M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer Current Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 150 reviews       Last review 5 months ago    

M&S Bank (Marks and Spencer) Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest M&S Bank current account reviews to find out what life as a Marks and Spencer customer is real...

READ MORE

M&S Bank (Marks and Spencer) Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest M&S Bank current account reviews to find out what life as a Marks and Spencer customer is really like. And remember, if you are a M&S Bank customer already, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of M&S Bank current account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Current Account Reviews

150 reviews

Review M&S Bank - Marks and Spencer's Current Account now

So difficult to track down truly helpful agents

Contributed to reward scheme but during lockdown unable to use hot drink vouchers etc. left with more than £80 of useless vouchers Trying without success to get recompense took long phone calls calls with agents whose English accents were almost impo Read more

Contributed to reward scheme but during lockdown unable to use hot drink vouchers etc. left with more than £80 of useless vouchers Trying without success to get recompense took long phone calls calls with agents whose English accents were almost impossible to understand and comprehension of my English very poor. Destroyed credit card and cancelled reward scheme after so much hassle. Marion E

Reviewed on 1st March 2022
Marion Emery's avatar
Marion Emery

No good for older people.

Too many things to remember just to get on-line for a CC statement, No alternative but to stop using the card.

Reviewed on 20th December 2021
STU STUARTW's avatar
STU STUARTW

Current Account

Having been persuaded by staff in M&S to move my account here I was annoyed when I received a notification that all their current accounts were going to be closed in the summer, they weren’t the best bank to deal with as their digital side needed updating Read more

Having been persuaded by staff in M&S to move my account here I was annoyed when I received a notification that all their current accounts were going to be closed in the summer, they weren’t the best bank to deal with as their digital side needed updating but hey ho have moved to Starling now and can’t fault them.

Reviewed on 29th March 2021
Lesley's avatar
Lesley

BEYOND MY KEN ...

Just spent frustrating 2 hours trying to use the 'physical' pass to access M&S credit card account via my laptop. Gave up - conflicting instructions e.g. 4 number password on gadget but 6 number required to online?! Went through 'Lock Pin' process still Read more

Just spent frustrating 2 hours trying to use the 'physical' pass to access M&S credit card account via my laptop. Gave up - conflicting instructions e.g. 4 number password on gadget but 6 number required to online?! Went through 'Lock Pin' process still no joy. Rang someone in Far, Far Away Land who kept calling me Madam and was really not interested at all.

Admitted defeat and installed their app on my tab which I didn't want to do. Minimal information (can't view transactions or change account info?) but made a payment which hopefully has gone through (no confirmation as such, will just have to check it's gone out of my bank account). Once payment cleared, closing acccount down- can't go through this stress every time.

Reviewed on 1st December 2020
SallyC's avatar
SallyC

Awful Bank

I had a credit card with M&S and I found their customer service to be severely lacking. Also their processes are way behind the times. The app and site UI is very very basic. Registering Apple Pay means you have to ring every time! All other competitor Read more

I had a credit card with M&S and I found their customer service to be severely lacking. Also their processes are way behind the times. The app and site UI is very very basic.

Registering Apple Pay means you have to ring every time! All other competitors activate by text or email. Of course it’s an offshore call centre that take forever!

When I wanted to close my account I filled in the form and never heard back!! They also will not close the account until your next statement date! The account is closed as I can see that on my credit file, but to this day, I’ve still never heard back from M&S to confirm it.

Get a credit card elsewhere! Avoid!

Reviewed on 17th November 2020
Andrew's avatar
Andrew

Lost the will to live

Have spent over 2 hours trying to reactivity my online account and getting absolutely nowhere. Followed instructions on line and Then phoned them, first call sounded like the person was on another planet and couldn’t understand a word they said, second ca Read more

Have spent over 2 hours trying to reactivity my online account and getting absolutely nowhere. Followed instructions on line and Then phoned them, first call sounded like the person was on another planet and couldn’t understand a word they said, second call I was told my account was unblocked, left it half an hour and retried, again it said it didn’t recognise my password and blocked me again. Went back on line to try and reset it again on to have a page with M&S Bank on the top but the rest of the page blank.
I’ve now given up and intend to close my account and use my bank instead.

Reviewed on 1st October 2020
Dee's avatar
Dee

Accessing online banking

I have given up trying to access my account on line. They may have made it difficult for criminals but also for users!

Reviewed on 21st August 2020
Sp's avatar
Sp

Accessing online banking

I have given up trying to access my account on line. They may have made it difficult for criminals but also for users!

Reviewed on 21st August 2020
Sp's avatar
Sp

Refused a current account

Refused a current account just because my income is low due to being made redundant. I have plenty of money in the bank luckily I'm not poor but this gives an insight into the disgusting preducice this bank has for the poor. My salary prior to being made Read more

Refused a current account just because my income is low due to being made redundant. I have plenty of money in the bank luckily I'm not poor but this gives an insight into the disgusting preducice this bank has for the poor. My salary prior to being made unemployed was over 50k, I hope to report them.

Reviewed on 7th August 2020
KyleKeighley's avatar
KyleKeighley

Customer Service person was in the Philippines. Line kept breaking up.

Somehow I managed to lock my credit card. Helpline person was based in Philippines - I asked because I could hardly understand what he said and the line was dreadful. I now have new card. Trying to validate by their automatic line was a nightmare. Kep Read more

Somehow I managed to lock my credit card. Helpline person was based in Philippines - I asked because I could hardly understand what he said and the line was dreadful. I now have new card. Trying to validate by their automatic line was a nightmare. Kept getting disconnected part way through and finally managed to speak to someone this morning who was able to do this. Really dislike the new security system for logging in. I am paying off my balance and then will be cancelling and cutting up cards. I have had their credit card for so many years - but this just isn't worth the hassle. I just wish I hadn't taken out their house insurance - they don't deserve the custom.

Reviewed on 6th August 2020
Bertie's avatar
Bertie

Disgusted and let down

My wife and I are absolutely disgusted at the lack of service and lies from M&S Bank. I spoke to the bank on the 30-7-20 to ask for funds to be transferred from our savings account to our lawyers to pay for the deposit on our new house (£207k). I was told Read more

My wife and I are absolutely disgusted at the lack of service and lies from M&S Bank. I spoke to the bank on the 30-7-20 to ask for funds to be transferred from our savings account to our lawyers to pay for the deposit on our new house (£207k). I was told they would have to transfer the funds into our current account and that someone from security would call us on the 31-7-20 to action the transfer. I was working and therefore asked them to call my wife that day to activate as she is joint account holder. This transaction was to enable us to exchange contracts for completion 7-8-20. To cut a long story very short, no call was received from the bank and despite numerous calls and promises it would be completed that day, the money is still sitting in our account! It's the lies that upset us the most and in these unprecedented times we could even deal with the family background noises as their staff are working from home. Who knows when our lawyers will receive our money and if we will even manage to complete next week. We've lost the will to be honest and M&S Bank, SHAME ON YOU.....

Reviewed on 1st August 2020
Shaun's avatar
Shaun

Great customer service all based in the North West very helpful love the app of all the banks that I deal with this is the best

Minor problem with activating a debit card which was really well handled by the staff and is now working perfectly thank you

Reviewed on 22nd June 2020
Martyn cund 's avatar
Martyn cund

Great service

Got phone call allerting me to unusually large transaction, whcich was OK but I was reassured by the bank's vigilance. Also appreciated £81.61 interest on internet regular savings @ £250 per month

Reviewed on 8th February 2020
Ann Gilbertson's avatar
Ann Gilbertson

The App From The Pitts Of Hell

M&S clearly were on too many of their house sherry's when they employed such an inept technological team to design their banking app. A thoroughly horrible consumer experience. Want to transfer money?! It would be easier and less frustrating to send it Read more

M&S clearly were on too many of their house sherry's when they employed such an inept technological team to design their banking app.
A thoroughly horrible consumer experience.
Want to transfer money?! It would be easier and less frustrating to send it in 1p coins via recorded delivery with the Royal Mail.

Reviewed on 4th February 2020
Clare's avatar
Clare

Avoid at all costs

Painful to use. Bugs on website mean I can't generate a useable secuity code, and when it fails the error message isn't even displayed (just an ! in a triangle).

Reviewed on 28th January 2020
John's avatar
John

A SMART DAY TO DAY BANK

I HAVE NOTHING BUT GREAT PLEASURE FROM DAY ONE OF DEALING WITH THIS MARVELLOUS BANKING GROUP AND I THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND IT

Reviewed on 8th January 2020
marfer1952@yahoo.com's avatar
marfer1952@yahoo.com

APP IS AWFUL!!!

I hate the app - it’s actually got worse since the new update as it’s lost all my payees and the new process for generating a code gives you 8 seconds to type it in which is far too short for me, and I know what I’m doing so I dread to think how elderly/v Read more

I hate the app - it’s actually got worse since the new update as it’s lost all my payees and the new process for generating a code gives you 8 seconds to type it in which is far too short for me, and I know what I’m doing so I dread to think how elderly/vulnerable people are coping.

Reviewed on 3rd January 2020
Christine Thompson's avatar
Christine Thompson

Horrible Online banking experience

The website appears to have several bugs or failings that have not been fixed for weeks. The code generator for verifying payments etc is horrible. Tiny buttons, plus users cannot replace the battery, so it would be very inconvenient if the battery died w Read more

The website appears to have several bugs or failings that have not been fixed for weeks. The code generator for verifying payments etc is horrible. Tiny buttons, plus users cannot replace the battery, so it would be very inconvenient if the battery died while abroad, the account would be inaccessible. (I have a Nationwide one where user can replace the battery)

Reviewed on 21st December 2019
JaSoldier's avatar
JaSoldier

TRANSFERS BETWEEN ACCOUNTS

M&S is probably the worst bank I have ever been with. I cannot transfer funds from my Current Account directly to my Credit Card account. When asked why, I was told I could use my M&S debit card which would take around 2 or more days. This is daft when ne Read more

M&S is probably the worst bank I have ever been with. I cannot transfer funds from my Current Account directly to my Credit Card account. When asked why, I was told I could use my M&S debit card which would take around 2 or more days. This is daft when nearly all other banks allow this simple transfer between accounts.

Reviewed on 19th December 2019
IW's avatar
IW

M&S Current Account App

M&S have introduced what should be a better banking experiencing but Online banking and the App, compared to other banks is very Poor. I understand that security has to be paramount, but existing DD and SO I have to log in via website and the card reader Read more

M&S have introduced what should be a better banking experiencing but Online banking and the App, compared to other banks is very Poor. I understand that security has to be paramount, but existing DD and SO I have to log in via website and the card reader before I can go via App. Come on M&S all those details should have been transferred over immediately like other banking apps. I hate to say it but I am very close to closing my account.

Reviewed on 12th December 2019
CrossT's avatar
CrossT