Ageas Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 71 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    

Ageas car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Ageas car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process....

READ MORE

Ageas car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Ageas car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Ageas before, you too can write a short Ageas car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

71 reviews

Review Ageas's Car Insurance now

3rd party accepted full liability and Ageas voided my insurance because my front grille was not standard

Do not use this company. They never return calls. No help whatsoever

Reviewed on 10th September 2022
Adam Moore's avatar
Adam Moore

Terrible

Took money for renewal one week before renewal date. Took over an hour to get through. Then she was waffling on for another 5. In the end I told her just cancel and refund.

Reviewed on 31st August 2022
Sue's avatar
Sue

Buyer beware...

They may be the cheapest but you get what you pay for. Any deviations or claims and that's when they sting you. Problem at bank resulting in delayed payment and them charging £30 . Car broke down on motorway 31 miles from garage/home. Small print...your b Read more

They may be the cheapest but you get what you pay for. Any deviations or claims and that's when they sting you. Problem at bank resulting in delayed payment and them charging £30 . Car broke down on motorway 31 miles from garage/home. Small print...your breakdown covers 20miles. Had to pay excess of £40.92. Never again will I use this company. Fortunately, renewal is up shortly so I'll certainly be leaving.

Reviewed on 26th August 2022
Unhappy customer's avatar
Unhappy customer

MISLEADING AND FALSE BE AWARE AND RUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

They break every insurance law and obligations. Total loss handler Bridie was malicious, vindictive, nasty aggressive bully. She broke laws and obligations to her own ends. RUN DO NOT USE THESE shysters !!!!!

Reviewed on 21st August 2022
Lorraine Vickery's avatar
Lorraine Vickery

MISLEADING AND FALSE BE AWARE AND RUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I had a CLASSIC CAR insured through FOOTMANJAMES (BEWARE). They promised experienced ,knowledgeable insurers with understanding of the classic car and owner. This is false. They farmed me to AGEAS, they claim they have a dedicated team especially for th Read more

I had a CLASSIC CAR insured through FOOTMANJAMES (BEWARE).
They promised experienced ,knowledgeable insurers with understanding of the classic car and owner. This is false.
They farmed me to AGEAS, they claim they have a dedicated team especially for the classic car owner. They claim this team is dedicated, experienced, knowledgeable, tailored to the classic car and owner.
This is the appalling treatment I received.
I was given a total loss handler, Bridie. She had NO EXPERIENCE, NO KNOWLEDGE, NO MANNERS,SHE WAS AGGRESSIVE, VINDICTIVE, MANIPULATING BULLY.
She e-mailed (IN HOUSE ENGINEER,). Engineer 1. He told her I have NO IDEA ON VALUE!, DO NOT WANT TO KNOW!. passed it back to her.
Engineer number 2, I HAVE NO IDEA ON VALUE, DO NOT WANT TO KNOW .Passed it back.
Engineer number 3, I HAVE NO IDEA I have a copy of CAR AND CLASSIC will send it over.
with the advice wait for the salvage photos, value it from them.
Nothing, Nothing, telephoning, e-mailing Nothing yet, still nothing.
AND THEN.
Using a third-party contact number without any appointment, any knowledge to myself.
SENT ENGINEER number 4, TO MY HOME ,she new the car was not there!!!!
I was shocked, embarrassed, very upset. She had purposely made FOOLS OF BOTH MYSELF AND ENGINEER number 4.
When engineer number 4 got back to her SHE THEN REMOVED ALL PAPERWORK AND INFORMATION from him. (engineer number 4 stated how highly unusual and this never happens).
Now she refuses all contact.
Handpicked, personally chosen in house engineer number 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.
VALUED CLASSIC VEHICLE 100% salvage which was (VERY HEAVY REAR, TOTAL LOSS.
He had NO EXPERIENCE, NO KNOWLEDGE ,and was using car and classic as his guide.
His report was false and very misleading.
This report lowered the value of my classic by 60%.
I accepted the ORIGINAL AGEAS OFFER at least 3 days before this was done. She was so malicious and vindictive bully she did not care. She stated that If I did not like that she had lowered the offer by 60% go to the FINANCIAL OMBUDSMAN.
Footmanjames give NO HELP!!!!!!!!!.
I told them I was going to get a lawyer.( USE THE OMBUDSMAN IT IS FREE YOU) you will not have to pay.
Footmanjames gave the worst ADVICE EVER.
The ombudsman service REMOVES all of your LEGAL RIGHTS.
THEY ALLOW THE COMPANIES TO BREAK INSURANCE LAWS AND OBLIGATIONS.
LAWS AND OBLIGATIONS ARE TOTALLY REMOVED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.THE OMBUDSMAN HAS IRON CLAD LEGAL PROTECTION WHILST REMOVING ALL OF YOURS. THIS IS SO HYPICRITICAL AND UNFAIR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Total loss handler Bridie was MALICIOUS, VINDICTIVE, MANIPULATING, AGRESSIVE BULLY.
She made NO VOIDS broke laws and obligations and then LEFT OR WAS PUSHED from the company.
Does any of this sound PROFFESSIONAL,EXPERIENCED, KNOWLDGEABLE, UNDERSTANDING of CLASSIC CAR AND OWNER???????.
THE PROMISES MADE BY FOOTMANJAMES AND AGEAS ARE FALSE, EXTREMELY MISLEADING.
I have lost thousands of pounds, have been placed on site for view, as A LIAR A FRAUD A CHEAT.
MY OPINION this treatment and false claim is nothing short of ABSOLUTELY APPALLING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

Reviewed on 20th August 2022
Lorraine Vickery's avatar
Lorraine Vickery

Super fast service

Very impressed with this company. Will try to use them again.

Reviewed on 13th August 2022
Matthew Lowe's avatar
Matthew Lowe

Ridiculous

Called to change vehicle and tell them I do not want to renew with them. Including waiting time call lasted 57 minutes.told by advisor to ignore any emails requesting payment,I've now had 2.tried to call again today,waiting time between 20 and 30 minutes Read more

Called to change vehicle and tell them I do not want to renew with them.
Including waiting time call lasted 57 minutes.told by advisor to ignore any emails requesting payment,I've now had 2.tried to call again today,waiting time between 20 and 30 minutes,to make payment and cancel dd.ridiculous.hung up
Not be using these again

Reviewed on 8th August 2022
Geofffrey bell's avatar
Geofffrey bell

Awful communication over 12 months and still waiting

Awful would deffo not recommend poor customer service they just cut you off mid call if they can’t answer your queries been waiting over 12 months and they’ve had all information for at least 8 months

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
Michelle Stewart's avatar
Michelle Stewart

Worst insurance company in 30 years of driving

Absolute rip off,needed to cancel my car insurance,was quoted £50 admin fee,£20 set up fee and the months direct debit,which I expected to pay,all in all was £88 to cancel. This total was more than what it cost to change to another insurance company. It’ Read more

Absolute rip off,needed to cancel my car insurance,was quoted £50 admin fee,£20 set up fee and the months direct debit,which I expected to pay,all in all was £88 to cancel. This total was more than what it cost to change to another insurance company.
It’s almost impossible to talk to someone as the lines are always very busy and premium numbers,you have to use a live chat,which at the end gives you a number to call and once again very busy could take 30 to 40 minutes !!!
Trying to download my documents to my iPad is almost impossible,as attachments will not open
Stay AWAY,never had any problems with other companies in past 30 years.

Reviewed on 26th July 2022
Andrew James's avatar
Andrew James

Driving 61 Years. Worst Company ever

This is my third review. Driving 61 yrs without one claim. It is now 38 MONTHS since my 3-car accident and driver accepted responsibility. trouble is he was also insured with AGEAS who I was put with by TESCO. I was 80 when this occurred and am now 84 yr Read more

This is my third review. Driving 61 yrs without one claim. It is now 38 MONTHS since my 3-car accident and driver accepted responsibility. trouble is he was also insured with AGEAS who I was put with by TESCO.
I was 80 when this occurred and am now 84 yrs old.
Accident has left me with a leaky heart valve and had to have my nose cauterised because of serious nose bleeds. I was also left with damaged nerves in both legs and feet and this has now developed into periphural neuropathy (traumatic injury) and I am virtually housebound. ON MY 11TH CASE MANAGER! i HAVE WRITTEN NUMEROUS LETTERS, EMAILED AND TELEPHONED. NEVER REPLY. I was a very fit woman, being 24 hour carer for my sick husband and now am disabled.
OVER 3 YEARS ON AND STILL HAVE HAD NO COMPENSATION. I EVEN GOT TESCO INVOLVED, AS I PAID TESCO MY PREMIUM AND AS FAR AS I WAS CONCERNED I AM THEIR CUSTOMER.
INSURANCE IS NOT WORTH THE PAPER IT IS WRITTEN ON. LIKE TAKING YOUR MONEY BUT DONT LIKE PAYING OUT. DISGUSTED WITH AGEAS. CON ARTISTS.

Reviewed on 1st June 2022
Rose Horscroft's avatar
Rose Horscroft

waste of space

got to be the biggest waste of space this company. answer phones when they feel like it or just cut you off. never answer emails. don't respond to comments on their portal just pure laziness as far as I can tell. avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 25th May 2022
Coos's avatar
Coos

Not great

this company renewed my insurancewithout formally notifying me and increased my policy by 15 per month even though i have an 8 years and more no claims record. I asked them to resend the renewal notificatin email they claimed to have sent me but they fail Read more

this company renewed my insurancewithout formally notifying me and increased my policy by 15 per month even though i have an 8 years and more no claims record. I asked them to resend the renewal notificatin email they claimed to have sent me but they failed to do so. Instead they charged me over £70 because I cancelled the policy due to not been informed properly about the unexpected increase and renewal.

Reviewed on 29th April 2022
Kadiatu Lakoh's avatar
Kadiatu Lakoh

Unethical insurance company

Do not use this company and if a broker uses the refuse. They have affected my premium as they will not close my non fault claim which happened mid 2021. Even though the case has been settled by the 3rd party they still refuse to close the case. They also Read more

Do not use this company and if a broker uses the refuse. They have affected my premium as they will not close my non fault claim which happened mid 2021. Even though the case has been settled by the 3rd party they still refuse to close the case. They also gave me a wrong phone number and incorrect details of the 3rd party insurer. Such an awful experience being with this company. Please don’t make the same mistake I did

Reviewed on 28th April 2022
Yvonne Pogson's avatar
Yvonne Pogson

Good value for fully comp

Good value for fully comp. Via comparison site.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
gden's avatar
gden

Do not use

Absolutely disgraced company Do not use Please you will be ripped off They do not care Wish there was a one star

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Lolly's avatar
Lolly

fasley reporting details uping insurance by £1200 per year !

awful company rude staff bad service

Reviewed on 21st March 2022
dan's avatar
dan

Starting an insurance

The lovely customer service agent Fran is an exceptional one. Her kind, gentle service made it fast and also entertaining I am giving her 5 stars for her service. Thank you Fran

Reviewed on 11th February 2022
Muhammad Ansar Ali's avatar
Muhammad Ansar Ali

Very disappointed

I made an a call to ageas as an existing customer to add a second car to my policy. I was on hold for one hour and four minutes! Once I got through I was quoted an extra £113 on top of the £65 I already pay for my first vehicle totalling £178 a month. (£2 Read more

I made an a call to ageas as an existing customer to add a second car to my policy. I was on hold for one hour and four minutes! Once I got through I was quoted an extra £113 on top of the £65 I already pay for my first vehicle totalling £178 a month. (£2136 per year).
I explained that this was a ridiculous quote and questioned if he had got this right. I have since cancelled the whole policy and moved to a new insurer and now pay less than £65 a month for both vehicles which is just less than £780 a year!! Unbelievable.

Reviewed on 14th January 2022
Mr Hirst's avatar
Mr Hirst

AVOID Scam Company

AVOID this company. Insured Sunday. 2 days later £405 added because of missed accident events . The events were not missed on application but altered by AGEAS . they ordered me to prove the previous accident was not my fault by contacting the insurer i ha Read more

AVOID this company. Insured Sunday. 2 days later £405 added because of missed accident events . The events were not missed on application but altered by AGEAS . they ordered me to prove the previous accident was not my fault by contacting the insurer i had 5 years ago. This is now impossible for me to find. 19:00 and i now have no insurance, I could have been anywhere . AVOID for your own protection .

Reviewed on 9th December 2021
Posnett Luke's avatar
Posnett Luke

Forget it if actually want help

Tried to contact them about my breakdown cover . Got generic email back a week later. None the wiser! Tried to phone.. JOKE. Waited 52 minutes listening to drivel about their company. I still dont have the help I need. Absolute waste of space. NEVER AGAIN Read more

Tried to contact them about my breakdown cover . Got generic email back a week later. None the wiser! Tried to phone.. JOKE. Waited 52 minutes listening to drivel about their company. I still dont have the help I need. Absolute waste of space. NEVER AGAIN. Back to a reputable company next year. (I wonder if they pay comparison websites for recommendations...?)

Reviewed on 7th December 2021
Victoria Butler's avatar
Victoria Butler