Policy Expert Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 4,735 reviews       Last review 1 week ago    

Our Policy Expert Home Insurance reviews can help you to find out what life as a Policy Expert customer is really like. And if you have experience of using this product, why not write your review on Smart Money People today?

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Insurance Choice Awards logo Winner of 'Best Home Insurance Provider' in the 2017 Insurance Choice Awards
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Home Insurance Reviews

4,735 reviews

Review Policy Expert 's Home Insurance now

Shocking experience with this company

Shocking experience with this company. After having held insurance for 3 years and never having made a claim, our claim for a push bike stolen by masked men (on motorbikes) off our driveway was refused. Apparently my 13 year old should have squared up to Read more

Shocking experience with this company. After having held insurance for 3 years and never having made a claim, our claim for a push bike stolen by masked men (on motorbikes) off our driveway was refused. Apparently my 13 year old should have squared up to the thieves and asked them to wait til he put his 'lock on' to ensure the insurance would pay out. I am disgusted!!

Reviewed on 22nd September 2022
Dan's avatar
Dan

Better cover, cheaper price

I used to be with Admiral for my home insurance, however they are not as good as they used to be and proving to be extremely expensive. That's when I found Policy Expert through comparison websites. Furthermore, after seeing from many positive reviews o Read more

I used to be with Admiral for my home insurance, however they are not as good as they used to be and proving to be extremely expensive.
That's when I found Policy Expert through comparison websites.
Furthermore, after seeing from many positive reviews on many websites, I've clearly made the right choice to switch.

Reviewed on 17th September 2022
Helen's avatar
Helen

Good service

……. So far, let’s hope they keep it up!

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
James's avatar
James

Avoid at all costs!

Avoid at all costs! Having paid my insurance premiums in good faith for many years without making a claim I finally called on my insurer following a garage break-in and theft. I had my garage door prised open enough (we think with a car jack) for someo Read more

Avoid at all costs!

Having paid my insurance premiums in good faith for many years without making a claim I finally called on my insurer following a garage break-in and theft. I had my garage door prised open enough (we think with a car jack) for someone to open manually from the inside then help themselves to its content. Our neighbours have footage of the perpetrators. Policy Expert/ Trinity Claims acknowledge that force was applied to gain access but because no damage was caused to the door they have refused to pay out. I asked what would have happened if someone picked the house lock and emptied the contents of the house and they confirmed that this would not be covered. We had a roller shutter contractor look at the door and they confirmed that someone who knows what they are doing could get into 60-70% of garage doors without causing any damage to them. Essentially the cover is not worth the paper its written on. 'Computer says no'! Avoid and go with a reputable provider.

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
Michael's avatar
Michael

Great provider

Easy to apply, great value. No issues

Reviewed on 15th September 2022
Fatimah 98's avatar
Fatimah 98

Simple and cheap

Quickly and easy to fill out. Quotes generated and easy to compare with best price. 1st time buyer and happy with how easy it was

Reviewed on 1st September 2022
Mushira Abubakar's avatar
Mushira Abubakar

Home insurance

Roof damaged by storm allowing rain through and damageing ceiling. Took weeks for any response from this company so I instructed a roofer to repair the damaged roof to avoid any further damage the the ceilings. When assessor did arrive dismissed my claim Read more

Roof damaged by storm allowing rain through and damageing ceiling. Took weeks for any response from this company so I instructed a roofer to repair the damaged roof to avoid any further damage the the ceilings. When assessor did arrive dismissed my claim on the spot. Will not be renewing with this bunch of bandits

Reviewed on 20th August 2022
Dave's avatar
Dave

Could not have been easier!

User friendly site, quick quotation process and a good competitive cost for the right for me product.

Reviewed on 10th August 2022
Kish's avatar
Kish

Conservatory window

One of the conservatory window shattered, and then won't pay for it ,because they said its weather related too hot. !! Won't be going with them again.

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Baker's avatar
Baker

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

DON NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE FRAUDULENT!!!!! THEY JUST CANCELLED MY CAR INSURANCE FOR THE STUPIDEST OF REASONS!!!!! THEY ARE OUT FOR YOUR MONEY!!! I dealt with a woman CALLED DENISE WAIRD who was disgustingly RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL MAKING THINGS UP A Read more

DON NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY ARE FRAUDULENT!!!!! THEY JUST CANCELLED MY CAR INSURANCE FOR THE STUPIDEST OF REASONS!!!!! THEY ARE OUT FOR YOUR MONEY!!! I dealt with a woman CALLED DENISE WAIRD who was disgustingly RUDE AND DISRESPECTFUL MAKING THINGS UP AND TRYING TO TRICK ME INTO SAYING WHAT SHE WANTED TO HEAR!!!!

Reviewed on 20th June 2022
Ricky Mowatt's avatar
Ricky Mowatt

Dont touch this company with a barge pole !

Had the misfortune to have to claim due to a leak under my bath. Have insurance with them for up to £500,000. Offered me £1400 ? said they dont have a 'match' policy so I can just put a panel on my bathroom (to match a totally tiled bathroom ??) Told me I Read more

Had the misfortune to have to claim due to a leak under my bath. Have insurance with them for up to £500,000. Offered me £1400 ? said they dont have a 'match' policy so I can just put a panel on my bathroom (to match a totally tiled bathroom ??) Told me I had to remove my sanitary ware and have it re-instated although no bathroom companies will even quote for this claiming damage is highly likely - My policy also states on one of the initial pages that they wont ask you to remove and reinstate sanitary ware of solar panels. I always research before I buy and they are totally going against everything in the contract- they said it was there final settlement and when I threatened to go to the Insurance Ombudsman (something I am in the process of doing) Hey presto they offered me a couple of hundred more

Reviewed on 17th June 2022
Sandra Meldrum's avatar
Sandra Meldrum

Cowboys!

absolute cowboys! avoid like the plague..won't honour any claims and will include absurd clauses in their policy which has absolutely nothing to do with the policy or the claim! I can't stress enough how bad and corrupt of a company they are.

Reviewed on 14th June 2022
jessica spring's avatar
jessica spring

Chancers - Arthur Daly Brokers

The woeful company, I so wish I stayed with my expensive firm. After 2 months they send out a surveyor who has 'identified' property issues unrelated to the storm damage and are trying to weasel their way out of a small roofing claim two months after it i Read more

The woeful company, I so wish I stayed with my expensive firm. After 2 months they send out a surveyor who has 'identified' property issues unrelated to the storm damage and are trying to weasel their way out of a small roofing claim two months after it is reported. I am about to refer to FCA as this broker disguising itself as an insurance firm is pitiful. Do not touch with a bargepole.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
Robert Sullivan's avatar
Robert Sullivan

Do not use Policy expert

Garage roof blown of in storm 29th January, never had a leak or any sign of dampness or damage on felt assessor said wear and tear!! Our roofer said rubbish. For saving a bit not worth it

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
May Thompson's avatar
May Thompson

Rubbish

Absolute rubbish. Emergency homecare is anything but. Left with no water, no heating and no flushing toilets. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 26th March 2022
Jane Johnson 's avatar
Jane Johnson

Scammers!

My roof (which was not old and in good condition) was damaged during the storm in February - 64mph winds and the ridge tiles flew off and pierced the flat roof causing leaks and damage to contents. The surveyor spent approximately 4 minutes with a digital Read more

My roof (which was not old and in good condition) was damaged during the storm in February - 64mph winds and the ridge tiles flew off and pierced the flat roof causing leaks and damage to contents. The surveyor spent approximately 4 minutes with a digital camera to tell me the claim was not valid as the mortar on the ridge tiles had eroded. I’ve had two roofers that have looked and told me this is not true! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. I think the surveyor must’ve been on targets and having researched further his information seems to be completely untrue! It’s unjust that this claim has been made invalid and I will be contacting the financial ombudsman.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Kelly's avatar
Kelly

Not an insurance company

Not an insurance company, a very poor broker, everything subcontracted. Reported them to FCA, if you need a proper insurance company, there are many, pay the extra few pounds, will save trouble

Reviewed on 5th March 2022
eric c's avatar
eric c

Storm damage to roof

Took a week of trying to get through to the correct claims dept, they passed the claim to trinity claims, after a week they told me that it would be 7 and a half weeks after logging my claim for even a surveyor to look at my roof damage, I provided good p Read more

Took a week of trying to get through to the correct claims dept, they passed the claim to trinity claims, after a week they told me that it would be 7 and a half weeks after logging my claim for even a surveyor to look at my roof damage, I provided good photos of the damage which they could use to survey the damage as it’s ridge tiles missing and damaged tiles where the ridges fell.
I will now be forced to instruct my own roofer as I’m concerned about the remaining ridge tiles and the damage they could do if they fell onto my pyramid sky lights.

Reviewed on 3rd March 2022
Karl's avatar
Karl

Call not connecting to customer service even after waiting for an hour

You will never get through to the customer service team that assist you with claim refund and you are charged for your phone call which means you might not get the claim and end up with high phone bills.

Reviewed on 22nd February 2022
Reka's avatar
Reka

Insurance Shark

This is a shark of an insurance company..I’ve got thousands of pounds worth of damage to fencing due to storm Eunice.. I went outside and moved the sharp edges of the fencing so not to damage windows etc .. as a result of trying not to cause further dama Read more

This is a shark of an insurance company..I’ve got thousands of pounds worth of damage to fencing due to storm Eunice.. I went outside and moved the sharp edges of the fencing so not to damage windows etc .. as a result of trying not to cause further damage this insurer has punished me by not paying out because not one pane of glass was damaged.. this company payout dodgers in the extreme.. they should be ashamed of themselves !!

Reviewed on 20th February 2022
Spencer & Antoinette's avatar
Spencer & Antoinette