Charter Savings Bank Notice Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 14 reviews       Last review 6 months ago    

Charter Savings Bank savings reviews can help you to find out more about life at Charter Savings Bank. How easy is it to contact Charter Savings Bank? And how friendly are they? Our Charter Savings Bank savings reviews can help you to find out information...

READ MORE

Charter Savings Bank savings reviews can help you to find out more about life at Charter Savings Bank. How easy is it to contact Charter Savings Bank? And how friendly are they? Our Charter Savings Bank savings reviews can help you to find out information like this. Smart Money People is an independent source of honest reviews.

Overall Rating

Poor

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Notice Account Reviews

14 reviews

Review Charter Savings Bank's Notice Account now

Great Notice Account

Great Account with great Rate. Not so keen on the Dashboard but they do email me when funds have been received

Reviewed on 23rd January 2022
DaveO's avatar
DaveO

Go somewhere else

An absolute disgrace. No customer loyalty. You’ll get more from your bank than these Shylocks. They’ve USED our hard earned savings since 2015. All sweetness and light to begin with, new investors please sign here..... Terrible bother to set up. The paper Read more

An absolute disgrace. No customer loyalty. You’ll get more from your bank than these Shylocks. They’ve USED our hard earned savings since 2015. All sweetness and light to begin with, new investors please sign here..... Terrible bother to set up. The paperwork they sent out for an online account was out of order, however no more paper interest statements or paper/email communication since 2018. Because of the appalling interest rates they wrote by letter saying the 95 days would be wavered if we wished to move to another of their products. Since 2018 they’ve never contacted us in any shape or form to warn of the rate drop, new products, or interest statement for HMRC. Online is useless. My username ID doesn’t work although I haven’t changed it. I’ve frantically tried to contact them because my interest went from 1.7% to 0.5%. Impossible to phone them - Covid excuse. Today I had a brief hiatus from treatment and tried again to phone (20th time this year according to my phone log/ last year no staff presumably). After waiting another 1.5 hours for someone/anyone to answer the phone I got through!!! I requested moving to a higher interest account but Sarah categorically refused. They also deny the 95 day waver. I must also wait 5 days for a supervisor to explain how I remove MY hard earned savings when the 95 days is up. Just don’t bother. When interest rates go up, the party will be over for these Shylocks milking our hard earned savings. No customer service. No customer loyalty. Plenty of better places to store your money. You’ll get more and better service from your bank. Ombudsman next.

Reviewed on 19th January 2022
S Rob's avatar
S Rob

BAD ATTITUDE TO CUSTOMERS

AFTER ISSUES WITH TRYING TO SET UP NOMINATED ACCOUNT ASKED TO SPEAK TO A MANAGER WAS TOLD IT MAY TAKE 48 HOURS. EVENTUALLY I SPOKE TO A SUPPOSEDLY MANAGER WHO THEN TOLD ME ALL WAS FIXED WITH NOMINATED ACCOUNT ONLY TO LOG IN AND FIND IT WAS UNTRUE. I THINK Read more

AFTER ISSUES WITH TRYING TO SET UP NOMINATED ACCOUNT ASKED TO SPEAK TO A MANAGER WAS TOLD IT MAY TAKE 48 HOURS. EVENTUALLY I SPOKE TO A SUPPOSEDLY MANAGER WHO THEN TOLD ME ALL WAS FIXED WITH NOMINATED ACCOUNT ONLY TO LOG IN AND FIND IT WAS UNTRUE. I THINK IF I WAS NOT WHITE AND AGED I MAY HAVE BEEN ABLE TO GET MORE TRUTH FROM THE MANAGER WHO IN MY OPINION SHOULD NOT BE EMPLOYED BY ANY BANK INCAPABLE PERSON.
STILL WAITING OF PHONE CALL WILL MOVE MY MONEY WHEN I CAN
A VERY AGED ENGLISH WHITE PENSIONER

Reviewed on 20th November 2021
FRANK's avatar
FRANK

Completely useless

Tried to open a postal account and I have been messed about rotten...would not reccomend these people to anyone

Reviewed on 30th September 2021
Steve Dowson's avatar
Steve Dowson

Would never use them again

I needed the money quickly for an unexpected house purchase. They absolutely would not return the money to me early even though I offered to pay redemption charges or penalties. I almost lost the purchase that would have changed my family's lives. I expla Read more

I needed the money quickly for an unexpected house purchase. They absolutely would not return the money to me early even though I offered to pay redemption charges or penalties. I almost lost the purchase that would have changed my family's lives. I explained all this in detail and they just would not listen. I am appalled. Its disgusting to treat people in such an inhumane way.

Reviewed on 29th April 2020
Nicola's avatar
Nicola

An ok bank.

Ok bank. Not exemplary, just ok.

Reviewed on 16th December 2018
HonestJohn's avatar
HonestJohn

Dont touch

Impossible to reach this so-called bank. Do yourself a favour and just stash under the mattress!

Reviewed on 26th March 2018
Jon's avatar
Jon

AVOID Cut rates when base rate falls but refuse to raise - Awful Bank

Retrospectively cut interest rates when base rate fell but refuse to raise the rate that was previously cut when the base rate rises. Not to be trusted bank

Uploaded on 15th November 2017
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous

Insensitive

I accept they have a policy of no withdrawals, but this inflexibility has caused me much unhappiness. I would have paid their penalities and charges. I needed my money for buying a house (the date of entry was mixed up), but they refused. Nightmare. Read more

I accept they have a policy of no withdrawals, but this inflexibility has caused me much unhappiness. I would have paid their penalities and charges. I needed my money for buying a house (the date of entry was mixed up), but they refused. Nightmare.
Disgusting.

Reviewed on 2nd November 2017
David's avatar
David

Poor customer service

I wanted to open a 90 days ISA account as the interest rate they offered was attractive. I applied online and sent copies of my ID the next day as instructed. I hear nothing from them for 2 weeks so I rang them. They said they need me to send the original Read more

I wanted to open a 90 days ISA account as the interest rate they offered was attractive. I applied online and sent copies of my ID the next day as instructed. I hear nothing from them for 2 weeks so I rang them. They said they need me to send the original work permit or certified copy of the visa (as I am not a UK national) hence my application was on hold. I was thinking they could at least get back to me to tell me that rather than me calling them to find out. I then got my solicitor to certify my permit and sent it to them. AGAIN NOTHING. I rang them after a week and the lady tells me she will find out what is happening and will call me back. I HAVE YET TO HEAR FROM THEM. They are completely waste of time. After all, I am glad I am not moving my money to them.

Reviewed on 25th October 2017
Noriko's avatar
Noriko

Harsh treatment

I invested some money with this bank, unfortunately I made a very stupid mistake, I signed up for a 95 day notice account completely misunderstanding and thinking it meant I would lose 95 days interest . I tried to buy a house , signed the contract and th Read more

I invested some money with this bank, unfortunately I made a very stupid mistake, I signed up for a 95 day notice account completely misunderstanding and thinking it meant I would lose 95 days interest . I tried to buy a house , signed the contract and then when I tried to withdraw the money I found out I cannot have the funds for three months. Eventually I was told if I could get a letter from my solicitor confirming my situation it would go to senior management for a decision. After 5 very stressful days of waiting I received a phone call telling me that the senior management team have decided that the terms and conditions are very clear. I had already offered to pay back all of the interest I have received which to my mind isn't such a bad deal for them - they've had my money for 7 months get any interest back, it's not like they are the losers. However they prefer to be rigid which will mean I lose the house, still have to pay solicitors fees - thanks for nothing Charter Bank I'll make sure to spread this experience far and wide.

Reviewed on 28th July 2017
Lesley Mitchell 's avatar
Lesley Mitchell

Reduced interest rate without notice, but still require notice for closure of account

In August, Charter reduced the rate on its 120 day notice account with retrospective effect (the due before communication). This is in contrast with other "challenger" banks and other organisations with whom I have notice accounts. These organisations e Read more

In August, Charter reduced the rate on its 120 day notice account with retrospective effect (the due before communication). This is in contrast with other "challenger" banks and other organisations with whom I have notice accounts. These organisations either gave advance notice of the reduction in rate corresponding to the notice period of the account OR allowed a short period during which the account may be closed (but not partial withdrawals made) if the change in interest rate was unacceptable. But Charter savings did not do this and refuse to budge on this.

Reviewed on 30th November 2016
C L's avatar
C L

Cannot be trusted

Received an e-mail from Charter saying that the interest rate on my 60 day notice account had been reduced with immediate effect. No opportunity to withdraw my savings without penalty and no notice period so I am out of pocket. Gave notice to close my acc Read more

Received an e-mail from Charter saying that the interest rate on my 60 day notice account had been reduced with immediate effect. No opportunity to withdraw my savings without penalty and no notice period so I am out of pocket. Gave notice to close my account as I cannot do business with a bank that would do this.

Reviewed on 23rd August 2016
Philip Woodhead's avatar
Philip Woodhead

Dreadful systems lost my trust

Tempting interest rate, but the experience of application was dreadful in every way. The 'right hand' doesn't speak to the 'left hand' so I received multiple telephone calls from different departments saying conflicting things. The account was open, the Read more

Tempting interest rate, but the experience of application was dreadful in every way. The 'right hand' doesn't speak to the 'left hand' so I received multiple telephone calls from different departments saying conflicting things. The account was open, then it was not. Then it was, then it was different. Then 'not open yet' again. Eventually I lost all trust in their systems and asked for my money to be returned. All that followed was a very rude letter confirming my money would be sent soon. I would have put in much more effort for a couple of hundred grand if I was them. I will avoid this bank until they are mature enough to have systems that work. I just feel that I can't trust them until then.

Reviewed on 30th April 2016
Alan Clayton's avatar
Alan Clayton