many phone calls and grief
They promise to ring back but never do, and wait times are extremely long
from my experience AVOID AT ALL COSTS
Currently have case reviewed by ombudsman

Reviewed on 26th October 2021
Steve's avatar
Steve

Absolute Scammers

Took out insurance on 10th September decided to cancel 3 days layer and they are charging me a £40 cancellation fee!! My complaint has been dismissed as they state I ticked a box agreeing to 'their terms of business' Well what they mean by this is that sc Read more

Took out insurance on 10th September decided to cancel 3 days layer and they are charging me a £40 cancellation fee!! My complaint has been dismissed as they state I ticked a box agreeing to 'their terms of business' Well what they mean by this is that scam you out of £40 and force you to raise a complaint with the ombudsman in the hope that you won't due to the amount, unfortunately for them I feel having read all the reviews on this sham of a company I am going to raise a complaint and take it all the way through! AVOID THIS BUNCH OF SCAMMERS!!!

Reviewed on 17th September 2021
Andy's avatar
Andy

Terrible avoid at all cost its less painful being uninsured and being caught

Terrible company. Glad to see other reviews so I know it’s not just me. Appealing customer service. Weeks to reply to me, accidentally charged me double and 3 months later still waiting for refund. Do not touch with a barge pole

Reviewed on 20th August 2021
Craig Mander's avatar
Craig Mander

Cheap Quotes Beware !!!!!!!!!

Judge for yourself - One month after reporting a claim still no calls to me ,my car still in a garage compound,no Courtesy car,not one call back,me making up to 20 calls for on average being put on hold for 1 + hours yes thats right . I have kept a log o Read more

Judge for yourself - One month after reporting a claim still no calls to me ,my car still in a garage compound,no Courtesy car,not one call back,me making up to 20 calls for on average being put on hold for 1 + hours yes thats right .
I have kept a log of calls thank god and taken names of most of the advisors it doesnt make for good reading.
I will keep you all up dated on my claim but in the meantime think carefully about where you place your business

Reviewed on 2nd August 2021
Robert Dowie's avatar
Robert Dowie

Cheap Quotes Beware !!!!!!!!!

Judge for yourself - One month after reporting a claim still no calls to me ,my car still in a garage compound,no Courtesy car,not one call back,me making up to 20 calls for on average being put on hold for 1 + hours yes thats right . I have kept a log o Read more

Judge for yourself - One month after reporting a claim still no calls to me ,my car still in a garage compound,no Courtesy car,not one call back,me making up to 20 calls for on average being put on hold for 1 + hours yes thats right .
I have kept a log of calls thank god and taken names of most of the advisors it doesnt make for good reading.
I will keep you all up dated on my claim but in the meantime think carefully about where you place your business

Reviewed on 2nd August 2021
Robert Dowie's avatar
Robert Dowie

Time wasters, poor customer service, on-line system wouldn't work, daily price rises despite quote not yet expired.

Autonet came up with the best quotes on Confused.com and go compare, with a clearly stated start date a little way into the future, but when I tried to purchase the price had gone up. I phoned to query this and they said prices go up every day and they ha Read more

Autonet came up with the best quotes on Confused.com and go compare, with a clearly stated start date a little way into the future, but when I tried to purchase the price had gone up. I phoned to query this and they said prices go up every day and they had no record of the original quote I had been given, so if you get a quote and don't purchase that same day, then the quote is as good as useless. (I've been advised that leaving a quote request to the last minute can cause higher quotes as they know you are desperate to renew,)
So I tried to buy on-line, but their system didn't work, I went through pages of data input but when I clicked on 'buy now' the system just hung, with a wheel turning endlessly. Eventually I got a 'server error' message, so went through the same rigmarole later but got the same result.
The next day I waited for hours to get a telephone response, but gave up in the end. I tried later and finally got through and went through the whole procedure again with another price increase, but I declined to provide my first name as being unnecessary for buying insurance, but they would not budge, saying that it was a legal requirement, which it isn't (I have a problem with full name disclosure because I am known by a middle name (in common with Boris Johnson, Paul McCartney and thousands of others), but annoyingly computers persist in addressing me by my never-used first name. I spoke to customer 'service' who were useless. They blamed my system for the server error message and said there was nothing they could do. I gave up having wasted literally hours of my time trying to buy their insurance - they don't deserve customers. How on earth do they get a 4.5 defaqto rating?
I eventually insured through another (more expensive) company who didn't even ask for my first name

Reviewed on 20th July 2021
K from Kent's avatar
K from Kent

Complete codswallop

I would give no stars if that was an option. Lied to and told we had to cancel our insurance 3 weeks before renewal and were unableto offer us alternative cover. Complained, complaint upheld and NCD reinstated. Would rather pay less compensation and o Read more

I would give no stars if that was an option. Lied to and told we had to cancel our insurance 3 weeks before renewal and were unableto offer us alternative cover. Complained, complaint upheld and NCD reinstated. Would rather pay less compensation and offer a new policy back with them - No chance! Insured elsewhere and would not touch this company with a bargepole wearing gloves!

Reviewed on 16th June 2021
Clare Evans's avatar
Clare Evans

Beware Comes Up Cheap on Price Comparison...

Came up at a good price on price comparison site but beware like others a few days later I get a call to say I have an undisclosed claim but the insurer they reference has no record of it. They want over £100 more or a £25 fee to cancel within the cooling Read more

Came up at a good price on price comparison site but beware like others a few days later I get a call to say I have an undisclosed claim but the insurer they reference has no record of it. They want over £100 more or a £25 fee to cancel within the cooling off period. Even more annoyingly if I add that same 'claim' onto the price comparison site they only then want another £12 a year more. Basically once you sign up you are stuck and they have you. Pay a little bit more and go will a well known and respected brand.

Reviewed on 11th June 2021
Jason Nash's avatar
Jason Nash

Never again

Terrible company. Paid my insurance deposit. Got a message to call so after 4 attempts and hanging in for a hour I finally got through. Was told that because I had a no fault accident last year I had to pay double my deposit and premium for the year. Read more

Terrible company. Paid my insurance deposit. Got a message to call so after 4 attempts and hanging in for a hour I finally got through.

Was told that because I had a no fault accident last year I had to pay double my deposit and premium for the year.

So I contacted another couple of insurance companies and it didn’t make any difference to my insurance price as it was a non fault claim.

Now they want money out of me for an insurance policy I had for one week. NOT LIKELY.

don’t ever buy from Autonet disgraceful company.

Customer service is shocking. Talk down to you.


Reviewed on 5th June 2021
Caroline Harrold's avatar
Caroline Harrold