Acorn Insurance Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 40 reviews       Last review 18 hours ago    
  Visit website

Our Acorn Insurance Car Insurance reviews can help you to find out what life as a Acorn Insurance customer is really like. And if you have experience of using this product, why not write your review on Smart Money People today?

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Acorn Insurance Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Incentives

57% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

40 reviews

Review Acorn Insurance's Car Insurance now

if I have power I will close down this company's send all of them to the jail

I'm only giving this review because others not to be scam buy this rubbish company the best option is to stay away from this rubbish company shop around absolutely disgusting company

Reviewed on 16th May 2022
salam hussian Mohammed's avatar
salam hussian Mohammed
Get Product

Avoid

Please don't use these insurers. Yes they're cheap but they're cheap for a reason. They use the name Haven/Acorn After another vehicle hitting me on a roundabout I contacted Haven to claim. The first call to Haven tool about 1 and a half hours to get t Read more

Please don't use these insurers. Yes they're cheap but they're cheap for a reason. They use the name Haven/Acorn

After another vehicle hitting me on a roundabout I contacted Haven to claim. The first call to Haven tool about 1 and a half hours to get through.

Haven asked for photos of the small amount of damage to the door panel and we'd heard nothing back after a week chased them (another 2 hour long queue) when they immediately wrote the car off. Despite having no formal assessment to go by.

Had to chase Haven every step of the process with the average queue to get through to someone being two hours.

After two weeks they decided we were not eligible for a courtesy/hire car because the terms and conditions stated we were not covered for this if an accident took place on a roundabout or dual carriageway. Another week passes and we are suddenly eligible for 7 days car hire through their selected hire company and they advised they be in touch. AGAIN nothing happened and it turns out they're company had no cars.

Eventually the car is collected, the man who collected the car warned me how rubbish Haven were and told me to expect a long wait. A week after collection I called to see if there was any progress and Haven stated that they didn't know they collected the car as someone forgot to mark it as collected so this would delay the claim. Another week passes and Haven send me their offer and ask for my bank details.
Having not received anything in my bank after a week I chase again (again bare in mind each queue to get through to someone is usually around 2 hours) the agent advises they've sent a check as somebody didn't read the email. The cheque arrives 5 days later and I deposit this in the bank only to be contacted the next day to advise the cheque had bounced. A few days later they did eventually pay but the whole process from start to finish has been absolute hell. There has been no support or assistance from Haven and progress only seems to have happened when we've called to chase.

The process took several months for what should have been a straight forward claim. If Haven hadn't made so many incompetent mistakes the claim would've likely taken a week

Reviewed on 8th May 2022
Stephen Lee Gale's avatar
Stephen Lee Gale
Get Product

Avoid!!

AVOID!!! Absolute shambles of a company, scam artists!! Gave me three warnings for driving at the correct speed and so cancelled my policy, which I didn’t mind as I was going elsewhere, the part I do mind tho is the fact they are now harassing me with Read more

AVOID!!!

Absolute shambles of a company, scam artists!! Gave me three warnings for driving at the correct speed and so cancelled my policy, which I didn’t mind as I was going elsewhere, the part I do mind tho is the fact they are now harassing me with phone calls and emails saying I owe them money when I’m fact I don’t. I will be seeking legal action as this is absolutely ridiculous! Folks save yourself the trouble and go elsewhere for insurance!

Reviewed on 2nd May 2022
Corey Cameron's avatar
Corey Cameron
Get Product

Disgusting Service

DO NOT GO NEAR THIS COMPANY!!! YOU’VE BEEN WARNED!!! Cancelled my insurance as I did not respond to a posted letter in 7 days when I was in fact far away from home caring for a friend with a brain injury and her 5 kids. Took my deposit and will no Read more

DO NOT GO NEAR THIS COMPANY!!! YOU’VE BEEN WARNED!!!

Cancelled my insurance as I did not respond to a posted letter in 7 days when I was in fact far away from home caring for a friend with a brain injury and her 5 kids.

Took my deposit and will not pay it back leaving me stranded with no insurance very far from home in a rural community. No money to buy new insurance and unable to provide proper much needed care to a family in a very desperate situation!

I was promised a bacs payment of £80ish (a fraction of the £179 deposit I paid) within the hour. Days later and multiple phone and Web chats later only to be shoved from pillar to posst and told various different time frames of pending payment. 1hr, 24hrs, 2-5 days, and then finally 3-10 days. All the while I'm stranded unable to secure new insurance or get home to my own children.

Absolutely no care or empathy for the desperate situation this company have left us in. No problems in taking my £179 cash upfront though, only to be cancelled 7 days later for non corporation by not answering a posted letter!

Are you joking! It's 2022 have you never heard of email or a telephone What's next, correspondence by smoke signals? A handy fleet of carrier pigeons? I'd honestly have had a better chance of answering their queries that way for goodness sakes!

Be warned if you take insurance from acorn be sure your are not staying far from home for any more than 7days and possibly brush up on your morse code just incase they use another outdated method of communication as a way to rip you off!

This company is clearly here to scam you out of your hard earned cash. Sign up at your own peril. Read the reviews a plenty and don't be as daft as I was.

Reviewed on 29th March 2022
Sucker Punched's avatar
Sucker Punched
Get Product

Does not deserve a single star even

Young drivers insurance with high cost black box which trigger at 21 mile speed limit, for automatic it’s very hard to control unless you look at Speedo meter , not on the road, if a claim is made you end up paying all the money, never be able to leave, t Read more

Young drivers insurance with high cost black box which trigger at 21 mile speed limit, for automatic it’s very hard to control unless you look at Speedo meter , not on the road, if a claim is made you end up paying all the money, never be able to leave, they cancel any time they want but end up paying full premium , this company should not be in service

Reviewed on 19th March 2022
sonia varghese's avatar
sonia varghese
Get Product

Good

Nici veri good ai like were mouch

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Samy Vtm's avatar
Samy Vtm
Get Product

I've never experienced such a lack of customer service

I had an accident which wasn't my fault. It took 2 weeks for them to see it wasn't my fault (even with dash cam evidence). Once they agreed i wasn't at fault I have had to literally micro-manage them every step of the way for my claim. It's no around 3 mo Read more

I had an accident which wasn't my fault. It took 2 weeks for them to see it wasn't my fault (even with dash cam evidence). Once they agreed i wasn't at fault I have had to literally micro-manage them every step of the way for my claim. It's no around 3 months since my car was damaged and I've not had it repaired, they don't chase anything up unless you call them every 2 weeks to ask them to. Cannot speak with a manager, never call you back or anything. I have never experienced anything like it and will not be renewing with them.

Reviewed on 17th December 2021
David's avatar
David
Get Product

Useless, fraudulent, liars

Poor poor company, false and incorrect information, you can prove evidence with pictures and videos and tell you it's not correct and need a report from manufacturers, complete idiots joke company, false and incorrect information given, avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 29th November 2021
why so serious's avatar
why so serious
Get Product

Money Hungry Con-artists

I had to cancel my policy half way through my premium as I purchased a new car. They quoted me more for the new car than my previous one (even though my new car has a smaller engine, less miles, is in a higher insurance group ect). I found a cheaper quo Read more

I had to cancel my policy half way through my premium as I purchased a new car. They quoted me more for the new car than my previous one (even though my new car has a smaller engine, less miles, is in a higher insurance group ect). I found a cheaper quote elsewhere and set up my new policy with them. When I phoned Acorn to inform them that I was cancelling my insurance with them, they had me waiting over an hour on the phone for someone to answer! I was in a rush to be somewhere, they have no consideration for people's time. It's not like they're a big company to have waiting times for over an hour. When someone finally bothered to answer the phone, I told them of the situation and I found the woman's attitude to be atrocious. I think she didn't like the fact that I was cancelling but if you run a shocking service what do you expect? Finally, they had the audacity to charge me a £250 cancellation fee! It's daylight robbery! They don't care about their customers, all they're interested in is money. It's disgusting. Terrible. I'm glad I'm no longer with this mess of a company. Please avoid! If not you will be robbed of hundreds of pounds!

Reviewed on 23rd November 2021
Mercedes St hilaire's avatar
Mercedes St hilaire
Get Product

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

I cannot emphasise how poor the service from this company is. After an admin error, which resulted in me being over charged by a total of £309 during the pandemic (and at a time where I was struggling to pay bills), I have called the company 8 times to re Read more

I cannot emphasise how poor the service from this company is. After an admin error, which resulted in me being over charged by a total of £309 during the pandemic (and at a time where I was struggling to pay bills), I have called the company 8 times to resolve the issue and still not got a penny back. Not only that, but when I do call I have to wait on hold for sometimes over an hour just to get through to a member of customer services for them to help resolve absolutely nothing. They also refuse to let me speak to a member of 'management', although I'm unsure if that department even exists?! Choosing Acorn was not worth the £200 I saved from going with another provider and I would urge anyone to avoid them altogether. I've wasted nearly 10 hours of my life on hold to these people. I can only imagine half the pain people go through trying to actually make a claim... Do not buy. Complete professional con artists.

Reviewed on 20th October 2021
Harriet's avatar
Harriet
Get Product

Terrible rip off company

The most terrible company I have ever experienced took my money for policy and then they chose to cancel my policy and not refund me any money for months and months. Still have not recieved a full refund of money owed by them. Absolutely disgusting

Reviewed on 1st September 2021
Leeroy J's avatar
Leeroy J
Get Product

Absolutely unreliable and unprofessional wouldn't recommend them

I have had a bad experience with them very unprofessional, unorganised and unreliable

Reviewed on 18th June 2021
Samiul Alam's avatar
Samiul Alam
Get Product

Avoid like covid

Left my sister for 4 weeks now without a vehicle after a 3rd part crashed into her car and leaving it in roadworthy. Try and call them and they do t speak they just hang up. When you do speak to someone you get passed to someone else who doesn't have a cl Read more

Left my sister for 4 weeks now without a vehicle after a 3rd part crashed into her car and leaving it in roadworthy. Try and call them and they do t speak they just hang up. When you do speak to someone you get passed to someone else who doesn't have a clue. After 4 weeks we have got more response from the 3rd party involved. These guys don't care. 4 weeks of pure stress!!!! Avoid them. They just want your money.

Reviewed on 21st May 2021
Robbie Crosbie's avatar
Robbie Crosbie
Get Product

Very poor experience

My car was stolen, after 2 months wasn't given a Curtesy car as promised, been told different things by various people in the company. Done nothing to help me despite telling them i suffer mental health illness and have a disability, so i need my claim so Read more

My car was stolen, after 2 months wasn't given a Curtesy car as promised, been told different things by various people in the company. Done nothing to help me despite telling them i suffer mental health illness and have a disability, so i need my claim sorted urgently, as i us my car for social reasons. Cheap insurance but i ended up paying for it tremendously, with a whole heap of stress

Reviewed on 10th May 2021
Michelle Baiden's avatar
Michelle Baiden
Get Product

The most disgusting scam company that has ever existed on the face of this planet.

Just awful. Nothing more. The worst company ever. My van was broken into, I have to pay £1050 although my excess was only £250. They took my van, promised to get a courtesy van in 2 days, nothing happened for days, I chased them, they referred me to a gar Read more

Just awful. Nothing more. The worst company ever. My van was broken into, I have to pay £1050 although my excess was only £250. They took my van, promised to get a courtesy van in 2 days, nothing happened for days, I chased them, they referred me to a garage. called them, they confirmed that I can pick up the same type of van, went there half an hour later, the same lady who talked to on the phone gives me the keys of a car instead of a van. I told them I can't use that for my work, they declined to help further. Called Acorn, they referred me to another company that they are in business with, same thing. It's been two weeks now, the garage hasn't even started to repair my vehicle, I have no working van, haven't made a penny since this ordeal has started, and now I am about to lose my job because of this money grabbing criminal company. Avoid them like a plague.

Reviewed on 10th May 2021
Will Sheperd's avatar
Will Sheperd
Get Product

Thanks you Gary at Acorn

Where do I even start. I just want to give a shout out to Gary at Acorn insurance for really helping me out with the whole insurance process. Due to working as a Covid tester and driving around a lot. Gary was able to make some changes to my policy which Read more

Where do I even start. I just want to give a shout out to Gary at Acorn insurance for really helping me out with the whole insurance process. Due to working as a Covid tester and driving around a lot. Gary was able to make some changes to my policy which fit my career even better. Gary is an excellent salesmen and has excellent experience in what he does. From the beginning through to the end, it was a smooth experience. I want to give thanks to Gary for the luxurious experience and the Acorn insurance team for their exceptional work, especially during this pandemic and every happening with lockdown. Once again thanks Gary.

Reviewed on 11th February 2021
francisinnocent001@gmail.com's avatar
francisinnocent001@gmail.com
Get Product

Do Not Use This Company

After cancelling my insurance on a van in November and paying extortionate cancellation fees (which are over twice the cost of anywhere else) acorn insurance continued to take a payment on Christmas Day , after challenging them about this they admitted to Read more

After cancelling my insurance on a van in November and paying extortionate cancellation fees (which are over twice the cost of anywhere else) acorn insurance continued to take a payment on Christmas Day , after challenging them about this they admitted to their mistake after being on the phone for hours and accusing me of making a mistake(the mistake they made was that when I payed cancellation fee they did not end the credit agreement) this is bad practice as well as being illegal, I have been chasing up a refund which they have agreed to pay however it has now gone past the promised payment date and acorn insurance appear to be doing very little about it. I have informed them this has left me short for the month however they don’t seem to care they only seem to care about getting you off the phone as quick as possible. Countless times they have promised to be in touch with a solution or call me back but not once has any of the promises came through. Top this off with a terrible automated phone system that you have to wait for over half an hour to speak to somebody only for them to be not useful at all absolutely shocking company I would not recommend to anybody ever

Reviewed on 18th January 2021
Georgepell1 's avatar
Georgepell1
Get Product

The best by far for me.

The cheapest insurance quote I've had in a long time, and the people I told, found it the same. Heres to another year. Thank you Acorn Insurance.

Reviewed on 8th December 2020
ARCHIE's avatar
ARCHIE
Get Product

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS A drunk driver smashed into my vehicle she was arrested for drink driving and admitted full liability to hitting my car. I reported this to acorn insurance and was told I had to deal with Read more

AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS
AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS
A drunk driver smashed into my vehicle she was arrested for drink driving and admitted full liability to hitting my car.
I reported this to acorn insurance and was told I had to deal with the drunk drivers insurance company directly witch was ESURE... I called esure they collected my car and have my car for almost 2 weeks esure then came back to me and said the can’t offer me any service as their policy holder was drunk and breached her insurance policy they told me no work had been done on my car and that I had to deal with acorn insurance.... I then called acorn and was told they would not take my claim as a non fault claim even though I was not at fault at all... this is because I contacted esure directly never is there a manager available to speak to they are always busy... also during this time they tried to charge me an extra £1300 on my renewal price thankfully only Duncan in the renewal department helped me and got my original price for me...
Customer service is so poor and a little suggestion train your staff to a higher standard and employ more managers as never is there one Available to help customers...
I’m left with no option but to take this matter further to the auto motor ombudsman

Reviewed on 13th November 2020
Nick's avatar
Nick
Get Product

So reassuring and helpful

I used acorn insurance out of desperation due to my last insurance company not being as reliable as I thought they would be. Acorn insurance are reliable, helpful and I’m really relieved I found such a rewarding company.

Reviewed on 18th September 2020
Hannahmae's avatar
Hannahmae
Get Product