GoSkippy Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 97 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Read and write GoSkippy car insurance reviews on Smart Money People and help out the community!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

97 reviews

Review GoSkippy's Car Insurance now

DO NOT USE

I had been insured via go skippy for many years then i received a letter saying my insurance had been cancelled spoke to customer service and they said i didnt send document of no claims when i was already insured by them they held my no claims document a Read more

I had been insured via go skippy for many years then i received a letter saying my insurance had been cancelled spoke to customer service and they said i didnt send document of no claims when i was already insured by them they held my no claims document anyway!

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
Carol Rigby 's avatar
Carol Rigby

Reap-offs

Imagine not having a Car again because you gave it back and Go shitty telling you to pay a Cancellation fee of such a ridiculous amount! They don't care about their customers, just out to make money! Even to make changes through the phone lines cost £50 a Read more

Imagine not having a Car again because you gave it back and Go shitty telling you to pay a Cancellation fee of such a ridiculous amount! They don't care about their customers, just out to make money! Even to make changes through the phone lines cost £50 and 15 online so good luck if you can't work out their ridiculous portal!!! After being with them for some time we are happy to get rid of them!!!!!!

Reviewed on 29th July 2022
Angel williams's avatar
Angel williams

Cancellation

Have 1 car with skippy, called them to ask if there are any discounts if i have all my cars with them (3) and they said no, so since there are company giving great discounts for having multiple cars with them i decided to ask for cancel,what she told me s Read more

Have 1 car with skippy, called them to ask if there are any discounts if i have all my cars with them (3) and they said no, so since there are company giving great discounts for having multiple cars with them i decided to ask for cancel,what she told me surprised me alot as i never heard of that, since i oay monthly i still have 800£ left to pay whoch are 4 or 5months, she says for me to cancel i need to pay cancellation fee plus all the money that is left to pay which is 800£+cancellation fee, i would never ever comeback to this company as i never heard before of it, i get abiut cancellation fee and to pay for the month whats left, although for whole time whats left, no, never ever here again after my insuranve is finished. !! Imagine if smth happebs or someone offers good price for your car and you want to sell it you will need to pay everything or pay monthly even you have no car, i cant believe !

Reviewed on 28th July 2022
Vygandas Bendaravicius's avatar
Vygandas Bendaravicius

Scammers-Avoid like the plague

I sold my second car as times are tight then cancelled my DD to GoSpivs then called to cancel the policy. Amongst all the cancellation fees they are trying to charge me a £25 default fee. Horrible people to deal with I'm glad to be moving away from them.

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
MB's avatar
MB

Lucky Escape!

I was directed to GoSkippy by Money Supermarket... The price and cover was reasonable so I continued with online payment, the payment failed a couple of times so I called them. I told the person that answered the phone about the website payment syst Read more

I was directed to GoSkippy by Money Supermarket...

The price and cover was reasonable so I continued with online payment, the payment failed a couple of times so I called them.

I told the person that answered the phone about the website payment system being down (I didnt have to, I could've just gone to the next quote) to be told in a blunt tone "there is a £20 admin fee for setting it up over the phone". Well I am very sorry but I am not going to pay extra because YOUR systems do not function correctly. I was patient to begin with and made a joke to hear the exact same words again, no further explanation. After hearing the same words repeated 3 or 4 times I just said I would look elsewhere!

Its like getting drive-through food, you pay at the window, wait in line, but when you get to the food window they say you need to go inside to get your food (the phone call I could have avoided) when you get to the front door there is a bouncer requesting an entry fee. You are gonna argue that its not your fault the food cant come out the food window (GoSkippy website) you have forced me to enter the building, profiteering by shutting down your online payment system (the bouncer).

To summarise, try treating customers and potential customers with a little respect and train your staff in basic customer service practices. I personally wouldn't send Hitler there to insure is tank!

I have since been offered to call back in and they will waive the £20 fee but I have done my research now and this is my happy ending.

I would AVOID at ALL COSTS.

Reviewed on 31st May 2022
Astonishingly Amuzing's avatar
Astonishingly Amuzing

Scamers

After 7years with company (no accidents, no claim etc....) they charging me 60£ for change address never more in my life with this company

Reviewed on 25th May 2022
Juraj 's avatar
Juraj

I don't recommend

I have a very bad experience. Important. I insured my car last year with them and for a month I send them the information they ask for and then they ask me for it!! Two months before the end of the insurance, I changed the car, and when changing the car’s Read more

I have a very bad experience. Important. I insured my car last year with them and for a month I send them the information they ask for and then they ask me for it!! Two months before the end of the insurance, I changed the car, and when changing the car’s information, they took 225 pounds, knowing that I quote on the new car, and its insurance is cheaper than the old car.

Reviewed on 6th May 2022
Programer Ahmed's avatar
Programer Ahmed

Very disappointed

I would give them "0", if there is any option. I had a policy with Go Skippy, ref: AHMJ35PC01/BSPC7071131519. I will be going abroad for few months due to some personal matters. Hence, I had to sell my car and cancel the insurance which I did on the 26 Read more

I would give them "0", if there is any option.

I had a policy with Go Skippy, ref: AHMJ35PC01/BSPC7071131519. I will be going abroad for few months due to some personal matters. Hence, I had to sell my car and cancel the insurance which I did on the 26th of April'2022.

In order to exit from this policy, I now have to pay £187.53; I am utterly surprised that I have to pay a hefty price whereas I only had 3 months left to the contract. In addition, I had already paid 4 additional days from 27th April to 30th April which is worth of £20 (approx). I have found the whole situation is terrible and unfair, beyond imagination!!

Moreover, I was asking to review and reconsider the cancellation costs with the Management team when I talked to the Customer Service Representative on the 26th of April. Since then, I haven't received any call from them.

I would not recommend Go Skippy to anyone. You will be ended in a situation where you will be rather disappointed than get a fair service.

Thank you.

Reviewed on 3rd May 2022
Ziaul's avatar
Ziaul

Non reliable company

They cancel the policy themselves and after that charge the money as well.

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Iram Rahman's avatar
Iram Rahman

Will definitely not be going back

Will definitely not be going back

Reviewed on 7th March 2022
v's avatar
v

Stay well away

I insured our car with them last year 2021, I then insured with a different firm this year and they want on to renew without my permission, even set up a direct debit without my authorisation! Which is illegal! Called them to cancel the renewal and they c Read more

I insured our car with them last year 2021, I then insured with a different firm this year and they want on to renew without my permission, even set up a direct debit without my authorisation! Which is illegal! Called them to cancel the renewal and they continued to renew. Save yourself the grief of waiting on the phone forever.

Reviewed on 6th February 2022
Gordon Murinda's avatar
Gordon Murinda

Stay well away

My son was involved in a traffic accident that was not his fault. They did settle the cost of the car however they took the money he had remaining to pay as he did pay monthly. He then was told that he had 14 day's to insure another car or they would ca Read more

My son was involved in a traffic accident that was not his fault.
They did settle the cost of the car however they took the money he had remaining to pay as he did pay monthly.
He then was told that he had 14 day's to insure another car or they would cancel his policy.
We told them he was not fit to drive and ask them could we have an extension they gave us 7 day's extra.
He still has 7 months on his policy
Stay well away

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
Ron Scott's avatar
Ron Scott

Its very bad I will recommend its bad idea to do insurance with them

It very bad experience I will not go with the company again for sure.

Reviewed on 10th December 2021
NA's avatar
NA

Go Skippy to the skip!

Total dick heads , canceled my car insurance behind my back. I was told that I was due £35 then when I tried to pay it , they said that it was coming from my direct debit. I told them that I had cancelled my direct debit as they had cancelled my insurance Read more

Total dick heads , canceled my car insurance behind my back. I was told that I was due £35 then when I tried to pay it , they said that it was coming from my direct debit. I told them that I had cancelled my direct debit as they had cancelled my insurance. They wouldn't take the payment over the phone. Two weeks later I got a letter from the creation of company asking for money. I phoned them to be told to phone Go Skippy to then be told it was £125 a jump if £90 in two weeks! Avoid these scam artists!

Reviewed on 8th December 2021
Davaro Smith's avatar
Davaro Smith

DO NOT USE THIS INSURANCE COMPANY

customer service is absolutely shocking. This company should be avoided by all means. Auto renewed my policy that Ididn’t want, I received no email towards renewal Then sent me letters and acted upon them before they arrived at my house (give you Read more

customer service is absolutely shocking. This company should be avoided by all means.

Auto renewed my policy that Ididn’t want, I received no email towards renewal
Then sent me letters and acted upon them before they arrived at my house
(give you 7 days letter takes 10 to arrive)
they requested proof of address and would not accept that
I live with parents so there are no letters that they would accept as proof.

customer services are just not interested!

Reviewed on 4th December 2021
Dissatified's avatar
Dissatified

absolutley disgusting rip off company

my car was stolen on 9/9/21,my son in law was insured driver, they had said there not paying out which is like (4000) because the car is registered to me, he was not even asked if he was the registered keeper at the time,they had me provide everything re Read more

my car was stolen on 9/9/21,my son in law was insured driver, they had said there not paying out which is like (4000) because the car is registered to me, he was not even asked if he was the registered keeper at the time,they had me provide everything reciepts proof purchase everything under the sun which i provided and more,but are still refusing and said not paying out.ive asked for the recorded message off the call to arrange the insurance, i will not let this rest and will take it to the ombudsman,this is a lot of money and cant afford another car,living on the breadline as it is !!!!!

Reviewed on 19th November 2021
Del Walker's avatar
Del Walker

Avoid at ALL costs!!!

It's not to often that I describe a company as a "set of b******** ", but I think I have now very much found that company, and "GoSkippy" is at the very forefront of that description. My partner took out an insurance policy with this "broker" who immed Read more

It's not to often that I describe a company as a "set of b******** ", but I think I have now very much found that company, and "GoSkippy" is at the very forefront of that description.

My partner took out an insurance policy with this "broker" who immediately charge £50 to go and "find you insurance". At the time we didn't know that they were effectively, well... Scammers as they were listed on the gocompair website.

1 Day later, we recieved an email telling us to call them then they stated that they had to cancel the policy because of a "Failed Credit Check". Now... That's fair enough, but A) Why didn't they not let me know before they entered an agreement and created a policy with ,me and B) Why was my refund at £11 after THEY decided to cancel the policy.

They say that insurance is insurance, I don't blame you, I used to think the same until I came across this horrible company. Also, You won't find any mention of this in their terms and conditions. I was wrong about insurance and I wish I had just paid the extra £15 from a real insurance company.

I feel like I've been f***** over, but legally. This company is the scum of the earth, oh and you can expect words like "Won't" and "Cant" in these calls.

Reviewed on 17th November 2021
John Hayes's avatar
John Hayes

Hidden Fees

Charged my not one, but SEVEN different cancellation fees amounting to over £180. Really disgusting customer service and just a terrible way to conduct business. Highly recommend you to avoid them.

Reviewed on 17th November 2021
bradley coulson's avatar
bradley coulson

Disgusting company

My son took insurance with them paid £370 2 weeks later they wanted £800 with 2 days to pay it then was told if he cancels its £650, they cancelled policy as I refused to pay the £800 they are now sending letters to try get the £650 even tho they cancelle Read more

My son took insurance with them paid £370 2 weeks later they wanted £800 with 2 days to pay it then was told if he cancels its £650, they cancelled policy as I refused to pay the £800 they are now sending letters to try get the £650 even tho they cancelled it, avoid this company they are only after your money

Reviewed on 17th September 2021
Louise Robertson's avatar
Louise Robertson

Absolute shocking

My car insurance was up for renewal. I received no email towards renewal . I then get a text message " if you want to continue with policy reply back 'yes' and we will do the rest". I didn't reply back as found a cheaper quote etc. I then get a text mes Read more

My car insurance was up for renewal. I received no email towards renewal . I then get a text message " if you want to continue with policy reply back 'yes' and we will do the rest".
I didn't reply back as found a cheaper quote etc. I then get a text message saying my policy has been renewed and the direct debit is set for the 4th of every month???. How can anyone renew a policy when I haven't agreed to anything!?!. Stay clear of this company.

Reviewed on 4th September 2021
Daniel Harding 's avatar
Daniel Harding