Aviva Pension Reviews

  Ratings based on 91 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Aviva pension reviews written by Smart Money People like you. For many of us, our pension is an important part of our financial future. Finding a pension provider that you can trust and rely on is a must for many people. Take a look at our Aviva pension reviews to...

READ MORE

Aviva pension reviews written by Smart Money People like you. For many of us, our pension is an important part of our financial future. Finding a pension provider that you can trust and rely on is a must for many people. Take a look at our Aviva pension reviews to find out what life at Aviva is really like. If you hold this pension, we'd love you to write an honest review here too!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Pension Reviews

91 reviews

Review Aviva's Pension now

Haemorrhage my money

My smallish pension pot has lost over £11,000.00 in twelve months, I know the stock market is weak but this loss is unacceptable and they still take management fees. Wished I had trusted another company with my money

Reviewed on 14th November 2022
Rob's avatar
Rob

Awful customer service

All of a sudden I can't switch funds online. Passed from one department to another over a protracted period on phone. Asked to do screenshots and send to specific department who would sort it. They've now told me it's not them and to ring another departme Read more

All of a sudden I can't switch funds online. Passed from one department to another over a protracted period on phone. Asked to do screenshots and send to specific department who would sort it. They've now told me it's not them and to ring another department (that I've already spoken to. Just part of a game of pass the customer. No ownership or responsibility just a game of pass the customer! Disgusted.

Reviewed on 24th October 2022
P D's avatar
P D

Lack of activity and results

I am over 2 months into the application process to withdraw my funds a receive a lump sum and annuity. No one can give me a definitive answer as to why it hasn’t yet happened, where the process stands or when it will complete. Always pleasant, never follo Read more

I am over 2 months into the application process to withdraw my funds a receive a lump sum and annuity. No one can give me a definitive answer as to why it hasn’t yet happened, where the process stands or when it will complete. Always pleasant, never follow up and are totally useless! Avoid!

Reviewed on 21st October 2022
john lamb's avatar
john lamb

Huge Loss

My pension pot has lost over 30% in last twelve months. I have reached retirement age and wanted to use drawdown only to discover my pot is worth around £125k less than it was at end of last year. In the interim I have received no recent statements so was Read more

My pension pot has lost over 30% in last twelve months. I have reached retirement age and wanted to use drawdown only to discover my pot is worth around £125k less than it was at end of last year. In the interim I have received no recent statements so was unaware of this until too late. I am devastated and terrified for my future.

Reviewed on 18th October 2022
Jane's avatar
Jane

Devastating loss

Transferred my defined contributions pension from Lloyd's in 2018 to a low risk Investment platform and initially it had been doing well. I use the online website to check my balance and since my initial investment of £112k approximately it has risen to Read more

Transferred my defined contributions pension from Lloyd's in 2018 to a low risk Investment platform and initially it had been doing well. I use the online website to check my balance and since my initial investment of £112k approximately it has risen to just under £140k in December 2021 and since then I now find it has gone down almost £25000 in less than a year and has lost £5000 in a week
I now have less.than I started out with! Worst decision I have ever.made moving to Aviva and have no idea what to do next. Their website does not allow you to manage your own Investment asks you to contact your financial advisor but when I transferred I chose not to have ongoing advice as so expensive. I expected more from Aviva. I know there has been a pandemic and now a war.in.Ukraine but as I am only 5 to 6 years away from retirement it looks like I will be lucky to get anything back. Its sole destroying and very frightening
Anyone else in the same position with advice? Customer Services no.help.

Reviewed on 13th October 2022
J's avatar
J

Awful

Have just begun to try to take my pension pot. I have been cut off, left in cues and when I requested a call back none was forth coming. I had a similar experience with a solicitor and after reading reviews online saw that many people advised putting a Read more

Have just begun to try to take my pension pot. I have been cut off, left in cues and when I requested a call back none was forth coming. I had a similar experience with a solicitor and after reading reviews online saw that many people advised putting a complaint to the Legal Ombudsman. I did do this and as a result my claim was upheld and I received compensation. I have today advised Aviva that I am documenting their failings and will submit to the Financial Ombudsman. You have to provide evidence of their lack of customer service so I will be submitting daily complaints and monitoring their responses. I would suggest that anyone with similar issues does the same. You have to give the company 8 weeks to rectify your complaint before you can submit to the Ombudsmen.

Reviewed on 4th October 2022
Cathy N's avatar
Cathy N

appalling

it took the company 4 yrs to provide me with account statements, so that I could determine how well my investments are doing. As a result and having received now, 4 yrs later, my statements I seems to have lost over 6 k !!

Reviewed on 28th September 2022
Bernd Leygraf's avatar
Bernd Leygraf

CATASTROPHIC PENSION LOSSES IN 10 MONTHS

I want to publish an email I sent to Aviva today so that it might help warn other investors, and also so it is on record: RE PENSIONS FUNDS - TK10370929 and TK10329410 Further to my earlier email today (and 5 days ago) - since no one from Aviva is r Read more

I want to publish an email I sent to Aviva today so that it might help warn other investors, and also so it is on record:

RE PENSIONS FUNDS - TK10370929 and TK10329410

Further to my earlier email today (and 5 days ago) - since no one from Aviva is replying to my emails or calling me to advise about the CATASTROPHIC LOSSES in my pension funds, as before I have been trying to call Aviva to discuss this with someone. 

However, I am not able to speak to anyone at Aviva because of this message "We are not able to talk to you because of an emergency. Try again later"

So because I can't actually speak to someone at Aviva - I have attempted to take control of my Pension Funds myself.
But, once again, Aviva is preventing me from doing this - see the following:

In my Online Account, under the heading 'HOW YOUR PENSION IS INVESTED" - there is an option to "Choose Your Funds"

However, although it states: "Press the button below to start the process of moving from your investment approach and telling us which individual funds you want to invest in."
BUT....there is NO BUTTON TO PRESS!! - see the attachment

Instead, there is a Call Us icon.
But as I've explained above, when I call Aviva to speak about my Pension Fund, the reply is: "We are not able to talk to you because of an emergency. Try again later"
So - at a time when my Aviva Pension policies - TK10370929 and TK10329410 - are incurring huge, seemingly uncontrollable losses - due probably to the high percentage of the policies being invested in High-Risk funds - I am being prevented from taking control of my own Pension Funds and moving them into Low-Risk funds.
As I've explained in previous emails - the combined loss of my policies - TK10370929 and TK10329410 - since December 2021 is £38,273.54 + £9,653 = £47,926.54 in 10 months!!!

The total funds left in my policies - TK10370929 and TK10329410 - today (28/09/2022) is - £77,469.46 + £19,377.20 = £96,846.66
My retirement date is September 2023 - less than a year away - but at the current rate of loss, there will be no money left in either policy.

Therefore, because Aviva is not helping me - I want to take control myself - BUT I'M BEING PREVENTED FROM DOING SO BY AVIVA.

I WANT SOMEONE TO CALL ME BACK PLEASE

Reviewed on 28th September 2022
Peter Stebbing's avatar
Peter Stebbing

Abysmal Service

Contacted Aviva on 18th July to request to take my pension pot. Today is 20th September and I have still not received the paperwork to complete. I have emailed them on 12 occasions and called them from abroad on 4 occasions. Each time with the exception o Read more

Contacted Aviva on 18th July to request to take my pension pot. Today is 20th September and I have still not received the paperwork to complete. I have emailed them on 12 occasions and called them from abroad on 4 occasions. Each time with the exception of one I have been told that I must read my options first, despite my having advised them that I have read and understood all of the options available to me. On the one occasion that I was not asked to do this I was advised that forms would be emailed to me in 5 days, this was 19 days ago. I have since emailed twice with no response. I also called again this morning and after 12 minutes of holding (at my cost from abroad) I hung up and have emailed again requesting a call back. Truly unbelievable abysmal service

Reviewed on 20th September 2022
Julie's avatar
Julie

responsive helpful understanding

business was conducted without fuss,and had great one on one interaction

Reviewed on 18th September 2022
carl austin's avatar
carl austin

pension has lost 50k how can this happen and nobody is made accountable this is my pension. yet they still charge me admin cost to reduce my income

bad news think i will end up getting less out than i have paid in

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
Annie Brandwood's avatar
Annie Brandwood

Pension loos

If you want to loose £10 000 in three months this is the company for you.Daylight robbery At least Dick Turpin would have worn a mask CYFIAWNDER A DDAW GYDA AMSER JUSTICE WILL COME WITH TIME .

Reviewed on 11th September 2022
Gareth Jones's avatar
Gareth Jones

The company that does not listen or respond

My UK tax code was changed this year in my favour. I was also advised by HMRC that they had notified Aviva twice since May 2022 with the new code. After contacting Aviva several times over the past two months all they say is that they have not been notif Read more

My UK tax code was changed this year in my favour. I was also advised by HMRC that they had notified Aviva twice since May 2022 with the new code.
After contacting Aviva several times over the past two months all they say is that they have not been notified by HMRC and that the original code still applies.

Reviewed on 6th September 2022
Barry Fallows's avatar
Barry Fallows

Shocking, app and web portal

Shocking company dreadful performance, and app and web portal thats nothing short of a glorifying advertising scam to get you to buy more of their products

Reviewed on 5th September 2022
David Dickinson's avatar
David Dickinson

Poor performance and playing on fancy web site

Aviva have lost over 25 percent of my pension in two years and predict more. Throwing good money after bad they still tske same fees I’m moving adap

Reviewed on 28th August 2022
norman dodds's avatar
norman dodds

Discusting

Disgusting lying company who gives misinformation with every phone call. Nearly 3 weeks and still waiting for my ill health pension to be paid out and fobbed off constantly!… DO NOT believe their 5 day payout it’s a load of rubbish

Reviewed on 19th August 2022
Joanna Davies's avatar
Joanna Davies

Great service

Brilliant service each year and moved over previous pension seamlessly.

Reviewed on 16th August 2022
Oliver's avatar
Oliver

Pension loss

Just want to let people know my pension has lost over £10.000 in less than 6 months and have had no comunication from them regarding this are they going to let it run out completely dont use them

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
John Davies's avatar
John Davies

giving my money away

I gave them £15.7k in Dec 2021 on drawdown to invest. at this point today their "investors" have lost me -£2,141, and in the past week alone they have lost me over £500. When I signed this with MyPensionExpert who were the ones who set me up with Aviva, I Read more

I gave them £15.7k in Dec 2021 on drawdown to invest. at this point today their "investors" have lost me -£2,141, and in the past week alone they have lost me over £500. When I signed this with MyPensionExpert who were the ones who set me up with Aviva, I was told I may expect a return of 5-7.5% as a plus. Put your money in the bank people, at least that way you can get 1-2% as a plus rather than leaving Aviva to lose you thousands of pounds.

Reviewed on 16th June 2022
Lesley's avatar
Lesley

Cant get a response or payout, they seem to be deliberately withholding payment,

The worst ever experienced, appalling service.

Reviewed on 22nd April 2022
Pete's avatar
Pete