Saga Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 5,241 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    
  Visit website

Saga car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Saga car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find...

READ MORE

Saga car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Saga car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Saga before, you too can write a short Saga car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Saga Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

60% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 65+

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

5,241 reviews

Review Saga's Car Insurance now

No fault accident claim

I must let people know about the atrocious service received when another car ran into my wife's car. It's been a week now and still no further forward. the automatic help line tells you to send an email and then automatically cuts off. Now 3 days later a Read more

I must let people know about the atrocious service received when another car ran into my wife's car. It's been a week now and still no further forward. the automatic help line tells you to send an email and then automatically cuts off. Now 3 days later and still no response to the email. Disgusting service !

Reviewed on 21st April 2022
Mick Oxley's avatar
Mick Oxley
Get Product

Unbelievable

Renewable premium quotation more than doubled from approximately £500 to £1,050.

Reviewed on 8th April 2022
Clive Turvey's avatar
Clive Turvey
Get Product

Very poor customer service

Renewal quote is double the amount of other companies with the same cover

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Paul green Bridlington's avatar
Paul green Bridlington
Get Product

Poor service

My car has been repaired by one of there approved garages independently inspected due to bad workmanship still not been sorted out numerous calls now gone to the FCA ombudsman

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
george mangan's avatar
george mangan
Get Product

Totally rubbish

After being a customer for over 10 years to have my renewal quote more than double total rip off

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
Paul green Bridlington's avatar
Paul green Bridlington
Get Product

will not be using again

I sold my car, so cancelled my policy with saga. They then charged me fifty pounds to cancel plus a further twenty five pounds non refundable admin fee i apparantly paid when i set the policy up! Well goodbye saga, thats the last time you will have the op Read more

I sold my car, so cancelled my policy with saga. They then charged me fifty pounds to cancel plus a further twenty five pounds non refundable admin fee i apparantly paid when i set the policy up! Well goodbye saga, thats the last time you will have the opportunity to rip me off

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Andrew Wrenn's avatar
Andrew Wrenn
Get Product

Excellent service by one of your staff

I dealt with a gentleman called Asanti who was very helpful and explained everything in great detail. Many thanks to him A previous femail contact was very abrupt and left us cold not wanting to renew our policy with you again.

Reviewed on 4th March 2022
Carol France's avatar
Carol France
Get Product

Worst company

Supuestally I Weill get a courtesy car well kc is garage that saga found for me and kc contracted enterprise as a rent car well they didn’t care and I didn’t get my cortesy car and when you claim kc said that was enterprise enterprause said that was insur Read more

Supuestally I Weill get a courtesy car well kc is garage that saga found for me and kc contracted enterprise as a rent car well they didn’t care and I didn’t get my cortesy car and when you claim kc said that was enterprise enterprause said that was insurance. I am really upset with three company they are not trustly.

Reviewed on 14th February 2022
Maria Butt's avatar
Maria Butt
Get Product

Cancellation fees

I cancelled my car insurance and the fees they charged to do this was extortionate. Need to consider this when buying car insurance.

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
George2's avatar
George2
Get Product

Worst car insurance experience ever - AVOID AT ALL COSts

Having recently turned 50 thought I would switch to Saga for car insurance! Worst mistake ever! They accuse you of lying about how many year NCD you have! Unfriendly / unhelpful advisors thank god I got out whilst I could! BEWARE they are not professional Read more

Having recently turned 50 thought I would switch to Saga for car insurance! Worst mistake ever! They accuse you of lying about how many year NCD you have! Unfriendly / unhelpful advisors thank god I got out whilst I could! BEWARE they are not professional to deal with jut out and out rude and unhelpful! Their loss someone else’s gain! Last time I will use SAGA for anything! Will be reporting to the ombudsman immediately.

Reviewed on 3rd February 2022
Heidi wheeldon 's avatar
Heidi wheeldon
Get Product

Costly to cancel

Understand that a company can charge for cancelled policies, but the hefty cancellation cost, coupled with the fact I still have another vehicle on risk with them, feels unreasonable to me. Thought I’d share this in case other drivers like me, who own car Read more

Understand that a company can charge for cancelled policies, but the hefty cancellation cost, coupled with the fact I still have another vehicle on risk with them, feels unreasonable to me. Thought I’d share this in case other drivers like me, who own cars , sometimes for short periods, don’t use Saga as, very expensive if you leave mid term..

Reviewed on 21st January 2022
Steve Charles's avatar
Steve Charles
Get Product

Canceled policy

Was on holiday abroad and payment was cancelled and not collected when I came back I found policy canceled even though I paid by card the amount owing you still canceled it leaving me with no insurance also not happy with windshield policy as I have been Read more

Was on holiday abroad and payment was cancelled and not collected when I came back I found policy canceled even though I paid by card the amount owing you still canceled it leaving me with no insurance also not happy with windshield policy as I have been waiting 2 months for them to complete replacement of screen they have put 2 screens in and still the adas system not working properly my time and money to travel 40 miles each time 120 miles in total so far they may be cheep but you will pay for it in the end trust me
Signed a very disgruntled customer

Reviewed on 31st December 2021
Doug Warner's avatar
Doug Warner
Get Product

Don't move to a different district

I was quite happy with Saga's quote for my car insurance until I decided to move home. I informed Saga that I was moving to a different area and I wanted them to change my address on my policy. I was expecting to pay a small administration fee for this se Read more

I was quite happy with Saga's quote for my car insurance until I decided to move home. I informed Saga that I was moving to a different area and I wanted them to change my address on my policy. I was expecting to pay a small administration fee for this service. Silly me !! I was then informed by Saga that there would be an extra premium of over £100 pounds to pay, despite the fact that I had moved from London to a lower risk area.

Reviewed on 3rd December 2021
Shirley Newton's avatar
Shirley Newton
Get Product

Avoid like the plague.

At the time ( about four years ago ), I insured my car with Saga because they were the cheapest of the many quotes I'd checked out. You get what you pay for. In a subsequent accident, our car was deemed to be a write-off, primarily because the rep Read more

At the time ( about four years ago ), I insured my car with Saga because they were the cheapest of the many quotes I'd checked out. You get what you pay for.
In a subsequent accident, our car was deemed to be a write-off, primarily because the repair estimate included a number of items that were completely extraneous to the actual accident damage. After protracted negotiation, they agreed to have the car repaired, only for their appointed garage to do more damage in the course of carrying out the repair. When I had occasion to speak to them on the phone, it frequently seemed one hand never knew what the other was doing. When they ( eventually ) supplied copies of the estimates from the garage, the two estimates did not make sense with each other - a fact which they were never willing or able to explain. A lengthy complaints process resulted in a paltry payout of £200 in compensation for the appalling customer service I'd received up to that point; an additional £200 was offered when I threatened to take them either to the Ombudsman or to court. I took them to the Ombudsman, who ( surprise surprise ) sided with the insurance company, and the offer of an additional £200 compensation was upheld. Despite the decision of the Ombudsman, it was another six weeks before I finally received that cheque. I can tell you that the £400 total compensation was but a fraction of what would have been justified by the amount of time spent on e-mails, phone calls and letters, not to mention the damage done by their own appointed repairers.
If you insure your car with Saga, be prepared to end up dealing with the Ombudsman, and be prepared for the fact that that process alone will take anywhere up to a total of two years over and above the original complaint process. Be aware also that the Ombudsman will almost always side with the insurer, and regardless of this, they have no actual power to enforce their decisions in any case.
On your own head be it.

Reviewed on 8th November 2021
Mark Dellow's avatar
Mark Dellow
Get Product

Excellent Company

Great company, excellent customer service, nothing is too much trouble, and great cover levels with price protected options for a more secure future.

Reviewed on 21st October 2021
becky littlechild's avatar
becky littlechild
Get Product

Very knowledgable staff with reasonably priced policies

Staff are always so friendly and knowledgable. Policies are very reasonably priced.

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
B Kelly's avatar
B Kelly
Get Product

Efficient & friendly service

Great company great service when needed to claim

Reviewed on 12th October 2021
sarah's avatar
sarah
Get Product

Excellent cover

The policy is very comprehensive and the offer of three years at a fixed price makes it good value for money. The service received on the telephone is always courteous and helpful. Fortunately, however, I have not yet had to put it to the real test of m Read more

The policy is very comprehensive and the offer of three years at a fixed price makes it good value for money. The service received on the telephone is always courteous and helpful. Fortunately, however, I have not yet had to put it to the real test of making a claim.

Reviewed on 10th October 2021
Christopher Carter's avatar
Christopher Carter
Get Product

Why not insure with the Best

Excessively pleasant and efficient Staff and very competitive pricing. Why would you not insure with a Company that always go’s the extra mile to keep you happy.

Reviewed on 10th October 2021
Alison Matthews's avatar
Alison Matthews
Get Product

Reliable company

Always found them to be extremely helpful when giving advice on any aspect of insurance. I have always found them to be professional.

Reviewed on 10th October 2021
Malcolm Dudman's avatar
Malcolm Dudman
Get Product