MORE THAN Smart Wheels Reviews

  Ratings based on 8 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Looking to see if Smart Wheels from More Than is right for you? Read our reviews from regular users like you to see what people are saying about this black box insurance for young drivers. Already have experience with More Than’s black box technology? Leave a Smart Wheels insurance review...

READ MORE

Looking to see if Smart Wheels from More Than is right for you? Read our reviews from regular users like you to see what people are saying about this black box insurance for young drivers. Already have experience with More Than’s black box technology? Leave a Smart Wheels insurance review of your own and help out other parents who might be deciding on whether to use this technology for their children’s policy!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Smart Wheels Reviews

8 reviews

Review MORE THAN's Smart Wheels now

Very poor service

It's a real shame that there isnt such a black box that can rate smart wheels admin performance or they'd be paying their customers. Changing prices, hiding behind the phone options 1 2 or 3 and yet I still havent spoken to a more than employee. Really l Read more

It's a real shame that there isnt such a black box that can rate smart wheels admin performance or they'd be paying their customers. Changing prices, hiding behind the phone options 1 2 or 3 and yet I still havent spoken to a more than employee. Really lousy service.

Reviewed on 27th October 2022
Jay Noble's avatar
Jay Noble

DO NOT USE!

I am 17 and I got my car at the end of August, I was so excited and got an insurance that was the handiest to me, i went with More Than as they were affordable. Stupidly I did not read the reviews as I just wanted my insurance. My parents were away, and I Read more

I am 17 and I got my car at the end of August, I was so excited and got an insurance that was the handiest to me, i went with More Than as they were affordable. Stupidly I did not read the reviews as I just wanted my insurance. My parents were away, and I did not know what I was doing. In the policy it says that my parents would have gotten informed. THEY DID NOT.
I bought the insurance and first of all, my black box appointment was cancelled the first time, I waited the whole day at home just to be told that the appointment was cancelled. In my opinion they should have told me earlier.
Secondly, I should have known this buy I needed to log into a portal and upload my documents onto there (I didn't read about the documents) I tried to log into the portal but couldn't, I left it to last minute and my insurance was cancelled because of the documents. I got warning emails, but they were not clear at all, all of them started with something completely different like "black box fitted successfully" or "Black box soon to be fitted" and then the next paragraph was about the documents.
When I got the email that my policy has been cancelled, I immediately called. I asked if I could get my deposit back which was £470, and they said no because the cost of the deposit was used to fix my black box which they admitted costs £85. They also told me that I need to pay a cancellation fee of £66 which is a lot for a 17-year-old student.
I am trying my hardest to get some of that deposit money back as I have only been with them for a month and I think that excluding the costs of the black box fitting and the month of insurance I should get around £300 back.
They said that they will get the manager to call me, I got one call back which I missed as I was on the way back to college and they shut at 18:00 which I think is also ridiculous. I tried to call again yesterday and today but haven't got anything back from them.

I am angry as I have no money for another insurance and over £500 is a lot of money for someone with no job.

Very bad experience and I know it is partly my fault, but I think there should be something they can help me with.

Reviewed on 12th October 2022
Eliza Koscielniak's avatar
Eliza Koscielniak

Awful experience and only 11 days in

Box fitted on my son’s car 11 days ago and since day one there’s been nothing but discrepancies and grief. On the day of fitting, car was registered driving 50 in a 30 on a stretch of road it would be impossible to do. Questioned it amongst ourselves, but Read more

Box fitted on my son’s car 11 days ago and since day one there’s been nothing but discrepancies and grief. On the day of fitting, car was registered driving 50 in a 30 on a stretch of road it would be impossible to do. Questioned it amongst ourselves, but gave the box the benefit of the doubt and told son to slow down. Then two days ago came the ‘we’re cancelling your insurance’ email as they stated he’d driven at an excessive speed, once again an almost impossible task in the circumstances surrounding it. After examining the data on the app, there have been times when the data is either inaccurate (travelling 11.5 miles and arriving at his destination at the same time he started his journey) or completely omitting data for almost two days. After contacting More Than to highlight the issues he’s having, they really aren’t interested. They’re quite happy to continue to cancel the insurance even when there are clearly issues with the black box. They’ll investigate the speeding to check if it’s correct, but will ignore the fact there have been faults since day one and won’t accept that there could be issues with the data they have received-even though they said there must’ve been a fault when the 11.5 miles didn’t register a time, but they’re not prepared to send someone to physically check the box. The box has since started to transmit data again, but once again it’s inaccurate and all previous questionable information has now been removed from the app. The time stamps it shows when the car being is driven are completely wrong and it’s stopped sending data yet again. We’re now having to document and photograph everything as evidence. I have contacted More Than twice to complain about the box, a third conversation followed a supervisor contacting me once he knew I was unhappy with the service so far. He still didn’t listen to my concerns, but did say he’d escalate my complaint to his superior (as high as a complaint can go…apparently) and someone else would call me back…they haven’t yet. Avoid this company at all costs.

Reviewed on 17th September 2022
Michaela Robins's avatar
Michaela Robins

A Surprisingly Positive Experience

I never thought my life would come to writing a good review of an insurance company but here we are... You'd think that a black box policy at a low (relatively speaking) price of around £1k for a new driver living in a rural area is risky but I can hones Read more

I never thought my life would come to writing a good review of an insurance company but here we are...
You'd think that a black box policy at a low (relatively speaking) price of around £1k for a new driver living in a rural area is risky but I can honestly say I haven't had any major issues.
I had to make a glass claim in July - this was paid without dispute.
I had to top up miles. £140 for 1000 miles is still daylight robbery but my fault for not guessing correctly and could have been much worse.
Customer service has always been good and resolved my problems quickly and they were honest and fair in responding to my queries.
Now, the big question: the box. It was actually not too bad and judged speed, smoothness (the box can't get this right for its life), and usage. Speed is probably the only one that is really going to raise eyebrows. As long as you don't speed excessively or too often, they won't give you a headache and certainly enough legroom for the odd garage that takes it for a 'test drive' around the Nurburgring.
I spent a year with them and have now moved to a non-box policy with another company (my renewal price was more than my new policy - shop around!) and, overall, I have had a great first year on the open roads. Thank you More Than for being fair and good luck to all new drivers!

Reviewed on 11th December 2020
Michael Penston's avatar
Michael Penston

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

I have been with More Than Smart Wheels for 3 years, have no claims at all and a +7.0 driver score, but they increased my bill from £625 to £825 blaming it on the pandemic and saying I live in a bad area. EXUSE ME?? I have proof I am a very sensible road Read more

I have been with More Than Smart Wheels for 3 years, have no claims at all and a +7.0 driver score, but they increased my bill from £625 to £825 blaming it on the pandemic and saying I live in a bad area. EXUSE ME?? I have proof I am a very sensible road user and this is how you reward me?????? I was also quoted £550 by Admiral... WITHOUT A BLACK BOX!!!
Also my 'rewards card' with over £120 on it never arrived in the post so I lost all that.

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Reviewed on 15th July 2020
Chris's avatar
Chris

DO NOT BUY- APPALLING

MORE-THAN BLACK BOX INSURANCE- BEWARE !!! DO NOT.. DO NOT TAKE OUT BLACK BOX CAR INSURANCE FOR A NEW DRIVER WITH MORE THAN !!! WE TOOK OUT THIS INSURANCE FOR OUR SONE AND HE HAD A DRIVER IN SLOW TRAFFIC BRAKE IN FRONT OF HIM WHICH CAUSED HIM TO TOUCH HI Read more

MORE-THAN BLACK BOX INSURANCE- BEWARE !!!
DO NOT.. DO NOT TAKE OUT BLACK BOX CAR INSURANCE FOR A NEW DRIVER WITH MORE THAN !!!
WE TOOK OUT THIS INSURANCE FOR OUR SONE AND HE HAD A DRIVER IN SLOW TRAFFIC BRAKE IN FRONT OF HIM WHICH CAUSED HIM TO TOUCH HIS BUMPER AT AROUND 3 MPH ( according to the telematics black box), THIS WAS A CRASH FOR CASH SCAM YET MORE THAN HAVE PAID OUT THE FRAUDSTER ALMOST £3500.00 FOR A SCRATCH ON A BUMPER AND GET THIS...... ALL WITHOUT NOTIFYING MY SON AT ALL UNTIL WE ASKED AT RENEWAL WHY HIS PREMIUM WAS SO HIGH !?!!!!
MORE THAN WILL PAY OUT CLAIMS WILLY NILLY AND NOT LET THE POLICYHOLDER KNOW... WEBATE IN COMPLAINT PROCESS AS WE SPEAK WITH THE FCA AND OMBUDSMAN...

DO NOT USE MORE-THAN BLACK BOX INSURANCE !!!!

Reviewed on 8th November 2019
Paul Brook's avatar
Paul Brook

Terrible

Unfairly treated, my insurance was threatened with cancellation because my car had a stripe on it, which the black box installation guru took offence at and decided that it would increase the speed of my car or the likelihood that it will be stolen. A 90s Read more

Unfairly treated, my insurance was threatened with cancellation because my car had a stripe on it, which the black box installation guru took offence at and decided that it would increase the speed of my car or the likelihood that it will be stolen. A 90s heap of rubbish is doubled in value due to a stripe is it???

After removing the stripe and grovelling for a second chance to get in the company good books, i was set for a year of insurance with the company (I couldn’t afford anyone better at the time). When it came time to increase the mileage of my insurance policy, i was told to pay up £300 for 1000 miles. Yes that’s right, that’s almost 30p/mile, before I’ve even put fuel in the car. My current insurance company charged me £30 for 2000 more miles.

Overall, if you hate customer service, think that fair treatment is overrated and enjoy hassle, go with MoreThan for your black box car insurance. Haven’t I sold them to you? Well i’d Highly recommend paying that little bit more for a company who are respectable and reasonable.

Reviewed on 17th January 2019
Josh's avatar
Josh

Cowboys

Please do not give this mob any money. Total con merchants. We were mucked about initially when insuring my sons first car. i sent two sets of No claim bonus for myself as a named driver. After fifteen e mails they said it was not valid. They wanted a cur Read more

Please do not give this mob any money. Total con merchants. We were mucked about initially when insuring my sons first car. i sent two sets of No claim bonus for myself as a named driver. After fifteen e mails they said it was not valid. They wanted a current NCB. I got one from my other car insurers. They then said that was invalid because in their T&C they will not accept a current NCB!!!!!!! Added 163.53 to our policy and upped the direct debit amount by 25.00 per month. I called and they were totally disinterested. You have been warned. Leave well alone.......More Than Insurance, More Than Smart Wheels.......

Reviewed on 6th December 2017
Steve Cleary's avatar
Steve Cleary