The Co-operative Bank Business Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 65 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

The Co-operative Bank business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at The Co-operative Bank is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to many business owners, Smart Money...

READ MORE

The Co-operative Bank business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at The Co-operative Bank is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to many business owners, Smart Money People is becoming the UK's leading source of The Co-operative Bank business banking reviews. Remember that you can write yours too, and join our mission to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Poor

1

2

3

4

5

Your Business Account Reviews

65 reviews

Review The Co-operative Bank's Business Account now

Such a Shame

It's such a shame. I wanted to bank with co-op for ethical reasons but it's just not worth the hassle. Their systems are archaic, inefficient and slow. Customer services is under resourced and have very little power to help with issues as they're restrict Read more

It's such a shame. I wanted to bank with co-op for ethical reasons but it's just not worth the hassle. Their systems are archaic, inefficient and slow. Customer services is under resourced and have very little power to help with issues as they're restricted by the inefficient systems in place.

The simplest of things takes forever, every time you try and contact them you're on hold for ages and very little is resolved. I just don't have the time, they're slowing down the effective running of my business so sadly I will be taking my custom elsewhere. This is my second time trying business banking with co-op, I convinced myself to give them another go and immediately regretted it.

Reviewed on 7th October 2022
Tim Walker's avatar
Tim Walker

Dark ages

I foolishly moved to the Coop for the free business banking, but the app is shockingly bad. Don't try and look for transactions over 1 month old - not in the app. Don't try and set up a new transfer...and when you manage that, don't expect to be able to t Read more

I foolishly moved to the Coop for the free business banking, but the app is shockingly bad. Don't try and look for transactions over 1 month old - not in the app. Don't try and set up a new transfer...and when you manage that, don't expect to be able to transfer any money to it for hours / days whilst it is checked. And please, don't try and call the bank unless you are in working hours and have hours to spare. Not been with them a year yet and transferring out to a proper bank.

Reviewed on 3rd September 2022
Ninja Bear's avatar
Ninja Bear

Utterly useless

If you enjoy waiting on hold for 30 minutes each time you need to contact them because their other methods are useless, this may be the bank for you. Add that to some of the rudest stuff I’ve met and the bad service then overall this was a bank that after Read more

If you enjoy waiting on hold for 30 minutes each time you need to contact them because their other methods are useless, this may be the bank for you. Add that to some of the rudest stuff I’ve met and the bad service then overall this was a bank that after years of being with I am no longer.

Sadly they are not ethical or intelligent.

Reviewed on 19th August 2022
Gareth Beaumont's avatar
Gareth Beaumont

Not crypto friendly

They assume all crypto transactions are fraud A trillion dollar industry just dismissed as fraud And they won’t allow their customers to participate in investing in crypto Yes that’s right, they refuse to allow you to spend your own money on som Read more

They assume all crypto transactions are fraud

A trillion dollar industry just dismissed as fraud

And they won’t allow their customers to participate in investing in crypto

Yes that’s right, they refuse to allow you to spend your own money on something legal and freely available to the customers of other uk banks

Reviewed on 29th July 2022
Joe Harrison's avatar
Joe Harrison

Antiquated

I used Co Operative business banking because it was free through the FSB. However I've now moved to a business bank that charges a fee, it's just not worth getting something for nothing if it's not fit for purpose. The website and the app are clunky, lack Read more

I used Co Operative business banking because it was free through the FSB. However I've now moved to a business bank that charges a fee, it's just not worth getting something for nothing if it's not fit for purpose. The website and the app are clunky, lacking vital features and way too slow. If I want to pay for something online using my business bank card, it asks for a pass code that I never set up in the first place. Trying to contact customer services is a joke. Even closing the account is a nightmare. I sent the paperwork to them 9 weeks ago, it's still not closed. The Co Op is so antique that platforms like Free Agent don't even recognise them.

Reviewed on 14th July 2022
Steven Jenkins's avatar
Steven Jenkins

A bit of a joke

I use the Co-op because as FSB member I can get an overdraft without a setup fee. Recently I needed an increase in the overdraft facility and having filled out forms and listed all the partners' assets and attached recent accounts I eventually got the re Read more

I use the Co-op because as FSB member I can get an overdraft without a setup fee.
Recently I needed an increase in the overdraft facility and having filled out forms and listed all the partners' assets and attached recent accounts I eventually got the reply that our "turnover of the business would not support an overdraft of the requested size" which would clearly be nonsense to anyone who had studied our accounts. I questioned this and sent budget figures and our own accounts and got a reply saying "We have carefully reviewed the extra information you sent to us and unfortunately, we are unable to accept your application." They won't reveal what their criteria for lending are but say "I can log this as a complaint for you, although it will not be upheld as we have acted in line with bank policy" which I have to take on trust as they won't reveal what their policy is. Aaaaaaaargh!
They also updated their app and website in March and neither now shows who payments are to and from. They have known about this since then but have still not sorted it at the end of June! I have to question whether the fee-free overdraft is worth the hassle of dealing with this incompetent shower.

Reviewed on 29th June 2022
James Cope's avatar
James Cope

Terrible customer service

Used to be good to deal with, now they really don't seem to care. Failed to put through my regular salary payment, then failed to pick up the phone after 45 minutes, when I called to see what had happened. I made a complaint online which they then took 2 Read more

Used to be good to deal with, now they really don't seem to care. Failed to put through my regular salary payment, then failed to pick up the phone after 45 minutes, when I called to see what had happened. I made a complaint online which they then took 2 months to respond to. The response was poorly written, without a signatory. It did not address the issues I'd raised and did not accept any responsibility for the error or poor service I'd received. Not what you expect from a major bank. Avoid.

Reviewed on 23rd May 2022
Jonathan Fitzgerald's avatar
Jonathan Fitzgerald

Worst business bank ever

Oh dear, only if they would answer the phone and not keep you on hold over 1 hour plus

Reviewed on 2nd May 2022
Howard Galley's avatar
Howard Galley

online banking unusably bad for business banking

The latest update has made the online banking unusably bad. As a business we pay everyone by BACS in batches of payments, the new interface is literally giving me RSI there is so much mouse clicking. Eg to select a payee I used to type the first 3 letters Read more

The latest update has made the online banking unusably bad. As a business we pay everyone by BACS in batches of payments, the new interface is literally giving me RSI there is so much mouse clicking. Eg to select a payee I used to type the first 3 letters and it would autocomplete, now I have to go through 3 different screens with lots of mouse clicking to do what used to take literally 3 keystrokes. And to make 20 payments I have to select the account I am paying from 20 times over, where is the sense in that? And for half the payees it says "we think this is a scam" and make you jump through hoops to pay someone you've paid dozens of times before.

Reviewed on 12th April 2022
graham's avatar
graham

co-op telephone banking

I have found the staff helpful when I needed to speak to them.The problem is that to actually get to speak to them, you need to have an hour or more to waste.This banking service is the worst I have ever known.

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
garry's avatar
garry

Uncooperative bank

The App & banking platform is outdated. I have had worst ever Buisines banking experience. To be honest one star is too much, but there is no option for zero. This bank is not fit for purpose, you have to wait nearly two hours to talk to someone and still Read more

The App & banking platform is outdated. I have had worst ever Buisines banking experience. To be honest one star is too much, but there is no option for zero. This bank is not fit for purpose, you have to wait nearly two hours to talk to someone and still they can’t have answers to problems that the bank have created. Don’t go near this bank.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
General Queries's avatar
General Queries

Two hours waiting for them to answer

Tried to make payments from my account but get to submit and I get internal server error. This goes on for two days. In the end I have to phone. Over two hours before I get through. Explain the problem only to be told yes we know about that. IT issue. Why Read more

Tried to make payments from my account but get to submit and I get internal server error. This goes on for two days. In the end I have to phone. Over two hours before I get through. Explain the problem only to be told yes we know about that. IT issue. Why not put that on the app etc.

Reviewed on 24th March 2022
Steven 's avatar
Steven

destroyed a usable interface. Now not fit for purpose

waste of time after 10 years I really need to switch

Reviewed on 24th March 2022
William Mobsby's avatar
William Mobsby

Utterly usekess

DO NOT BANK WITH CO-OP. With them for over 10 years. During Covid, their customer service went awol. Gave up on them, switched personal account and 2 business accounts to new challenger banks. Filled in the forms to close the business accounts, weeks ago Read more

DO NOT BANK WITH CO-OP. With them for over 10 years. During Covid, their customer service went awol. Gave up on them, switched personal account and 2 business accounts to new challenger banks. Filled in the forms to close the business accounts, weeks ago abs they still haven’t closed them and I’m receiving statements with service charges. Any contact them or resolve it as no one knows anything. Feels like a bank in terminal mode. Good riddance if so

Reviewed on 23rd March 2022
patrick blower's avatar
patrick blower

Don't do it! Do not open a business account with the Co Operative

It could not be any worse, I have NEVER known anything as bad as my recently opened Co Operative Business account. It's been weeks, and I cannot get registered for online banking, cannot get a token. I have filled in the form and sent it, also tried the A Read more

It could not be any worse, I have NEVER known anything as bad as my recently opened Co Operative Business account. It's been weeks, and I cannot get registered for online banking, cannot get a token. I have filled in the form and sent it, also tried the App, and I've spent hours waiting on the phone, WITHOUT actually speaking to ANYONE. It constantly says that the wait on the phone is 30 minutes, but so far today, I've been waiting almost an hour (I'm writing this as I wait on the phone); and yesterday over 40 minutes of waiting, without speaking to anyone. I run businesses, I do not have this time to waste.
You have been warned.
Seriously, if you require expedient and efficient business banking, with the facility to move funds online, DON'T touch use the Co Op.

I was on the phone trying to get through to Co Op business, and after around an hour on the phone, I got, through, gave my account number, and said politely "I can't believe that I have actually managed to get through to speak to a Human..." He then cut me off...

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Matthew Dowling's avatar
Matthew Dowling

Customer service

I have called the customer care team yesterday and spoke to Kurtis after the brilliant and the extraordinary help she provided me I felt as a duty to leave this feedback to her dedicated work, professionalism and also to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU to help me Read more

I have called the customer care team yesterday and spoke to Kurtis after the brilliant and the extraordinary help she provided me I felt as a duty to leave this feedback to her dedicated work, professionalism and also to say a MASSIVE THANK YOU to help me sort out my issue. Ali Brahimi.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Ali Brahimi's avatar
Ali Brahimi

useless banking assistance and part two the clowns in mortgage section management.

My wife and I have been with the bank for many years and during that period felt it was a service no better than the other trolls in the banking system. The co-op has become a poor service provider in service and is clearly inept with issues for its cust Read more

My wife and I have been with the bank for many years and during that period felt it was a service no better than the other trolls in the banking system.
The co-op has become a poor service provider in service and is clearly inept with issues for its customers.
Having no debt we use the bank as a system to pay like many payments due and expect when trying to discuss an issue in the past 24 hours to be far better.
I waited 55 min and no help was provided with their cut-down work from home system. Seems according to staff they have cut down their staffing levels.
I called them a 5 pm and waited until 6 pm. Only to be informed they are now closed at 6 pm.

after 6 pm in an attempt to complain about two issues and the member of staff down south said I needed to call back in the morning.. I used the lost card help to indicate the poor service they were not interested in the matter.

Between the bad service and another issue with the mortgage section, I feel it is clearly time to get rid of the cost-cutting bank and find another that has more than 2 stars .
Would I recommend them years ago I would have, but they are now so bad /terrible at answering the phone, that's life when staff work from home.
My wife and I will look for better service if there is such an option in this day and age.

Consider yourself less than a 1-star credit card and other cards will be closed off.
Just terrible customer care .....hope all reading this review pay attention give them a miss.

Reviewed on 7th March 2022
Frank Gardiner's avatar
Frank Gardiner

Impossible to register for on line banking

Co op bank requires their token to be registered by phone. Impossible to get through waited over an hour twice did not get through. Close your account this bank is truly dreadful. They awarded 10 million pounds in bonus to Staff. !!!!!

Reviewed on 7th March 2022
Derek Legg's avatar
Derek Legg

Ethical bank

Fair and ethical bank, based on co-operative values for 150 years. This is why I've banked with them. Their customer service hasn't always been great, which is why I didn't give top stars, but they do try to put things right .

Reviewed on 24th February 2022
SusannaC's avatar
SusannaC

Impossible to get any answers

Beware don't expect a new account to be quick if you have to contact customer services be prepared to wait in a phone que for 40-50 mins each time you phone them. Opened a Every day extra Joint account on the 20th January online , still cant use the acco Read more

Beware don't expect a new account to be quick if you have to contact customer services be prepared to wait in a phone que for 40-50 mins each time you phone them.
Opened a Every day extra Joint account on the 20th January online , still cant use the account as of today 17th February as the switching service hasn't been instigated despite me applying online and also apply
a second time by phone ,had to phone up to chase debit cards , pins numbers also phoned to reinstate the switch over a week ago ,phoned again today the advisor said he would check and ring me back ,still waiting .
Overhaul probably the worst service ever with very little customer care if any

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Ralph Green's avatar
Ralph Green