Churchill Insurance Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 183 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    

Churchill car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Churchill car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process....

READ MORE

Churchill car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Churchill car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Churchill before, you too can write a short Churchill car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

183 reviews

Review Churchill Insurance's Car Insurance now

Ripe Off Cancellation fees

Their cancelation fee is £53.76 - which at the time of purchase I didn't notice. I have today cancelled my policy having sold my car, and the remaining time on the policy is? Exactly £53.76! A rip off.

Reviewed on 11th November 2022
Ava Hunt's avatar
Ava Hunt

Shocking service for claims

I had an accident on 1st November, got the car recovered with emergency assist and alerted churchill straight away. It then took them one week just to get the car recovered to an approved repair garage, and this was after at least ten phone calls to Churc Read more

I had an accident on 1st November, got the car recovered with emergency assist and alerted churchill straight away. It then took them one week just to get the car recovered to an approved repair garage, and this was after at least ten phone calls to Churchill taking between 20-40mins each due to long wait times and transfer between colleagues. I also had to call the garage and recovery company myself multiple times due to Churchill not giving them the correct information. At one point I was told that my car could not be found. I was told that a courtesy car would only be available once the vehicle had been assessed at the repair garage, however there have been constant delays in getting this sorted, and even now more than a week on I have not had a concrete response as to if and when this will be provided. All this stress on top of having a car accident, as well as trying to juggle working as a doctor in the nhs, needing to travel long distances to and from the hospital at unsocial hours with limited public transport available. I have raised a complaint and will not be recommending churchill to anyone.

Reviewed on 9th November 2022
RG's avatar
RG

CEO Penny James Failed to Respond

Accident on the 9th October 2022, still waiting for a response from CEO Penny James. No formal decision made by this organisation regarding the car after 4 weeks of me personally chasing for an answer for several weeks. Employees of Churchill informed me Read more

Accident on the 9th October 2022, still waiting for a response from CEO Penny James. No formal decision made by this organisation regarding the car after 4 weeks of me personally chasing for an answer for several weeks. Employees of Churchill informed me of huge delays and failures with internal processes leading to significant delays for many customers. We have had no vehicle or decision for nearly 4 weeks. Churchill Insurance are still taking the monthly direct debit. Even though I have escalated on numerous occasions no one follow up with any solutions . Shocking organisation, they are taking money from us without providing the service promised in the insurance policy in a reasonable time scale. Avoid this organisation and any other part of the group such as , Direct Line insurance, Green Flag etc.

Reviewed on 8th November 2022
Brian Reeder's avatar
Brian Reeder

A very difficult claims department to deal witj

Inconsistent information given during the claims process. More traumatic than the incident. Claims team need more training in customer care

Reviewed on 27th October 2022
Ellie Kingus's avatar
Ellie Kingus

Breach of agreement

My son has car insurance with Churchill his DD is going through his sisters bank they were meant to take payment today but haven’t we have all the paperwork saying it is all set up and now they’re saying it can’t be done like this and if they haven’t rece Read more

My son has car insurance with Churchill his DD is going through his sisters bank they were meant to take payment today but haven’t we have all the paperwork saying it is all set up and now they’re saying it can’t be done like this and if they haven’t received payment in 3 days they are cancelling the insurance. Surely this is a breach of there agreement.

Reviewed on 14th October 2022
Angry 's avatar
Angry

Worst experience ever

A drunk driver crashed into our car parked on the road outside our home in the middle of the night. Seven days later we're still without a temp replacement car, have still no information about whether our car is repairable and if not what value are they p Read more

A drunk driver crashed into our car parked on the road outside our home in the middle of the night. Seven days later we're still without a temp replacement car, have still no information about whether our car is repairable and if not what value are they placing on it if written off. Cant get through to them on the telephone. When I do I 've spoken to someone different EVERY time and had to start from scratch to fill the operator in on our case....we will NEVER go with this company again....awful...avoid at all costs.

Reviewed on 10th October 2022
Yorkshire Lass's avatar
Yorkshire Lass

Flawless

Within my year of cover, I had to change address and also cancel my cover early. On every occasion, they surpassed themselves with customer service.

Reviewed on 21st September 2022
E R P's avatar
E R P

Car Insurance

Been with churchill for years, since they started and always been happy with the service.

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
Antony Dady's avatar
Antony Dady

good cover

I compared cover and although not the cheapest it had the cover I wanted

Reviewed on 15th September 2022
D's avatar
D

Avoid

Avoid like the plague: 1. Claim process is as clear as mud to the point they are deliberately deceiving you. 2. When an accident happens they will hire substandard pick up services and garages. Takes ages to get picked up and repair the car if they Read more

Avoid like the plague:

1. Claim process is as clear as mud to the point they are deliberately deceiving you.

2. When an accident happens they will hire substandard pick up services and garages. Takes ages to get picked up and repair the car if they bother at all.

3. Getting a courtesy car is like getting blood out a stone.

4. They will drag out returning your no claims discount, all the while claiming they have a crack team of solicitors on when it reality they are doing nothing. Don't expect to see your money for over 6 months.

Reviewed on 10th September 2022
Alex Root's avatar
Alex Root

Easy to make claim

Had to make a claim previously very easy process and dealt with effectively

Reviewed on 31st August 2022
Kw22's avatar
Kw22

Terrible company

i had a years car insurance with churchill and when i came up for renewal i got a cheaper quote with an alternative supplier so i decided to cancel and move. Thats when the trouble started, trying to talk to someone here is a nightmare, on hold for hours Read more

i had a years car insurance with churchill and when i came up for renewal i got a cheaper quote with an alternative supplier so i decided to cancel and move. Thats when the trouble started, trying to talk to someone here is a nightmare, on hold for hours and then getting cut off so you have to start again, it literally took hours to get through to someone. anyway eventually i did and so i cancelled the policy. and took out insurance with the new provider however a month later Churchill took the full years premium from my credit card without my permission meaning i had to go through the hell of trying to talk to someone again. when i did get through to someone they were rude and told me that i needed to prove i had alternative insurance in place before they would cancel the policy and consider a refund, so i gave them the details of the other policy and then they refused to give a refund until they listened to the call. absolute crooks they have taken my money without my consent and refused to refund me even though i left them because they were too expensive. terrible customer service, AVOID AVOID AVOID!

Reviewed on 22nd August 2022
Julian Salmon's avatar
Julian Salmon

Do they really want business

Rerun of last year. Renewal quote is £321.85. confused quote, same company £193.00. tried to accept confused quote, the link failed with the message "sorry, this email address is already in use" exactly what happened last year. Tried to call them, after 1 Read more

Rerun of last year. Renewal quote is £321.85. confused quote, same company £193.00. tried to accept confused quote, the link failed with the message "sorry, this email address is already in use" exactly what happened last year. Tried to call them, after 10 mins of listening to crap music and really irritating guy telling me soon soon,gave up. I'll go somewhere else, anywhwere

Reviewed on 19th August 2022
Martin martin's avatar
Martin martin

TERRIBLE SERVICE

They will not answer the phone. I have had car insurance with them for a number of years but I needed to negotiate the insurance price and no one will answer the phone. I have literally spent over two hours on the phone but cannot get an answer. I can get Read more

They will not answer the phone. I have had car insurance with them for a number of years but I needed to negotiate the insurance price and no one will answer the phone. I have literally spent over two hours on the phone but cannot get an answer. I can get a better price on a price comparison site and that is where I am going. Churchill do not want my business.

Reviewed on 15th August 2022
Caroline Downer's avatar
Caroline Downer

Expensive

Wanted to charge me double what other companies were charging with 6 years no claims. They were too busy to discuss renewal prices so I cancelled online

Reviewed on 14th August 2022
Chloe Aston's avatar
Chloe Aston

Amazing

I love how easy it is to access the account information and make changes. It makes everything so hassle free and prevents time wasting being on hold on the phone for ages.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Lisa's avatar
Lisa

Fantastic service

Amazing customer service regarding claims. Easy to use online account and access documentation.

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
SJ's avatar
SJ

Terrible phone service and poor communication

I had a car accident and called Churchill to submit a claim, during this process I was hung up on twice with the person I was speaking to. In the end I used another service to pick my car up and submitted the claim online. When it became apparent my car w Read more

I had a car accident and called Churchill to submit a claim, during this process I was hung up on twice with the person I was speaking to. In the end I used another service to pick my car up and submitted the claim online. When it became apparent my car was a write off I waited the time they said for the money to be paid into my account. When this period of time came and went I called churchill (taking close to 45 minutes to speak to someone) and the person I spoke to said it had not been submitted to finance as they did not know who was the owner of the car. This was shocking to me as 1. when I last spoke to someone on the phone they said they had all the information they needed to be able to process the payment 2. if they needed information from me, why did they wait for me to call, why did they not get in contact with me. I also asked for confirmation by email that we had the conversation and that the payment was being processed. I am yet to receive any confirmation.
All this is very infuriating at need the money to be able to buy another car, which is essential for me to do my job. I definitely will not be renewing with churchill insurance once I am at the end of my contract.

Reviewed on 8th August 2022
Rosie's avatar
Rosie

Terrible customer service

When trying to make changes online website continually crashes saying “something went wrong! We are working on this” leaving no option but to call customer services (never respond to emails, even when you directly email the person dealing with your claim) Read more

When trying to make changes online website continually crashes saying “something went wrong! We are working on this” leaving no option but to call customer services (never respond to emails, even when you directly email the person dealing with your claim) so….. call customer services and wait an eternity just to speak to someone who says they will call you back but never do. Waste of time, won’t be renewing with Churchill.

Reviewed on 6th August 2022
Disgruntled's avatar
Disgruntled

Long waits on phone

I have been trying to talk to Churchill customer service for 3 days cut off twice and when I did get a customer service advisor could not help put me through to another department back on hold again shambles

Reviewed on 25th July 2022
david king's avatar
david king