Post Office Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 37 reviews       Last review 3 months ago    

Post Office car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Post Office car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the...

READ MORE

Post Office car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Post Office car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Post Office before, you too can write a short Post Office car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

37 reviews

Review Post Office's Car Insurance now

Cheap and good

Customer service are ok but has really good prices

Reviewed on 13th August 2022
Tnb1900's avatar
Tnb1900

Awful service, customer care/relations. Lack of comunication and over charging

Awful service, customer care/relations. Upon taking out motor insurance with them they have unjustifiably increased the policy premium twice. even though I have provided them with supporting documentation from previous insurers. Their back office continua Read more

Awful service, customer care/relations. Upon taking out motor insurance with them they have unjustifiably increased the policy premium twice. even though I have provided them with supporting documentation from previous insurers. Their back office continually make mistakes admit them and fail to rectify them. for two previous glass claims, they have increased my premium by £370. I raised an internal complaint and 14 days later I still haven't been contacted. The matter has now been raised with the ombudsman. fingers crossed this will help. But please avoid this company.

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
Anthony Bulger's avatar
Anthony Bulger

Appalling handling of my elderly mothers no fault claim

Avoid. Poor communication. Still waiting for courtesy car after a week. Never call back when they say they will. She has had to repeat her story each time. No consistency with information. Should not be operating.

Reviewed on 14th July 2022
Sharon Dighton's avatar
Sharon Dighton

Worst car insurance available - avoid

Despite me selecting no auto renewal on my car insurance policy they proceeded to renewal the policy and then charged me a cancellation fee when I tired to dispute the renewal process.Avoid this company at all costs folks

Reviewed on 22nd May 2022
B S's avatar
B S

Diabolical claims experience

Diabolical, insufficient, poorly managed claims. Post Office Car insurance claims uses a third party companies to deal with everything. Takes ages to resolve simple claim. You need to speak to several people from different companies to get information to Read more

Diabolical, insufficient, poorly managed claims. Post Office Car insurance claims uses a third party companies to deal with everything. Takes ages to resolve simple claim. You need to speak to several people from different companies to get information to get you nowhere. Customer service is not bad but they constantly refer you to another party to call. After four months you fill that you are working for them. Not recommended, spend more with reputable company and safe time and money that way.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
Luca's avatar
Luca

Terrible customer services

I was hit by another vehicle whilst driving in a courtesy car provided by post office insurance (even getting this courtesy car was an ordeal!) I contacted the post office to inform them of the incident and was bounced between them and enterprise rentals. Read more

I was hit by another vehicle whilst driving in a courtesy car provided by post office insurance (even getting this courtesy car was an ordeal!) I contacted the post office to inform them of the incident and was bounced between them and enterprise rentals. After 4 calls to the post office and 3 to enterprise and no progress made I again called the post office and had to quote their own policy terms and conditions to make any headway, they were still not interested and told me to phone LV (their underwriters) and sort it out with them myself. LV were brilliant, post office not so much! I cannot recommend strongly enough that you avoid the post office insurance like the plague!

Reviewed on 30th January 2022
JT's avatar
JT

Horrible customer service

I have not had to claim - so this is about their customer service. First year I set up with them I did so as the price was right. The chap that set me up was grumpy and rude. Today I called to advise that I was moving on and the lady was also confrontatio Read more

I have not had to claim - so this is about their customer service. First year I set up with them I did so as the price was right. The chap that set me up was grumpy and rude. Today I called to advise that I was moving on and the lady was also confrontational and rude. Sounding annoyed that I was moving on - so super unprofessional - and more irritated when I was asking for a letter proving my NCD. Essentially there was a mix up when I first joined and Iw as trying to explain why I had more years than she could see. She interrupted and said that she couldn't see anything as her system had crashed. She asked me to continue, I explained what iI needed in the letter and she interrupted again and said "well I can't because my system is down." I didn't know what to say to that as that wasn't really relevant. Later when her system was down again, rather than continue speaking, I said I'd wait for her system to come back and she said "well you can carry on while the system comes back." She was needlessly obstructive, rude, generally hacked off and I won't ever go back for anything

Reviewed on 7th January 2022
KingD's avatar
KingD

Pathetic/ unhelpfull

Had insurance with these cowboys, i changed my car and contacted them to update my details to my new car, i have a 21 plate ford puma, they cant insure it because it doesnt exist on their computer, they only insure a 3 door puma & puma estates, not 5 door Read more

Had insurance with these cowboys, i changed my car and contacted them to update my details to my new car, i have a 21 plate ford puma, they cant insure it because it doesnt exist on their computer, they only insure a 3 door puma & puma estates, not 5 door hatchbacks ? Fords dont even make such models !!!!!!
DO NOT USE THESE JOKERS

Reviewed on 25th September 2021
Phil's avatar
Phil

DO NOT USE

My elderly, disabled parents had their car stolen and the shower of sh** at the post office don't give a damn. No courtesy car, no calls, no customer service, nothing. The elderly trust the post office brand but reality when having to make a claim is a di Read more

My elderly, disabled parents had their car stolen and the shower of sh** at the post office don't give a damn. No courtesy car, no calls, no customer service, nothing. The elderly trust the post office brand but reality when having to make a claim is a different experience. I'm currently having to sort their claim out because post office staff are as helpful as syphillis in a knocking shop. The new car insurance will not be with the post office and the home insurance will also be getting changed.

Reviewed on 18th September 2021
Andy's avatar
Andy

No faults claim

My car was written off by a drunk driver at 03:30 in the morning on Sunday. I rang my insurance the same day to put In the claim and I can’t complain about anything. So helpful. Made the process so easy and stress free knowing I was very upset. And also m Read more

My car was written off by a drunk driver at 03:30 in the morning on Sunday. I rang my insurance the same day to put In the claim and I can’t complain about anything. So helpful. Made the process so easy and stress free knowing I was very upset. And also moved very fast with recovering my car, sorting me a rental and giving me a quote. Will recommend.

Reviewed on 13th October 2020
Rosie grant 's avatar
Rosie grant

The best deal

absolutely the best for my 18 year old son, alot of other companies hike up the price for add ons but with post office it was all included and at least a 3rd cheaper

Reviewed on 10th September 2020
elmerfud's avatar
elmerfud

Deducted additional £13.74 on basis no fault claim was not declared.

I received letter dated 17/07/2020 from Post Office Money stating they would deduct further £13.74 on my recently agreed car insurance policy unless I had LV Insurance send in writing that CUE information they had declared in 2017 was wrong. After three c Read more

I received letter dated 17/07/2020 from Post Office Money stating they would deduct further £13.74 on my recently agreed car insurance policy unless I had LV Insurance send in writing that CUE information they had declared in 2017 was wrong. After three calls to LV insurance they provided a letter stating the claim in 2017 was a no fault claim which I forwarded by email as instructed on 30/07/2029 to Cueproof@insure-systems.co.uk. I then received further letter from Post Office Money dated 6/08/2020 stating that the premium of £13.74 would still be deducted or I could cancel policy for a charge £55.00. I therefore telephoned and was informed that the charge was due to my non declaration at time of application. So in fact I had completely wasted my time fulfilling their instructions. My previous insurer Ageas made no issue about the matter. I feel Post Office Money have ripped me off and wasted my time. I will certainly never deal with them again. I have the impression that they are a dodgy Insurance outfit trading under a prestigious company’s name.

Reviewed on 10th August 2020
Charles Twitchen 's avatar
Charles Twitchen

Nightmare comany

Post office insurance are totally a mess. Lots of promises but no action. Set up home insurance and couldnt even see the policy and then they took double payments. In the rnd I cancelled because they were terrible. Over two weeks and they still owe me a r Read more

Post office insurance are totally a mess. Lots of promises but no action. Set up home insurance and couldnt even see the policy and then they took double payments. In the rnd I cancelled because they were terrible. Over two weeks and they still owe me a refund. Dont go there what ever you do. Nightmare.

Reviewed on 13th July 2020
Robert Sidebottom's avatar
Robert Sidebottom

Couldn't renew my insurance

I have had car insurance through the Post Office for a few years. However, this year when my insurance was due for renewal, I received a letter to say their panel of insurers were unable to offer me insurance. Nothing has changed since last year and I've Read more

I have had car insurance through the Post Office for a few years. However, this year when my insurance was due for renewal, I received a letter to say their panel of insurers were unable to offer me insurance. Nothing has changed since last year and I've not made any claims for years. They were unable to offer any explanation when I phoned. However, silver lining, I have got insurance with another reputable company at £100+ less!

Reviewed on 18th May 2020
Derrell Lewis's avatar
Derrell Lewis

home insurance

i told them i did not want to carry on with home contents insurance 'but they still took the money from my account ,tried to contact them by phone but was put on hold every time for at least 20 min,so i gave up in the end.

Reviewed on 9th May 2020
Jeffrey Matthews's avatar
Jeffrey Matthews

Fantastic

Absolutely fantastic experience and could have been easier to deal with.

Reviewed on 12th September 2019
Emmaj18's avatar
Emmaj18

Great value easy online service

So easy to setup and clear information on their site.

Reviewed on 9th July 2019
Alan Blackledge's avatar
Alan Blackledge

Hassle Free And Good Value

The insurance was very quick to arrange online, had good coverage, and was good value.

Reviewed on 6th July 2019
mechris3's avatar
mechris3

Post-office money -rip off

I took insurance out for a motorbike on the 1st April for £124. On the 1st May I changed the bike. Post-Office offered me an extortionate price for the new bike (£450 as oppose to the £153 which what it has actually cost). So I said I would cancel the pol Read more

I took insurance out for a motorbike on the 1st April for £124. On the 1st May I changed the bike. Post-Office offered me an extortionate price for the new bike (£450 as oppose to the £153 which what it has actually cost). So I said I would cancel the policy. The refund on the policy was £10.90! Outrageous

Reviewed on 2nd May 2019
Steve Tolchard's avatar
Steve Tolchard

CAR INSURANCE/ DO NOT BUY

Just found out that I have lost my annual no claims discount as I changed car half way through the year. What a joke!! Other insurance companies DO NOT play these games. I would advise that you steer clear and chose a company that know how to look after t Read more

Just found out that I have lost my annual no claims discount as I changed car half way through the year. What a joke!! Other insurance companies DO NOT play these games. I would advise that you steer clear and chose a company that know how to look after their customers.

Reviewed on 12th February 2019
Wayne Crowe's avatar
Wayne Crowe