Policy Expert Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 4,723 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    
  Visit website

Our Policy Expert Home Insurance reviews can help you to find out what life as a Policy Expert customer is really like. And if you have experience of using this product, why not write your review on Smart Money People today?

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Policy Expert Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

63% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 45-54

Top Channel Preference: Online

Insurance Choice Awards logo Winner of 'Best Home Insurance Provider' in the 2017 Insurance Choice Awards
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Home Insurance Reviews

4,723 reviews

Review Policy Expert 's Home Insurance now

Chancers - Arthur Daly Brokers

The woeful company, I so wish I stayed with my expensive firm. After 2 months they send out a surveyor who has 'identified' property issues unrelated to the storm damage and are trying to weasel their way out of a small roofing claim two months after it i Read more

The woeful company, I so wish I stayed with my expensive firm. After 2 months they send out a surveyor who has 'identified' property issues unrelated to the storm damage and are trying to weasel their way out of a small roofing claim two months after it is reported. I am about to refer to FCA as this broker disguising itself as an insurance firm is pitiful. Do not touch with a bargepole.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
Robert Sullivan's avatar
Robert Sullivan
Get Product

Do not use Policy expert

Garage roof blown of in storm 29th January, never had a leak or any sign of dampness or damage on felt assessor said wear and tear!! Our roofer said rubbish. For saving a bit not worth it

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
May Thompson's avatar
May Thompson
Get Product

Rubbish

Absolute rubbish. Emergency homecare is anything but. Left with no water, no heating and no flushing toilets. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 26th March 2022
Jane Johnson 's avatar
Jane Johnson
Get Product

Scammers!

My roof (which was not old and in good condition) was damaged during the storm in February - 64mph winds and the ridge tiles flew off and pierced the flat roof causing leaks and damage to contents. The surveyor spent approximately 4 minutes with a digital Read more

My roof (which was not old and in good condition) was damaged during the storm in February - 64mph winds and the ridge tiles flew off and pierced the flat roof causing leaks and damage to contents. The surveyor spent approximately 4 minutes with a digital camera to tell me the claim was not valid as the mortar on the ridge tiles had eroded. I’ve had two roofers that have looked and told me this is not true! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I think the surveyor must’ve been on targets and having researched further his information seems to be completely untrue! It’s unjust that this claim has been made invalid and I will be contacting the financial ombudsman.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Kelly's avatar
Kelly
Get Product

Not an insurance company

Not an insurance company, a very poor broker, everything subcontracted. Reported them to FCA, if you need a proper insurance company, there are many, pay the extra few pounds, will save trouble

Reviewed on 5th March 2022
eric c's avatar
eric c
Get Product

Storm damage to roof

Took a week of trying to get through to the correct claims dept, they passed the claim to trinity claims, after a week they told me that it would be 7 and a half weeks after logging my claim for even a surveyor to look at my roof damage, I provided good p Read more

Took a week of trying to get through to the correct claims dept, they passed the claim to trinity claims, after a week they told me that it would be 7 and a half weeks after logging my claim for even a surveyor to look at my roof damage, I provided good photos of the damage which they could use to survey the damage as it’s ridge tiles missing and damaged tiles where the ridges fell.
I will now be forced to instruct my own roofer as I’m concerned about the remaining ridge tiles and the damage they could do if they fell onto my pyramid sky lights.

Reviewed on 3rd March 2022
Karl's avatar
Karl
Get Product

Call not connecting to customer service even after waiting for an hour

You will never get through to the customer service team that assist you with claim refund and you are charged for your phone call which means you might not get the claim and end up with high phone bills.

Reviewed on 22nd February 2022
Reka's avatar
Reka
Get Product

Insurance Shark

This is a shark of an insurance company..I’ve got thousands of pounds worth of damage to fencing due to storm Eunice.. I went outside and moved the sharp edges of the fencing so not to damage windows etc .. as a result of trying not to cause further dama Read more

This is a shark of an insurance company..I’ve got thousands of pounds worth of damage to fencing due to storm Eunice.. I went outside and moved the sharp edges of the fencing so not to damage windows etc .. as a result of trying not to cause further damage this insurer has punished me by not paying out because not one pane of glass was damaged.. this company payout dodgers in the extreme.. they should be ashamed of themselves !!

Reviewed on 20th February 2022
Spencer & Antoinette's avatar
Spencer & Antoinette
Get Product

Very good value and easy to apply until you need to claim, Just don't

I have never. like most people ever tried to claim on my home insurance in over 40 years. Until a month ago when I made a claim for emergency repair. the family toilet would not flush the sewage away and apparenty a pipe had colapsed underground. I paid t Read more

I have never. like most people ever tried to claim on my home insurance in over 40 years. Until a month ago when I made a claim for emergency repair. the family toilet would not flush the sewage away and apparenty a pipe had colapsed underground. I paid the bill mysely £2880
Seems the get out is wear and tear

Reviewed on 16th February 2022
Mike Handy's avatar
Mike Handy
Get Product

Not paying out after storm damage

Terrible experience from Policy Expert. Storm Malik took my roof covering off and rain water caused internal damage.Refusing to pay out as the surveyor says the roof felt was in poor condition, although we had flat roof cover.We gave used this company for Read more

Terrible experience from Policy Expert. Storm Malik took my roof covering off and rain water caused internal damage.Refusing to pay out as the surveyor says the roof felt was in poor condition, although we had flat roof cover.We gave used this company for eight years but never again,they happily take your money but refuse to pay out when needed.

Reviewed on 10th February 2022
Allan Mccreath's avatar
Allan Mccreath
Get Product

Awful service

This is the worst insurance claim experience. 1) They say Standard cover of £100 but when I went for a leakage claim they say its £500 excess for ESCAPE OF WATER 2)In top of that they get away saying you haven't read out Terms and conditions 3) I mad Read more

This is the worst insurance claim experience.
1) They say Standard cover of £100 but when I went for a leakage claim they say its £500 excess for ESCAPE OF WATER
2)In top of that they get away saying you haven't read out Terms and conditions
3) I made a last year where I was given an access of £50 which they don't have any record of.

Reviewed on 31st January 2022
Kin's avatar
Kin
Get Product

Makes you wonder why you even have insurance.

I've never submitted an insurance claim in my life, and was apprehensive to do so after hearing all my life that insurers are con-artists who try get out of compensating fairly. After being broken into, with all of the evidence caught on CCTV camera, our Read more

I've never submitted an insurance claim in my life, and was apprehensive to do so after hearing all my life that insurers are con-artists who try get out of compensating fairly. After being broken into, with all of the evidence caught on CCTV camera, our shed went from a safe place to keep all the usual garden bits / bikes etc, to a waste of space and a cooked mess. The doors were ripped from their hinges and smashed to bits, the whole frame had sunk and even if we replaced the doors, they wouldn't shut because of the now wonky overall structure. A like-for-like replacement of our shed would likely cost us £1200 - £1800, dependant on quality and supplier. The insurance company valued our claim at less than our £200 excess because the shed was not pristine condition (what shed is?). If insurance does not offer good honest people a like-for-like replacement when they are subject to break-ins / vandalism - you have to ask what is the point in having insurance? We pay them all this money year on year, then when we need them for a legitimate claim, they don't pay out. The hard-fact is, we had a perfectly suitable shed before this ordeal, and now we have nothing. If they are happy with that and think they've done a good job and earnt their insurance renewal fee - there's a definite problem with their way of thinking.

Reviewed on 21st January 2022
Ryan's avatar
Ryan
Get Product

Total waste of time and money.Useless

Had a water leek under ceiling.Only covered to find leek.£700 excess to mend it

Reviewed on 13th January 2022
Enzo Deluca's avatar
Enzo Deluca
Get Product

Freezer content

Policy expert, do not expect any help and do not expect to get financial help impossible, if you cannot get help from a small claim for freezer content would they for big claims like building damage no chance DO NOT TOUCH WITH A BARGE POLE, they are cheap Read more

Policy expert, do not expect any help and do not expect to get financial help impossible, if you cannot get help from a small claim for freezer content would they for big claims like building damage no chance DO NOT TOUCH WITH A BARGE POLE, they are cheap for a reason they do pay out on claims.

Reviewed on 13th December 2021
peter-sheila@hotmail.com's avatar
peter-sheila@hotmail.com
Get Product

Dodgy Company

They deal with the customers in a very dodgy ways , please ,please stay away , you will loose your money and time,

Reviewed on 21st November 2021
Tarig Ali's avatar
Tarig Ali
Get Product

not recommend

I get quote with good price from them but unfortunately when I phoned them and told my car was write off as cat C in 2016 they said not going to insure my car. I insuring car with others insurance providers without any problems. Zero stars for policy expe Read more

I get quote with good price from them but unfortunately when I phoned them and told my car was write off as cat C in 2016 they said not going to insure my car. I insuring car with others insurance providers without any problems. Zero stars for policy expert

Reviewed on 21st October 2021
Marius Ceikauskas's avatar
Marius Ceikauskas
Get Product

Quick and easy

Policy Expert have taken care of our needs admirably.... and extremely competitively, very happy and feel in secure hands.

Reviewed on 16th October 2021
John's avatar
John
Get Product

Excellent!

To be honest I had never heard of Policy Expert but they were very reasonable, saving me £84.24 on the policy that was about to expire. It was quick and easy to do on line, and had some great reviews. So glad I chose Policy Expert!

Reviewed on 10th October 2021
Christine Macfarlane's avatar
Christine Macfarlane
Get Product

Great value

Competitive price. Has the requirement I need.

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
Jayne's avatar
Jayne
Get Product

Great insurance provider

Very simply, they are quick, straightforward tand easy to use. They offer comprehensive cover at a good price to the levels required and I am generally impressed. I would recommend

Reviewed on 7th October 2021
Clive Cambridge's avatar
Clive Cambridge
Get Product