Metro Bank Business Banking Reviews

  Ratings based on 470 reviews       Last review 4 months ago    

Metro Bank business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at Metro Bank is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to many business owners, Smart Money People is...

READ MORE

Metro Bank business banking reviews at Smart Money People are helping other business people to fund out what being a business banking customer at Metro Bank is really like. With business banking and aspects such as access to finance being so important to many business owners, Smart Money People is becoming the UK's leading source of Metro Bank business banking reviews. Remember that you can write yours too, and join our mission to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Your Business Banking Reviews

470 reviews

Review Metro Bank's Business Banking now

Not business friendly banking - AVOID!

Decided to switch all my banking over to Metro Bank. Opened a personal current account, sole trader account, limited company business account with a client account facility. Took 6 weeks to get an initial appointment to open a business account in branch. Read more

Decided to switch all my banking over to Metro Bank. Opened a personal current account, sole trader account, limited company business account with a client account facility.
Took 6 weeks to get an initial appointment to open a business account in branch. My clent account was restricted pending my company approval for regulation. Once regulator approved it, I submitted my approval letter. Client paid into client account and payment bounced back. Queried this and Metro Bank, without warning, restricted the account again. Took a week to sort it out but nonetheless got it open again. 10 days later another client deposited money into my client account and same again, money bounced. Yet again without warning this joke of a bank restricted my account. After numerous emails, phone calls and branch visits, I receive a letter telling me they are closing my client account as "the bank no longer has the appetite for this type of account"
I closed all of my accounts with them after this and bid them good riddance. Going to Lloyds, have banked with them for years and should have just stayed.
Conclusion, if cash flow, getting paid and being informed of changes is important to you as a business person, then avoid this bank at all costs. If not, then I'm sure they're great. Their branches certainly look nice.

Reviewed on 1st August 2022
Mohsin Khan's avatar
Mohsin Khan

Opening a bank account

After 4 months of trying to open a business account for a freehold management company, we were turned down because one of the four directors lived in Pakistan. Doesn't smell right to me. Why did it take so long? Useless beyond belief. Good luck Britain!!

Reviewed on 13th May 2022
Jack's avatar
Jack

App has problems every time they do an upgrade

How does a bank upgrade their app and not test it before going live when the 'new version' doesn't allow a business account to setup new payees without having to phone in? Everytime they upgrade their app, there are issues. What sort of unprofessional co Read more

How does a bank upgrade their app and not test it before going live when the 'new version' doesn't allow a business account to setup new payees without having to phone in?
Everytime they upgrade their app, there are issues. What sort of unprofessional company are they using to create and maintain their app? Shocking. I have accounts with 4 other banks and this is the only one that is regularly problematic. Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else if you're thinking of using them for your business.

Reviewed on 9th March 2022
Chantal Elgie-Peters's avatar
Chantal Elgie-Peters

Make simple tasks drawn out

App lacks features. Log in online uses password/usernames that make it hard to recall if not using regularly. Switching directors- advised to go into store, went into store and they could only do half the change. Had to follow up over phone. They consul Read more

App lacks features. Log in online uses password/usernames that make it hard to recall if not using regularly.
Switching directors- advised to go into store, went into store and they could only do half the change. Had to follow up over phone. They consulted Experian to confirm director changes rather than Companies House (other bank use Compnaies House and made changes straight await, simply and efficiently), Experian data out of date due to delays. Company accounts falsely relected true companies house company set up and refused to amend. Changed accounts but left back door open for previous director to access bounceback loan. Poor procedures.

Reviewed on 17th January 2022
Liam's avatar
Liam

Thieves

Possibly the worst bank iv ever been with. Not trustworthy at all. I wouldnt recomend anyone go with this bank.

Reviewed on 13th January 2022
Fifi's avatar
Fifi

Poor customer service

Incompetent employees, never help you or explained properly anything about their products. Completely inaccurate company. Give wrong suggestions as well and after that it reflects on you by them taking bad decision. Lots of locked account without explanat Read more

Incompetent employees, never help you or explained properly anything about their products. Completely inaccurate company. Give wrong suggestions as well and after that it reflects on you by them taking bad decision. Lots of locked account without explanation or resolution nor help

Reviewed on 11th January 2022
Customer X Ltd's avatar
Customer X Ltd

Worst customer service and follow up

Metro bank agreed to response by 3 working days on application result but finally I still can't get any update for 3 months even I chased for few times and raised a complaint. Just get the response on the complaint, advised that they are following correc Read more

Metro bank agreed to response by 3 working days on application result but finally I still can't get any update for 3 months even I chased for few times and raised a complaint.
Just get the response on the complaint, advised that they are following correct process.
I won't use this bank again!!

Reviewed on 3rd December 2021
Heidi Chan's avatar
Heidi Chan

Incompetent, slow, "understaffed" bank that is more of an excuse generator

Setting up a new business account with them is next to impossible. Beyond all the usual credit checks etc (and being unable to cope with someone who does not possess photo ID) they require a combination of documents a new business don't have. They want yo Read more

Setting up a new business account with them is next to impossible. Beyond all the usual credit checks etc (and being unable to cope with someone who does not possess photo ID) they require a combination of documents a new business don't have. They want you to provide: existing bank account showing trading, a lease, a supplier invoice etc. Which part of NEW BUSINESS do they not understand.

If you're an Etsy shop or a maybe breaking into freelancing you might have these, but an actually NEW business? Utterly inept

Reviewed on 4th November 2021
Jolyon Winstone's avatar
Jolyon Winstone

Disgusting service

Disgusting lack of service for business customers! Have been a business customer for 7 years and the service is non-existent! If you call the bank they tell you to call your business manager dor anything. Have now been calling the business manager for 2 Read more

Disgusting lack of service for business customers!
Have been a business customer for 7 years and the service is non-existent! If you call the bank they tell you to call your business manager dor anything. Have now been calling the business manager for 2 weeks and he does not answer his phone. Left several messages and he does not call back. Have now got an email address and have emailed… and still no reply! For weeks! Absolutely awful treatment of your customers!! STAY AWAY!

Reviewed on 27th September 2021
Not Happy!'s avatar
Not Happy!

Id give no stars if I could

Metro bank is a terrible restrictive bank. I have only used my card to send payments to my mum and buy crypto like Bitcoin. I was sent Mail saying “your account is being shut down” with no reason. This implies metro bank is not friendly towards crypto use Read more

Metro bank is a terrible restrictive bank. I have only used my card to send payments to my mum and buy crypto like Bitcoin. I was sent Mail saying “your account is being shut down” with no reason. This implies metro bank is not friendly towards crypto users, and would prefer to decide for you where you should spend your money. I’m absolutely disgusted with this bank, RBS is much more Bitcoin friendly by the way.

Reviewed on 19th September 2021
Will's avatar
Will

Want to set up a Business Account ? You are a new Business ? Metro Bank - "Get Lost"

We are a New Business so of course would like to set up a Business bank Account. This is our first start up business venture. Metro bank says - "Banking for businesses that put people first...." Also Metro bank says – “No we don't want any newly set Read more

We are a New Business so of course would like to set up a Business bank Account.
This is our first start up business venture.
Metro bank says - "Banking for businesses that put people first...."
Also Metro bank says – “No we don't want any newly set up business as a customer....”
After being declined online, Obviously, this brand-new business entity does not have a credit history - it’s a few weeks old.
I rang a lovely person at Metro who was very polite. She said Metro bank has run a credit search and declined because we do not have a credit history.
Me - Ok - but how do we work around this because (a) we are a new business and (b) we want to become a customer of Metro Bank.
Metro bank – “No way......”.
So – at some point in the future with hardwork/blood/sweat & tears willing - our new business has a very credible & solid credit history - I really must remember to switch and bring all our money and give it to Metro Bank.....(I do love a bit of sarcasm......)
Good Luck to Metro Bank for the future - our paths will never cross again....

Reviewed on 3rd August 2021
Derek McDonagh's avatar
Derek McDonagh

Not Recommended

Not recommended When there is a problem they would not fix it and will mess it up with really awful customer service. This does not make up for the longer opening hours etc. I would not recommend this bank as you will need a bank that sorts out issues an Read more

Not recommended
When there is a problem they would not fix it and will mess it up with really awful customer service. This does not make up for the longer opening hours etc. I would not recommend this bank as you will need a bank that sorts out issues and not make it worse.
I have an issue currently where the bank is holding MY money £500 in a holding account and said it might take 6 months to get it back and they would not give me any update.

Reviewed on 27th July 2021
Az's avatar
Az

Staff not up to the job of providing commercial banking.

Staff are not up to the job of providing commercial banking. They freeze bank accounts without notice or reason. Dishonest, disrespectful staff incapable of dealing with regular commercial banking requirements. Under no circumstances should you bank at Me Read more

Staff are not up to the job of providing commercial banking. They freeze bank accounts without notice or reason. Dishonest, disrespectful staff incapable of dealing with regular commercial banking requirements. Under no circumstances should you bank at Metro Bank if you are a small business.

Reviewed on 1st July 2021
D's avatar
D

Fantastic and caring service

I opened a Business Bank Account and I Was taken a back how supported the staff were... The staff I dealt with really listened and I immediately opened an account. I’ve had phone call from senior manager in the bank to ask if all is ok. I’ve talked to Read more

I opened a Business Bank Account and I
Was taken a back how supported the staff were... The staff I dealt with really listened and I immediately opened an account. I’ve had phone call from senior manager in the bank to ask if all is ok. I’ve talked to family and friends about this bank

Reviewed on 17th April 2021
Pauline O'Loughlin's avatar
Pauline O'Loughlin

User friendly

Simple to use, quick answer when need assistance

Reviewed on 16th April 2021
Fulvio Lupi's avatar
Fulvio Lupi

Superb service

Opened a new account, simple and easy. Excellent bank.

Reviewed on 16th April 2021
Zain 's avatar
Zain

Best customer service

every time i have gone in branch or called them, i have been helped straight away. Short waiting times even with reduced staff during covid.

Reviewed on 16th April 2021
Burhan's avatar
Burhan

FANTASTIC SERVICE

ON-LINE IS EASY TO USE AND VERY SECURE CUSTOMER SERVICE EXCELLENT

Reviewed on 16th April 2021
RALPH GOLDSTEIN's avatar
RALPH GOLDSTEIN

Very good service

Great service would always recommend.

Reviewed on 15th April 2021
Amrik's avatar
Amrik

Great service

I have always recieved great service from Metrobank and the longer opening hours is exceptionally convenient

Reviewed on 15th April 2021
Stewart Banks's avatar
Stewart Banks