Ageas Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 16 reviews       Last review 2 months ago    

Ageas home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Ageas handle your home insurance claim? Our Ageas home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Hav...

READ MORE

Ageas home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Ageas handle your home insurance claim? Our Ageas home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Ageas? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Home Insurance Reviews

16 reviews

Review Ageas's Home Insurance now

No communication after Storm Damage

After the storm on 18 Feb Ageas requested photographs and 2 estimates. After supplying them Ageas said they needed to send a loss adjuster. The loss adjuster said he was not required as Ageas had requested estimates. Ageas never reply to communications; t Read more

After the storm on 18 Feb Ageas requested photographs and 2 estimates. After supplying them Ageas said they needed to send a loss adjuster. The loss adjuster said he was not required as Ageas had requested estimates. Ageas never reply to communications; the house requires over 8000 pounds worth of work, money I do not have; Ageas simply do not communicate. Avoid this company. Went via Homelet and today found that Ageas are underwritten by Tesco!

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
Erich Manning's avatar
Erich Manning

Appalling

Having recently suffered Storm damage to our roof, the Ageas surveyor told us that they would not meet the costs of repairs, as we had 'failed to maintain our roof'. Over the past few years, we have replaced the soffits, facias & gutters; had the end/edg Read more

Having recently suffered Storm damage to our roof, the Ageas surveyor told us that they would not meet the costs of repairs, as we had 'failed to maintain our roof'.
Over the past few years, we have replaced the soffits, facias & gutters; had the end/edge tiles professionally secured and repaired the end ridge tile - so how does this constitute a failure to maintain?
I asked Ageas to review their decision but didn't receive a reply.

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Sue B's avatar
Sue B

Tree branch fell on my car port

A tree branch fell on my car port in July 2021 my clam did not get sorted out till December 2021 and they turned our clam after waiting nearly 5 months. Don’t go with this company they are a complete JOKE.

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
chris.verrier@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
chris.verrier@hotmail.co.uk

Twice gave wrong information

Ageas underwrites Homelet Landlord Insurance. After a severe storm, water came in through the bathroom extractor fan duct and damages felt, battens and bathroom ceiling. I have full accidental damage cover with Homelet, so contacted them with a claim whic Read more

Ageas underwrites Homelet Landlord Insurance. After a severe storm, water came in through the bathroom extractor fan duct and damages felt, battens and bathroom ceiling. I have full accidental damage cover with Homelet, so contacted them with a claim which they passed on to Ageas. The storm was not severe enough for storm damage and twice Maxine from Ageas wrote back to me to say had not got accidental damage insurance, even though my policy clearly said I had. After phoning Homelet to be assured I had indeed got accident damage, I re-contacted Ageas, who now want a lot of details, estimates and photos, and the last house inspection report. They do not acknowledge receipt of emails, and so I am left paying out of my pocket at the moment and just hoping my claim will be met. I will be contacting the financial ombudsman looking for another company if it is not.

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
Laura Swash's avatar
Laura Swash

DON'T TOUCH

My 84 year old mothers boiler stopped working providing no hot water and heating. I phoned up the emergency helpline to be told a plumber would be out in 24 hrs. He came out the following day and reported the fan had gone and that he would report back and Read more

My 84 year old mothers boiler stopped working providing no hot water and heating. I phoned up the emergency helpline to be told a plumber would be out in 24 hrs. He came out the following day and reported the fan had gone and that he would report back and it would be sorted. I phoned for an update to be told no nothing would be done and used every excuse in the book to get out of it. I asked to speak to a manager was told no and basically that my 84 year old mother could freeze as they wasnt prepared to sort it. The customer service agent hung up. Not professional at old, totally misold the home emergency cover as it seems to me reading other peoples reviews that nothing is covered and they get out of it!!! Dont waste your money I used this company thinking I was helping save my mother a bit of money it doesnt work pay more and get better service, this company is false.

Reviewed on 13th December 2021
Brett's avatar
Brett

A myriad of excuses not to pay. Avoid this insurance

I took out my home insurance through the Post Office initially as I have a certain respect for and trust in the Post Office as a company with a decent customer service record, but I believe they have subcontracted their insurance out to Ageas recently. Read more

I took out my home insurance through the Post Office initially as I have a certain respect for and trust in the Post Office as a company with a decent customer service record, but I believe they have subcontracted their insurance out to Ageas recently.

At some stage in the summer heavy rain seems to have entered the first floor of our house, possibly driven by strong winds through some vertically hung tiles but I'm not sure. The roof and tiles have been fine for 30 years with no problem, and there is no sign of wear.

I took a few photos and sent them in with my claim. BIG MISTAKE. NEVER DO THIS. The claims guy immediately spotted a little moss on the roof and claimed it was all down to bad maintenance. Or bad design. Or wear and tear. Or the failure of an individual part. In fact they only pay out for weather damage if winds of over 55mph are involved. (Even inside the house???) And they see no evidence of severe weather during this period. They
use a national weather site for their meteorological data which has very limited local coverage, and my house is in a very exposed location on top of the North Downs.

I insisted on an insurance assessor. They sent a supposedly independent assessor who was sympathetic with us and agreed verbally that poor maintenance wasn't to blame. But the report he gave to Ageas (which they have never shown us) apparently says different.

Several phone calls later - minimum wait time 28 minutes on their chargeable phone line - and they have promised to send a full report and a formal complaints form. 12 days later I'm still waiting so I'm back on the pay-phone line, 35 minutes and waiting....

Finally got through. "We've made our final decision. Your complaint is being processed. This can take up to 8 weeks and then you can approach the ombudsman."

Terrible, terrible insurance company. AVOID!!!


Reviewed on 7th December 2021
Rob 9876's avatar
Rob 9876

Three months since I reported a claim and still no resolution

I had carpet damage. Haven’t claimed fir accidental home insurance for over 20 yrs. I paid for a professional carpet cleaner to try to remove the stain twice, got two quotes for replacement from local carpet companies and provided photos of the damage and Read more

I had carpet damage. Haven’t claimed fir accidental home insurance for over 20 yrs. I paid for a professional carpet cleaner to try to remove the stain twice, got two quotes for replacement from local carpet companies and provided photos of the damage and room. They didn’t acknowledge any of this and says they would only pay a quarter of the cost of replacement with a carpet of significantly lower quality than I had. I am totally appalled and shocked that they didn’t pay fir the full replacement cost less excess. I will never use again or recommend.

Reviewed on 28th October 2021
Linzi Stockdale-Bridson's avatar
Linzi Stockdale-Bridson

Helpful Friendly staff

When I had flooding last Christmas they were very prompt in setting up a resources to help get me dry and very prompt in paying for new carpets. I rate them as being very good.

Reviewed on 14th September 2021
Glenna Hyden's avatar
Glenna Hyden

SCAM DISGUISED UNDER AN INSURANCE COMPANY. AVOID

SCAM DISGUISED UNDER AN INSURANCE COMPANY. AVOID If I could give them a Zero I would. I have never felt so cheated in my life. Bought home insurance with Ageas when we got our mortgage last year. Since then, we have had two issues which we needed to ma Read more

SCAM DISGUISED UNDER AN INSURANCE COMPANY. AVOID

If I could give them a Zero I would. I have never felt so cheated in my life. Bought home insurance with Ageas when we got our mortgage last year. Since then, we have had two issues which we needed to make a claim for. On both occasions they have conveniently managed to find a way to exclude the damages to our property and not fix the issue. They are happy to take your money when it suits them but not happy to cover any damages. They use a company called Evolution Claims Management who act as a middle man and stop any claims going through to Ageas. Two scammers working hand in hand for their mutual benefit. I actually just read an article rating Ageas as the worst insurance company when it comes to claims. I wish I had known about their dealings before I signed up. I have now cancelled my policy.

AVOID BUYING HOME INSURANCE FROM THIS COMPANY. THEY ARE A SCAM

Reviewed on 2nd September 2021
C J's avatar
C J

Exorbitant increase in premium after claim

I had a claim for water ingress totalling £2905. They increased my annual premium from £676 to £3,400. Obviously I changed providers. If you choose this company don't make a claim, they will only add the claim amount to your next years premium.

Reviewed on 23rd August 2021
Catherine Knowles's avatar
Catherine Knowles

Appalling Customer Service

Gave one star as you can’t give less. Claims handling is a nightmare. Register a claim, they pass it on to a claims handling company. Claims handling company then pass it to a Restoration company. Restoration company then subcontract out to various trades Read more

Gave one star as you can’t give less. Claims handling is a nightmare. Register a claim, they pass it on to a claims handling company. Claims handling company then pass it to a Restoration company. Restoration company then subcontract out to various trades. Spend literally hours being held on the phone. No efficient single point of contact. Lied to by subcontract company. Basically Ageas say tuff, refer it to FSO.
Wouldn’t recommend to my worst enemy.

Reviewed on 13th July 2021
Noel's avatar
Noel

Appalling service

Appalling service Appalling service. We damaged our carpet Christmas Eve and by 21st April they still haven't sorted it out. The original carpet cost over £2000 but they decided to offer £650.00 as a cash settlement. This is without visiting site to fin Read more

Appalling service
Appalling service. We damaged our carpet Christmas Eve and by 21st April they still haven't sorted it out.
The original carpet cost over £2000 but they decided to offer £650.00 as a cash settlement. This is without visiting site to find out the quality of carpet or to even measure up. We have a new for old policy and have never made a claim in 25 years. Wont ever use them again.

Reviewed on 21st April 2021
Paul C's avatar
Paul C

Excellent

Excellent home insurance and I also purchased holiday insurance from this company . They cover everything you ask for and the policy is not expensive

Reviewed on 29th July 2020
Ann Thompson's avatar
Ann Thompson

Saving

Quote almost half my current provider.

Reviewed on 13th August 2019
Ian Gallagher's avatar
Ian Gallagher

Great price

Good service and great prices , always keen to help

Reviewed on 2nd August 2018
Linda 's avatar
Linda

Easy to set up, excellent options

I used this underwriter via Bradford and Bingley (BISL), and the options available are extensive. Many things are covered, with low excess values and high payouts. The insurance is not the cheapest but is still very competitive.

Reviewed on 1st August 2017
Oli Pyke's avatar
Oli Pyke