Kent Reliance Mortgages Reviews

  Ratings based on 25 reviews       Last review 3 days ago    

Kent Reliance mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Kent Reliance mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews...

READ MORE

Kent Reliance mortgage reviews can help you to find out what other Smart Money People have to say about what could be your biggest ever financial purchase. Smart Money People was established in 2014 to help provide an independent source of Kent Reliance mortgage reviews. You write your mortgage reviews here to help other people find the best mortgage providers. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Poor

1

2

3

4

5

Your Mortgages Reviews

25 reviews

Review Kent Reliance's Mortgages now

Review of Mortgage offer

My circumstances are: 09/06/2022 – A letter was received from Kent Reliance stating my fixed rate mortgage was coming to an end and outlined several options open to me. One of those was to choose another fixed rate deal. I chose a fixed rate five-year Read more


My circumstances are:
09/06/2022 – A letter was received from Kent Reliance stating my fixed rate mortgage was coming to an end and outlined several options open to me. One of those was to choose another fixed rate deal. I chose a fixed rate five-year deal at 3.44% and applied for the same as this was similar to my existing mortgage.
19/07/2022 – A letter was received from Kent Reliance outlining a mortgage offer of five years at a fixed rate of 3.44%. The various forms in accepting the offer were completed and returned.
15/08/2022 – A letter was received from Kent Reliance stating that my mortgage was linked to a Standard Variable rate and the rate was now 7.83%. The payments were over double what I had been paying and what the mortgage offer was.
22/08/2022 – I telephoned Kent Reliance and after a considerable time in the queue spoke to an agent who informed me to ignore the letter I had received, that I would be on the new product from 01/09/2022 and that I would receive confirmation soon after that. There was nothing further I needed to do. (To date (24/11/2022) no communication has been received).
28/09/2022 – Without explanation an amount was taken out of my account by Kent Reliance at almost three times the fixed rate amount and far more than the letter stated on 15/08/2022.
30/09/2022 – I telephoned Kent Reliance and again spent a considerable amount of time in the queue. I explained everything to the agent, who informed me there was nobody available to deal and that somebody from the retentions team would call me back later that day. I stated that I wasn’t happy with this and a complaint was raised. I was told somebody would call me back within three days in relation to the complaint. (No call backs were made). I followed it up by sending an email of my complaint.
04/10/2022 – I telephoned Kent Reliance at 10am and was informed I was 129th in the queue. There was an option to save my place in the queue and have a call back. I chose this option. No call back was made.
05/10/2022 – I telephoned Kent Reliance at 9am and again waited a considerable amount of time to speak to an agent who informed me that the new fixed rate mortgage would be in place this month and overpayments taken would be refunded. I further call was received from Kent Reliance who confirmed the new product had been activated and I would receive confirmation shortly. To date (24/11/2022) the new product is not activated and no confirmation has been received by myself.
07/10/2022 – A letter was received acknowledging my complaint, which would be investigated and responded to within four weeks. A telephone number was provided as a contact for any questions.
28/10/2022 – A further letter was received from the complaint's specialist stating that the matter was still being investigated and a response would be sent within a further four weeks. A contact number was provided for any questions.
28/10/2022 – An amount was taken out of my account by Kent Reliance at almost twice the fixed rate amount. I telephoned Kent Reliance and after twenty minutes pressed the option to keep my place in the queue and receive a call back. I also tried to contact the complaints specialist and left a message for them to call me back. No call back was received from either an agent or the complaints handling specialist.
31/10/2022 – I telephoned Kent Reliance at 9am and waited a considerable amount of time to speak to an agent. They informed me that the new mortgage was active and that the significant overpayments would be refunded within ten working days. No refunds have been received.

Reviewed on 24th November 2022
Jonathan Willey's avatar
Jonathan Willey

Disgusting service.

I agree with all the reviews Ive read. Ive had 13 mortgages during the last 15 years, mostly buy to let mortgages, and I've never had an issue. Mortages are simple transactions, a simple contract, you pay monthly and they provide the goods, easy....... un Read more

I agree with all the reviews Ive read. Ive had 13 mortgages during the last 15 years, mostly buy to let mortgages, and I've never had an issue. Mortages are simple transactions, a simple contract, you pay monthly and they provide the goods, easy....... until I went with Kent Reliance! In 2017 they took 5 Months to process my mortgages, similar to other reviews Ive read they lied constantly, had I known it would take this long Id have gone with someone else. When I did a product switch they took the money twice, 2.4k. It took me 9 calls and 2 months to get the money back, they kept trying to convince me I was wrong. They refuse to honour an existing agreement because they took too long to process it...... the list is endless. All other mortgage companies Ive worked with seem fine, this lot are just foul. They tell you stuff on the phone and it never happens. Its a horrendous, lie after lie. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.

Reviewed on 11th November 2022
C Z's avatar
C Z

Disgrace

After seven weeks waiting on a mortgage application and much chasing of my broker Kent Reliance finally admitted they hadn’t done anything with my application because they didn’t know how to port my joint mortgage to a new sole mortgage on a new house. Th Read more

After seven weeks waiting on a mortgage application and much chasing of my broker Kent Reliance finally admitted they hadn’t done anything with my application because they didn’t know how to port my joint mortgage to a new sole mortgage on a new house. Their disorganisation, deceit and sheer ineptitude is astounding. Be warned that your house purchase is at risk if you use Kent Reliance. They do not care! If your broker wants to discuss a Kent Reliance mortgage with you ask them for more options for the sake of your house purchase, and your sanity!

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
AdeyB's avatar
AdeyB

Disgrace

After seven weeks waiting on a mortgage application and much chasing of my broker Kent Reliance finally admitted they hadn’t done anything with my application because they didn’t know how to port my joint mortgage to a new sole mortgage on a new house. Th Read more

After seven weeks waiting on a mortgage application and much chasing of my broker Kent Reliance finally admitted they hadn’t done anything with my application because they didn’t know how to port my joint mortgage to a new sole mortgage on a new house. Their disorganisation, deceit and sheer ineptitude is astounding. Be warned that your house purchase is at risk if you use Kent Reliance. They do not care! If your broker wants to discuss a Kent Reliance mortgage with you ask them for more options for the sake of your house purchase, and your sanity!

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
AdeyB's avatar
AdeyB

IRRESPONSBILE UNSAFE UNCARING

Applied for a remortgage. Gave all the information they needed and they said yes they would take me on. Valuer went round to survey and would not value it!!!! It is a seven bed house which requires two bathrooms and two kitchens. Birmingham City Counci Read more

Applied for a remortgage. Gave all the information they needed and they said yes they would take me on. Valuer went round to survey and would not value it!!!! It is a seven bed house which requires two bathrooms and two kitchens. Birmingham City Council are my tenants. There is only one Lease and there is only one Title Deed. It is not two apartments. The surveyor reported that because it only had one electric meter (all that is needed as there is only one tenant) in the event of my defaulting they could not sell off the property as two apartments. They could not anyway as there is only one Title Deed and they know this. The frustrating thing is they would not discuss. Their decision was final. So I wasted my admin fee and my survey fee for nothing.

Reviewed on 19th July 2022
Sally Hill's avatar
Sally Hill

Waste of time

Don't trust this bank they wasted our time and money I had mortgage in principle with them after I make and offer in the house that I wanted to purchase and my broker made full application they reduced the amount and got in big trouble and I had to cancel Read more

Don't trust this bank they wasted our time and money I had mortgage in principle with them after I make and offer in the house that I wanted to purchase and my broker made full application they reduced the amount and got in big trouble and I had to cancel everything. Go to high bank they are much better.

Reviewed on 12th July 2022
Abdul Shahid's avatar
Abdul Shahid

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY

Mess me around 3 months for remortgage my buy to let property they always had a excuse either system is down or case Menager away or waiting valuation and asking more documents over and over again end up lost £1400 fees and 3 months time DO NOT GO head wi Read more

Mess me around 3 months for remortgage my buy to let property they always had a excuse either system is down or case Menager away or waiting valuation and asking more documents over and over again end up lost £1400 fees and 3 months time DO NOT GO head with this company one of the worse company I have ever dealt JUST WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY

Reviewed on 5th July 2022
Cihan Oynak's avatar
Cihan Oynak

One of the exeperience I have ever had

My name Mehdi Rahal we applied for mortgage with them about 3 months ago through TNP brooker, they took my evaluation money of £490.00 constently asking for documents you have allready send, everytime you send any details to them it takes them 6 to 7 day Read more

My name Mehdi Rahal we applied for mortgage with them about 3 months ago through TNP brooker, they took my evaluation money of £490.00 constently asking for documents you have allready send, everytime you send any details to them it takes them 6 to 7 days to reply and than they ask you for the same question again, yesturday my mortgage application was rejected after 3 months of waiting TMP my brooker call them up and ask them why they rejected the, they cant give the reason why, I was in a chain with others awaiting to exchange contract on their morgages I am know back to square one henting for a mortgage again. I be seeking legal advice my evaluation fee back, stay way from kent alliance the are the worst company ever

Reviewed on 28th June 2022
Mehdi_rahal@yahoo.co.uk's avatar
Mehdi_rahal@yahoo.co.uk

Piss Poor HMO Lenders

This company was chosen by my Mortgage advisor because they are supposed to be specialists lenders for HMO, the RICS valuer they sent gave an established HMO property of seventeen years standing a zero valuation. They ignored the Appeal which contained ev Read more

This company was chosen by my Mortgage advisor because they are supposed to be specialists lenders for HMO, the RICS valuer they sent gave an established HMO property of seventeen years standing a zero valuation. They ignored the Appeal which contained evidence of demand and comparable. Wish I knew who the valuer was, I'm also RICS.

Reviewed on 28th March 2022
Ian Purcell's avatar
Ian Purcell

No Duty Of Care To The Customer

I have been waiting for a reply from June2021. A woman by the name of Alex in customer relation is to get back to me. After numerous calls and letters to the chairman there is still no action. No duty of care or regard for the customer. One star is a star Read more

I have been waiting for a reply from June2021. A woman by the name of Alex in customer relation is to get back to me. After numerous calls and letters to the chairman there is still no action. No duty of care or regard for the customer. One star is a star too many for this company.

Reviewed on 21st February 2022
sheila Barnes's avatar
sheila Barnes

This company does not even deserve 1 star.

AVOID AT ALL COST!!! Absolutely disgusting service, misled us. Accepted us in principle and led us right to the end near to the completion date and then refused to offer us the mortgage. They took £819 off of us which i am now battling to get back. I wil Read more

AVOID AT ALL COST!!!
Absolutely disgusting service, misled us. Accepted us in principle and led us right to the end near to the completion date and then refused to offer us the mortgage. They took £819 off of us which i am now battling to get back. I will be taking this up with the financial ombudsman.

Reviewed on 21st December 2021
Amy Cadman's avatar
Amy Cadman

8 Months and counting for remortgage!

My experience is one that is on going. Valuation completed last August 2020, and I am still waiting to complete the mortgage!!! Even though I am an existing borrower of there's (borrowed from them in March 2020) The underwriters still ask some silly qu Read more

My experience is one that is on going.

Valuation completed last August 2020, and I am still waiting to complete the mortgage!!! Even though I am an existing borrower of there's (borrowed from them in March 2020) The underwriters still ask some silly questions. I was informed underwriter had left who was dealing with my case and was not allocated to another underwriter until I kept asking what is happening with my mortgage, this was Oct 2020. So we started again and had to answer all questions again to new underwriter. Then there was a fault with there portal to upload documents, now we are into December 2020! Mortgage offer finally arrived just before Christmas! but expired 19th Jan! Then Kent Reliance had the cheek to ask me what was the delay in completing this mortgage!!!! They have come back to me early Feb to ask for MORE documents which promptly sent back and now its 1st March 2021 and feels like no closer to completing this mortgage. 8 months for a simple mortgage! (not even a purchase, mortgage of unencumbered property). It has been a terrible experience I would rather pay little more interest and got to an lender that is competent. I strongly advise looking elsewhere!

Reviewed on 1st March 2021
Jack's avatar
Jack

Steer clear - go elsewhere!

I wouldn't recommend Kent Reliance to anyone and I feel totally foolish for not doing my research and reading reviews beforehand, but I was super eager to get the ball rolling with the purchase of a property. At the start of the mortgage application proce Read more

I wouldn't recommend Kent Reliance to anyone and I feel totally foolish for not doing my research and reading reviews beforehand, but I was super eager to get the ball rolling with the purchase of a property. At the start of the mortgage application process I had to pay a valuation fee, then during the process they continuously asked me for reams of paperwork, some of which they already had, and they had question after question despite completing on a flat in the same building. Still nearly THREE months later I am no further down the line. It seems they take the valuation fee then make it as tricky, stressful and unpleasant as possible. My broker has even commented on the time it's taking, apologising (its not his fault!!) and surprised it's going on and on - he's even suggested we try elsewhere.

Reviewed on 22nd February 2021
Lili's avatar
Lili

Deliberately unhelpful & obstructive company- AVOID THEM

Kent Reliance continues to do all it can to stop its existing mortgage customers from benefiting from the mortgage holiday relief the Government has put in place. They now refuse all mortgage holiday relief unless unneccessary and exhaustive finacial expe Read more

Kent Reliance continues to do all it can to stop its existing mortgage customers from benefiting from the mortgage holiday relief the Government has put in place. They now refuse all mortgage holiday relief unless unneccessary and exhaustive finacial expenditure forms are submitted delaying the whole process in their favour or outright declining the requests. How strange these forms were not required previously but are now complusory. Will be reporting to the ombudsman but be warned- dodgy practice indeed from a very dodgy mortgage company.

Reviewed on 6th November 2020
d oleary's avatar
d oleary

VERY PROFESSIONAL TEAM

VERY HAPPY WITH THE OVERALL EXPERIENCE FROM START TO FINISH GOOD TEAM

Reviewed on 4th June 2020
SANJ's avatar
SANJ

Fees Fees and More Fees

As others have mentioned on here the one thing that kept niggling us were the fees charged by KRBS. Once your special rate comes to end end and your interest shoots up to 6% + they will offer your another deal to 'lock in' again for another 2 3 or 4 years Read more

As others have mentioned on here the one thing that kept niggling us were the fees charged by KRBS. Once your special rate comes to end end and your interest shoots up to 6% + they will offer your another deal to 'lock in' again for another 2 3 or 4 years, then comes the hit, they want to charge you and its usually around the 500 mark, basically they ask do you want to pay it now? or add it to your mortgage balance? We left after 5 years with them for this reason. It's like a KRBS 'merry go round' you seem to be unable to get of it unless you make the jump. We did, now with another BS who charge no product fees/establishment fees and have better interest rates and no call centre in India.

Reviewed on 13th May 2020
StefanM's avatar
StefanM

Simple, good rate and reliable.

I saw some pretty bad reviews on here about there mortgages and these are really scary to read when your waiting for your completion. So here’s a peace of mind for people worried. Kent reliance only asked for a few payslips, we got our mortgage approval, Read more

I saw some pretty bad reviews on here about there mortgages and these are really scary to read when your waiting for your completion. So here’s a peace of mind for people worried. Kent reliance only asked for a few payslips, we got our mortgage approval, waited 3 months for the house to be built and they transferred the funds as soon as our solicitors requested it. Please note we did not take any finance out at all whilst waiting. If you do take finance (even dfs sofa finance you could be declined)

Reviewed on 24th February 2020
Elliott's avatar
Elliott

Appalling customer service and rates

My advice to anyone looking for a mortgage, is to avoid this one like the plague. It is without question the most dreadful organisation I’ve ever come across. The customer service is laughable. I have been asking for my redemption statement on my mortgage Read more

My advice to anyone looking for a mortgage, is to avoid this one like the plague. It is without question the most dreadful organisation I’ve ever come across. The customer service is laughable. I have been asking for my redemption statement on my mortgage, so that I can pay it off, for over 4 weeks. I have written, emailed, and telephoned. When I write with my request , in the format they have asked for, they reply days later to tell me to telephone with my request. When I telephone with my details they ask me to write. Meanwhile I am paying interest on a loan, which I do not need and want to pay off but cannot escape! Am writing to the ombudsman.

Reviewed on 19th August 2019
Emma's avatar
Emma

The poorest of poor

I am unfortunately a mortgage customer of Kent Reliance - fortunately my fix term ends soon - I cannot wait to move away from them. Service from the start has been at best appalling - they make life so difficult and stressful. Changing the payment date o Read more

I am unfortunately a mortgage customer of Kent Reliance - fortunately my fix term ends soon - I cannot wait to move away from them.
Service from the start has been at best appalling - they make life so difficult and stressful. Changing the payment date of the DD you can only do it for certain dates in the moth which don't include the end or the start of the month when most people get paid - WHY?? I have just received a letter telling me that the fixed term is ending and to log onto their online portal to look at other offers input the 8 digit number on the letter - their portal only accepts 7 digits - You couldn't make this up.
Chose one of their DEALS and you only have to pay 0.25% of your existing mortgage balance for the privilege....the list goes on and on, all negatively.
If you are choosing a mortgage provider irrespective of your situation - avoid Kent Reliance like the Plague

Reviewed on 16th August 2019
Dissatisfied's avatar
Dissatisfied

Mortgage Worry

Applied for a mortgage two months ago. KR request a continued stream of documentation - most of which they already have. Lots of false promises as we keep being told there will be a decision on our mortgage by the 'end of the week' - this is the fourth w Read more

Applied for a mortgage two months ago. KR request a continued stream of documentation - most of which they already have. Lots of false promises as we keep being told there will be a decision on our mortgage by the 'end of the week' - this is the fourth week now! Our vendors are becoming restless and looks like we may lose out on buying this house.
Surely it cannot take this long - I'd rather have been turned down at the start so we could explore options as a new application will set us back,
Please avoid this company.

Reviewed on 17th June 2019
Applecart's avatar
Applecart