The Co-operative Bank Business Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 58 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

The Co-operative Bank business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at The Co-operative Bank is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance ...

READ MORE

The Co-operative Bank business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at The Co-operative Bank is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to many business owners, Smart Money People is becoming the UK's leading source of The Co-operative Bank business banking reviews. Remember that you can write yours too, and join our mission to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Poor

1

2

3

4

5

The Co-operative Bank Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Speed

26% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 45-54

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Business Account Reviews

58 reviews

Review The Co-operative Bank's Business Account now

Worst business bank ever

Oh dear, only if they would answer the phone and not keep you on hold over 1 hour plus

Reviewed on 2nd May 2022
Howard Galley's avatar
Howard Galley

online banking unusably bad for business banking

The latest update has made the online banking unusably bad. As a business we pay everyone by BACS in batches of payments, the new interface is literally giving me RSI there is so much mouse clicking. Eg to select a payee I used to type the first 3 letters Read more

The latest update has made the online banking unusably bad. As a business we pay everyone by BACS in batches of payments, the new interface is literally giving me RSI there is so much mouse clicking. Eg to select a payee I used to type the first 3 letters and it would autocomplete, now I have to go through 3 different screens with lots of mouse clicking to do what used to take literally 3 keystrokes. And to make 20 payments I have to select the account I am paying from 20 times over, where is the sense in that? And for half the payees it says "we think this is a scam" and make you jump through hoops to pay someone you've paid dozens of times before.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
graham's avatar
graham

co-op telephone banking

I have found the staff helpful when I needed to speak to them.The problem is that to actually get to speak to them, you need to have an hour or more to waste.This banking service is the worst I have ever known.

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
garry's avatar
garry

Uncooperative bank

The App & banking platform is outdated. I have had worst ever Buisines banking experience. To be honest one star is too much, but there is no option for zero. This bank is not fit for purpose, you have to wait nearly two hours to talk to someone and still Read more

The App & banking platform is outdated. I have had worst ever Buisines banking experience. To be honest one star is too much, but there is no option for zero. This bank is not fit for purpose, you have to wait nearly two hours to talk to someone and still they can’t have answers to problems that the bank have created. Don’t go near this bank.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
General Queries's avatar
General Queries

Two hours waiting for them to answer

Tried to make payments from my account but get to submit and I get internal server error. This goes on for two days. In the end I have to phone. Over two hours before I get through. Explain the problem only to be told yes we know about that. IT issue. Why Read more

Tried to make payments from my account but get to submit and I get internal server error. This goes on for two days. In the end I have to phone. Over two hours before I get through. Explain the problem only to be told yes we know about that. IT issue. Why not put that on the app etc.

Reviewed on 24th March 2022
Steven 's avatar
Steven

destroyed a usable interface. Now not fit for purpose

waste of time after 10 years I really need to switch

Reviewed on 24th March 2022
William Mobsby's avatar
William Mobsby

Utterly usekess

DO NOT BANK WITH CO-OP. With them for over 10 years. During Covid, their customer service went awol. Gave up on them, switched personal account and 2 business accounts to new challenger banks. Filled in the forms to close the business accounts, weeks ago Read more

DO NOT BANK WITH CO-OP. With them for over 10 years. During Covid, their customer service went awol. Gave up on them, switched personal account and 2 business accounts to new challenger banks. Filled in the forms to close the business accounts, weeks ago abs they still haven’t closed them and I’m receiving statements with service charges. Any contact them or resolve it as no one knows anything. Feels like a bank in terminal mode. Good riddance if so

Reviewed on 23rd March 2022
patrick blower's avatar
patrick blower

Don't do it! Do not open a business account with the Co Operative

It could not be any worse, I have NEVER known anything as bad as my recently opened Co Operative Business account. It's been weeks, and I cannot get registered for online banking, cannot get a token. I have filled in the form and sent it, also tried the A Read more

It could not be any worse, I have NEVER known anything as bad as my recently opened Co Operative Business account. It's been weeks, and I cannot get registered for online banking, cannot get a token. I have filled in the form and sent it, also tried the App, and I've spent hours waiting on the phone, WITHOUT actually speaking to ANYONE. It constantly says that the wait on the phone is 30 minutes, but so far today, I've been waiting almost an hour (I'm writing this as I wait on the phone); and yesterday over 40 minutes of waiting, without speaking to anyone. I run businesses, I do not have this time to waste.
You have been warned.
Seriously, if you require expedient and efficient business banking, with the facility to move funds online, DON'T touch use the Co Op.

I was on the phone trying to get through to Co Op business, and after around an hour on the phone, I got, through, gave my account number, and said politely "I can't believe that I have actually managed to get through to speak to a Human..." He then cut me off...

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Matthew Dowling's avatar
Matthew Dowling

Customer service

I have called the customer care team yesterday and spoke to Kurtis after the brilliant and the extraordinary help she provided me I felt as a duty to leave this feedback to her dedicated work, professionalism and also to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU to help me Read more

I have called the customer care team yesterday and spoke to Kurtis after the brilliant and the extraordinary help she provided me I felt as a duty to leave this feedback to her dedicated work, professionalism and also to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU to help me sort out my issue. Ali Brahimi.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Ali Brahimi's avatar
Ali Brahimi

useless banking assistance and part two the clowns in mortgage section management.

My wife and I have been with the bank for many years and during that period felt it was a service no better than the other trolls in the banking system. The co-op has become a poor service provider in service and is clearly inept with issues for its cust Read more

My wife and I have been with the bank for many years and during that period felt it was a service no better than the other trolls in the banking system.
The co-op has become a poor service provider in service and is clearly inept with issues for its customers.
Having no debt we use the bank as a system to pay like many payments due and expect when trying to discuss an issue in the past 24 hours to be far better.
I waited 55 min and no help was provided with their cut-down work from home system. Seems according to staff they have cut down their staffing levels.
I called them a 5 pm and waited until 6 pm. Only to be informed they are now closed at 6 pm.

after 6 pm in an attempt to complain about two issues and the member of staff down south said I needed to call back in the morning.. I used the lost card help to indicate the poor service they were not interested in the matter.

Between the bad service and another issue with the mortgage section, I feel it is clearly time to get rid of the cost-cutting bank and find another that has more than 2 stars .
Would I recommend them years ago I would have, but they are now so bad /terrible at answering the phone, that's life when staff work from home.
My wife and I will look for better service if there is such an option in this day and age.

Consider yourself less than a 1-star credit card and other cards will be closed off.
Just terrible customer care .....hope all reading this review pay attention give them a miss.

Reviewed on 7th March 2022
Frank Gardiner's avatar
Frank Gardiner

Impossible to register for on line banking

Co op bank requires their token to be registered by phone. Impossible to get through waited over an hour twice did not get through. Close your account this bank is truly dreadful. They awarded 10 million pounds in bonus to Staff. !!!!!

Reviewed on 7th March 2022
Derek Legg's avatar
Derek Legg

Ethical bank

Fair and ethical bank, based on co-operative values for 150 years. This is why I've banked with them. Their customer service hasn't always been great, which is why I didn't give top stars, but they do try to put things right .

Reviewed on 24th February 2022
SusannaC's avatar
SusannaC

Impossible to get any answers

Beware don't expect a new account to be quick if you have to contact customer services be prepared to wait in a phone que for 40-50 mins each time you phone them. Opened a Every day extra Joint account on the 20th January online , still cant use the acco Read more

Beware don't expect a new account to be quick if you have to contact customer services be prepared to wait in a phone que for 40-50 mins each time you phone them.
Opened a Every day extra Joint account on the 20th January online , still cant use the account as of today 17th February as the switching service hasn't been instigated despite me applying online and also apply
a second time by phone ,had to phone up to chase debit cards , pins numbers also phoned to reinstate the switch over a week ago ,phoned again today the advisor said he would check and ring me back ,still waiting .
Overhaul probably the worst service ever with very little customer care if any

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Ralph Green's avatar
Ralph Green

Impossible to get any answers

Beware don't expect a new account to be quick if you have to contact customer services be prepared to wait in a phone que for 40-50 mins each time you phone them. Opened a Every day extra Joint account on the 20th January online , still cant use the acco Read more

Beware don't expect a new account to be quick if you have to contact customer services be prepared to wait in a phone que for 40-50 mins each time you phone them.
Opened a Every day extra Joint account on the 20th January online , still cant use the account as of today 17th February as the switching service hasn't been instigated despite me applying online and also apply
a second time by phone ,had to phone up to chase debit cards , pins numbers also phoned to reinstate the switch over a week ago ,phoned again today the advisor said he would check and ring me back ,still waiting .
Overhaul probably the worst service ever with very little customer care if any

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Ralph Green's avatar
Ralph Green

The worst app & customer service EVER

Utterly & totally useless, the wait time on the phone? At least 1 hour, four times this week alone AND STILL THE MATTER IS NOT SORTED. i would never use them again

Reviewed on 10th February 2022
Gary Drew's avatar
Gary Drew

Business banking the worst ever

After waiting over two months to get my login details and fob, I have to spend another hour on the phone waiting to get it authorised. Security is a joke! One of the main questions is what was the number of the last bank statement, how do you know when y Read more

After waiting over two months to get my login details and fob, I have to spend another hour on the phone waiting to get it authorised.
Security is a joke! One of the main questions is what was the number of the last bank statement, how do you know when you can't actually access the bank account?
Expect to await over an hour each time you ring.
Finally got my online banking authorised and I accidentally hit the back key, that's it thrown out, unable to get in and all I was trying to do is find out what happened to the payment I'd asked to be paid an hour earlier.
Nowhere does it say, if you make a payment after 8pm it won't show up straight away, it gives you some strange message which meant nothing to me
I look after clients with a variety of difference bank accounts, none of them have had as many problems as there on this account. HSBC took a week to set up from requesting access to the account and the fob arriving.
Printing statements aren't user friendly either.
I am currently writing this whilst waiting to see if I will be able to get back into the bank today or if I have to ring the bank again tomorrow, where I will fail security because I didn't get as far as printing the bank statement off.
Anyone thinking of using this bank don't, there are much better banks around.
Having spoken to the call centre many times trying to get access to this account, they have been short staffed for a long time and are trying to recruit so to anyone thinking of taking a job here, don't, all you will get is grief from unhappy customers.

Reviewed on 24th January 2022
Katherine's avatar
Katherine

website too bad

their online banking too slow and down many time

Reviewed on 20th January 2022
Meena Kumar's avatar
Meena Kumar

Worst banking experience in 30 years.

The single worst bank I have ever dealt with in 30 years of business banking!! -Impossible to log in for online banking. -On hold for 2 hours at a time with Telephone banking.EVERY TIME. - Transactions arranged after 2 hours on hold are then not carrie Read more

The single worst bank I have ever dealt with in 30 years of business banking!!
-Impossible to log in for online banking.
-On hold for 2 hours at a time with Telephone banking.EVERY TIME.
- Transactions arranged after 2 hours on hold are then not carried out, so another call of 2 hours is needed.
-Thousands of pounds held for months without access via online, telephone or personal banking.
- I could list so much, but haven't the will to carry on.
Needless to say, I will be closing my account.
Although, "notice has to be sent by written letter and will take 6 weeks to action".
Business banking??
One word: RIDICULOUS!!!

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
AroraTattooStudio's avatar
AroraTattooStudio

Would liked to have had the option to have given zero

Trying to close account, have sent form but had no response. Phone waiting time quoted as 60+ minutes. this is not a banking service.

Reviewed on 22nd December 2021
D DANDO's avatar
D DANDO

Pathetic

I have been trying to close my business account for over 6 weeks now ( because it is so archaic ) you have to fill a form in and post it ( so 1980's ) someone actually did call me 10 days ago and said they would call me in a couple of days to complete the Read more

I have been trying to close my business account for over 6 weeks now ( because it is so archaic ) you have to fill a form in and post it ( so 1980's ) someone actually did call me 10 days ago and said they would call me in a couple of days to complete the closure , still waiting ! I have been a customer since 2006 and they have gradually gone down hill

Reviewed on 21st December 2021
Robert Perry's avatar
Robert Perry