Aviva Pension Reviews

  Ratings based on 74 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Aviva pension reviews written by Smart Money People like you. For many of us, our pension is an important part of our financial future. Finding a pension provider that you can trust and rely on is a must for many people. Take a look at our Aviva pension r...

READ MORE

Aviva pension reviews written by Smart Money People like you. For many of us, our pension is an important part of our financial future. Finding a pension provider that you can trust and rely on is a must for many people. Take a look at our Aviva pension reviews to find out what life at Aviva is really like. If you hold this pension, we'd love you to write an honest review here too!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Pension Reviews

74 reviews

Review Aviva's Pension now

Pension loss

Just want to let people know my pension has lost over £10.000 in less than 6 months and have had no comunication from them regarding this are they going to let it run out completely dont use them

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
John Davies's avatar
John Davies

giving my money away

I gave them £15.7k in Dec 2021 on drawdown to invest. at this point today their "investors" have lost me -£2,141, and in the past week alone they have lost me over £500. When I signed this with MyPensionExpert who were the ones who set me up with Aviva, I Read more

I gave them £15.7k in Dec 2021 on drawdown to invest. at this point today their "investors" have lost me -£2,141, and in the past week alone they have lost me over £500. When I signed this with MyPensionExpert who were the ones who set me up with Aviva, I was told I may expect a return of 5-7.5% as a plus. Put your money in the bank people, at least that way you can get 1-2% as a plus rather than leaving Aviva to lose you thousands of pounds.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
Lesley's avatar
Lesley

Cant get a response or payout, they seem to be deliberately withholding payment,

The worst ever experienced, appalling service.

Reviewed on 22nd April 2022
Pete's avatar
Pete

Worst service ever experienced

It took me a MONTH to get my money.

Reviewed on 21st April 2022
ole kragh's avatar
ole kragh

Really poor customer service

Join a Aviva Pension Scheme if you are happy to be held waiting for some one to talk to you for upwards of a Hour . Staff promise paperwork will be emailed but sometime the same details arrive quicker by post ! How the hell can that happen. You always and Read more

Join a Aviva Pension Scheme if you are happy to be held waiting for some one to talk to you for upwards of a Hour . Staff promise paperwork will be emailed but sometime the same details arrive quicker by post ! How the hell can that happen. You always and a mean always need to chase up requests for drawdown document to be sent and for payments rto be received. Poor staff levels, poor staff training, poor systems and procedures and department within Aviva doo not taqlk to each other, Try any other Pension Provider they cannot be as bad as Aviva Pensions

Reviewed on 19th April 2022
Steve Jones's avatar
Steve Jones

Rub and poor customer service

My father has been having no end of chew with his pension and claiming it because he has a power of attorney in place who deals with his money they won’t pay out they want all sorts of information then when provided loose it and find other excuses not to Read more

My father has been having no end of chew with his pension and claiming it because he has a power of attorney in place who deals with his money they won’t pay out they want all sorts of information then when provided loose it and find other excuses not to pay out a joke of a company want the money in put won’t pay out

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
caroline Smithson's avatar
caroline Smithson

Now devaluing an agreed pay out figure, taking 18% of pot!

I've been in touch with Aviva now 3 times to cash in a poor performing pension from 2 previous employers going back 25 years. Initially I was told that the 'cash in value' 3 weeks ago was over the 20k so wouldn't qualify for SLS payment as I'd already use Read more

I've been in touch with Aviva now 3 times to cash in a poor performing pension from 2 previous employers going back 25 years. Initially I was told that the 'cash in value' 3 weeks ago was over the 20k so wouldn't qualify for SLS payment as I'd already used one, leaving just 2 available - so that option couldn't be used, spoke again 4th Mar (5 working days ago) and a depreciation had occurred of £688, taking the sum just below 20k meaning the SLS method could be applied, so agreed to the figures, digitally signed, the charges and depreciation taking the final sum to me of £18500 - 12% in fees and depreciation. Today, lo and behold - an email via secure Aviva saying a further 6% to come off - another £1200 - a total of 18% - that's more than the taxman would be taking! What's the crack here - is the Aviva Xmas party underfunded or what! Awaiting communication back!

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Mr P's avatar
Mr P

Still Waiting For My Late Fathers Money 3 Years Later After His Death !

My Late Father Mr Anthony James Wilcox Died On 5 June 2019 He Had An Investment With Aviva - At The Time Of His Death It Was £6.000 - Me His Daughter & Executor Of My Late Fathers Estate Has Been In Constant Battle With This Shabby Excuse Of A Company For Read more

My Late Father Mr Anthony James Wilcox Died On 5 June 2019 He Had An Investment With Aviva - At The Time Of His Death It Was £6.000 - Me His Daughter & Executor Of My Late Fathers Estate Has Been In Constant Battle With This Shabby Excuse Of A Company For Them To Pay Out His Money - It Is Now March 2022 & Im STILL WAITING Nearly 3 YEARS AFTER HIS DEATH !
I Have Even Hired A Solicitor At The Familys Expense To Get My Late Fathers Money Back But To NO Avail - This Back Street Shabby Excuse Of A Company Has Done NOTHING But Make Excuses Since 2019 - Even Blaming It On Covid ! Where As My FATHER DIED WAY BEFORE COVID BEGAN !
Absolutely Disgusting & All The While They Are Dragging Their Feet In NOT PAYING WHAT IS RIGHTLY OUR FAMILY MONEY My Late Fathers Investment Is LOSING Money !
I Was Always Made To Believe ANYONE WITH HOLDING MONEY THAT IS NOT RIGHTLY THEIRS CONSTITUTES THEFT !
AVOID This Shabby Back Street Company At ALL COSTS - Go To A More REPUTABLE HONEST COMPANY That Pays Out Within Weeks Of A Person DEATH ! & NOT 3 YEARS LATER & STILL WAITING !
This Company Should Be Struck Off & Be Made To Cease Trading - I Am Now Carrying On This Battle With Aviva By Contacting My Local MP Who I Shall Inform Him Of Everything That Aviva Has Put My Family Through In The Last 3 Years & Get Back ALL The Money That Is Right Fully Ours
My Advice If You Have An Investment With This Dire Company Then Cash It In NOW Because If Anything Happens To You - Your Family Will Have The Same Battle My Family Are Through 3 Years On

Reviewed on 2nd March 2022
sue wilcox's avatar
sue wilcox

Terrible company

Have been trying to transfer Aviva pension to Nest for several months. Nest have requested more information from Aviva which has not been forthcoming. I have emailed several times with no response. Looking to take legal advice now to recover my pension.

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
John Cronin's avatar
John Cronin

Terrifying

I Opened a pension with Aviva late in the 2020 financial year, since then, I invested heavily. On the 4th January this year my pot had a value of £70,755, today (1st Feb, not even a month later) it now has a value of £68,655 and shows a gain since opening Read more

I Opened a pension with Aviva late in the 2020 financial year, since then, I invested heavily. On the 4th January this year my pot had a value of £70,755, today (1st Feb, not even a month later) it now has a value of £68,655 and shows a gain since opening of £905. All my funds were invested in their low & low to medium risk funds. I also invested £20,000 in their stocks and shares ISA (same funds) at around the same time, which is now down by £90. I haven't spoken to Aviva customer service. I am now looking for a more stable platform to transfer to.

Edit: 24th Feb 2022 - £67,866.10

Reviewed on 1st February 2022
D Murray's avatar
D Murray

Loosing value

I had a pension pot with Friends Life which was transferred to Aviva. At first it seemed to be doing well with Aviva, with a fund value of £20827 in 2018, £21707 in 2019, then £23534 in 2020. But, since then, it's fallen to £22786 in April 2021, and now Read more

I had a pension pot with Friends Life which was transferred to Aviva. At first it seemed to be doing well with Aviva, with a fund value of £20827 in 2018, £21707 in 2019, then £23534 in 2020. But, since then, it's fallen to £22786 in April 2021, and now it's down to £18014. That's a loss of over 23% since 2020 (or 13.5% since 2018). Of course, values can fluctuate, but this downward trend is very worrying.

Reviewed on 28th January 2022
Ian Hobson's avatar
Ian Hobson

Terrible website

Absolutely terrible website. I am always lost there. You cannot find your products. Pushing you to order insurance etc.

Reviewed on 20th January 2022
Renata Srokova's avatar
Renata Srokova

Great pension

Easy to use online account. I can review my pension and make changes to investment quickly. Great for reviewing my pension, which means I check and review my monthly contribution regularly to bring forward my retirement date.

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
Lynsey Douglas's avatar
Lynsey Douglas

Pension application

Sent in a pension application no response ,after numerous phone calls got the impression of total incompetence getting nowhere after 4 weeks cancelled it

Reviewed on 16th November 2021
T Hayward 's avatar
T Hayward

So far I am not impressed

I called them on their phone number that is for people that want to ask about their stakeholder pension pplication form to ask If I had properly completed the stakeholder application form in PDF format that I had emailed to them 3 days earlier, and I was Read more

I called them on their phone number that is for people that want to ask about their stakeholder pension pplication form to ask If I had properly completed the stakeholder application form in PDF format that I had emailed to them 3 days earlier, and I was told that I would have to talk to someone in another department because for some reason they could not access the Email box .

I then heard a recorded message saying "This department is closed" and then I was cut off !

Reviewed on 8th November 2021
chris mason's avatar
chris mason

Terrible Service

Told my lump sum would paid out within 20 working days. Not happened. Phoned and was told i would get a call back. Didn't happen. phoned again and told i would get an email because Darren who was working on my request didn't have access to a phone. Stil Read more

Told my lump sum would paid out within 20 working days. Not happened. Phoned and was told i would get a call back. Didn't happen. phoned again and told i would get an email because Darren who was working on my request didn't have access to a phone. Still no email. Spent over 2 hours on calls waiting for connections. Last call said i would be on hold for about 4 minutes. Took 27 minutes to answer.

Reviewed on 27th August 2021
Cyril Smith 's avatar
Cyril Smith

Simple website with a lot of valuable information

Easy to use website with great information a simple way of controlling my pension

Reviewed on 27th August 2021
Kevin Mearns's avatar
Kevin Mearns

Great pension app and customer service

I really like the app. There's lots of functionality on it, from performance graphs to ability to change beneficiaries. Can see my car and home insurance on the same page too.

Reviewed on 27th August 2021
Wendy Quantrill's avatar
Wendy Quantrill

Solid financial Insurance company

Aviva have looked after my pension for years, I like the way all my products show in one simple online account

Reviewed on 27th August 2021
Martyn's avatar
Martyn

Viva -- TOTAL REUBBISH

Ive been trying to get some SIMPLE information for months & months Phone - e mail - letter -- nothing --- all talk total TOTAL Rubbish

Reviewed on 23rd August 2021
Derek Pye's avatar
Derek Pye