Voting in the British Bank Awards is now open! Share your feedback & enter our £1,000 prize draw.Vote now

Virgin Money Stocks and Shares ISA Reviews

Ratings based on 19 reviews Last review 6 days ago

A stocks and shares ISA is a tax-efficient investment with the potential to grow your money over the medium to long-term. It allows you to invest up to £20,000 this tax year, although you can invest smaller amounts too.

Remember, past performance is not a reliable guide to the future. The value of investments can go up as well as down and you may get back less than you invest.

Brought to you by Virgin Money. Virgin Money Stocks and Shares ISA is promoted by Virgin Money Personal Financial Service Limited and provided by Virgin Money Unit Trust Managers Limited (the ISA manager).

5 12
4 4
3 1
2 0
1 2

Our Smart Money People 360° Rating

Good Savings
Combines our customer review data set with wider market analysis. Find out more here.

Your Stocks and Shares ISA Reviews (19)

7th August 2018

poor customer service

We were given incorrect advice about what ID was required for KYC checks. I was told that my marriage certificate was invalid and that I needed to get a new passport in my married name.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for getting in touch about this Rebecca. If you need a hand with this one, can you forward your address and contact number to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I'll take it from there? ^AR
3rd June 2018

Great, Provided you never need to get your money out

So far a 5 week wait and have still not recieved our money (Sell instruction completed on 23rd April losing the ISA status of the investment). VM claim they can not identify us after moving home. They have so far sent a compensation cheque to our new...

Read more

So far a 5 week wait and have still not recieved our money (Sell instruction completed on 23rd April losing the ISA status of the investment). VM claim they can not identify us after moving home. They have so far sent a compensation cheque to our new address and have paid dividends into our bank account whilst continuing to use our new address for letters. Latest trick was to claim they could not accept a certified copy of a bank statement - the banks stamp clearly gives the branch and phone number signed by the cashier.
June 8th - No further progress. Our bank can not understand why VM would not accept their certified copy of a bank statement. They advise staff not to use full names for their own safety. Ombudsman advisor indicated they would like to recieve this as a formal complaint to investigate but to try and get the money first to avoid a longer delay.
June 17th: Still waiting for funds that were due on 23rd April..
Cheque finally arrived 29th June..be warned.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Dee, let’s see what I can do to help. Can you email your name, address & contact number over to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I’ll take a look? Thanks, Lindsay
11th February 2018

Stocks and shares for the risk averse

I was worried about investing on my own, so I decided to go carefully with Virgin with their S&S ISA. So far its performed very well. I pay a small amount in each month, and already, 3 years in, its worth significantly more than i invested, and way...

Read more

I was worried about investing on my own, so I decided to go carefully with Virgin with their S&S ISA. So far its performed very well. I pay a small amount in each month, and already, 3 years in, its worth significantly more than i invested, and way better performing than any savings account would have been at this point!

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Sarah, thanks for leaving your lovely feedback! Great to know we're able to help with this, just get in touch if you have any questions. Thanks, Jane
31st December 2017

Virgin Money giving back to the customer

Applying for Virgin Money stocks and shares ISA was such an easy process compared to other banks that we have experienced in the past. The funds were explained extremely well on their website which gave me a better understanding of which areas to...

Read more

Applying for Virgin Money stocks and shares ISA was such an easy process compared to other banks that we have experienced in the past. The funds were explained extremely well on their website which gave me a better understanding of which areas to invest in. After I had completed my application, Virgin Money wrote to me very quickly to confirm and complete the application. I would highly recommend Virgin Money, they were fast, professional and very helpful!

16th November 2017

A good reliable bank that's open and honest, not bad attributes for anyone or any company, a pleasure to do business with.

I only pay in £50 a month but manage to save quite a bit that way to help towards my next car or maybe a holiday.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for sharing your comments Philip, hope you enjoy the future holiday you've got planning! Thanks, Abbie
16th November 2017

Stocks and Shares ISA

Getting a Stocks and shares ISA could be a scary experience but fantastically good information by post has made me move lots of my cash ISAs to Virgin Money Stocks and Shares ISAs. Also I went into a Virgin Money Bank to wait for my husband and was...

Read more

Getting a Stocks and shares ISA could be a scary experience but fantastically good information by post has made me move lots of my cash ISAs to Virgin Money Stocks and Shares ISAs. Also I went into a Virgin Money Bank to wait for my husband and was immediately made to feel at home with a coffee and a chat. Well done to all concerned.

15th December 2016

Stocks and Shares ISA troubles

I opened the ISA account under my married name and as per anti money laundering regs you need to send ID. Despite it being a valid ID combination they were unwilling to accept passport in my maiden name and my marriage certificate. Having worked in an...

Read more

I opened the ISA account under my married name and as per anti money laundering regs you need to send ID. Despite it being a valid ID combination they were unwilling to accept passport in my maiden name and my marriage certificate. Having worked in an FCA compliant company I knew what the rules were but they were unwilling to budge on the issue. I shall wait until I need to change my passport as fortunately I will only need to produce ID when I make a withdrawal. Other than this the product is good and gets good rates of return.