Carrot Insurance Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 44 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Carrot Insurance car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Carrot Insurance car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the...

READ MORE

Carrot Insurance car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Carrot Insurance car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Carrot Insurance before, you too can write a short Carrot Insurance car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

44 reviews

Review Carrot Insurance's Car Insurance now

scammers

Had I read reviews of CARROT insurance I would never gone near them.when you want to buy they are there within seconds to answer your call. when there is a problem you can not ( repeat) can not talk to a human and the next time you hear from them by text Read more

Had I read reviews of CARROT insurance I would never gone near them.when you want to buy they are there within seconds to answer your call. when there is a problem you can not ( repeat) can not talk to a human and the next time you hear from them by text is when they cancel your insurance and still expect you to pay for somthing they could have sorted if you could have spoken to someone one month insurance ended up costing over 400 and they still want more because THEY cancel it. I will be taking this further.

Reviewed on 31st October 2022
John's avatar
John

DONT DO IT

Terrible insurance company Never pick up phone

Reviewed on 16th October 2022
Markand Cat's avatar
Markand Cat

Worse company known to man

Absolute shit service one of the worse company’s I could ever imagine can’t do nothing the black box is a pile of wank and lies threw its back teeth, no one get with these unless u wanna be fucked in arse every time u turn on ya car wankers suck ya mum ya Read more

Absolute shit service one of the worse company’s I could ever imagine can’t do nothing the black box is a pile of wank and lies threw its back teeth, no one get with these unless u wanna be fucked in arse every time u turn on ya car wankers suck ya mum ya dad n ya grandma carrot ya fucking idiots

Reviewed on 14th October 2022
Yagabe Itch's avatar
Yagabe Itch

Disgusting

Please do not use this company, you will end paying out of the nose, they say they have sent you messages when they have not, and ask you to upload documents to the dashboard which does not work. They cancel without a grace period and then charge you an e Read more

Please do not use this company, you will end paying out of the nose, they say they have sent you messages when they have not, and ask you to upload documents to the dashboard which does not work. They cancel without a grace period and then charge you an extortionate fee when they cancel your policy without warning. Please use a company that is more profession and understanding, biggest regret was using this company and we are £450 out of pocket for a recently passed driver is not good at all. Rude, discourteous, arrogant. Would not reinstate policy despite pleading with them and explaining that it was not my fault and I tried to send them the documents and get in touch with them.

Reviewed on 11th October 2022
MK's avatar
MK

Very Bad, please avoid at all costs

May be the cheapest but please do not use this company, you will end paying out of the nose, they say they have sent you messasges when they have not, and ask you to upload documents to the dashboard which does not work. They cancel without a grace perio Read more

May be the cheapest but please do not use this company, you will end paying out of the nose, they say they have sent you messasges when they have not, and ask you to upload documents to the dashboard which does not work. They cancel without a grace period and then charge you an extortiante fee when they cancel your policy without warning. Please use a company that is more profession and understanding, biggest regret was using this company and we are £450 out of pocket for a recently passed driver is not good at all. Rude, discourteous, arrogant. Would not reinstate policy despite pleaing with them and explianing that it was not my fault and I tried to send them the documents and get in touch with them.

Reviewed on 10th October 2022
MK's avatar
MK

Utterly useless

would not touch them with a bargepole, cant speak to anyone all live chat and totally inflexible, They might be cheap but it is for a reason, Avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
seb kayll's avatar
seb kayll

Would not recommend

Not long passed my driving test. Got insured by carrot, at the time they did not have any available dates to get my black box fitted which was fine I was willing to wait. Kept getting emails of them threatening to cancel my policy with them as I had not h Read more

Not long passed my driving test. Got insured by carrot, at the time they did not have any available dates to get my black box fitted which was fine I was willing to wait. Kept getting emails of them threatening to cancel my policy with them as I had not had my box fitted which was not my fault. Eventually got a date and the person came out to fit my box to then tell me that they could not fit the black box due to modifications on the car. When insuring the car I made sure to add about the alloy wheels and the tint on the windows. I missed out one modifications as I did not know it came under as a modification.I then got an email later that day saying I had 7 days to cancel my insurance or they were cancelling it on the 7th day. And informed me that my exhaust had been modified which I did not think it had, so I took it straight to the garage to ask about my exhaust to be told that it was a normal exhaust on my car. Was made to pay 102 pound to cancel the policy which I did not want to cancel. So it has resulted in me loosing my deposit , paying this months insurance to get it cancelled half way in and also having to pay the 102 pound, and not to forget then me having to go and pay another deposit with a different insurance company.
They have the worst customer service that I have ever experienced. No phone number , no email all through a live chat that you wait to get connected to an agent.
Wish I had done more research before jumping onto this insurance company cannot believe the stress that it has put on me as a 19 year old girl first time driver.
Really not happy about this at all!
Would avoid them at all costs.

Reviewed on 25th January 2022
Dionne Reid's avatar
Dionne Reid

Awful!!!

Awful!! I have been with carrot for about 2 months. They first contacted me about my black box and were very rude on the phone and pushy, I told them I work full time during the week and they were very awkward about letting me select a date. Not o Read more

Awful!!

I have been with carrot for about 2 months. They first contacted me about my black box and were very rude on the phone and pushy, I told them I work full time during the week and they were very awkward about letting me select a date.

Not only that but they would not stop contacting me asking for additional documents!! They would ask for something then ask for another 3 things on top. I was waiting for proof of my NCD from my last insurance provider when they emailed threatening to cancel my policy. I tried to go on their ‘live chat’ (which is also AWFUL) as they don’t have a phone number to ring, and the woman was rude telling me to go look elsewhere for cover. Then I got a text saying that my policy was cancelled!!!

Now they are demanding that I give them £92, they’ve emailed me twice today and sent me a text- disgusting!

Stay away - it’s not worth the headache!!

Reviewed on 26th November 2021
Georgie Klapproth's avatar
Georgie Klapproth

Stay Clear

STAY CLEAR! whole host of problems, the app is very temperamental and doesn’t always work and the response when trying to sort it usually consisted of “leave the app open” which drained battery and used miles up. A new problem with it arose every other we Read more

STAY CLEAR! whole host of problems, the app is very temperamental and doesn’t always work and the response when trying to sort it usually consisted of “leave the app open” which drained battery and used miles up. A new problem with it arose every other week. Also just had my renewal with a email stating “ Please be aware, Carrot WILL NOT automatically renew this policy.” followed by an email 2 weeks later stating my policy had been renewed with a credit agreement set up with a credit broker! Even after messaging them stating I wanted to NOT renew I received an email later that day stating a direct debit set up that had been SIGNED..... without telling me mind. I know it’s a touch cheaper but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not use this company, pay the extra £5/£10 a month and go with the next cheapest, you’ll regret it if you don’t. Never written a review for anything in my life but felt compelled to do so today!

Reviewed on 2nd September 2020
Aaron's avatar
Aaron

great low price insurance

as a student this seems to be a great insurance company at very reasonable prices

Reviewed on 24th August 2020
Sarah's avatar
Sarah

student/new driver insurance

this seems to be a great insurance provider for new or student drivers at a reasonable price

Reviewed on 24th August 2020
Sarah's avatar
Sarah

The WORST

Please avoid this company. Even if getting an app sunds easier than having a black box installed, it is not worth it. Unfortunately it's not possible to give zero stars. Instead of writing a huge rant (because I've just had to write one out on email to co Read more

Please avoid this company. Even if getting an app sunds easier than having a black box installed, it is not worth it. Unfortunately it's not possible to give zero stars. Instead of writing a huge rant (because I've just had to write one out on email to complain to them), I will summarise.
1. Hidden charges everywhere you look. I got charged £30 because I put one single number wrong on a form once. £30! I wasn't warned there would be a charge if there were any mistakes. Why did I even need to fill in the form if they had access to the information and they were going to charge me anyway? Probably so I would make a mistake and they could make money.
2. I also got charged a ridiculous amount of money to cancel my policy (which I was not warned would be the case when I cancelled) and they straight up refused to email me with a bill. Instead I just got a text telling me I owed them money.
3. You can only contact them through a live chat, which is only open till 6pm. Not great if you work 9-5 as most people do. They're also very slow at replying and not particularly helpful when they do reply.
4. The Wingman does not work and they will threaten to cancel your insurance because of this! My wingman broke so many times and when I would try to get a new one, I would have to go out of my way on the live chat to find out that I was not being sent a new one and I would have to find some other way to fix it. Did I mention they'll threaten to cancel your insurance if it doesn't work.

Overall, this company turned me into a Karen - the sort of person who wants to shout at innocent employees who are just trying to do their job. But seriously, don't waste your money, find a more reputable service provider.

Reviewed on 27th November 2019
Jenna R's avatar
Jenna R

Do NOT bother

Do not waste your time buying insurance from this incredibly incompetent company. I saved a couple hundred quid by going with carrot but the amount of wasted time effort energy calls messaging I’ve had to put in because THEIR app doesn’t work at all is a Read more

Do not waste your time buying insurance from this incredibly incompetent company. I saved a couple hundred quid by going with carrot but the amount of wasted time effort energy calls messaging I’ve had to put in because THEIR app doesn’t work at all is a joke and worth so much more than a bit of cash. Pay more to stop yourself going grey - 10000% worst excuse of a company I’ve ever had to deal with (does it even count as dealing with if they ignore you)

Reviewed on 7th June 2019
Carlene Nobile's avatar
Carlene Nobile

Do not insure with Carrot - The most unprofessional insurance company in the world

Beware: This company is scamming people. They offer low insurance policies then hit you with cancellation notices unless you pay further premiums. My son has had two cancellation notices and two premium increases of £100 and £200 for no good reason. We Read more

Beware: This company is scamming people.
They offer low insurance policies then hit you with cancellation notices unless you pay further premiums. My son has had two cancellation notices and two premium increases of £100 and £200 for no good reason.
We tried calling and were on hold for 60 minutes before we gave up. Absolutely impossible to talk to anyone - they offer communication through twitter facebook but will not answer emails.
Cancellation fees are 35% of the total policy.
This needs to be taken further - I would have given zero rating but the review process only allows you to progress with at least one star - very angry and frustrated.

Reviewed on 29th April 2019
Peter Bagshaw's avatar
Peter Bagshaw

Confusing and frustrating

Positives - Great price for the insurance cover. Bloke arrived on time to fit the black box. Friendly staff on the phone. Negatives - takes ages to get through to anyone either using phone or live chat. the Black box is very confusing - it can give y Read more

Positives - Great price for the insurance cover.
Bloke arrived on time to fit the black box.
Friendly staff on the phone.
Negatives - takes ages to get through to anyone either using phone or live chat.
the Black box is very confusing - it can give you 10/10 for a journey, then a minus score for exactly the same journey a few hours later. You never know what score you are going to be given by the Black Box and it becomes very frustrating to have driven perfectly only to see a negative score appear on your system. It seems as though the Black box pulls figures out of thin air or makes them up to give you a low score.
You can be threatened with cancellation if you have a negative score for a week, but be offered to sit a test with 'driving doctor' and if you pass, you get the negative week removed from your Record. I received an email from driving doctor telling me I passed, but Carrot emailed me and told me I had failed. Decided to cut my losses and cancel my policy as it was causing too much confusion and aggravation rather than helping me to become a better driver, which was the whole point of the policy. The whole thing prevented me from enjoying having my first car.

Reviewed on 13th April 2019
PEachy's avatar
PEachy

PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY !!!!

We are 4 months into this policy and we are counting the days until it comes to an end. It was the cheapest BUT its a very true saying you get what you pay for. The black box literally makes things up as it goes along. Yesterday my daughter used the car Read more

We are 4 months into this policy and we are counting the days until it comes to an end. It was the cheapest BUT its a very true saying you get what you pay for. The black box literally makes things up as it goes along. Yesterday my daughter used the car to drive from home to college, 2.4 miles, from college to the gym 4 miles and from the gym home. The useage score out of 10 is 0 and - 0.2 .... 3 journeys, made during day ... not after 11pm or before 6am ( which they don't like despite having "no curfew" ) They will mark you down for speed on a motorway as anything over 50 mph they don't like either, and don't even get me started on smoothness! please, I wish I had read the reviews before parting with our money. I hope to goodness we don't have to claim with them

Reviewed on 5th April 2019
Jane 's avatar
Jane

USELESS!!!!

If I could give Zero stars then I would’ve but they were awful, I wouldn’t recommend them at all and would advise you go elsewhere. I spent so long on hold every time I called, I was told so many different things, one of the people I spoke to made me out Read more

If I could give Zero stars then I would’ve but they were awful, I wouldn’t recommend them at all and would advise you go elsewhere. I spent so long on hold every time I called, I was told so many different things, one of the people I spoke to made me out to be a liar, the RS company contacted me daily before my policy even started, conned out of £269 for less than a month of insurance. USELESS!!!!

Reviewed on 5th March 2019
Naomi Bailey's avatar
Naomi Bailey

Terrible! Worst company ever

They rely on an orange box rigged to an app on the phone. You leave it open as instructed and get data readings so you think all is fine. Then you get a letter cancelling the policy as you’ve had the app turned off WHEN YOU HAVE NOT! Seriously bad to ge Read more

They rely on an orange box rigged to an app on the phone. You leave it open as instructed and get data readings so you think all is fine. Then you get a letter cancelling the policy as you’ve had the app turned off WHEN YOU HAVE NOT!
Seriously bad to get through to, when you do eventually get to speak to someone they basically just call you a liar!
Hide behind the misguided app readings and refuse to accept that it is flawed and faulty!
Costly experience leaving a 20 year Old without insurance for no valid reason (my son). In 30 years of personal driving I have never come across such a shocking insurance company or been made to feel so much like a criminal like this shower made me and my son feel like

Reviewed on 31st January 2019
Claire Walker's avatar
Claire Walker

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

I wouldn’t never ever waste my time giving a company a bad review online but I am literally making sure I stop as many people as possible taking car insurance out with this company, even had advisors on the phone saying I am not a bad driver but they are Read more

I wouldn’t never ever waste my time giving a company a bad review online but I am literally making sure I stop as many people as possible taking car insurance out with this company, even had advisors on the phone saying I am not a bad driver but they are still going to cancel my policy and charge me for half the yearly amount of my insurance. I have only had the insurance for 3 weeks and even paid 160 pound deposit which I am not getting back from them, they think it’s ok penalise drivers for driving 31mph in 30 zone or if your need brake sharply at any point when your driving which can happen because of hazards or other drivers etc, I have been driving since I was 18 and I am now 25 never heard anything like it from a car insurance company in my life even Mr Bean would have his policy cancelled by this joke of a company, so unless you want to speak to advisors who don’t have a clue what they are talking about or tell you can’t be over the speed limit at any point or can’t brake sharply because your policy will be cancelled then this is the car insurance for you if not avoid at all costs and it will save you time, money and hassle. So in a nutshell THIS CAR INSURANCE IS FUCKING SHIT DONT GET CAR INSURANCE FROM THEM

Reviewed on 19th December 2018
Marcus's avatar
Marcus

Good customer service

Good customer service but the black box always played up. So much hustle

Reviewed on 7th December 2018
Csont Ramona's avatar
Csont Ramona