AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

  Ratings based on 109 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    
  Visit website

Like many drivers, breaking down is not something we want to think about! But when it happens, You'll be thankful that you're with a good breakdown cover provider. That's were our AA breakdown cover reviews come in. You can read and write YOUR AA Breakdow...

READ MORE

Like many drivers, breaking down is not something we want to think about! But when it happens, You'll be thankful that you're with a good breakdown cover provider. That's were our AA breakdown cover reviews come in. You can read and write YOUR AA Breakdown cover reviews. We started Smart Money People to help drivers like you to find the best breakdown cover based on our honest reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

AA Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

45% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 45-54

Top Channel Preference: App

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Breakdown Cover Reviews

109 reviews

Review AA's Breakdown Cover now

Negligent, non-responsive and time wasting company

If I could give the AA 0 stars I would. Last night my family's car broke down in the middle of a busy junction in central London, blocking a main road behind traffic lights. We had four people including a disabled person who couldn't walk in the vehicl Read more

If I could give the AA 0 stars I would.

Last night my family's car broke down in the middle of a busy junction in central London, blocking a main road behind traffic lights. We had four people including a disabled person who couldn't walk in the vehicle and despite numerous calls, texts, and attempts to reach the AA on every social media platform they have it took them 10 hours to reach us and offer us any kind of support.

I'm absolutely shocked and outraged at the negligence of the AA last night - what I thought was a reliable company failed to come to our aid and kept us in an incredibly dangerous situation, ignoring all of our messages and leaving us on hold for hours.

If you have any option to NOT use the AA I recommend turning elsewhere for support.

Two of the four passengers have AA memberships, and yet they still charged us a high fee when they eventually came to pick up the car at 4am.

Reviewed on 19th March 2022
Anna Stephens's avatar
Anna Stephens
Get Product

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

Do not use the AA. I am appalled at the service they gave me I have now had 2 very VERY bad experiences with them. Yesterday I broke down on the motorway and it took them 8 hours to come and look at my car. I am a 22 year old women and I was by myself in Read more

Do not use the AA. I am appalled at the service they gave me I have now had 2 very VERY bad experiences with them. Yesterday I broke down on the motorway and it took them 8 hours to come and look at my car. I am a 22 year old women and I was by myself in the dark at night and apparently I was ‘priority’ however, they wouldn’t look at my car on the motorway so I had to be pulled off before they would even see me. They told me they would be there for 4pm they did not sort the problem out until gone midnight. Once they finally came they charged me an EXTRA £450 to get my car home as they only cover 50 miles free … WHAT ARE WE EVEN PAYING FOR IN THE MEMBERSHIP?! DO NOT USE THEM! I will be writing a bad review on every site possible and will be leaving them straight away. I will steer everyone away from the AA that is thinking of joining.

Reviewed on 26th February 2022
georgia.upton@hotmail.com's avatar
georgia.upton@hotmail.com
Get Product

AA are criminals

broken on the 8/2/22 in Essex road London, patrol was threatening , intimidating, did not fix the car, did not make the car safe, left me in a vulnerable situation. even when i had audi assist for three years. when complaint AA staff Joanne, Felicity, B R Read more

broken on the 8/2/22 in Essex road London, patrol was threatening , intimidating, did not fix the car, did not make the car safe, left me in a vulnerable situation. even when i had audi assist for three years. when complaint AA staff Joanne, Felicity, B Rai, Seema in complaints Manchester very aggressive, threatening behaviour, taken money and are refusing to give me my money back. stay away from this from this company. They want a proof that i can buy, drive and have the right to live and drive the car in the UK. AA are not immigration, not the police. AA questioned me about my education, even though I am Senior Bank Manager. AA are CRIMINALs.

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
Mani Singh's avatar
Mani Singh
Get Product

Repeatedly lie to you!

3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 and repeatedly lied too! Broke down at 4.00 pm waited 3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 (rush hour) despite being told I was priority because of the dangerous situation, repeatedly lied to about recovery times, Read more

3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 and repeatedly lied too!
Broke down at 4.00 pm waited 3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 (rush hour) despite being told I was priority because of the dangerous situation, repeatedly lied to about recovery times, then after 3 hours towed to a service station 2 miles down the motorway by an independent recovery company, waited another hour and a half for a patrolman to turn up to tell me my car needed recovering (which I knew all along and I believe so did they as you are asked for the symptoms when you call) now told it will be 11.30pm before they can recover me for the 150 mile onward journey (which I don’t believe as every single member of staff you speak to lies about the times) you will wait at least 2 hours or more after the time they tell you. Cant have my car delivered to my garage because they are closed as it will be 1.00 am in the morning! and even if I have it dropped off there I have to make my own way home or else get my car taken home and they then will charge you to take it to your garage the next day! so 7 hours stranded so far (that’s if they turn up a 11pm which I doubt) be lucky to get home by 2 am! Personally after being a member for 7 years I will never use them again, they are unprofessional they don’t care and no longer have the resources or ability to look after their members, I would never recommend them!
Update 11.23 patrolman arrived but says he can only tow me halfway!!!!!! Is dumping me at a service station 75 miles from home at 1.00 am in the morning I now have to wait to be picked up from there! AA you should be ashamed of yourselves!!!!

Reviewed on 17th February 2022
GT Motors's avatar
GT Motors
Get Product

Totally Disgraceful Service

Member for 13 years and paid for home relay for all that time. Broke down 50 miles from home on Thursday and AA sent some guy in a white van who didn't have a clue. The AA then abandoned me by the side of the road and told me to make my onw way home despi Read more

Member for 13 years and paid for home relay for all that time. Broke down 50 miles from home on Thursday and AA sent some guy in a white van who didn't have a clue. The AA then abandoned me by the side of the road and told me to make my onw way home despite having paid for Home |Relay for 13 years!! Totally rubbish service. phoned to complain and was told it would take 56 days to respond to my complaint. What has happened to the AA? Time to join the RAC

Reviewed on 12th February 2022
Chris Chapple's avatar
Chris Chapple
Get Product

Great overall service

Always able to deal with any problems in a quick and timely manner

Reviewed on 7th February 2022
Paul Scott's avatar
Paul Scott
Get Product

Left vulnerable female at night. Refused to help

My daughter has to stop driving due to unsafe weather. The snow was not forecast to be as bad as it was. Hitters had not been out. It was 11pm at night and below freezing temps. I phoned the aa for help. I pay them hundreds of pounds a year and have never Read more

My daughter has to stop driving due to unsafe weather. The snow was not forecast to be as bad as it was. Hitters had not been out. It was 11pm at night and below freezing temps. I phoned the aa for help. I pay them hundreds of pounds a year and have never had to use them. They were not interested and did not care that she was out there alone in freezing conditions in the middle of the night. I even offered to pay them to go and they still said they would not help her. The man did not even want to listen. I asked to speak to his supervisor who he said would ring me back and didn't. If you pay these people to make sure your family is safe then don't bother because they don't care. Please please please do not go with this company I don't want to see other people put at risk.

Reviewed on 26th November 2021
Ch's avatar
Ch
Get Product

Disgrace

Booked my MOT with AA smart care , everything that wanted doing was over priced , rang customer services to get them to put a £50 tyre on instead of a £127 one , also complained about being told the wiper blades would be £58 when a set from halfords ( who Read more

Booked my MOT with AA smart care , everything that wanted doing was over priced , rang customer services to get them to put a £50 tyre on instead of a £127 one , also complained about being told the wiper blades would be £58 when a set from halfords ( who I consider expensive) were £22 , was told the tyre was already on and that the AA has to make their money on top of the garage, only used this service because the said an mot would only be £25 through them ....they certainly made up for the cheap mot on all the over charging, thoroughly disgusted, won't ever use smart care again or the AA for breakdown and insurance

Reviewed on 23rd September 2021
Paul Tye's avatar
Paul Tye
Get Product

AA WILL LEAVE YOU STRANDED!

AA WILL LEAVE YOU STRANDED for 8 HOURS…. I HAD TO ABANDONED MY CAR Yesterday (15/09/21 at approx. 18:30), my car broke down on a dual carriageway and I phoned AA breakdown to hopefully repair it and if this couldn’t happen then I would be happy for my Read more

AA WILL LEAVE YOU STRANDED for 8 HOURS…. I HAD TO ABANDONED MY CAR

Yesterday (15/09/21 at approx. 18:30), my car broke down on a dual carriageway and I phoned AA breakdown to hopefully repair it and if this couldn’t happen then I would be happy for my car to be towed home as it was too late to take it to a local garage at the time. They explained that there was major delays locally and said breakdown assistance would not arrive until 19:50. When nonone arrived at 19:50, I phoned back AA which they then said there were further delays and would come at 20:50. So I waited again. The breakdown service came about 20:43 but didn’t bother looking or asking me what the problem was.

They towed my car to a local BP garage and then told me someone will be coming in 30 mins to try to repair the vehicle. Then a technician (LJ Recovery & Repair) arrived at approx 10:41 and shined a torch in the hood of my car, asked me a series of questions which I answered and he responded saying this is a recovery job and that there is nothing they can do. I then called AA to complain - they said there is not much they could do at this point. They told me I SHOULD HAVE READ THE TERMS & CONDITIONS then I would have understood the process. I called again to complain as I was stranded and did not have the means to sort out my car recovery on my own. I call again at approx 11:26 then log a new call for recovery to come and collect my vehicle. I was initially told LJ Recovery would come at 2:25. I did not receive any regular updates from AA or LJ recovery. NO ONE came to collect me or the vehicle so I ended up abandoning my car at 2:30am.

A young lady on her own, it was such a cold night and I had been so tired due to waiting so long. I eventually called someone to collect me.

I am prepared to share my story with every news outlet/Watchdog available. I do not think this should ever happen to paying customers. AA are liars, scammers and manipulators.

Reviewed on 16th September 2021
Mrs. Happy's avatar
Mrs. Happy
Get Product

Cost Effective provider

Cost Effective provider for all...Cost Effective provider for all

Reviewed on 14th September 2021
Seaso's avatar
Seaso
Get Product

10 hours and AA is not here wow

It’s the worse company to be with. Waited 8 hours with my kids in the car and asked me to wait another 3 hours. If you don’t have enough personal or track to recover the vehicles why would you ask people to join you and keeping people on the road for 10 h Read more

It’s the worse company to be with. Waited 8 hours with my kids in the car and asked me to wait another 3 hours. If you don’t have enough personal or track to recover the vehicles why would you ask people to join you and keeping people on the road for 10 hours. I kindly request people to avoid AA and find something els.

Reviewed on 6th August 2021
Javid's avatar
Javid
Get Product

86 hours on I believe they have lost my my car!

74 hours since my vehicle needed to be recovered and returned. Spoke to at least 10 different people telling me 10 different things. I've tonight found out the car has been taken to recovery garage overnight, left at 3 different service station's and it's Read more

74 hours since my vehicle needed to be recovered and returned. Spoke to at least 10 different people telling me 10 different things. I've tonight found out the car has been taken to recovery garage overnight, left at 3 different service station's and it's still not been picked up on its final journey

Reviewed on 31st July 2021
Rachael Toumazi's avatar
Rachael Toumazi
Get Product

Pushy on renewal, won't take no for an answer.

Careful the AA like to cancel your cover without notifying you, they are very pushy on trying to get you to renew your cover each year, had big problems with theses all because I didn't want to renew, they robbed me of some cover that I had payed for beca Read more

Careful the AA like to cancel your cover without notifying you, they are very pushy on trying to get you to renew your cover each year, had big problems with theses all because I didn't want to renew, they robbed me of some cover that I had payed for becarful

Reviewed on 19th July 2021
robbo robbo's avatar
robbo robbo
Get Product

Terrible organisation and service

I called this morning at 8am. Now, it is 21:18, we are a family with young kid have changed two trucks and still in middle of no where waiting for the 3rd truck to turn up,which is supposed to be here 40 mins ago. Now we have to wait 20 minutes for a taxi Read more

I called this morning at 8am. Now, it is 21:18, we are a family with young kid have changed two trucks and still in middle of no where waiting for the 3rd truck to turn up,which is supposed to be here 40 mins ago. Now we have to wait 20 minutes for a taxi and our car won’t get home tonight. The whole thing is badly organised. All this for a 3 hour journey home.

Reviewed on 27th June 2021
Michelle Zhao's avatar
Michelle Zhao
Get Product

Renewal Charges Can be reduced - Why not offer to members in the first place?!

I've been with AA now 5 years, each year the renewal comes through excessively High. I have to ring through, discuss the price and its reduced, usually by LESS THAN HALF the renewal quote. I find this infuriating, why not offer the deal to your members al Read more

I've been with AA now 5 years, each year the renewal comes through excessively High. I have to ring through, discuss the price and its reduced, usually by LESS THAN HALF the renewal quote. I find this infuriating, why not offer the deal to your members already??! I've done 5 years, some have done 30/40! Surely members should be offered the same as a new member or at least competitive with the companies around. No doubt many will just pay & not query but this business model seems unethical. Especially in these difficult times. AA methods should be exposed, if you're a member NEVER accept the renewal quote!

Reviewed on 17th June 2021
Katherine's avatar
Katherine
Get Product

Disgusting service

Don't use.... disgusting service We have had family cover with the AA for more years than i care to remember and have had to use the service on just a few occasions and until now things have always been ok during what is by definition a stressful situati Read more

Don't use.... disgusting service
We have had family cover with the AA for more years than i care to remember and have had to use the service on just a few occasions and until now things have always been ok during what is by definition a stressful situation..... however today things have reached an unbelievable low .... my son broke down on his way to work and called for assistance at around 8.00 am... its now 5.50pm and he is still waiting ..... had many phone calls and plenty of excuses all of which are doing nothing to help get him home. It appears the AA are not fit for purpose so my advice is shop around for someone that can uphold their end of the deal.... i know we will as this disgusting service is not acceptable......... given up waiting now. My son has managed to find somewhere to secure the bike overnight and is coming home by train. I'll take the day off tomorrow and go get it myself in a van..... way to go AA. You definitely need to take a long hard look at the service you're NOT providing. ....... just had an email to say our complaint is now closed as the AA feel they have dealt with our issue in a fair way....... Well done AA you did nothing..... absolutely nothing.... i expect you will be full of apologies when it's renewal time.. well for the record we're not renewing.... 2 orher family members will not and I'm sure others will follow.

Reviewed on 11th June 2021
Paul's avatar
Paul
Get Product

Poor service

I reported a breakdown with my new vehicle registration. They sent out a third party engineer with my old vehicle details. Luckily the third party engineer took photos of my vehicle registration. When the third party had taken my car to the mechanics, bec Read more

I reported a breakdown with my new vehicle registration. They sent out a third party engineer with my old vehicle details. Luckily the third party engineer took photos of my vehicle registration. When the third party had taken my car to the mechanics, because it was so early they left my car outside the garage. When I got there in the morning when the garage was open, I noticed a parking ticket on the vehicle. I called the AA to ask for a report & they told me to wait 24 hours..after 4 days still no report. I called up again & they told me that the report is in my old vehicle details and that if I need it to be changed I should call up the third party to get that done. So I called up the third party company & they said only the AA can do that & that I should have the AA call them because they have evidence that it was my new vehicle that had broken down. So when I relayed the information back to the AA..the AA told me that they can call up but they are not going to put any pressure on the third party company to change the report with the correct vehicle registration. So basically I have a parking ticket because of the AA & a breakdown report in my old vehicle because of the AA. So now I can’t fight the Parking ticket. This is just awful and unacceptable!!!

Reviewed on 2nd March 2021
viplerikz@yahoo.co.uk's avatar
viplerikz@yahoo.co.uk
Get Product

NHS workers beware the AA

So I’m a NHS worker and just tried to to order breakdown cover with the AA as they stated 40% off and it stated this will be calculated at payment, this is a lie, no discount was added but they took my payment and when I called to check on this they said Read more

So I’m a NHS worker and just tried to to order breakdown cover with the AA as they stated 40% off and it stated this will be calculated at payment, this is a lie, no discount was added but they took my payment and when I called to check on this they said they are not sure why this is however it I want to cancel it will be £20!!!!! What a sneaky trick they play to steal NHS workers money!!!!

Reviewed on 22nd February 2021
Archie's avatar
Archie
Get Product

Insensitive and unhelpful

I paid a highly inflated price for a new car battery because the 5 year guarantee sounded like a good thing. However I just tried to claim on the warranty and it’s not worth the paper it is written on.

Reviewed on 20th February 2021
g.v.a.douglas@leeds.ac.uk's avatar
g.v.a.douglas@leeds.ac.uk
Get Product

Totally useless!

When my daughter had a road traffic accident on the M5 she was told, “sorry we don’t come out to accidents, only breakdowns”. My son’s parked car was hit and left with the bumper hanging off. He was told, “sorry we can’t attend as the car is drivable”. Co Read more

When my daughter had a road traffic accident on the M5 she was told, “sorry we don’t come out to accidents, only breakdowns”. My son’s parked car was hit and left with the bumper hanging off. He was told, “sorry we can’t attend as the car is drivable”. Consequently, he drove a mile and the bumper fell off completely. Wouldn’t touch them with a barge pole!

Reviewed on 19th December 2020
Nigel Phillips's avatar
Nigel Phillips
Get Product