Policy Expert Reviews

  Ratings based on 6,921 reviews       Last review 3 days ago    

Policy Expert reviews from our Smart Money People can help to give you the inside track on life as a Policy Expert customer. Have you used Policy Expert? Since launch in May 2011 Policy Expert has insured over 600,000 homes across the UK. If you have a po...

READ MORE

Policy Expert reviews from our Smart Money People can help to give you the inside track on life as a Policy Expert customer. Have you used Policy Expert? Since launch in May 2011 Policy Expert has insured over 600,000 homes across the UK. If you have a policy, you can join us and write your own Policy Expert reviews today to help increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Insurance Choice Awards logo Winner of 'Best Home Insurance Provider' in the 2017 Insurance Choice Awards

Policy Expert Products 6,921

Car Insurance

Avoid

Cancelled my renewal after changing my address, also charged £1.64 for changing my address, i know its not a lot but they dont have an option to do so online so had to ring them. So, thousands of customers get charged/ripped off for changing the address, Read more

Cancelled my renewal after changing my address, also charged £1.64 for changing my address, i know its not a lot but they dont have an option to do so online so had to ring them. So, thousands of customers get charged/ripped off for changing the address, which if theft. As this function should be free and available online. Not talking canceling my renewal. waste of pis' of sh@t

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
Albina Bell's avatar
Albina Bell
Write a review

Home Insurance

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

DON NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE FRAUDULENT!!!!! THEY JUST CANCELLED MY CAR INSURANCE FOR THE STUPIDEST OF REASONS!!!!! THEY ARE OUT FOR YOUR MONEY!!! I dealt with a woman CALLED DENISE WAIRD who was disgustingly RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL MAKING THINGS UP A Read more

DON NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE FRAUDULENT!!!!! THEY JUST CANCELLED MY CAR INSURANCE FOR THE STUPIDEST OF REASONS!!!!! THEY ARE OUT FOR YOUR MONEY!!! I dealt with a woman CALLED DENISE WAIRD who was disgustingly RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL MAKING THINGS UP AND TRYING TO TRICK ME INTO SAYING WHAT SHE WANTED TO HEAR!!!!

Reviewed on 20th June 2022
Ricky Mowatt's avatar
Ricky Mowatt
Write a review

Home Insurance

Dont touch this company with a barge pole !

Had the misfortune to have to claim due to a leak under my bath. Have insurance with them for up to £500,000. Offered me £1400 ? said they dont have a 'match' policy so I can just put a panel on my bathroom (to match a totally tiled bathroom ??) Told me I Read more

Had the misfortune to have to claim due to a leak under my bath. Have insurance with them for up to £500,000. Offered me £1400 ? said they dont have a 'match' policy so I can just put a panel on my bathroom (to match a totally tiled bathroom ??) Told me I had to remove my sanitary ware and have it re-instated although no bathroom companies will even quote for this claiming damage is highly likely - My policy also states on one of the initial pages that they wont ask you to remove and reinstate sanitary ware of solar panels. I always research before I buy and they are totally going against everything in the contract- they said it was there final settlement and when I threatened to go to the Insurance Ombudsman (something I am in the process of doing) Hey presto they offered me a couple of hundred more

Reviewed on 17th June 2022
Sandra Meldrum's avatar
Sandra Meldrum
Write a review

Home Insurance

Cowboys!

absolute cowboys! avoid like the plague..won't honour any claims and will include absurd clauses in their policy which has absolutely nothing to do with the policy or the claim! I can't stress enough how bad and corrupt of a company they are.

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
jessica spring's avatar
jessica spring
Write a review

Car Insurance

Lost diamond from my ring

Would not replace my lost diamond from my ring, up to £2000. as it was valued higher and said it should have been insured separately, even though I was prepared to accept a replacement stone in the ring for a lesser value. Very unhappy, this is a technica Read more

Would not replace my lost diamond from my ring, up to £2000. as it was valued higher and said it should have been insured separately, even though I was prepared to accept a replacement stone in the ring for a lesser value. Very unhappy, this is a technicality, had proof of stone etc on national gems register, didn't want to help at all, absolutely devastated.

Reviewed on 21st May 2022
C E of Dorset's avatar
C E of Dorset
Write a review

Car Insurance

Excellent

Had a water leak, company sent out equipment , followed by assessor and finality offer all within three weeks. Professional, at all times, and correspondence excellent questions answered within two hours. Would highly recommend

Reviewed on 9th May 2022
Siobhan Veitch's avatar
Siobhan Veitch
Write a review

Car Insurance

Massive hidden fees- beware

It cost me nearly more cancelling the insurance than the insurance itself. Over the phone they will tell you to read their fees before signing the contract. When you talk over the chat with them they tell you to call them. One star, I am sorry. Will never Read more

It cost me nearly more cancelling the insurance than the insurance itself. Over the phone they will tell you to read their fees before signing the contract. When you talk over the chat with them they tell you to call them. One star, I am sorry. Will never use this insurance again.

Reviewed on 4th May 2022
Peter Katona's avatar
Peter Katona
Write a review

Car Insurance

Charged extra for promoting road safety

6 (ish) times a year (150 miles total) I voluntarily give a demonstration drive to show the standard of driving an Advanced Driver has to achieve. I was quoted £35 extra on my policy to the end of the year, 4 weeks away! other companies: AA, Cornmarket Read more

6 (ish) times a year (150 miles total) I voluntarily give a demonstration drive to show the standard of driving an Advanced Driver has to achieve. I was quoted £35 extra on my policy to the end of the year, 4 weeks away! other companies: AA, Cornmarket offer this cover free of charge. find another insurer.

Reviewed on 3rd May 2022
Sandra's avatar
Sandra
Write a review

Car Insurance

If you want to be able to claim AVOID!

After my car getting damaged in January 2022 I am still waiting for my car to get booked in to be fixed. I am no further forward even after many phone calls and being promised somebody will get back to me which never happens. Each time spending at least 1 Read more

After my car getting damaged in January 2022 I am still waiting for my car to get booked in to be fixed. I am no further forward even after many phone calls and being promised somebody will get back to me which never happens. Each time spending at least 10 minutes on hold. PE blame the garage and the garage blames PE. No idea what the point of having insurance is if this is how a straightforward claim is handled.

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Amy J's avatar
Amy J
Write a review

Home Insurance

Chancers - Arthur Daly Brokers

The woeful company, I so wish I stayed with my expensive firm. After 2 months they send out a surveyor who has 'identified' property issues unrelated to the storm damage and are trying to weasel their way out of a small roofing claim two months after it i Read more

The woeful company, I so wish I stayed with my expensive firm. After 2 months they send out a surveyor who has 'identified' property issues unrelated to the storm damage and are trying to weasel their way out of a small roofing claim two months after it is reported. I am about to refer to FCA as this broker disguising itself as an insurance firm is pitiful. Do not touch with a bargepole.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
Robert Sullivan's avatar
Robert Sullivan
Write a review

Home Insurance

Do not use Policy expert

Garage roof blown of in storm 29th January, never had a leak or any sign of dampness or damage on felt assessor said wear and tear!! Our roofer said rubbish. For saving a bit not worth it

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
May Thompson's avatar
May Thompson
Write a review

Home Insurance

Rubbish

Absolute rubbish. Emergency homecare is anything but. Left with no water, no heating and no flushing toilets. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 26th March 2022
Jane Johnson 's avatar
Jane Johnson
Write a review

Home Insurance

Scammers!

My roof (which was not old and in good condition) was damaged during the storm in February - 64mph winds and the ridge tiles flew off and pierced the flat roof causing leaks and damage to contents. The surveyor spent approximately 4 minutes with a digital Read more

My roof (which was not old and in good condition) was damaged during the storm in February - 64mph winds and the ridge tiles flew off and pierced the flat roof causing leaks and damage to contents. The surveyor spent approximately 4 minutes with a digital camera to tell me the claim was not valid as the mortar on the ridge tiles had eroded. I’ve had two roofers that have looked and told me this is not true! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I think the surveyor must’ve been on targets and having researched further his information seems to be completely untrue! It’s unjust that this claim has been made invalid and I will be contacting the financial ombudsman.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Kelly's avatar
Kelly
Write a review

Home Insurance

Not an insurance company

Not an insurance company, a very poor broker, everything subcontracted. Reported them to FCA, if you need a proper insurance company, there are many, pay the extra few pounds, will save trouble

Reviewed on 5th March 2022
eric c's avatar
eric c
Write a review

Home Insurance

Storm damage to roof

Took a week of trying to get through to the correct claims dept, they passed the claim to trinity claims, after a week they told me that it would be 7 and a half weeks after logging my claim for even a surveyor to look at my roof damage, I provided good p Read more

Took a week of trying to get through to the correct claims dept, they passed the claim to trinity claims, after a week they told me that it would be 7 and a half weeks after logging my claim for even a surveyor to look at my roof damage, I provided good photos of the damage which they could use to survey the damage as it’s ridge tiles missing and damaged tiles where the ridges fell.
I will now be forced to instruct my own roofer as I’m concerned about the remaining ridge tiles and the damage they could do if they fell onto my pyramid sky lights.

Reviewed on 3rd March 2022
Karl's avatar
Karl
Write a review

Home Insurance

Call not connecting to customer service even after waiting for an hour

You will never get through to the customer service team that assist you with claim refund and you are charged for your phone call which means you might not get the claim and end up with high phone bills.

Reviewed on 22nd February 2022
Reka's avatar
Reka
Write a review

Home Insurance

Insurance Shark

This is a shark of an insurance company..I’ve got thousands of pounds worth of damage to fencing due to storm Eunice.. I went outside and moved the sharp edges of the fencing so not to damage windows etc .. as a result of trying not to cause further dama Read more

This is a shark of an insurance company..I’ve got thousands of pounds worth of damage to fencing due to storm Eunice.. I went outside and moved the sharp edges of the fencing so not to damage windows etc .. as a result of trying not to cause further damage this insurer has punished me by not paying out because not one pane of glass was damaged.. this company payout dodgers in the extreme.. they should be ashamed of themselves !!

Reviewed on 20th February 2022
Spencer & Antoinette's avatar
Spencer & Antoinette
Write a review

Home Insurance

Very good value and easy to apply until you need to claim, Just don't

I have never. like most people ever tried to claim on my home insurance in over 40 years. Until a month ago when I made a claim for emergency repair. the family toilet would not flush the sewage away and apparenty a pipe had colapsed underground. I paid t Read more

I have never. like most people ever tried to claim on my home insurance in over 40 years. Until a month ago when I made a claim for emergency repair. the family toilet would not flush the sewage away and apparenty a pipe had colapsed underground. I paid the bill mysely £2880
Seems the get out is wear and tear

Reviewed on 16th February 2022
Mike Handy's avatar
Mike Handy
Write a review

Home Insurance

Not paying out after storm damage

Terrible experience from Policy Expert. Storm Malik took my roof covering off and rain water caused internal damage.Refusing to pay out as the surveyor says the roof felt was in poor condition, although we had flat roof cover.We gave used this company for Read more

Terrible experience from Policy Expert. Storm Malik took my roof covering off and rain water caused internal damage.Refusing to pay out as the surveyor says the roof felt was in poor condition, although we had flat roof cover.We gave used this company for eight years but never again,they happily take your money but refuse to pay out when needed.

Reviewed on 10th February 2022
Allan Mccreath's avatar
Allan Mccreath
Write a review

Home Insurance

Awful service

This is the worst insurance claim experience. 1) They say Standard cover of £100 but when I went for a leakage claim they say its £500 excess for ESCAPE OF WATER 2)In top of that they get away saying you haven't read out Terms and conditions 3) I mad Read more

This is the worst insurance claim experience.
1) They say Standard cover of £100 but when I went for a leakage claim they say its £500 excess for ESCAPE OF WATER
2)In top of that they get away saying you haven't read out Terms and conditions
3) I made a last year where I was given an access of £50 which they don't have any record of.

Reviewed on 31st January 2022
Kin's avatar
Kin
Write a review