By Miles Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 8,114 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Read pay-as-you-go car insurance reviews of By Miles on Smart Money People. This innovative new company offers pay-by-mile car insurance policies for lower mileage drivers, along with a handy app packed with driving tools. If you're a By Miles customer al...

READ MORE

Read pay-as-you-go car insurance reviews of By Miles on Smart Money People. This innovative new company offers pay-by-mile car insurance policies for lower mileage drivers, along with a handy app packed with driving tools. If you're a By Miles customer already, why not share a quick review of your experiences with the Smart Money People community who look to your thoughts to help them choose!

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

By Miles Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

68% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: App

Insurance Choice Awards logo Winner of 'Innovation of the Year' in the 2017 Insurance Choice Awards
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

8,114 reviews

Review By Miles's Car Insurance now

Excellent customer service

I used bymiles for a year as I didn't travel much, the service was great, when ever I had a question I could just put it in the chat and I would a reply soon after or have a conversation there and then, sometimes they could be busy but hardly happened to Read more

I used bymiles for a year as I didn't travel much, the service was great, when ever I had a question I could just put it in the chat and I would a reply soon after or have a conversation there and then, sometimes they could be busy but hardly happened to me. Always was pleased to help and I never felt I was asking to many questions. If I had to take my car in for a service I would just pop it in the chat and obviously they would ask a few security questions but then I would just say it was in service and the device may be removed for this. Never an issue. Just let them know. I drove to Cornwall and they cap it 150miles for a day so anything after that was free, so cost me no more then £10 to get there and £10 back. I changed my car and they helped me move the insurance across to the new car with a new agreed price which wasn't any extra, they even showed a screen shot of where to put the plug in device. I did learn this after I took out 1 day insurance as I was in a rush and didn't consider just changing it over, just need to check the car is compatible for the device but they probably have solutions for that I would believe. If I wasnt going to be doing more miles from now on I may had stayed with them, and the renewal was more. You just got to save up for the initial deposit (parked fee) and then you pay each month for the miles used. You can also track the car with the device on the app, always an added bonus and peace of mind it's where you left it. Lol. Insurance will only cover you for that car as it linked to the device and car reg. Overall very happy. Probably would be good for a deaf person as it's all done by text on the app, no phone, well I didn't phone them ever anyway.

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Gareth McCoy's avatar
Gareth McCoy

Shocking Experience for a loyal customer

Shocking experience. Been a loyal customer for 4 years. Increased my excess from £350 to £1100 (266%). Never had a claim, car garaged at night and an average of less that 2000 miles per year. I obtained a new quote from the same insurer, at a lower premiu Read more

Shocking experience. Been a loyal customer for 4 years. Increased my excess from £350 to £1100 (266%). Never had a claim, car garaged at night and an average of less that 2000 miles per year. I obtained a new quote from the same insurer, at a lower premium and an excess of £350. Not interested in anything i had to say and offered to cancel my policy

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
K G 's avatar
K G

Bymiles is cheap

Really good if you don’t drive a lot . The best thing is £100 worth of miles credit for signing up friends and family. https:// bymiles.co. uk/ refer / OY66GMG Just remove the spaces

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
Tahera Begum's avatar
Tahera Begum

The best insurance option

When u found out about by miles I was thrilled, it just made sense to only pay for the miles I used, and since I wasn't using my car as often during this pandemic it was really ideal

Reviewed on 20th February 2022
Natalie 's avatar
Natalie

Rubbish customer services

I had to give a review and wouldnt let me put no stars. 1) I made a geniune mistake in not realising that I need to put a device in my dead cigarette lighter.. I didnt read the blurb. So this error cost me 50 pounds. Ouch.. As they have charge me 50 pou Read more

I had to give a review and wouldnt let me put no stars.
1) I made a geniune mistake in not realising that I need to put a device in my dead cigarette lighter.. I didnt read the blurb. So this error cost me 50 pounds. Ouch.. As they have charge me 50 pounds for an administraton fee. Of which they wont refund.
2) There customer services did not cancel the policy of when i asked them for it.
3) The claims company did not recogonise my car registration, heavens knows what would of happen if I had been involved in a car accident.
Stay clear of this uncaring company, of which has refused to get a manager to speak to me.
I wish i could show documentated proof of how i have been treated by this company. Just abysmal. *DO NOT USE*
There refund policy sucks, when it takes 21 days to refund to my card. What the hell. So they hold onto your money.

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
Jason Harvey's avatar
Jason Harvey

Excellent customer service

I messed up a little on my application, but the team at bymiles sorted it out very quickly. In the end I was required to cancel my insurance and re-apply, but this was made very simple and what could have been a tricky issue was understood and resolved ve Read more

I messed up a little on my application, but the team at bymiles sorted it out very quickly. In the end I was required to cancel my insurance and re-apply, but this was made very simple and what could have been a tricky issue was understood and resolved very quickly. Very Impressed!

Reviewed on 22nd January 2022
tommo90's avatar
tommo90

Revolutionary concept

Great way to calculate insurance if you don’t drive a lot. Definitely recommend to friends and family. Please use my link for free £100 bonus mileage . https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/OY66GMG

Reviewed on 8th January 2022
Tahera Begum's avatar
Tahera Begum

Saved £160!

We recently moved to By Miles after LV quoted us £557 for 6000 miles per year. We are not high mileage drivers so by moving to By Miles we have saved £160 based on 6000 miles & might save more if we have more Covid restrictions ☹ If you use the below yo Read more

We recently moved to By Miles after LV quoted us £557 for 6000 miles per year. We are not high mileage drivers so by moving to By Miles we have saved £160 based on 6000 miles & might save more if we have more Covid restrictions ☹
If you use the below you will also get £50 credit which is 1428 miles FREE
https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/W40SBW

Reviewed on 11th December 2021
brett wainwright's avatar
brett wainwright

Great service - best price

Use my link and you'll get £100 of miles for free when you sign up: https:// bymiles.co.uk/ refer/HT17YOV (just delete spaces when copy and pasting link) I've had a brilliant experience so far - works out so much cheaper than any other comparison I'v Read more

Use my link and you'll get £100 of miles for free when you sign up: https://
bymiles.co.uk/ refer/HT17YOV
(just delete spaces when copy and pasting link)

I've had a brilliant experience so far - works out so much cheaper than any other comparison I've done, communication has all been super easy and a pleasure to use and they offer some great things like all policies including business insurance and no claims protection as standard!

Reviewed on 15th November 2021
Emma Howe's avatar
Emma Howe

£100 free worth of miles Great company

Get £100 free worth of miles with the referral link https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/WJ64BNE

Reviewed on 4th November 2021
wadzy wadzy's avatar
wadzy wadzy

So good, I came for seconds!

I would say I have left reviews for maybe 4 or 5 organisations in the last 15 years. It’s just not my thing. But, I’m doing this because I just find the service absolutely top notch. The concept itself is absolutely clever and in my opinion, ingenious and Read more

I would say I have left reviews for maybe 4 or 5 organisations in the last 15 years. It’s just not my thing. But, I’m doing this because I just find the service absolutely top notch. The concept itself is absolutely clever and in my opinion, ingenious and at the same time very simple and straightforward. You pay an upfront charge for when car is not been driven and then get charged per mile you drive. At first, I thought it was a gimmick; there’s got to be a catch. Maybe the by-mile cost would be high. Maybe the initial lump cost would be high. But nope. The mile cost is 3.1p per mile (slightly up from 3.0 last year, but that’s minimal). For my own policy, the lump sum was £178.73 for the whole year. This is a reduction on my last year’s bill, which was more than£200 (still low for what it is fir me). You know the crazy thing, this is including the premiumI had to pay for having a speeding ticket! So, it could have been cheaper!
I drive very little. About 4 to 10 miles per day on a 5 day week. So, it adds up to nearly nothing when you compare to what I’d pay for other types of insurance (I was quoted between £500 to £750) by other insurance!).
Then there’s the app. Very sleek, smooth and functional with tools to help you do all sorts of things. As a geek, this was an absolute bonus. You can see every single journey you’ve made, know exactly how much you’re using and how far you’ve driven. Your whole policy and everything to do with it is on the app. No paperwork anywhere. The app can wirelessly diagnose problems with your car and give you the problem code (right now, I have a p0646 diagnosis, which I’ll be taking to my mechanic). You can pre-plan a journey to see what it’ll cost you before you start and loads more….all in a very simple and intuitive app.
Are they perfect? Well, you are best off using this if you do not drive a lot or drive short distances to gain the most benefit. Even so, there’s a cap on how much you’re charged per day, irrespective of mileage (can’t recall the exact cap). Oh, and if you park your car and can’t find it, the app can help you trace the car! Fir me, it’s the best type and way to insure your car. I was with them last year and did not hesitate to renew (even before I knew that I’d be paying cheaper). Do not hesitate. Go for it!

If you’re lucky and introduce someone, you do not even need to pay for the miles you drive. I did not pay a penny last year as I used the referral to get some family on. To get a £50 credit (and I get too), use this link https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/FE13VOG

Even if you chose not to, don’t hesitate to join them. You’ll thank me! And no, I do not work for them. Just a very happy customer.

Reviewed on 30th October 2021
Franky's avatar
Franky

Great company

https://bymiles.co.uk/refer/EO10VDL Get 50 quid off with the referral link.

Reviewed on 28th October 2021
Jewel Haye's avatar
Jewel Haye

upfront cost is same as the total of others

Sounds like a great idea does'nt it. The trouble is ByMiles upfront charge is more than a normal yearly ins cost before any mileage is done at all. Do 10 miles per year or 10,000, you'll still pay more. Maybe because of the £60 administration fee? They do Read more

Sounds like a great idea does'nt it. The trouble is ByMiles upfront charge is more than a normal yearly ins cost before any mileage is done at all. Do 10 miles per year or 10,000, you'll still pay more. Maybe because of the £60 administration fee? They do after all have to bill you 12 times, but be aware you'll pay for it. Oh and if you add recharging your battery due to the tracker draining it, and tracker fee of £50 and £800 excess if its disconnected, you'll understand why i give them 1 star!

Reviewed on 28th October 2021
gordon beaven's avatar
gordon beaven

My Best Motoring Decision Ever

Choosng ByMiles for my car insurance is my best motoring decision ever. Since my retirement I drive myself less often and I think it's totally fair that I'm only paying for my time and miles on the road. Their customer service is great - they're quick Read more

Choosng ByMiles for my car insurance is my best motoring decision ever.
Since my retirement I drive myself less often and I think it's totally fair that I'm only paying for my time and miles on the road.
Their customer service is great - they're quick to respond with information and/or practical solutions.
I recommend them to friends and family whever the subject of car insurance comes up.

Reviewed on 13th October 2021
Lola's avatar
Lola

Great product great company

Great product great company - website is great and easy to navigate.

Reviewed on 11th October 2021
jasmine mokrysz's avatar
jasmine mokrysz

Best car insurance I've ever had

So glad I found this car insurance company, they communicate with the customer and keep you informed of the amount of miles you have done each month, and you can chat to someone who is always there to help and assist you and the help is instant. Awards fo Read more

So glad I found this car insurance company, they communicate with the customer and keep you informed of the amount of miles you have done each month, and you can chat to someone who is always there to help and assist you and the help is instant. Awards for this company are well deserved.

Reviewed on 11th October 2021
Pearl Jackson 's avatar
Pearl Jackson

First year brilliant, renewal shocking

Tried By Miles as I have to vehicles so used them for one I don't use much. Great system, good price, all was good. Renewal (with no additional claims or issues) shot up in price and now the base price is more than other regular insurers and that's withou Read more

Tried By Miles as I have to vehicles so used them for one I don't use much. Great system, good price, all was good. Renewal (with no additional claims or issues) shot up in price and now the base price is more than other regular insurers and that's without taking the additional mileage thatBy Miles charge. Shame as I really thought it was a great idea.

Reviewed on 10th October 2021
museumsteve's avatar
museumsteve

Good insurance

Got it bot while ago its good see how it goes

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
Ammad Khan's avatar
Ammad Khan

Car insurance

Innovative and increasingly relevant tech for connected cars. It is the way forward. Their e-vehicle policy also sensible.

Reviewed on 7th October 2021
john 's avatar
john

Crap

Had insurance with these guys for a year its up for renewal they have doubles my premium and blamed the under wrighters absoukt joke got 4 years no claims hardly drove any miles robbing $@#/

Reviewed on 3rd October 2021
Lauren Holt's avatar
Lauren Holt