Direct Line Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 298 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Direct Line car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Direct Line car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the...

READ MORE

Direct Line car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Direct Line car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Direct Line before, you too can write a short Direct Line car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

298 reviews

Review Direct Line's Car Insurance now

Excellent mileage money-back program

Direct Line are the best - easy to contact customer service and they offer a program where, if you insure your car for more miles than you end up using in the year, they will refund the difference with the click of a button

Reviewed on 16th October 2022
jaylg's avatar
jaylg

Reliable

I have been with direct line for year for my car insurance and they have always dealt with any issues I may have had quickly and efficiently.

Reviewed on 18th September 2022
Annette Krintas's avatar
Annette Krintas

Poor customer experience

I won't be using them again, very, very disappointed. Made the simple job of getting a windscreen replaced extremely difficult, forcing me to do 60 mile round trip as Direct Line wouldn't provide enough budget to use a local windscreen supplier. They Read more


I won't be using them again, very, very disappointed.
Made the simple job of getting a windscreen replaced extremely difficult, forcing me to do 60 mile round trip as Direct Line wouldn't provide enough budget to use a local windscreen supplier.
They did however offer to have car picked up and repaired, but unfortunately this did not include the cars return?!!!
My policy wasn't the cheapest of quotes I had, but I thought I would use a company who used to be good.
Windscreen repair will either cost me half a days work or £150 if I choose a local company myself.
I thought insurance was supposed to cover you properly for things like this. Direct Line don't seem to care.

Reviewed on 15th September 2022
Brett Colyer's avatar
Brett Colyer

Rubbish company

Still waiting for insurance settlement incident happened 12months ago, we were not even in car gave insurance all of the information they requested from police etc, still waiting

Reviewed on 28th August 2022
moorhousep@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
moorhousep@hotmail.co.uk

My favourite car insurer

They've made being a member so easy. Each year they have sent a renewal which has been better than the previous year and been as good as any other quite of the compare sites, so I've stayed with them for several years! I feel secure with them. Thank you : Read more

They've made being a member so easy. Each year they have sent a renewal which has been better than the previous year and been as good as any other quite of the compare sites, so I've stayed with them for several years! I feel secure with them. Thank you :)

Reviewed on 19th August 2022
Tina Marie's avatar
Tina Marie

Always in my sights

I keep looking at Direct Line with a view of staying with them

Reviewed on 19th August 2022
George Cheriyan's avatar
George Cheriyan

Great Until you need to use them for their intended purposes

Been insured with them for quite a few years it was great they would send a renewal price which would be like £20 less than the year before so id phone up and they would take over £100 off to match closer to what other companies were offering it was great Read more

Been insured with them for quite a few years it was great they would send a renewal price which would be like £20 less than the year before so id phone up and they would take over £100 off to match closer to what other companies were offering it was great couldn't fault them thought highly of them and recommend them to everyone, then earlier this year I ended up in a minor accident my car was written off didn't cost them much was only worth £1100 the other driver only had minor damage to their rear end and no injuries, got a courtesy car the next day and got payout in just over a week they were great dealing with it couldn't fault them there, then my insurance is due to be renewed next month and I'm shocked to find out they are trying to charge me more than double now, I completely get that the accident and the loss of my 2 years of my no claims will put the price up a bit but more than double? you'd think I had 6 points on my license and had been drunk driving, phoned them up waited over an hour to get through to be hung up on when they were looking into the price, then finally got through again to be told they are only willing to take £20 and a I don't care attitude, told them they need to take about £300 off or I won't be renewing and they said they won't. I'm shocked that this is how a loyal repeat customer is treated after using their service for its intended use, yes of course it's going to go up after an accident but more than double is a joke. so anyone thinking of going with them then yes they are a great company to use until god forbids you end up in an accident then try to renew you'll be in for a shock, like sorry for using you for what your supposed to be used for.

Reviewed on 18th August 2022
Simone Cruickshank's avatar
Simone Cruickshank

Bad

Always up insurance for no reason, every year I had to call and haggle for them to put in down, even though I’d never claimed for anything. Would not recommend

Reviewed on 13th August 2022
Charlotte begg 's avatar
Charlotte begg

Amazing service

Renewed my car insurance in June. Direct Line sent me a renewal quote so I went on the internet to see if I could get a better price. When I phoned them up stating I had found a better price they not only matched it but quoted me less. A clear choice to r Read more

Renewed my car insurance in June. Direct Line sent me a renewal quote so I went on the internet to see if I could get a better price. When I phoned them up stating I had found a better price they not only matched it but quoted me less. A clear choice to renew with them.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Sharon Scholes's avatar
Sharon Scholes

worse customer service

I made a non fault claim. I did not get granted hire which I have in my policy neither curtesy car. The hire compani they deal with even worse. does not even answer the phone

Reviewed on 7th July 2022
Tikka Tikka's avatar
Tikka Tikka

Passengers cover for personal accident if drivers fault does no exist!

No cover is possible for passengers personal accident if driver at fault!

Reviewed on 3rd May 2022
Google User's avatar
Google User

Loyalty

Don't be fooled that directline are the cheapest or best insurance for vans . I had a renewal letter informing me that my van premium was increasing from £158 upto £262 , rang them for them to tell me that they where 100% confident that was the best pric Read more

Don't be fooled that directline are the cheapest or best insurance for vans . I had a renewal letter informing me that my van premium was increasing from £158 upto £262 , rang them for them to tell me that they where 100% confident that was the best price I could get only for me to go onto a comparison site and get it with Lloyd's bank for almost £100 CHEAPER .
So much for customer loyalty after using then for 15 yrs they can take a running jump

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Donny Savins's avatar
Donny Savins

I was treated absolutely DISGUSTING by a complaints manager

I was treated absolutely DISGUSTING by a complaints manager. I’d been lied to by various members of the claims team about why they weren’t giving a like for like car whilst mine was in for repair, as they did in the simmer with another non-fault accident Read more

I was treated absolutely DISGUSTING by a complaints manager. I’d been lied to by various members of the claims team about why they weren’t giving a like for like car whilst mine was in for repair, as they did in the simmer with another non-fault accident I was expecting some common courtesy and empathy. NO NOT THIS ONE, HE SPOKE TO ME LIKE SOMETHING FROM UNDER HIS SHOE & SAID HE WASN’T UPHOLDING MY COMPLAINT. I couldn’t believe how I was treated, after a week of no end of stress with being told different stories by various claims handlers. I’m
now having to go to the Ombudsman.

Reviewed on 14th December 2021
Janine Horsfield's avatar
Janine Horsfield

Had a bad experience with directline

I had a car accident in Glasgow 300 miles away from home at 3pm on Saturday I parked the car up in a safe place. Then rang directline to report the accident. At 4pm what the lady forgot to mention was directline closes at 5pm so I was left to spend the ni Read more

I had a car accident in Glasgow 300 miles away from home at 3pm on Saturday I parked the car up in a safe place. Then rang directline to report the accident. At 4pm what the lady forgot to mention was directline closes at 5pm so I was left to spend the night in a bus shelter. Due to the fact they recovered my car. With all my stuff in it. I managed to get a hire car with out directline help.
Thats when the real problem started I had a call from the engineer. From minute get go felt like I was dealing with a dodgy car trader. He offered me penny's on the pound for the car telling me how its old and now worth anything . Basically forcing me to except his offer. Only for me to find out the car was worth over 3000 and I got 2300 what a joke after complaining they offered me 2650 can not believe how they have ripped me off Basically told me to take it. In the most rudest manner. Would not recommend. Okay to take are money for years. Only to show there true colour when you need them. Zero stars will not be renewing.

Reviewed on 16th November 2021
Fa Afs's avatar
Fa Afs

Car Insurance

Have been with Direct Line for several years and have found them to be very competitive

Reviewed on 2nd October 2021
Valerie Footer's avatar
Valerie Footer

Good Product and price

Have you for several years without big annual increases. Reduction for another car plus home insurance.

Reviewed on 2nd October 2021
Graham Squire 's avatar
Graham Squire

Satisfactory customer service

When getting quotes for car insurance with breakdown Direct Line provided a policy that appears to match the previous provider, but for a considerably cheaper quote. Their website was customer-friendly and they seem to have the public image of a fair and Read more

When getting quotes for car insurance with breakdown Direct Line provided a policy that appears to match the previous provider, but for a considerably cheaper quote. Their website was customer-friendly and they seem to have the public image of a fair and reasonable company.

Reviewed on 3rd September 2021
Andy Keen's avatar
Andy Keen

Excellent service

Two of our vehicles were damaged in one incident. Direct Line dealt with it sympatheticly and speedily to a satisfactory conclusion. Their staff were exemplary.

Reviewed on 11th May 2021
Stephen Gerlis's avatar
Stephen Gerlis

No fault claim expected to pick up and drop off hire car (40 mile round trip)

Horrendous experience sorting out a no fault claim and definitely not renewing my car insurance with Directline!! Please be aware that if a hire car is required, you will be expected to pick it up and drop it off after your car is repaired. That would ha Read more

Horrendous experience sorting out a no fault claim and definitely not renewing my car insurance with Directline!! Please be aware that if a hire car is required, you will be expected to pick it up and drop it off after your car is repaired. That would have meant a 40 mile round trip for me and I would have needed the assistance of another driver. The car hire company and car repair company are two different companies in different locations. After a big fuss, they agreed to drop off and pick up the hire car from my home address but surely it should be taken as read that car hire includes home delivery? Is this the new normal? At one point (no fault claim), they actually suggested that I had my repairs done through the other party's insurance so I could have a hire car dropped off at my house! The car hire company they use is absolutely awful too. (Enterprise). Here is their scam... Enterprise will encourage you to agree to taking a bigger car than is stated in your insurance and they start asking questions about the accident and ask for the other party's insurance details. Their scam is that they will claim back the additional cost of the car upgrade from the other party's insurance. They didn't explain why they needed the other party's insurance details and what they were doing or what I was agreeing to. It took over three hours of calls between Direct Line and Enterprise to arrange the hire car home delivery and to be able to see through the fog of the Enterprise scam. What if I had agreed to the car upgrade and the other party's insurance company refused to pay for the upgrade? Enterprise then said that my car insurance would increase even though it was a no fault claim etc. These are two awful companies to deal with, very shady and Direct Line are not offering a good standard of service if you need a hire car.

Reviewed on 22nd April 2021
Chris's avatar
Chris

Sickening

Your location Direct Line 14-18 Cadogan St, Glasgow G2 6QN Insurance agency Big Al 45 points 4 minutes ago My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I Read more

Your location


Direct Line
14-18 Cadogan St, Glasgow G2 6QN
Insurance agency
Big Al
45 points
4 minutes ago
My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near: Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near 1 : Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value My car was scratched when I was having a meal. I asked "DIRECT LINE" for advice and they said I would be cheaper repairing it myself. I just renewed my insurance and my price has increased by £220 as "DIRECT LINE" said I made a claim! No I didn't I repaired it myself out my own bank. "BOYCOTT DIRECT LINE" I am going to continually post this on all review sites I can find. "DIRECT LINE" crooks don't go near 1

Reviewed on 29th March 2021
Direct crooks's avatar
Direct crooks