Sainsburys Bank Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 117 reviews       Last review 5 days ago    

Sainsburys Bank car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Sainsburys Bank car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the...

READ MORE

Sainsburys Bank car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Sainsburys Bank car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Sainsburys Bank before, you too can write a short Sainsburys Bank car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

117 reviews

Review Sainsburys Bank's Car Insurance now

Cynical renewals policy

Waited for renewal quote until it was due in 4 weeks. Found my policy had been set to auto renew (who knew?). Switched that off and removed my card details. Got insurance with another provider. 2 weeks before renewal was due emailed me a quote considerabl Read more

Waited for renewal quote until it was due in 4 weeks. Found my policy had been set to auto renew (who knew?). Switched that off and removed my card details. Got insurance with another provider. 2 weeks before renewal was due emailed me a quote considerably higher than previous. 1 week before renewal was due. Get email saying that my insurance was being renewed, despite having switched off auto renew. I then received another saying it could not be renewed as the card was refused. A bit of a relief. So if my card had not been actively withdrawn they would have charged another despite having auto renewal switched off. Sounds illegal to me

Reviewed on 28th November 2022
Steve luckcock's avatar
Steve luckcock

Rip-off

First year: £398 pa Second year: £1186 pa 300% increase - No claims !!

Reviewed on 22nd November 2022
Don Westbrook's avatar
Don Westbrook

Avoid!

Been paying direct debit for car insurance for 2 years but when I ring them up to change address they say they will charge 25 pound for the service! Then they said I'm not even insured with them even tho they have been taking money out of my account! Do n Read more

Been paying direct debit for car insurance for 2 years but when I ring them up to change address they say they will charge 25 pound for the service! Then they said I'm not even insured with them even tho they have been taking money out of my account! Do not use this company bunch of amateurs

Reviewed on 16th November 2022
Robbo's avatar
Robbo

Do not do it

Won’t bore you with all the details but pay extra and go to a reputable car insurance company as Pukka Insurance is not one of them and Sainsburys will not help you they just take the money and run- you HAVE been warned

Reviewed on 2nd November 2022
Neil Cousins's avatar
Neil Cousins

Rip off

Been with sainsburys insurance unfortunately had pneumonia and asked if could defer payment which they never done every single one of my debts helped me except scabby sainsburys

Reviewed on 1st November 2022
Russell Smith's avatar
Russell Smith

Amateurs happy to take money

Mismanaged claims, which are outsourced to around 10 different companies to all fail on. Hidden terms and conditions. Unable to contact them and take no responsibility for complaints (expect customers to work out which of the outsourced companies you nee Read more

Mismanaged claims, which are outsourced to around 10 different companies to all fail on. Hidden terms and conditions. Unable to contact them and take no responsibility for complaints (expect customers to work out which of the outsourced companies you need to direct the complaint to even when it’s multiple failiures and unclear where the process has fallen down).

Reviewed on 11th October 2022
Steve Smith's avatar
Steve Smith

Scammers. Kept my money.

I bought car insurance by mistake with them and immediately cancelled it. Yet they kept £25 of the refund. I tried phoning to get it back and the obnoxious customer services lady just quoted a load of legal jargon at me saying I couldn't get it back. Avo Read more

I bought car insurance by mistake with them and immediately cancelled it. Yet they kept £25 of the refund. I tried phoning to get it back and the obnoxious customer services lady just quoted a load of legal jargon at me saying I couldn't get it back.
Avoid this company at all costs.

Reviewed on 5th October 2022
J's avatar
J

Great Value

Good service & great prices. Top notch.

Reviewed on 30th September 2022
Pauline's avatar
Pauline

Worst Insurance Going

Had my vehicle insured with Sainsbury's, on a failed direct I phoned up to make payment and change my direct debit details for a different bank account which was all, fine. 2 wks later I get a letter saying my insurance has been cancelled from a date 10 Read more

Had my vehicle insured with Sainsbury's, on a failed direct I phoned up to make payment and change my direct debit details for a different bank account which was all, fine. 2 wks later I get a letter saying my insurance has been cancelled from a date 10 days ago, So I've been driving about with no insurance with 2 kids in the car. I phone them to complain and told someone would ring be back to my surprise they do they accept full liability and apologise and say they will investigate, I get sent a letter containing someone else's personal details from another complaint no joke and and my letter offering me £50 compensation which I declined as I wanted the difference in cost between my old policy and the more expensive new policy ( to be fair I should of been offered 12 months free insurance) I have since Emailed numerous times and they haven't bothered to respond. Still have copies of Emails and pictures of some random persons details sent to me by there in competence. Avoid at all costs

Reviewed on 24th September 2022
AlAN MARTIN's avatar
AlAN MARTIN

Poor service, Sainsburys' stuff can't not even get through their own underwriter Pukka Services!

It has been almost 2 months since I took car insurance with Sainsburys. Next thing I know, a letter arrived on the post requesting me to call them. Tried several times and the only way to call them is to use the option to cancel my insurance with them! F Read more

It has been almost 2 months since I took car insurance with Sainsburys. Next thing I know, a letter arrived on the post requesting me to call them. Tried several times and the only way to call them is to use the option to cancel my insurance with them!
Finally, I got someone on phone (twice) just to be told that the reason they can not act on the letter they have sent to begin with it's to do with the fact that Sainsbury's own stuff can't get through their own underwriter Pukka services.
I've not even try to make a claim, I am just replying to a letter that they themselves sent to me. I do not want to think what would happen if I have to make a claim!!!

AVOID, AVOID, AVOID Sainsbury car insurance is a shambles and only there to take your money.

Reviewed on 23rd September 2022
Hernando Garcia's avatar
Hernando Garcia

Staggering premiums like a roller coaster

Took out the car insurance provided by Sainsbury's at the point for which car registration was not extracted to them from DVLA as the car just had been registerred. As a result of this, I had to choose the car model and car description manually from their Read more

Took out the car insurance provided by Sainsbury's at the point for which car registration was not extracted to them from DVLA as the car just had been registerred. As a result of this, I had to choose the car model and car description manually from their website. After the car information has been extracted to them from DVLA, I then requested the car details to be kept in line with those from DVLA, for which they gave me a quote of GBP1,350 for changing the car details. This is more than a rip off and I will not come back to them ever.

Reviewed on 21st September 2022
H Chen's avatar
H Chen

If there was 0 stars Option they would get that

Do not ever purchase this car insurance if you ever value your sanity. Most of us think we are buying car insurance from Sainsburys but we are not they use an underwriter called Pukka who then use another company to handle their incoming calls. And here i Read more

Do not ever purchase this car insurance if you ever value your sanity. Most of us think we are buying car insurance from Sainsburys but we are not they use an underwriter called Pukka who then use another company to handle their incoming calls. And here is where the problem starts. You call sainsburys because you think its them who insure you you have a sensible wait time on the phone before someone picks up and tells you “oh actually you are not insured with us. You need to call this number instead” and now the fun starts the number you call keeps you on hold for at least 2h if not more at a time staff are clueless I called another department from another phone after being on hold for 2:15h and someone picks up telling me they can’t help me if I ask if there is someone there they could put me through like a manager of some sort they say that they are there only to take call backs and there is only one other person there in the whole office and they can’t help me either. Request a call back? Forget about being called the same day its been 2 days and nothing has happened. I have had an accident a week ago yet to receive a courtesy car and they have not even started a repair on my car!!! Worse experience ever stay away!

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
Tomas Sent's avatar
Tomas Sent

Never again

I opted out of the automatic renewal of my car policy. I have the return email from Sainsbury's Bank confirming that the Policy would lapse unless I contacted them online or by email. Imagine my annoyance upon receiving a further email from Sainsbury's Read more

I opted out of the automatic renewal of my car policy. I have the return email from Sainsbury's Bank confirming that the Policy would lapse unless I contacted them online or by email. Imagine my annoyance upon receiving a further email from Sainsbury's Bank some two weeks later thanking me for renewing my Car Policy! Not only that but they had the temerity to charge my credit card with the renewal premium. With difficulty I managed to contact their call centre. I wasn't convinced that the woman who took the call understood the problem so I wrote a complaint letter. I heard nothing for 9 days (Sainsbury's Bank Complaints Procedure says I should have heard from them in 4 working days) save for a letter confirming that the Policy had lapsed. Still no refund of my credit card payment. There is no separate phone number or option button for the Complaints "Team". So I had to repeat the process of phoning the Call Centre and again explain the history. I'm hoping that a credit will appear on my credit card account soon, but still nothing twelve days after Sainsbury's Bank took the money.......

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
Ross Macmurchy's avatar
Ross Macmurchy

They are not fit for purpose

My complaint is now in the hands of the financial ombudsman. I wished I had read to shocking reviews before I purchased a policy with such a bad company.

Reviewed on 18th August 2022
Paul Bogle's avatar
Paul Bogle

Worst company ever

Unfortunately, I had to put one star to enable me to leave a review. Please do not insure your vehicle with this company as they are the worst I have ever met within the 20 years of me driving. Being unaware my insurance was not on auto renewal Sainsbu Read more

Unfortunately, I had to put one star to enable me to leave a review. Please do not insure your vehicle with this company as they are the worst I have ever met within the 20 years of me driving.
Being unaware my insurance was not on auto renewal Sainsbury's bank insurance did not feel the need to make me aware of this within my renewal e-mail. when they cancelled my insurance without my knowledge, they didn't feel the need to inform me via e-mail like all the other correspondence I had received they put it in writing, this meant I was driving without insurance until I've received a letter in writing.

I received my letter after returning home from work at 6:00 PM on a Friday evening and the company was then closed until Monday morning.

I am Otter discussed it that they did not feel it was necessary to inform their customer they would no longer have insurance via e-mail.

Constantly receiving emails of advertisements but failed to send out the most important information needed.

Reviewed on 15th August 2022
Louise Phillips's avatar
Louise Phillips

Excellent value

Best offer for insurance halved my renewal cost and had better benefits and lower excesses than other I looked at.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Jayne's avatar
Jayne

Okay if you never want to change anything - or renew

Did my renewal with Go Compare getting their £250 no Claims deal - because I didn't renew directly with Sainsburys this then meant had to set up a new account with a different email address - this is what they told me to do - and told me to add my son onl Read more

Did my renewal with Go Compare getting their £250 no Claims deal - because I didn't renew directly with Sainsburys this then meant had to set up a new account with a different email address - this is what they told me to do - and told me to add my son online

Went to add my son to the policy - couldn't do it online - wait 20 minutes in a queue - oh we won't insure young drivers

Okay if you are older and don't want to take advantage of offers - if you do - zero flexibility

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
Robert Cochran's avatar
Robert Cochran

Administration fees

I signed up for Sainsburys car insurance and decided to cancel within the 14 day cooling off period. There is no option to cancel online in this period which means you have phone them up and this means you then have to pay a £25 administration fee. Given Read more

I signed up for Sainsburys car insurance and decided to cancel within the 14 day cooling off period. There is no option to cancel online in this period which means you have phone them up and this means you then have to pay a £25 administration fee. Given this is within the cooling off period (and for me this was within 1 hour of taking out the policy!) this seems really unfair. The person on the phone just kept telling me it was an admin fee and I should have read the terms and conditions when signing up. They told me there was nothing they could do and the only way to get back the premium I paid was to forgo the admin fee. I won't be signing up with them again. Be careful!

Reviewed on 12th July 2022
MDS's avatar
MDS

Change details

I called to inform them that i would be part exchanging my car at the weekend. The person on the phone could not have been anymore off putting. She kept referring to the portal. I explained that I never received the Web reference so was unable to use the Read more

I called to inform them that i would be part exchanging my car at the weekend. The person on the phone could not have been anymore off putting. She kept referring to the portal. I explained that I never received the Web reference so was unable to use the portal.she kept repeating well we will charge you £25.00 to make the changes.i kept agreeing to pay the £25.00 .she assured me that she would resend the Web reference (never arrived)to allow me to make changes without having to pay £25.00 in future. I now want the change the registration number !!! Looks like another long phone call and paying another £25.00.
This will be the last time using Sainsburys insurance.

Reviewed on 8th July 2022
Martin Brayshaw's avatar
Martin Brayshaw

Difficult to contact

Have tried numerous times this week to contact by phone, sometimes waiting 20mins. Kept hearing " a member of the team will be with you shortly." Although one is informed that they are busy and maybe go on line, there is no time given to wait or queue num Read more

Have tried numerous times this week to contact by phone, sometimes waiting 20mins. Kept hearing " a member of the team will be with you shortly." Although one is informed that they are busy and maybe go on line, there is no time given to wait or queue number system. Had this experience last month and when i eventually got through, decided to close one of my accounts. Now will be doing it again. Unacceptable service.

Reviewed on 1st July 2022
L.Roberts's avatar
L.Roberts