Saga Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 5,262 reviews       Last review 5 days ago    

Saga car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Saga car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process....

READ MORE

Saga car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Saga car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Saga before, you too can write a short Saga car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

5,262 reviews

Review Saga's Car Insurance now

The worst EVER insurance company.Ever...

Had a lady hit the back/side of my car. Said it was all her fault and not mine. A truck driver saw the whole thing and said he was happy to be a witness. He had 4 cameras on his truck to back this all up. Simple insurance claim, yes? NO. 6 Weeks later a Read more

Had a lady hit the back/side of my car. Said it was all her fault and not mine. A truck driver saw the whole thing and said he was happy to be a witness. He had 4 cameras on his truck to back this all up.
Simple insurance claim, yes? NO.
6 Weeks later and after me making 17 phone calls, I am still waiting for this sorry mess to be sorted out. I still have a broken car on my drive. It still leaks water every time it rains. I have had no courtesy car and no money. I paid for Fully Comp insurance in full and have had nothing in return apart from heartache.

Don't go with these fools. Spend the extra few quid and go with another company.

Reviewed on 29th September 2022
Kickbox's avatar
Kickbox

Useless

Difficult to obtain insurance on.monthly basis was rejected whilst all other insurers I managed to get insurance not sure what criteria they use

Reviewed on 15th September 2022
Murad's avatar
Murad

Fair

Kept my car insurance at the same level for three years. Very fair.

Reviewed on 13th September 2022
Lorraine Butterworth's avatar
Lorraine Butterworth

Terrible claim service

My 86 year old sister was burgled and her car stolen on 22nd July ironically while she was on a Saga River Cruise. As of today no settlement has been made to her claims. Totally incompetent organisation unless they are trying to sell insurance or holiday Read more

My 86 year old sister was burgled and her car stolen on 22nd July ironically while she was on a Saga River Cruise. As of today no settlement has been made to her claims. Totally incompetent organisation unless they are trying to sell insurance or holidays.

Reviewed on 12th September 2022
Alan Smith's avatar
Alan Smith

No stars at all, completely useless company

Car hit while parked. The third party admitted fault. I have fully comp. insurance with SAGA. I originate a claim and provide all details requested. I hear nothing from SAGA, no telephone calls, no emails. I did get a call from the third partys insurer! Read more

Car hit while parked. The third party admitted fault. I have fully comp. insurance with SAGA. I originate a claim and provide all details requested. I hear nothing from SAGA, no telephone calls, no emails. I did get a call from the third partys insurer! I contact SAGA again, they take forever to answer the phone. They request more photographs which I supply. Still no responses from them. I contact them again, and they want yet more photos of the inside of the car, which they did not ask for originally. A simple replacement of a damaged wing that I expected to be fixed within two weeks still waiting on SAGA. Never buy any of their products. They appear totally incompetant.

Reviewed on 12th September 2022
Michael's avatar
Michael

Genuine claim that SAGA just keep delaying any solutions

Driving back on a motorway from France on May 11th in severe rain when the vehicle in front drove over some metal work which hit my car and windscreen , damage had occurred but we could not stop on a motorway. SAGA have not responded in any way trying t Read more

Driving back on a motorway from France on May 11th in severe rain when the vehicle in front drove over some metal work which hit my car and windscreen , damage had occurred but we could not stop on a motorway.
SAGA have not responded in any way trying to solve the problem- I had to get the windscreen replaced as it was illegal to drive and now after 4 months I am still waiting to get the paintwork completed. The policy ran out approx 1 month ago and I am certain I will not renew with SAGA due to their methods of insurance cover.
They simply do not respond to anything and you are left stranded.
Try to avoid this company as they are simply useless.

Reviewed on 8th September 2022
Ian Carroll's avatar
Ian Carroll

Increased excess.

I’ve been with Saga now for quite a few years. Insuring two cars separately. I’ve made no claims in over 20yrs, no points on my licence . Basically no change . I took out the 3 year guaranteed premium fix but when it’s come for renewal this month Septe Read more

I’ve been with Saga now for quite a few years. Insuring two cars separately.
I’ve made no claims in over 20yrs, no points on my licence .
Basically no change .
I took out the 3 year guaranteed premium fix but when it’s come for renewal this month September the premium has stayed fixed but they have increased my excess to £650 from £400, making a total of £900 with the £250 voluntary.
I’ve made a complaint and asked not to automatically renew.
I’ve not heard anything back from them as yet.
It cannot be right the way they are doing this.
I reckon a lot of people with just let it renew thinking the terms are the same as last year as is the premium.
Its underhand and I wasn’t told about the increase in excesses when I took out the 3yr fixed premium .

Reviewed on 1st September 2022
David Mayers's avatar
David Mayers

Dreadful

On their Saga Plus policy they promise to keep the same price for 3 years so I expected the policy to automatically renew on this basis. When I realised this was not the case and so was 2 days late in renewing they refused to honour this and gave a new qu Read more

On their Saga Plus policy they promise to keep the same price for 3 years so I expected the policy to automatically renew on this basis. When I realised this was not the case and so was 2 days late in renewing they refused to honour this and gave a new quote which was over £250 more than previous year on the same car. This is appalling and they have lost my business and several friends who were going to move to Saga. There was no flexibility whatsoever. Appalling - avoid.

Reviewed on 22nd August 2022
MCP's avatar
MCP

SAGA HAVE NOT PAID OUT ON GENUINE MOTOR INSURANCE CLAIM TO DATE

Someone reversed into our classic mini last November. It has been off the road since it needed an MOT in January. It was taken away for assessment and returned with significant additional damage. Do not even think about Saga motor insurance it is shocking Read more

Someone reversed into our classic mini last November. It has been off the road since it needed an MOT in January. It was taken away for assessment and returned with significant additional damage. Do not even think about Saga motor insurance it is shockingly ineffective.

Reviewed on 15th August 2022
Christina Aplin's avatar
Christina Aplin

Do Not Deal With This Company

You need to speak to them, after listening to the excuses about how the global situation is affecting the industry, you wait for an hour on the phone. Your call is finally answered by someone who tells you they can register a call back for you in 24hrs Read more

You need to speak to them, after listening to the excuses about how the global situation is affecting the industry, you wait for an hour on the phone. Your call is finally answered by someone who tells you they can register a call back for you in 24hrs, they cannot escalate or contact anyone else. You register for them to call you back, THEY DON'T CALL BACK. REPEAT AND REPEAT..

Reviewed on 15th August 2022
Colin Evans's avatar
Colin Evans

Very professional

Today I simply needed to inform Saga of a change to vehicle and hence registration plate update. The person I spoke to was very professional and the service was excellent. Unfortunately I didn’t get his name. First class customer service.

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
taylor_s42@sky.com's avatar
taylor_s42@sky.com

Car troubles

Car bumped the person who bumped me was also with saga caused confusion with paperwork garage recommended was hopeless,saga awarded damages because or unacceptable delays

Reviewed on 18th July 2022
robert corbett's avatar
robert corbett

Car troubles

Car damaged by other driver garage car was repaired at were a nightmare, Saga understand my complaint and generated a fair money settlement because of delays and paperwork errors.

Reviewed on 18th July 2022
robert corbett's avatar
robert corbett

A complete let-down

I have always thought that Saga was a trusted name in insurance. However after the treatment I have received over the last three trying to settle a claim after someone crashed into us I cannot express anything but disappointment. Saga washed their hands c Read more

I have always thought that Saga was a trusted name in insurance. However after the treatment I have received over the last three trying to settle a claim after someone crashed into us I cannot express anything but disappointment. Saga washed their hands completely of the case, referring us to their underwriters who bogged us down in a lengthy legal dispute even though the other driver admitted full responsibility.

Reviewed on 16th July 2022
Stephen Brown's avatar
Stephen Brown

Decent cover

OK and as I am lazy and they have good customer service I continue using.

Reviewed on 12th July 2022
David McGregor's avatar
David McGregor

Just can't speak to them

I had an accident on Saturday. Reported it on Sunday and got a claim number. Told I would get a call on Monday. Now Thursday. Despite emailing them (No reply) and calling (told very busy, call back later and the line goes dead). So Far ZERO customer servi Read more

I had an accident on Saturday. Reported it on Sunday and got a claim number. Told I would get a call on Monday. Now Thursday. Despite emailing them (No reply) and calling (told very busy, call back later and the line goes dead). So Far ZERO customer service.

Reviewed on 30th June 2022
Scott LAnglands's avatar
Scott LAnglands

Shocking service

One of their customers hit me. I’ve won my claim and been chasing my access for 5 WEEKS!! They ignore my emails and trying to speak to someone on the phone is IMPOSSIBLE. Good luck to anyone that takes out a premium with them or god forbid has an accident Read more

One of their customers hit me. I’ve won my claim and been chasing my access for 5 WEEKS!! They ignore my emails and trying to speak to someone on the phone is IMPOSSIBLE. Good luck to anyone that takes out a premium with them or god forbid has an accident with their terrible drivers. Matter is still ongoing and I’ve now had to formally complain. Awful service. I’d recommend my insurance AGEAS-amazing. Saga? TRAGIC.

Reviewed on 10th June 2022
Em's avatar
Em

The worst customer service

All fine until I claimed for a windscreen replacement. They sent National Windscreens to do the work. Heavy handed fitter damaged my car dash while doing the job. Subsequently denied it of course. Saga said it wasn’t their problem and there was no basis f Read more

All fine until I claimed for a windscreen replacement. They sent National Windscreens to do the work. Heavy handed fitter damaged my car dash while doing the job. Subsequently denied it of course. Saga said it wasn’t their problem and there was no basis for me to claim on my insurance for the damage their agent had inflicted. Outrageous.

Reviewed on 6th June 2022
Alan's avatar
Alan

I would give them no stars if i could

i would give saga no stars if i could,i had my catalytic converter stolen from my vehicle on 31st march and gave them details same day,they told me my car would be a total loss as it was an old car and i couldnt have a courtesy car as it is a theft,i have Read more

i would give saga no stars if i could,i had my catalytic converter stolen from my vehicle on 31st march and gave them details same day,they told me my car would be a total loss as it was an old car and i couldnt have a courtesy car as it is a theft,i have been phoning and emailing them to no avail eventualy engineer came out 28th april and looked at it and took pics and said it would be total loss,since then i have been calling aprox 40 times all i get is a message saying due to global events they cant answer the phone and email says they will get back to you but they never do,i'd like to know what global events are stopping them answering the phone or email for a total loss claim yet they answer the sales line no problem,i have now been waiting over 2 months with no car like a prisoner in my own home,cancelling appointments then rebooking and rebooking again,i would never use saga again.

Reviewed on 4th June 2022
steve c's avatar
steve c

Atrocious poor sevice

That do not answer the phone or reply to e-mails unless they are taking your money avoid this company at all cost. Their service is at best atrocious, you have been warned.move on to a decent company you won’t regret it

Reviewed on 25th May 2022
peter.pafc@hotmail.co.uk's avatar
peter.pafc@hotmail.co.uk