Mettle Business Banking Reviews

  Ratings based on 60 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Your Business Banking Reviews

60 reviews

Review Mettle's Business Banking now

Cancelled out of the blue

Things were fine then they emailed me to say they were closing the account. No reason given. The account was well managed and not overdrawn. VERY UNHAPPY. ☹️

Reviewed on 9th November 2022
Great Outdoorsman 's avatar
Great Outdoorsman

Absolutely disgraceful and disgusting

Absolutely disgraceful and disgusting experience. Nothing but negative feedback for this bank which is owned by NatWest. Avoid both at all costs. They declined my application but other banks have approved my application always with no issues and I have th Read more

Absolutely disgraceful and disgusting experience. Nothing but negative feedback for this bank which is owned by NatWest. Avoid both at all costs. They declined my application but other banks have approved my application always with no issues and I have therefore looked at other banks that I am with. I would not recommend or use these cowboys ever again. Stay clear and do not waste your time and energy. They are liars. Nothing but negative feedback for this bank which is owned by NatWest. Avoid both at all costs. They declined my application but other banks have approved my application always with no issues and I have therefore looked at other banks that I am with. I would not recommend or use these cowboys ever again. Stay clear and do not waste your time and energy. They are liars.

Reviewed on 4th November 2022
Shamir Ali's avatar
Shamir Ali

Some major "gotchas" that you won't see until you're up and running

I did quite a lot of research prior to opening the account, including speaking directly to someone at Mettle to confirm that I would be able to do everything i could do with my old Barclays account. In practise, this turned out to be very much not true. Read more

I did quite a lot of research prior to opening the account, including speaking directly to someone at Mettle to confirm that I would be able to do everything i could do with my old Barclays account. In practise, this turned out to be very much not true. I'm still not clear on what is causing the problems, despite being a personal investor for many years and pretty finance savvy, but i think it's because they are not actually licensed as a Bank, they just have electronic money processing permissions. So firstly, the card they give you is useless. It looks like a Mastercard, but so far i haven't found anyone that will accept it. That was my first problem, because i pay for various software as a service on a monthly basis, and now have to use my personal credit card and claim back via expenses which makes a lot more admin for me. Secondly, I keep some capital from previous years in a separate business savings account which attracts a higher interest rate (and because you aren't protected if Mettle goes bust, so you really don't want to keep more than a few months' operating capital there at any one time). Having closed my old Barclays account, i went to the savings account provider and asked them to set up the Mettle account as the recipient of funds when i need them. Surprise! They won't do it. Mettle isn't a recognised organisation. So as of now, i have savings in a business savings account which can only be transferred to another account in the business name, but not the Mettle one. So i'm going to have to set up yet another account just to get my savings back.
The actual account offering is great, the app works fine, and i'm saving a fair bit because of the free FreeAgent provision. I just wish they'd been more honest about the limitations of the account before I committed.

Reviewed on 31st October 2022
Kate Rose's avatar
Kate Rose

Lost my phone over a week ago. Finding it real hard to get in my account.

Currently in Spain on vacation. Lost my phone at beach and got a new one. Tried to download app to check invoices been paid and in need recovery codes. They are on my old Phone. So I try to contact support leave afew messages don’t her back. Third time I Read more

Currently in Spain on vacation. Lost my phone at beach and got a new one. Tried to download app to check invoices been paid and in need recovery codes. They are on my old
Phone. So I try to contact support leave afew messages don’t her back. Third time I try I hear back and they need to change my Number then give them 24 hours get back in touch and I can have my recovery codes. Abit of a pain in the arse but I will oblige.
Get back in touch 24 hours later to be told that they took the phone number down wrong they have wrote it down correctly now and I need to give them another 24 hours before I have access to my account

Not happy. Not professional. Not helpful

When I’m back in the UK I will close this account and use the revolt

Reviewed on 4th September 2022
Queenie Maz's avatar
Queenie Maz

Limited service

I started a new business recently and was recommended to use Mettle. It's nothing special but it has worked okay until I needed to pay a cheque into my account. Mettle does not provide any facility for this or any help to resolve it. As the cheque is paya Read more

I started a new business recently and was recommended to use Mettle. It's nothing special but it has worked okay until I needed to pay a cheque into my account. Mettle does not provide any facility for this or any help to resolve it. As the cheque is payable to my business I cannot pay into any other account. Consequently, I shall ditch Mettle in favour of a free business account (e.g. Virgin Money or Monzo) that allows cheque deposit through their app.

Reviewed on 16th August 2022
Robert Croft's avatar
Robert Croft

Too many questions and not safe to store your money

Im a landlord trading with a ltd legal company for 8 years and they requested all the address details of my houses plus valuations and details of where the money came from. I didn’t think I was asking for a loan. Plus no fscs security so if they go bust Read more

Im a landlord trading with a ltd legal company for 8 years and they requested all the address details of my houses plus valuations and details of where the money came from. I didn’t think I was asking for a loan.
Plus no fscs security so if they go bust you lose your money.

Reviewed on 18th May 2022
Robert Bennett's avatar
Robert Bennett

New business account

I have just opened an account with Mettle and they made the whole process seamless and easy. I have linked the account to Quickbooks and I am good to go.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
RP's avatar
RP

Awesome Service

Could not be more helpful via their in-app chat. Very easy to use and free!

Reviewed on 24th January 2022
James Cook's avatar
James Cook

Opening a Account

At the moment its triable trying to even open one up! 3 days iv been asking them and yet still nothing, they only answer once every day or two.

Reviewed on 29th September 2021
mark's avatar
mark

Free business Banking with Free Award winning Accounting software

Unrivalled banking that is free for sole traders and limited companies with 2020 multiple award winning accounting software that is Free for their clients. Not only is the accounting software free (FreeAgent) but fully functioning to run a small business Read more

Unrivalled banking that is free for sole traders and limited companies with 2020 multiple award winning accounting software that is Free for their clients. Not only is the accounting software free (FreeAgent) but fully functioning to run a small business successfully

Reviewed on 30th March 2021
Drew Moyes's avatar
Drew Moyes

Fresh, modern business bank

The app looks good and is really easy to use. I love being able to create an invoice from my phone really easily - and that it's free with the connection to FreeAgent! Feels like something new in banking for people who are running something small. Excitin Read more

The app looks good and is really easy to use. I love being able to create an invoice from my phone really easily - and that it's free with the connection to FreeAgent! Feels like something new in banking for people who are running something small. Exciting!

Reviewed on 24th March 2021
Polly's avatar
Polly

A bank account ideal for people starting a business

Has all you need, with free accountancy software, free invoicing and payment matching, couldn’t have started my company without it.

Reviewed on 24th March 2021
Bfrank's avatar
Bfrank

Modern day banking for the modern day business

I selected Mettle for my business bank account as I wanted the modern user experience of a challenger bank, but with better integration, support and functionality. I was impressed by how quickly and securely I was able to open my account which was done wi Read more

I selected Mettle for my business bank account as I wanted the modern user experience of a challenger bank, but with better integration, support and functionality. I was impressed by how quickly and securely I was able to open my account which was done within 24hrs following mandatory checks. Most banks currently have a lead time of around a month for opening a business current account so I highly recommend Mettle, if you require a quality business account and time is of the essence. Mettle is authorised by the FCA and is owned by NatWest so you have the added reassurance that your funds are protected and ring fenced within a regulated bank. You also get access to award winning accounting software, FreeAgent, free of charge as long as you make at least one transaction per month. The in app customer services team are super helpful and are quick to respond to any queries you may have. Mettle also offer 100% fee free banking so if you’re starting up on a tight budget, like me, then you won’t have to worry about troublesome charges which can become a burden especially when starting out. With free award winning accounting software - to help you manage your own books, fee free banking and superb customer services, Mettle is the ideal banking partner for the modern business.

Reviewed on 16th March 2021
artisticinfluence's avatar
artisticinfluence

Easy!

I run a small limited company and was horrified by the amount main streams banks were charging! I applied for an account with Mettle and was really impressed by the ease of setting up the account and also the great branding. I'm still getting to grips w Read more

I run a small limited company and was horrified by the amount main streams banks were charging! I applied for an account with Mettle and was really impressed by the ease of setting up the account and also the great branding. I'm still getting to grips with the App but so far so good and I love that fact that it intergrates with Freeagent. I am still a little unsure as my money isn't protected by the FSCS (as it would be a traditional bank) but hopefully this will be something that can change in the near future.

Reviewed on 15th March 2021
HelenFair85's avatar
HelenFair85

Easy business banking

I started a business a year ago after working in the public sector for the previous decade - I was very nervous about managing my money, etc... but Mettle has made the whole process so easy! When connected to FreeAgent (which is free with an account), it Read more

I started a business a year ago after working in the public sector for the previous decade - I was very nervous about managing my money, etc... but Mettle has made the whole process so easy! When connected to FreeAgent (which is free with an account), it makes the whole process of invoicing, managing money and making payments a pleasure to do. The app is ace too!

Reviewed on 12th March 2021
AndyMitchell's avatar
AndyMitchell

Perfect for a new business

Having set up an account with Mettle a few months ago I'm really pleased with the service so far, the invoicing is great as well as easily being able to track ingoings and outgoings. Perfect for me starting my business as a freelancer

Reviewed on 12th March 2021
Ed Price's avatar
Ed Price

Fantastic

Easy application process, great app and best of all, no account fees

Reviewed on 8th March 2021
LRP's avatar
LRP

Business banking should be free

When you're in credit business banking should be free. Mettle ALSO offer brilliant FreeAgent accounts software for free

Reviewed on 8th March 2021
Phil's avatar
Phil

Different to the norm

Mettle is that little bit more than an online bank account. There are little extras that really make the difference.

Reviewed on 5th March 2021
Martin Heppenstall's avatar
Martin Heppenstall

Great account for small businesses

Great account for small businesses

Reviewed on 5th March 2021
Tess's avatar
Tess