Yorkshire Bank Current Account Reviews

Ratings based on 72 reviews Last review 6 months ago

Yorkshire Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Yorkshire Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a Yorkshire Bank customer is really...

Read Full Description

Yorkshire Bank Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Yorkshire Bank Current Account reviews to find out what life as a Yorkshire Bank customer is really like. And remember, if you are a Yorkshire Bank customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of Yorkshire Bank Current Account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

5 41
4 12
3 4
2 4
1 11

Your Current Account Reviews (72)

3rd May 2020

Great Bank, Great Service!

I have been with Yorkshire Bank since I had a children's account and their customer service regarding my current account has been nothing short of exceptional throughout the 10+ years I have been with them. It is, however, a shame that there are no...

Read more

I have been with Yorkshire Bank since I had a children's account and their customer service regarding my current account has been nothing short of exceptional throughout the 10+ years I have been with them. It is, however, a shame that there are no physical branches in London as I now find it difficult to do anything which requires a physical presence.

8th February 2020

Helped me with fraud

My card was stolen and used fraudulently, I phoned Yorkshire bank, the first CSR told me that it wasn't fraud because the person had used my PIN. I told him this was impossible as my PIN I not written down and nobody else knows it. Still he insisted...

Read more

My card was stolen and used fraudulently, I phoned Yorkshire bank, the first CSR told me that it wasn't fraud because the person had used my PIN. I told him this was impossible as my PIN I not written down and nobody else knows it. Still he insisted the PIN was used.
After an hour of confusion I chatted to an online representative, who confirmed that the payments were made via contactless and to phone up again.
I phoned again and another rep this time confirmed it was contactless and definitely fraud, 5 days later I have a new card and the money has been refunded.
While I am happy to get it sorted I feel like if I hadn't have pursued them they would have just ignored my fraud report.
Very disappointed with the customer service in this case and also the overdraft fees are pure extortion of the poor.

28th January 2020

Modern banking

Since they introduced their webchat facility via online banking, i can quickly and easily get any queries answered. Great work keeping up to date with the modern day customer

22nd January 2020

Friendly and helpful contact

Telephoned this morning to be greeted by friendly knowledgeable and exceedingly helpful chap. He dealt with all my queries satisfactorily and I replaced receiver a very happy bunny. Well done Yorkshire Bank. Would not wish to bank elsewhere

22nd January 2020

Friendly and helpful contact

Telephoned this morning to be greeted by friendly knowledgeable and exceedingly helpful chap. He dealt with all my queries satisfactorily and I replaced receiver a very happy bunny. Well done Yorkshire Bank. Would not wish to bank elsewhere

9th October 2019

Worst of the worst banks

We all know banks can be a problem and their practices and attitudes are questionable at the best of times but I have to say Yorkshire Bank have the worst system I have ever...

Read more

We all know banks can be a problem and their practices and attitudes are questionable at the best of times but I have to say Yorkshire Bank have the worst system I have ever encountered.
Their telephone customer relations are a pantomime and I would warn people against buying tickets for it.
I had previously gone through their security checks on the phone to resolve an earlier problem successfully transferring a total of £1000 to another bank with the help of a call handler.
At this point all was well and I considered it to be the end of the matter....but oh no. Minutes later I received a telephone message asking me to contact their fraud department. I'm not sure what sort of training they are given but it is woefully inadequate and seems to turn them into robotic characters devoid of initiative or ability to think for themselves.
It's a very sad reflection of what used to be a good bank with competent staff.
Anyway, what should have been a resolved situation with a satisfied long term and loyal customer ended with a so called manager (Kevin Walker) yes....he should be named and shamed, insisting I call into a branch (20 miles away and highly inconvenient) to offer id in order to unblock an account that was entirely needlessly frozen.
Concluding advice: Take your business to any other bank!

27th August 2019

avoid at all costs

absolutely terrible...

Read more

absolutely terrible bank
each phonecall to customer service is minimum 30 mins.
awful customer service, staff are a shambles.
app is jerky and temperamental
the overdraft limits are shockingly low and you have to literally get on your knees to beg for a raise (typically 300pounds every 3+ months)
8 weeks investigation period for any issues
overall, terrible bank AVOID AVOID AVOID AVOID

20th June 2019

Dreadful bank now

I’ve been a Yorkshire Bank customer for 40+ years but the last couple of years have been bad , mainly the online banking or Mobile app . The IT dept change passwords or platforms without informing anyone defeating the object of being able to easily p...

Read more

I’ve been a Yorkshire Bank customer for 40+ years but the last couple of years have been bad , mainly the online banking or Mobile app . The IT dept change passwords or platforms without informing anyone defeating the object of being able to easily pay bills or transfer funds . The complaints dept basically lie .

4th February 2019

Useless

YB should rebrand themselves as the NIghtmare...

Read more

YB should rebrand themselves as the NIghtmare Bank.

It is IMPOSSIBLE to create a business account with them.

God only know how bad their services are if anyone ever manages to solve the Crypton Factor style application and get through to actually opening an account.

Suggest : STAY AWAY.

13th December 2018

Online banking

Online banking useless , unable to log in and many transactions stopped due to fraud software being flawed . What is unusual activity for one account won’t be for another . I have told them umpteen times I need to transfer funds between accounts .

13th December 2018

Don't get a YB account!

After never having a transaction declined on the basis of 'fraud' - today I found myself in a terribly stressful and upsetting situation. My wife has chronic epilepsy, we married very young (this year) - she always says she's scared of SUDEP. We have...

Read more

After never having a transaction declined on the basis of 'fraud' - today I found myself in a terribly stressful and upsetting situation. My wife has chronic epilepsy, we married very young (this year) - she always says she's scared of SUDEP. We have both been life-long fans of Cher and for the 1st time in 14 years (also the last) Cher is performing in the UK. We planned the purchase of the tickets months in advance and today, for absolutely no reason other than some strange algorithm/policy my card was declined by Yorkshire Bank directly. This meant the amount we were gifted by a family member for the tickets (£150) was not enough as on my next try, the tickets came to £208. I was crying & on the phone to YB, explaining how important this is to my wife & myself - It is a once in a lifetime opportunity, especially for someone so heavily disabled. We did not get the tickets due to Yorkshire Bank's idiocy of flagging a fraudulent transaction

I would advise every consumer & business to leave Yorkshire Bank if they hold and account and to never open one with them - This could be you one day.

My boss, the owner of a micro Ltd company, could hear me crying on the phone and knew what this would mean to my Wife Sophie, so he went behind my back and purchased them while I was on the phone with YB. Now, I am in debt to him of more than we were gifted for the tickets purely down to YB - but I am grateful nonetheless.

This is the second terrible issue I have had with YB. When me and my wife first opened an account, we were treated very unfavourably by the clerks at White Rose Y/B. They at first did not want to scan our proof of identification and said it wasn't their job - whilst looking down at my wife who was in a wheel-chair due to suffering bad seizures and talking to each other about us - It took Yorkshire Bank over 1 month to open our account so that we could deposit our wedding cheques (we put the majority in a different account due to this issue) When I called for an update almost 3 weeks later I was told our documents, dated around 30 days prior were marked as 'OUT OF DATE'! but they admitted nobody had bothered to call us to inform us. We absolutely believe this was down to us being in a same sex relationship, as there is no other possible explanation

We are bringing this to the attention of the press with the help of a journalist acquaintance - I hope we can get it out so far that Cher herself reads the article

Articles related to Yorkshire Bank