AA Breakdown Cover Reviews

  Ratings based on 122 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Like many drivers, breaking down is not something we want to think about! But when it happens, You'll be thankful that you're with a good breakdown cover provider. That's were our AA breakdown cover reviews come in. You can read and write YOUR AA Breakdown cover reviews. We started Smart...

READ MORE

Like many drivers, breaking down is not something we want to think about! But when it happens, You'll be thankful that you're with a good breakdown cover provider. That's were our AA breakdown cover reviews come in. You can read and write YOUR AA Breakdown cover reviews. We started Smart Money People to help drivers like you to find the best breakdown cover based on our honest reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Breakdown Cover Reviews

122 reviews

Review AA's Breakdown Cover now

Worst experience ever dont care about their customers!

Horrible experience will be cancelling my membership asap!

Reviewed on 16th November 2022
Abdul _R's avatar
Abdul _R

no service

At Legoland with family. Catalytic converter nicked.car stranded. AA refused to attend

Reviewed on 9th November 2022
richard aston's avatar
richard aston

Extremely helpful service

I recently shopped around before automatically renewing my AA breakdown insurance. It has crept up over the years to become very expensive. When I phoned through to ask if they could offer me a better deal, the advisor took the time to explore all options Read more

I recently shopped around before automatically renewing my AA breakdown insurance. It has crept up over the years to become very expensive. When I phoned through to ask if they could offer me a better deal, the advisor took the time to explore all options and came up with a much better option. I accepted!

Reviewed on 14th October 2022
M. Harris's avatar
M. Harris

Parts and garage cover is waste of money

I had parts and garage cover from AA,last night my car was broken down,firstly they didn't came on time,they attended next day in the morning, when he turn up,he said gearbox is gone,so I took my car to local AA certified mechanic, but mechanic comes back Read more

I had parts and garage cover from AA,last night my car was broken down,firstly they didn't came on time,they attended next day in the morning, when he turn up,he said gearbox is gone,so I took my car to local AA certified mechanic, but mechanic comes back with a qoute and when I talk to AA they said they can't pay because it may be long term issue,all they do is looking for a small excuse not to cover the cost,some one govt should take action against them, as they d
Misleading the people to rip off them.
They should check the car before selling this cover to anyone,only thing they do is take advantage of you when you are stuck,they know you can't do anything except paying them.very unprofessional

Reviewed on 12th October 2022
Yasir's avatar
Yasir

Very poor customer services

Truly ridiculous company who seemingly cannot follow the law with regards to issuing proof of payment. I have been waiting 3 weeks, spoken to countless “advisors” and wasted a full day attempting to get the most basic of things - a receipt for a payment I Read more

Truly ridiculous company who seemingly cannot follow the law with regards to issuing proof of payment. I have been waiting 3 weeks, spoken to countless “advisors” and wasted a full day attempting to get the most basic of things - a receipt for a payment I have made! Not difficult! Most of their staff that I spoke to didn’t actually know what a receipt is, based on what was actually sent to me at one point.
During my super fun day of going around in circles on the phone, I was continually directed to a department which was closed and just meant my call was cut off and I had to start again. However, every person insisted it was not closed..odd then, that I spent all day getting the recorded message “this line is now closed”

I will be moving all breakdown cover for both my personal vehicles and company fleet away from the AA due to their sheer unprofessionalism and stupidity.

Reviewed on 19th September 2022
AN's avatar
AN

Quick, professional, experienced

Have used them for multiple breakdowns and always been quick and a positive experience

Reviewed on 17th September 2022
Natalie Peters's avatar
Natalie Peters

Read the small print

Awful so far. We broke down at 5:30pm on Saturday, 15 minutes from our rural gite on the way to get food after an eight hour journey. It took 30 minutes for our breakdown call to be answered and we were immediately told that in France nothing is fixed at Read more

Awful so far. We broke down at 5:30pm on Saturday, 15 minutes from our rural gite on the way to get food after an eight hour journey. It took 30 minutes for our breakdown call to be answered and we were immediately told that in France nothing is fixed at the breakdown (should have read the policy more carefully) - all they could offer was for the car to be towed to storage to wait until Tuesday when it would be taken to a garage and get us a taxi back to the gite. When we mentioned a hire car we were told that the policy made it clear that it was only if one was available and nothing would be until after the bank holiday weekend (should have read the policy more carefully). When we said could they book us a taxi for after we had managed to get some shopping (as we had no food in and were in the middle of nowehere) they said it would be faster for us to sort that ourselves (was that in the policy???) and they'd reimburse us once we got back to England. So we had to sort ourselves out. Sunday, another 30 minute wait to book a taxi for Monday to get more food. Tuesday - an 80 minute wait to bd told the car wouldn't be looked at till Friday and, as if said in our policy documents, a hire car wasn't guarunteed. Again, the woman said it would be quicker to sort it ourselves. "So what exactly are we paying the AA for then, if we have to do everything ourselves?" She laughed - obviously thought I was joking. I'm not. Three days in France. No car and still no sign of having any transport in the near future. If you're considering AA European Breakdown cover, my advice would be to READ THE SMALL PRINT VERY CAREFULLY and then GO WITH SOMEONE ELSE!!!

Reviewed on 16th August 2022
Rachael Giddings's avatar
Rachael Giddings

Saved me

Saved me when my tyre burst and I want that £1000 baby

Reviewed on 13th August 2022
Alfie Faulkner's avatar
Alfie Faulkner

Good price and excellent service

Plus lots of member benefits and discounts

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Eloise Gatelwy's avatar
Eloise Gatelwy

AA Membership

Not cheap, but value for money particularly with accounting for extras. Is needed and when required has proved valuable already.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Charles Cotton's avatar
Charles Cotton

Excellent car breakdown insurance

I have had AA car insurance for many years and have found them fair in pricing, swift in response when I've needed them, & very good customer service. Their very helpful assistants helped me by negotiated my subs when my income dropped & I am very gratefu Read more

I have had AA car insurance for many years and have found them fair in pricing, swift in response when I've needed them, & very good customer service. Their very helpful assistants helped me by negotiated my subs when my income dropped & I am very grateful to them.

Reviewed on 9th August 2022
Lynda's avatar
Lynda

Fraudsters running a duping business

Agree to the random add-ons they suggest when you try to take out an insurance, and then they would find millions of ways to pick out random words from their fine-print to reject your claims or deny support. Worst of all, they will try to paint you as a f Read more

Agree to the random add-ons they suggest when you try to take out an insurance, and then they would find millions of ways to pick out random words from their fine-print to reject your claims or deny support. Worst of all, they will try to paint you as a fraud suggesting various ways you could be submitting false claims! As if customers can inflict self-harm and go through a tragedy on purpose to claim a small part of their losses! Stay away from such a company - when you run a business which you yourself cannot trust, no wonder you cannot trust your customers either!

Reviewed on 2nd August 2022
Arnab Rakshit's avatar
Arnab Rakshit

Shit service attitude opperator

Misdiagnosis by their engineer. Even recommended and gave us a number for an immobiliser specialist. £75 later after immobiliser specialist attended ti be told its not an immobiliser fault. Tried calling them out again and to advise them of their whoopee. Read more

Misdiagnosis by their engineer. Even recommended and gave us a number for an immobiliser specialist. £75 later after immobiliser specialist attended ti be told its not an immobiliser fault. Tried calling them out again and to advise them of their whoopee.... haha tough shit basically....!!!

Reviewed on 28th July 2022
Russ Rawcliffe's avatar
Russ Rawcliffe

Negligent, non-responsive and time wasting company

If I could give the AA 0 stars I would. Last night my family's car broke down in the middle of a busy junction in central London, blocking a main road behind traffic lights. We had four people including a disabled person who couldn't walk in the vehicl Read more

If I could give the AA 0 stars I would.

Last night my family's car broke down in the middle of a busy junction in central London, blocking a main road behind traffic lights. We had four people including a disabled person who couldn't walk in the vehicle and despite numerous calls, texts, and attempts to reach the AA on every social media platform they have it took them 10 hours to reach us and offer us any kind of support.

I'm absolutely shocked and outraged at the negligence of the AA last night - what I thought was a reliable company failed to come to our aid and kept us in an incredibly dangerous situation, ignoring all of our messages and leaving us on hold for hours.

If you have any option to NOT use the AA I recommend turning elsewhere for support.

Two of the four passengers have AA memberships, and yet they still charged us a high fee when they eventually came to pick up the car at 4am.

Reviewed on 19th March 2022
Anna Stephens's avatar
Anna Stephens

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

Do not use the AA. I am appalled at the service they gave me I have now had 2 very VERY bad experiences with them. Yesterday I broke down on the motorway and it took them 8 hours to come and look at my car. I am a 22 year old women and I was by myself in Read more

Do not use the AA. I am appalled at the service they gave me I have now had 2 very VERY bad experiences with them. Yesterday I broke down on the motorway and it took them 8 hours to come and look at my car. I am a 22 year old women and I was by myself in the dark at night and apparently I was ‘priority’ however, they wouldn’t look at my car on the motorway so I had to be pulled off before they would even see me. They told me they would be there for 4pm they did not sort the problem out until gone midnight. Once they finally came they charged me an EXTRA £450 to get my car home as they only cover 50 miles free … WHAT ARE WE EVEN PAYING FOR IN THE MEMBERSHIP?! DO NOT USE THEM! I will be writing a bad review on every site possible and will be leaving them straight away. I will steer everyone away from the AA that is thinking of joining.

Reviewed on 26th February 2022
georgia.upton@hotmail.com's avatar
georgia.upton@hotmail.com

AA are criminals

broken on the 8/2/22 in Essex road London, patrol was threatening , intimidating, did not fix the car, did not make the car safe, left me in a vulnerable situation. even when i had audi assist for three years. when complaint AA staff Joanne, Felicity, B R Read more

broken on the 8/2/22 in Essex road London, patrol was threatening , intimidating, did not fix the car, did not make the car safe, left me in a vulnerable situation. even when i had audi assist for three years. when complaint AA staff Joanne, Felicity, B Rai, Seema in complaints Manchester very aggressive, threatening behaviour, taken money and are refusing to give me my money back. stay away from this from this company. They want a proof that i can buy, drive and have the right to live and drive the car in the UK. AA are not immigration, not the police. AA questioned me about my education, even though I am Senior Bank Manager. AA are CRIMINALs.

Reviewed on 25th February 2022
Mani Singh's avatar
Mani Singh

Repeatedly lie to you!

3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 and repeatedly lied too! Broke down at 4.00 pm waited 3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 (rush hour) despite being told I was priority because of the dangerous situation, repeatedly lied to about recovery times, Read more

3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 and repeatedly lied too!
Broke down at 4.00 pm waited 3 hours on the hard shoulder of the M1 (rush hour) despite being told I was priority because of the dangerous situation, repeatedly lied to about recovery times, then after 3 hours towed to a service station 2 miles down the motorway by an independent recovery company, waited another hour and a half for a patrolman to turn up to tell me my car needed recovering (which I knew all along and I believe so did they as you are asked for the symptoms when you call) now told it will be 11.30pm before they can recover me for the 150 mile onward journey (which I don’t believe as every single member of staff you speak to lies about the times) you will wait at least 2 hours or more after the time they tell you. Cant have my car delivered to my garage because they are closed as it will be 1.00 am in the morning! and even if I have it dropped off there I have to make my own way home or else get my car taken home and they then will charge you to take it to your garage the next day! so 7 hours stranded so far (that’s if they turn up a 11pm which I doubt) be lucky to get home by 2 am! Personally after being a member for 7 years I will never use them again, they are unprofessional they don’t care and no longer have the resources or ability to look after their members, I would never recommend them!
Update 11.23 patrolman arrived but says he can only tow me halfway!!!!!! Is dumping me at a service station 75 miles from home at 1.00 am in the morning I now have to wait to be picked up from there! AA you should be ashamed of yourselves!!!!

Reviewed on 17th February 2022
GT Motors's avatar
GT Motors

Totally Disgraceful Service

Member for 13 years and paid for home relay for all that time. Broke down 50 miles from home on Thursday and AA sent some guy in a white van who didn't have a clue. The AA then abandoned me by the side of the road and told me to make my onw way home despi Read more

Member for 13 years and paid for home relay for all that time. Broke down 50 miles from home on Thursday and AA sent some guy in a white van who didn't have a clue. The AA then abandoned me by the side of the road and told me to make my onw way home despite having paid for Home |Relay for 13 years!! Totally rubbish service. phoned to complain and was told it would take 56 days to respond to my complaint. What has happened to the AA? Time to join the RAC

Reviewed on 12th February 2022
Chris Chapple's avatar
Chris Chapple

Great overall service

Always able to deal with any problems in a quick and timely manner

Reviewed on 7th February 2022
Paul Scott's avatar
Paul Scott

Left vulnerable female at night. Refused to help

My daughter has to stop driving due to unsafe weather. The snow was not forecast to be as bad as it was. Hitters had not been out. It was 11pm at night and below freezing temps. I phoned the aa for help. I pay them hundreds of pounds a year and have never Read more

My daughter has to stop driving due to unsafe weather. The snow was not forecast to be as bad as it was. Hitters had not been out. It was 11pm at night and below freezing temps. I phoned the aa for help. I pay them hundreds of pounds a year and have never had to use them. They were not interested and did not care that she was out there alone in freezing conditions in the middle of the night. I even offered to pay them to go and they still said they would not help her. The man did not even want to listen. I asked to speak to his supervisor who he said would ring me back and didn't. If you pay these people to make sure your family is safe then don't bother because they don't care. Please please please do not go with this company I don't want to see other people put at risk.

Reviewed on 26th November 2021
Ch's avatar
Ch