Voting in the British Bank Awards is now open! Share your feedback & enter our £1,000 prize draw.Vote now

Virgin Money Help to Buy: ISA Reviews

Ratings based on 13 reviews Last review 2 months ago

The Virgin Money Help to Buy: ISA is for first time buyers aged 16 and over and is a great way to save for your first home. As well as earning tax-free interest as you save, the government adds a £50 bonus every time you put away £200, up to a maximum bonus of £3,000, payable when your house purchase completes.

Brought to you by Virgin Money.

5 8
4 5
3 0
2 0
1 0

Our Smart Money People 360° Rating

Good Savings
Combines our customer review data set with wider market analysis. Find out more here.

Your Help to Buy: ISA Reviews (13)

20th August 2018

Amazing scheme

Myself and my partner we’re saving up to buy our first home and decided to go with virgin as they gave us extra money once we reached a certain amount

Reply from Virgin Money
Great to hear from you Charlie, glad we were able to help with this! You know where to find us if there's anything else. Thanks, Jane
11th February 2018

Help to buy helped me buy!

Amazing customer service helped me find the perfect ISA. I've now bought a property with their help, and along the way was able to enjoy complimentary coffee and amazing hospitality in their virgin money lounges throughout the UK. Amazing company;...

Read more

Amazing customer service helped me find the perfect ISA. I've now bought a property with their help, and along the way was able to enjoy complimentary coffee and amazing hospitality in their virgin money lounges throughout the UK. Amazing company; thank you so much!

Reply from Virgin Money
Great to hear from you Calum, glad we were able to help with this. If there's anything else we can do, just let us know! Thanks, Jane
19th January 2018

Fantastic interest but little high-street presence

Virgin Money's Help to Buy ISA is ideal for a first time buyer and the interest rate is fantastic. However, you may be required to attend a branch upon opening to provide photographic ID... problematic when they have such a small high-street presence!

Read more

Virgin Money's Help to Buy ISA is ideal for a first time buyer and the interest rate is fantastic. However, you may be required to attend a branch upon opening to provide photographic ID... problematic when they have such a small high-street presence!

25th August 2017

Excellent rates

It is a great and easy service. Easy to set up help to buy ISA in preparation for my first home. All online which was slightly more challenging but was very easy to close down and they responded quickly to my questions about the steps to follow in...

Read more

It is a great and easy service. Easy to set up help to buy ISA in preparation for my first home. All online which was slightly more challenging but was very easy to close down and they responded quickly to my questions about the steps to follow in order to receive my government bonus. Overall, very happy with the service.

Reply from Virgin Money
Thanks for sharing your experience Alex! Hope you're very happy in your new home. Just give us a shout if you need help with anything else in the future. Thanks, Lindsay
24th August 2017

Top interest rate, super easy setup

Really easy to set up, great interest rates. What more could you want from an ISA account? The only real let down is the lack of an app!

Reply from Virgin Money
Great to hear from you Travis! We've been focused on mobile optimisation for some time now to make the site mobile friendly. We've no updates to share on an app just yet, but as soon as there's an update we'll be sure to keep you in the loop! Thanks, Lindsay
28th March 2017

Great interest rates!

Virgin money's help to buy ISA is very helpful for saving for a house, with great interest rates, but doesn't charge to take money out. That's the great thing, there's no long term commitment, and still brilliant interest rates at 2.0%, decent! Also,...

Read more

Virgin money's help to buy ISA is very helpful for saving for a house, with great interest rates, but doesn't charge to take money out. That's the great thing, there's no long term commitment, and still brilliant interest rates at 2.0%, decent! Also, as an added bonus, virgin money offers brilliant lounges as well, it's a great company and fab ISA

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Calum, glad to hear you’re happy with your account and the many benefits being a Virgin customer brings. We look forward to helping you save for your dream home! If there’s anything we can help with, just drop us a message at reviewhelper@virginmoney.com. Thanks, Jane
26th December 2016

Great customer service and competitive interest rates

I took out the Virgin Help to Buy ISA after cross referencing different providers with money supermarket. They had the best interest rates at the time and even following interest rates falling across the sector recently, they have remained...

Read more

I took out the Virgin Help to Buy ISA after cross referencing different providers with money supermarket. They had the best interest rates at the time and even following interest rates falling across the sector recently, they have remained competitive. Their online channel to manage your products is simple to use and their customer service are class if you ever lock yourself out in getting it resolved and logged back in! I also always get emails (as I agreed to it) to enter in to their prize draws, a great incentive for customers. There's also many cash back schemes by taking out home insurance, opening new products, etc for existing customers.