Sainsburys Bank Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 18 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different...

READ MORE

Do you buy travel insurance before going abroad? There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different policies to choose from, finding the right policy for you can be quite confusing. Reading our Sainsburys Bank travel insurance reviews can help you find out what other travellers have to say. You can also write your Sainsburys Bank travel insurance review too!

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Travel Insurance Reviews

18 reviews

Review Sainsburys Bank's Travel Insurance now

Good

Good cover, OK price but worth it.

Reviewed on 10th October 2022
Kaylasennett1988's avatar
Kaylasennett1988

Delay after delay

Response takes 31 working days then asked for further info back to 31 days. Then asked for further info- another 31 days. CSL cannot cope with the volume. Spoke to a poor lad today who told me someone will call back but it won't be a claims processor so Read more

Response takes 31 working days then asked for further info back to 31 days. Then asked for further info- another 31 days. CSL cannot cope with the volume. Spoke to a poor lad today who told me someone will call back but it won't be a claims processor so not building my hopes up.

Reviewed on 31st August 2022
BG's avatar
BG

The agency they use to settle claims cannot cope.

They state that you may have to wait 31 days for a claim to be looked at. After this time they ask for a document you have already supplied and then put you back on another 31 days etc......

Reviewed on 25th August 2022
Andy Kingan's avatar
Andy Kingan

Go elsewhere

The don’t pay out when they should, or even communicate, had to go to the ombudsman to get settlement.

Reviewed on 18th August 2022
Ian Bates's avatar
Ian Bates

Terrible

Phoned up to add a medical condition. They said adding the extra condition went over the points. Points. What points. They declined our insurance and we lost over £300 pro rata payment back. We are in our 70s. That's what you get for being honest.

Reviewed on 10th July 2022
Gloria McGowan's avatar
Gloria McGowan

Waste of money and time

I will never book holiday insurance with Sainsbury's again, the amount of hoops you have to jump through just to get a standard cover all email back a month later telling you you're not covered and not addressing all of the points made in your claim, is n Read more

I will never book holiday insurance with Sainsbury's again, the amount of hoops you have to jump through just to get a standard cover all email back a month later telling you you're not covered and not addressing all of the points made in your claim, is not worth the hassle. I've now just spent over an hour holding on the phone just to be told all of the agents are busy and I will have to wait for a callback. Emails are not responded to, you just get an automatic response stating that due to Covid they are delayed in responding and could take up to 21 working days to respond. I'm out of pocket for a nights stay in a hotel due to flight cancellation, I can't see the point in having the insurance if it doesn't even cover you for the basics! Save your money and book with an actual insurance company, this is just a cheap easy way for Sainsbury's to make some easy money with no repercussions.

Reviewed on 31st May 2022
Lauren Regan's avatar
Lauren Regan

No response or decision on my claim for more than 2 months

It took me 1 minute to get travel insurance and I am still waiting for more than 2 months about my claim. Not worth it in future

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Zulmai Khan's avatar
Zulmai Khan

Don't waste your money! You feed the thieves!

Worse travel insurance, probably like all others! You have to know if you are taking a travel insurance and you need it, they will find a way to escape every time! Which means you are feeding those thieves for nothing! Did you know that some travel age Read more

Worse travel insurance, probably like all others!
You have to know if you are taking a travel insurance and you need it, they will find a way to escape every time!
Which means you are feeding those thieves for nothing! Did you know that some travel agents have some bonuses of more than £100.000! Happy to know, I am so disgusted!
Please don't waste your money on travel insurance!
Before travelling ask the government how you can be covered, more helpful than thieves...

Reviewed on 15th January 2021
Canard's avatar
Canard

Simply hopeless

Booked a trip to travel down through the Alps on the Glacier & Bernina express trains in early June 2020. Due to Countries closing borders as a result of COVID-19 our airline cancelled our flights & refunded us. Similarly all but one of our hotels/ accomm Read more

Booked a trip to travel down through the Alps on the Glacier & Bernina express trains in early June 2020. Due to Countries closing borders as a result of COVID-19 our airline cancelled our flights & refunded us. Similarly all but one of our hotels/ accommodation either Refunded us in full or did not charge us. This left us with one non refundable booking but on speaking with the hotelier he kindly offered to refund 50% of our costs. Our travel claim was the remaining 50% amounting to just under £80.00.Our policy was bought with no excess and so having obtained my partial refund from the hotel thereby minimising my losses I filed a claim in early June 2020, the claim form advising all claims would be processed with 5 working days. Understandably during a global pandemic the number of claims sky rocketed and the Insurer’s telephone message led me to understand that this was increased to 15 working days. In reality it was more like 30 working days when despite having sent all my documents & evidence with my claim, some were requested again in a blanket coverall letter with no account taken for what I had already submitted. The next fiasco was the Insurer insisting I first of all claim under S75 Consumer Credit Act from my Credit card provider. It was clear to me when completing such a claim that it was not pertinent & doomed to fail! Nevertheless Sainsburys insisted this avenue had to be explored! At this time Credit Card Companies we’re also dealing with a large amount of claims resulting from the pandemic & we had no choice to await their decision. At the end of September my card provider confirmed S75 was not relevant and I pressed for payment from the Insurer. 2 weeks later, without any written notification, an amount of money appeared in my wife’s account which was less that our excess free claim rather than what was claimed & due but by this time my wife & I had almost lost the will to live.

My only previous claim with any travel insurance was over 10 years ago & that was a simple matter. It is clear that Sainsburys Travel Insurance puts up as many fences as possible to frustrate any claims being made & even if you are successful it pays less than is due.
We will never buy from them again! Simply appalling service

Reviewed on 28th October 2020
Colin's avatar
Colin

Brilliant

Unfortunately had a hospital admission that prevented me from going on my holiday last year. Sainsburys bank were brilliant, super supportive and the claim process was very easy to follow. The employees were very helpful along the way and the process was Read more

Unfortunately had a hospital admission that prevented me from going on my holiday last year. Sainsburys bank were brilliant, super supportive and the claim process was very easy to follow. The employees were very helpful along the way and the process was just brilliant overall.

Reviewed on 30th August 2020
Rebecca's avatar
Rebecca

I don't recommend

I chose to book Sainsbury's bank travel insurance after searching and found 5-star defaqto rating. When I added my age and health history made the premium expensive for a 7-day holiday in Italy for my wife and myself. TUI cancelled because of coronavirus Read more

I chose to book Sainsbury's bank travel insurance after searching and found 5-star defaqto rating. When I added my age and health history made the premium expensive for a 7-day holiday in Italy for my wife and myself. TUI cancelled because of coronavirus so I tried to phone Sainsbury's travel insurance to ask if it was possible to cancel insurance, but received no replies after trying all numbers including claims line and waiting for some time until phone went dead. So I sent them a email again received no replies. I was not expecting to receive a full refund but there is no way of contacting anybody, not even to make a claim! Obviously I will not be arranging any insurance with this company ever again, especially on another occasion after changing pounds to euros Sainsbury's Bank cashier made a mistake and gave my wife 10 Euros less, my wife having worked in a bank spotted this and the cashier just made a groan not even a apology. They definitely lost us as a customer in the future.

Reviewed on 24th July 2020
Stephen's avatar
Stephen

They do not refund when they say they will

We took out annual global travel insurance In February then cancelled it the next day. It has however so far taken 2 months to process the refund. It's been 5 phone calls, 3 emails, 3 tweets and each time they apologise, say they made a mistake and they'l Read more

We took out annual global travel insurance In February then cancelled it the next day. It has however so far taken 2 months to process the refund. It's been 5 phone calls, 3 emails, 3 tweets and each time they apologise, say they made a mistake and they'll process it. I'm now having to take them to a Small Claims Court. AVOID AVOID AVOID.

Reviewed on 28th April 2020
Wenzhe Cedric Chen's avatar
Wenzhe Cedric Chen

Very Good

Great price and plenty of cover

Reviewed on 1st September 2019
EmilyG's avatar
EmilyG

Great cover at a brilliant price

Sainsburys Bank offered me a fantastic price for my travel insurance and I had plenty of cover for any issues that I could have encountered. It was very easy and quick to process too.

Reviewed on 7th July 2019
EmilyG's avatar
EmilyG

Easy straight forward cover

It was so easy to see what your cover levels were and we were able to add gadget cover all for under £30 for 3 people!

Reviewed on 22nd September 2018
Helen Rosbotham's avatar
Helen Rosbotham

Easy, affordable and friendly

Great online tool to get quick quotes, always affordable with discounts for nectar card users, never an issue and always happy to help with any questions. Would recommend.

Reviewed on 17th July 2018
Annabelle Slater's avatar
Annabelle Slater

Excellent service

We used the online service for our travel insurance and the process was quick and easy. It gave all the options for cover. Also giving a discount for nectar customers.

Reviewed on 18th September 2016
Jenna Rothen's avatar
Jenna Rothen

Unable to extend

Travellers should be made aware that they cannot extend their insurance once on holiday. We took out a two week policy but had to stay a further week in America as our granddaughter became ill and was not allowed to fly. Sainsburys refused to extend our i Read more

Travellers should be made aware that they cannot extend their insurance once on holiday. We took out a two week policy but had to stay a further week in America as our granddaughter became ill and was not allowed to fly. Sainsburys refused to extend our insurance and also refused us a new Policy for the additional week stating that you could not take out cover whilst already abroad.

Reviewed on 29th August 2016
Joyce Butler's avatar
Joyce Butler