O2 Drive Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 59 reviews       Last review 4 months ago    

You might know them as a mobile phone company, but did you know O2 can offer you insurance for your car? By using your mobile phone as a telematics device, O2 can monitor your safe driving via so called black box insurance. Wondering if this type of insurance is right...

READ MORE

You might know them as a mobile phone company, but did you know O2 can offer you insurance for your car? By using your mobile phone as a telematics device, O2 can monitor your safe driving via so called black box insurance. Wondering if this type of insurance is right for you? Read our O2 drive reviews to find out. Already singed up with O2? Please share your own 2 Drive review to help others decide if telematics from O2 is the right insurance policy for them!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

59 reviews

Review O2 Drive's Car Insurance now

Disgusting service

I was driving my vehicle when I got hit by kids racing an Audi. They hit my drivers side pushing me into a lamppost, so I had a double impact. The offender then took off. My son who was in the vehicle with me received his insurance about a year later. I h Read more

I was driving my vehicle when I got hit by kids racing an Audi. They hit my drivers side pushing me into a lamppost, so I had a double impact. The offender then took off. My son who was in the vehicle with me received his insurance about a year later. I had to wait two full years and received £3000 but not without fighting for it. My car was written off which cost me, then my insurance went through the roof because I was held liable for the incident because the offender drove off. I could not afford the insurance and had to find other ways to be able to drive. I had back and neck damage as well as psychological trauma. O2 were extremely unhelpful pushing my insurance up so high I had to cancel it when I was the innocent party. Waiting 2 years for a claim and having to fight for the pittance recieved was very disappointing. I have never claimed before and I do the right and legal thing by insuring my vehicle and I would of expected O2 to be more helpful. Instead they just caused even more stress in an already stressful situation.
They are nothing but a money grabbing company with no care for their customers.

Reviewed on 10th July 2022
Tanya's avatar
Tanya

Brilliant for getting affordable car insurance!

During my time using O2 Drive, I was able to afford a very easy and quick car insurance for my brand new car. When the COVID-19 Pandemic began, I was struggling with the insurance rates, however O2 was able to support me in that, and extended my insurance Read more

During my time using O2 Drive, I was able to afford a very easy and quick car insurance for my brand new car. When the COVID-19 Pandemic began, I was struggling with the insurance rates, however O2 was able to support me in that, and extended my insurance pay to allow me to build my funds backup in order for me to insure my next new car with them.

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
Cameron Straw's avatar
Cameron Straw

Let down

Car was hit while parked cctv footage captured the culprit however o2 couldn’t help as the other company didn’t answer the phone so I ran out of time absolutely disgusted by the company avoid avoid avoid

Reviewed on 20th January 2021
craigaldredcheese@icloud.com's avatar
craigaldredcheese@icloud.com

Avoid O2 car insurance due to rip offs and incompitency

I have very nasty experience when I insured with O2. I cancelled the insurance in June 2020 when I sold the car and latter receive a letter demanding £120.00 plus £50 plus totaling £181.38. I was not with my credit card or debit card at the time she agree Read more

I have very nasty experience when I insured with O2. I cancelled the insurance in June 2020 when I sold the car and latter receive a letter demanding £120.00 plus £50 plus totaling £181.38. I was not with my credit card or debit card at the time she agreed to take the £181.38 from the agreed account at the end of August 2020.
To my greatest surprise, I receive a letter dated 25/8/20 demanding £200.98. When I call to query the letter, I asked for the summary of my last discussion and what was agreed on. The customer service agent Daisy, responded that she don’t have it at hand and what was in the system was to collect £200.38 and will be happy to put a complain in for me.
Pls keep away from O2 not to experience my ordeal or worst situation. Thanks for adherence.

Reviewed on 3rd September 2020
Osemwota osabuohien's avatar
Osemwota osabuohien

BAD

they put your insurance up and then make it hard to cancel when there are better deals somewhere else.

Reviewed on 28th May 2020
Sarah Edwards's avatar
Sarah Edwards

I wish I had read these reviews first

For whatever reason o2 drive didn't take out my fist monthly payment, I had money in this account so I found it strange. They then sent me basically a threatening letter with a notice of default sums. They Also charged me an extra £20 for failed payment, Read more

For whatever reason o2 drive didn't take out my fist monthly payment, I had money in this account so I found it strange. They then sent me basically a threatening letter with a notice of default sums. They Also charged me an extra £20 for failed payment, and threatened to cancel my policy and charge me £60 as well as having to pay any outstanding premiums. I rushed to pay the late fee and the months payment. I used a different bank account to pay this and it said on the screen that this will be my future payment details. Once it came around to pay my next payment o2 drive took the payment from my original account, which gets me thinking that it was their fault not taking the first payment but charged me £20 anyway. If you set a date for your direct debit to come out, just be careful as it just comes out whenever they want. I phoned and spoke to a bit of an irritated customer service advisor today about all my issues. I might have well spoken to 'Alexa' for all the answers I got. Totally useless. I wouldn't recommend o2 drive at all and the more people know the better.

Reviewed on 22nd May 2020
Jonathan 's avatar
Jonathan

ZERO STARS Fire insurance doesn't cover you for fires!

Fully comprehensive insurance on my car. Go to start it and a fire starts in the engine bay. Car collected by insurance co, I chase for 4 weeks as clearly the phones in their office cant make outgoing calls to finally be told the damage isnt covered as it Read more

Fully comprehensive insurance on my car. Go to start it and a fire starts in the engine bay. Car collected by insurance co, I chase for 4 weeks as clearly the phones in their office cant make outgoing calls to finally be told the damage isnt covered as it was an electrical or mechanical fault. I asked what else could cause fire damage, they said they only pay for malicious damage. Car now a total loss and finance to settle. Avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 20th March 2020
Ed Sawkins's avatar
Ed Sawkins

Avoid

thought I’d give them a go, when I called a to say I’d purchased a new car , they cancelled my existing insurance without reason. Not a professional insurance company by far. Phone network yeah they are ok ...

Reviewed on 25th February 2020
Jonathan Nuttney's avatar
Jonathan Nuttney

Extremely Poor

I phoned to potentially make a claim due to someone driving into me and was told they culdn't deal with any of it (after Id told them all about it) had to go through it all again only to be told I'd have to pay then personally chase the other company to g Read more

I phoned to potentially make a claim due to someone driving into me and was told they culdn't deal with any of it (after Id told them all about it) had to go through it all again only to be told I'd have to pay then personally chase the other company to get my money back. I stopped the claim right there and was assured it was closed and not put through. My renewal came through at over double my previous quote, when questioned they said I had made a claim hence the increase. I then told the person it hadn't been a claim and what a surprise she couldn't help me at all and basically said tough. Shockingly bad, along with having to listen to a whole load of pre recorded fluff at the start of every call which has nothing to do with anything you need. DO NOT USE THEM

Reviewed on 11th February 2020
Dale's avatar
Dale

Awful

So went along with a quote on 31st December and told me I was covered from the 1st January 2020. Tried to complete my registration and won't send me no emails to do this. So today (1st Jan) I find out that they haven't done my insurance, so I am not cover Read more

So went along with a quote on 31st December and told me I was covered from the 1st January 2020. Tried to complete my registration and won't send me no emails to do this. So today (1st Jan) I find out that they haven't done my insurance, so I am not covered. So I know how no car insurance £55 gone out of my account and the bloody company is not even open. This is my first ever time using this company and right now it hasn't been a good start.. So I have to rely on family members taking me to work and picking me up again. Awful company

Reviewed on 1st January 2020
Rebecca-Rose Lewis's avatar
Rebecca-Rose Lewis

BEWARE mis-sold inflated cost policy for subsequently adding provisional driver on

Was advised that if I took out a policy when my daughter turned 17 she could be added to it a couple of months later. The policy for just myself cost twice as much as similar policies for myself to be insured on the car, however, because I wanted to add Read more

Was advised that if I took out a policy when my daughter turned 17 she could be added to it a couple of months later. The policy for just myself cost twice as much as similar policies for myself to be insured on the car, however, because I wanted to add my daughter subsequently went ahead with the policy. I was told I couldnt get a full quote until the day of her 17th birthday. On the day my daughter turned 17 and as a provisional driver I was told that she could not be added to the policy. I was missold an inflated price policy which was not fit for purpose. BEWARE. Complete rip off.

Reviewed on 11th December 2019
Yvonne Clarke's avatar
Yvonne Clarke

Increased my insurance

Increased my insurance by £60 a year because of a accident that wasn't my fault .

Reviewed on 22nd November 2019
Lynda Jones 's avatar
Lynda Jones

When something goes wrong

The only time that you find out the metal of an insurance company really is when things go wrong. I found O2 Drive on a price comparison site and bought a policy. Unfortunately due to a cock-up somewhere along the line my vehicle was showing as unin Read more

The only time that you find out the metal of an insurance company really is when things go wrong.

I found O2 Drive on a price comparison site and bought a policy.

Unfortunately due to a cock-up somewhere along the line my vehicle was showing as uninsured on the national database (MID). I contacted them twice about this and my vehicle would appear on it within 2 weeks, also telling me not to worry because I was insured and if there was a problem just show whomsoever my policy certificate.

About a month later I got a letter from the DVLA and they asked me to give them proof of insurance.

I sent the DVLA my certificate, but this was not satisfactory apparently and they sent me a penalty to pay a fine.

O2 Drive escalated this matter in customer service and they sorted this out VERY efficiently, getting my vehicle on the MID DB and providing a document that kept the DVLA happy.

The thing that impressed, and surprised, me most about the way that this was handled by O2 Drive was the superb communication where, once the problem was escalated, I was kept informed by telephone at every turn.

They also compensated me for the fuss which was nice.

I will be renewing next year.

Reviewed on 29th October 2019
Alperian's avatar
Alperian

Dodgey

Took out insurance after searching on a price comparison site. Paid the premium and was then sent an email asking for proof of no claims bonus, which I duly did. (2 YEARS) I then get another email saying that I had given them the wrong no claims (9 years) Read more

Took out insurance after searching on a price comparison site. Paid the premium and was then sent an email asking for proof of no claims bonus, which I duly did. (2 YEARS) I then get another email saying that I had given them the wrong no claims (9 years) when applying (no) and it may mean that when the policy was reviewed In 14 days that the premium may alter, or policy cancelled. Rang them up and basically they wanted another £77 so I cancelled there and then. Went back on the price comparison site and took out another policy with someone else. Then, I recieved another email confirming the cancellation, and they only went and put 9 years no claims proof for the next insurer!! What a nightmare.

Reviewed on 24th September 2019
AC's avatar
AC

Great!

Quick and easy to set up, knowledgeable staff.

Reviewed on 14th September 2019
Cashy1777's avatar
Cashy1777

Rude, unhelpful, incompetent

I'm with this awful company at the moment but I'd never renew with them. For the past 2 months they've taken my direct debit the day before my payday then charged me £20 for being late with my payments. When I phoned up they said they could change my p Read more

I'm with this awful company at the moment but I'd never renew with them.
For the past 2 months they've taken my direct debit the day before my payday then charged me £20 for being late with my payments. When I phoned up they said they could change my payment day but I'd have to pay 2 instalments in 1 month. I told her that was a lot of money to pay out and she told me if I couldn't afford it I should look for insurance I could afford. ( great customer service........not )
Very rude on the phone. I would NEVER recommend this company and as soon as this year is up I'll be moving my insurance to a better company.
Dont use them

Reviewed on 25th August 2019
Jo 's avatar
Jo

Worse Car Insurance company I have ever seen in 30 years of driving

O2 Drive came up as a reasonable car insurance comparison quote, and I picked them because of the 5-star Defaqto score. Little did I know that the Defaqto score is just for the options offered , NOT the quality or review score. O2 Drive is a new ser Read more

O2 Drive came up as a reasonable car insurance comparison quote, and I picked them because of the 5-star Defaqto score. Little did I know that the Defaqto score is just for the options offered , NOT the quality or review score. O2 Drive is a new service set up by mobile company O2, on the cheap, to cash in on the lucrative car insurance market. So while the advertising seems good, after being with them for a year, I am utterly shocked at how poor the service was, and how downright unhelpful and arrogant the majority of online staff were, when you do actually need their help. For instance, I finally has a minor accident after 7 years no-claims, but when I reported it, I found I had accidentally mistyped a letter in my registration number, but the documents I had sent over actually had the correct details. When I had to lodge a claim, O2 Drive gleefully told me that they wouldn't accept it because I had made an error, and it wasn't their responsibility to check my other documents even if they had been requested, so rejected it. They told me I would have to contact their underwriter Ageas myself. Ageas were sympathetic at first, but then later came back and told me that O2 Drive had totally bluntly refused to accept my claim, so I had to pay for the massive insurance repairs to both cars myself. When I tried talking to O2 Drive again, the handler actually laughed and made fun of me, telling me I "should be grateful the police didn't come and arrest me for driving without insurance" after mistyping my number-plate. Giving the correct details in the rest of the documents doesn't count. I wasn't happy at the vervice, and did complain, but then O2 Drive just dismissed it.
O2 Drive never bothered contacting me ever again, and I renewed car insurance with another company, then found O2 Drive had the nerve to automatically RENEW my car insurance with them without even telling me, and without my permission.
A totally incompetent, "just 9-5", bunch of minimal-wage staff, who have no idea of customer service, and just don't care.
Please avoid until they actually introduce even a little customer care.

Reviewed on 22nd June 2019
Stunned User's avatar
Stunned User

Meh.

I have just finished a year with 02 drive, which has been mediocre really. Though I wish I had read reviews beforehand. Pros: - black box is not overly harsh on time of day driving (after 11) - great discounts and o2 benefits - was the cheapest alte Read more

I have just finished a year with 02 drive, which has been mediocre really. Though I wish I had read reviews beforehand.
Pros:
- black box is not overly harsh on time of day driving (after 11)
- great discounts and o2 benefits
- was the cheapest alternative

Cons:
- customer service is shocking the less contact with them the better. Not that they correspond with you much anyway. They take about 10 minutes to put you through to someone when you call up (all of which is charged). I was working the day they planned to fit my black box so had to pay a fee to change the date
- breaking and acceleration scores are horrid, one bad drive takes about 10 good ones to get the score back out of red. Clearly they don’t want you to use your brake whatsoever as I’ve had a score of under 50 since I started. It’s ridiculous.
- Haven’t contacted me about any renewal offers etc as my insurance runs out next week but luckily ive found another company for half the price, with no black box so good riddance. Stick to selling mobiles and leave the car insurance to the professionals

Reviewed on 17th June 2019
McDermott 's avatar
McDermott

Great

Simply great insurance and customer service! I had a claim and had to speak to they customer service department loads, they couldn't have been more helpful and happy. I would be more than happy to spend an extra £100 a year to stay with them. I don't know Read more

Simply great insurance and customer service! I had a claim and had to speak to they customer service department loads, they couldn't have been more helpful and happy. I would be more than happy to spend an extra £100 a year to stay with them. I don't know what the others are talking about because it's fantastic!

Reviewed on 6th May 2019
Pauline's avatar
Pauline

Bump up the price

Price increased by £40 when entering my mobile number. Customer service team knew this but didn’t care!!

Reviewed on 23rd April 2019
Amanda's avatar
Amanda