Post Office Travel Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 86 reviews       Last review 1 day ago    

Post Office travel insurance reviews can help you to find out more about this company. There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an...

READ MORE

Post Office travel insurance reviews can help you to find out more about this company. There are hundreds of different travel insurance policies on the market, all designed to help you stay protected while travelling...and giving you piece of mind, whether you're enjoying a sun swept beach or on an adverture-packed holiday. But with so many different policies to choose from, finding the right policy for you can be quite confusing. Reading our Post Office travel insurance reviews can help you find out what other travellers have to say. You can also write your Post Office travel insurance review too!

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Travel Insurance Reviews

86 reviews

Review Post Office's Travel Insurance now

Disgusting..appalling service..AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Never reply to emails..normally reply "email box full, resend later" Dreadful service..no desire to pay..endless paperwork (eventually)..Just a total joke. Shame there isn't a -5☆!!!

Reviewed on 1st December 2022
John Gladstone 's avatar
John Gladstone

Worst travel insurance company ever

I would stay away from Post Office travel insurance. They direct you to Collinson Travel Claims who have been useless this whole time. I made a claim shortly after coming back from holiday in july after having my belongings stolen. It took them over a mon Read more

I would stay away from Post Office travel insurance. They direct you to Collinson Travel Claims who have been useless this whole time. I made a claim shortly after coming back from holiday in july after having my belongings stolen. It took them over a month to send me the initial claim form. I submitted all the relevant evidence on the 22/08/2022 and still to this day I have not had any progress with my claim. I have been sending constant emails and I do not get any reply. I have beyond lost my patience with this company. It seems like I am going to have to just count my losses and move out. DISGRACE!!!!!!

Reviewed on 16th November 2022
ali abdulmijeed's avatar
ali abdulmijeed

They dont pay out!

Such a dishonest company. Paid hundreds of pounds on family travel insurance, and when we actually got burgled on our holiday they took over 3 weeks to respond, and refused to pay out. It was a genuine claim. Pointless getting insurance with them.

Reviewed on 10th November 2022
Charlotte Penn's avatar
Charlotte Penn

Got robbed

We used them for our family insurance on holiday, spent an hour going through the policy. we got our laptop and bag stolen from our room on the first night, after spending an hour on the phone to them whilst on holiday they paid out just £40. read the sma Read more

We used them for our family insurance on holiday, spent an hour going through the policy. we got our laptop and bag stolen from our room on the first night, after spending an hour on the phone to them whilst on holiday they paid out just £40. read the small print before accepting their PREMIUM or just do not use them. rip off

Reviewed on 10th November 2022
Andy Penniceard's avatar
Andy Penniceard

Worst insurer I have ever dealt with

After having heard of my flight being cancelled for the first time as the airline failed to tell me my flight was cancelled until I tried to check into my flight the day before . Post office and their loss adjusters have tried to wriggle out of paying out Read more

After having heard of my flight being cancelled for the first time as the airline failed to tell me my flight was cancelled until I tried to check into my flight the day before . Post office and their loss adjusters have tried to wriggle out of paying out for my claim saying that as the airline didn’t tell me within the time frame of my policy being valid they would not pay for the villa which I had to pay for which was within the time frame of my policy . I have proved to them the confirmation of the flight being cancelled was within the the policy dates that I was on cover with them . Having worked in insurance for 25 years this is the most appealing service I have received . Do not by post office travel insurance . Only giving one star as I had to select at least one

Reviewed on 28th October 2022
Mark Rainey's avatar
Mark Rainey

Still waiting since July

Not received one phone call since a claim made in July for over £6000. All requested forms completed and emailed 3 times. They will not respond! Please do not use Post Office Travel Insurance

Reviewed on 26th October 2022
Tracy's avatar
Tracy

Waiting

Over 2 months since claim…. Sent documents in 3 times… when you phone they make out they can’t hear you…. Absolutely shocking…. This is my daughters claim and she is only a student and £400 out of pocket for her hospital treatment.

Reviewed on 20th October 2022
Dawn's avatar
Dawn

They presented a false reason for denying my claim

I chose Post Office insurance as I wanted a reputable and reliable brand, however the Post Office have outsourced this product to a disreputable insurance company called Collinson Insurance. There are additional negative reviews on this site for them. In Read more

I chose Post Office insurance as I wanted a reputable and reliable brand, however the Post Office have outsourced this product to a disreputable insurance company called Collinson Insurance. There are additional negative reviews on this site for them. In my case they took 9 weeks to process as a simple claim for an iPhone that I lost whilst behind assaulted in Thailand and they only processed my claim when I made it clear I was going to post here if they did not. They then processed my claim in a couple of hours and denied the claim by invoking a clause in their policy document that did not actually apply to my claim. It seems from other reviews, that Collinson will try and find any reason to deny a claim including trying to pull the wool over your eyes on policy wording. This is the first time I have claimed on any insurance in 30 years. The Post Office is, unfortunately, not the trusted brand it once was. Stay well clear and tell your friends.

Reviewed on 17th October 2022
Charles Wiles's avatar
Charles Wiles

Birthday trip turned nightmare

I took out travel and cruise insurance for a trip to New York followed by a cruise for my 50th birthday, the day before we were due to travel my partners father died unexpectedly of a heart attack, obviously we couldn’t travel, I used the post office as t Read more

I took out travel and cruise insurance for a trip to New York followed by a cruise for my 50th birthday, the day before we were due to travel my partners father died unexpectedly of a heart attack, obviously we couldn’t travel, I used the post office as they were a well know company and the price was sensible ( not the cheapest) after 8 weeks my claim is still not settled despite sending all the requested paperwork including death certificate, when you call up you get a foreign call centre and the language barrier is a real problem, Iv never claimed on travel insurance before but it’s making a stressful time even more stressful avoid post office insurance at all costs quick to take your money but I think they hope you will give up trying to process a claim

Reviewed on 13th October 2022
Mr noble's avatar
Mr noble

Told covered then told not after 6 months

I had my TUI flight cancelled from Antalya to Manchester, told I could claim. They after 6 months of fighting with Tui Pist Office then said I was only covered flight from Manchester to Antalya. Total waste of time

Reviewed on 13th October 2022
linda holland's avatar
linda holland

They dont exist.

I bought PO insurance as I thought its the POST OFFICE it will be legitimate. Well that just isnt true. NO one exists to process your CLAIM. So your just on your own and thats it!

Reviewed on 9th October 2022
tom mitchell's avatar
tom mitchell

DONT DONT DONT USE POST OFFICE TO INSURE YOUR HOLIDAY

Its just wishful thinking when YOU BUY thier INSURANCE ONLINE. There is no one to help when your abroad and no one to help compensate your claim. Just pay more and get the real thing. Post Office you would think they would be OK right. But they are not!! Read more

Its just wishful thinking when YOU BUY thier INSURANCE ONLINE. There is no one to help when your abroad and no one to help compensate your claim. Just pay more and get the real thing. Post Office you would think they would be OK right. But they are not!!

Reviewed on 9th October 2022
tom mitchell's avatar
tom mitchell

Waste of money

Absolute waste of money - the policy covers very little, if you are not in a specific category or situation they do not want to know. They rejected a claim for the wrong reasons but then rejected the claim for another reason. I would never use them again Read more

Absolute waste of money - the policy covers very little, if you are not in a specific category or situation they do not want to know. They rejected a claim for the wrong reasons but then rejected the claim for another reason. I would never use them again - to be honest if I did not have to post letters I would not use any of their services again

Reviewed on 28th September 2022
Andrew Musgrave's avatar
Andrew Musgrave

Do not use Post Office insurance

Unfortunately ours is a similar experience to most other reviews here. Our claim began in May and after many calls we are on our 3rd service agent with each new agent asking for additional new data and forms to be completed. Given our experience and the Read more

Unfortunately ours is a similar experience to most other reviews here. Our claim began in May and after many calls we are on our 3rd service agent with each new agent asking for additional new data and forms to be completed. Given our experience and the experience of many others on this site it appears that the Post Office Insurance is nothing short of a scam to take peoples money with the intention of delaying claims or making them so complicated that the customer gives up on the process.

Reviewed on 17th September 2022
Patrick Murphy's avatar
Patrick Murphy

Takes over 5 plus months for post office to settle claim

It takes the post office 4 months to just open your claim and to review it. After 5 months i still not received anything not even if they going to deny or approve the claim . nothing !!!!

Reviewed on 16th September 2022
Dale 's avatar
Dale

Claiming is impossible

Took 2 weeks for the post office to acknowledge the claim (made online) and this was only after calling them and being put on hold for 45 mins. Since then, I’ve received 4 different emails from 4 different claims handlers that haven’t spoken to each other Read more

Took 2 weeks for the post office to acknowledge the claim (made online) and this was only after calling them and being put on hold for 45 mins. Since then, I’ve received 4 different emails from 4 different claims handlers that haven’t spoken to each other or read notes on their system. I had to see a doctor in Spain whilst on holiday for an ear infection which cost 90 euros and I was prescribed antibiotics which cost a further 30 euros. There is a £50 excess on the policy. They have asked me to provide booking confirmations, boarding passes, medical notes from the treating doctor, invoice from the treating doctor and receipt, prescription notes, invoice and receipts (all provided) and now they want a medical certificate from me GP in London. The certificate asks the doctor about all unrelated medical history and asks the doctor to confirm when I first contacted my GP about my condition and for his medical opinion on the treatment I received. I haven’t seen my GP about the ear infection in Spain because I saw a doctor in Spain, I was treated and the ear infection cleared up. My GP is understandably reluctant to complete the ‘required’ medical certificate because he is busy treating patients that actually require medical treatment and does not want to pass judgement on a fellow doctor in Spain when it was not my GP that examined or treated me. Post Office can no longer be trusted. Terrible service and despicable treatment. Will never buy an insurance product from them again

Reviewed on 12th September 2022
Gareth Reece's avatar
Gareth Reece

Avoid like the plague- Post Office (Collinson Insurance)

Involved in a RTA on holiday in Turkey (I was a passenger in taxi) and was taken to hospital by ambulance. Called Collinson/Post Office from my hotel after being pressured in the hospital to pay for my treatment and claim it back via insurance. I was orig Read more

Involved in a RTA on holiday in Turkey (I was a passenger in taxi) and was taken to hospital by ambulance. Called Collinson/Post Office from my hotel after being pressured in the hospital to pay for my treatment and claim it back via insurance. I was originally advised that the documents from hospital was good enough to submit for my claim. Then silence, weeks of chasing and then they responded advising they needed boarding passes to prove I had been on plane... then they needed police report, then doctors details even though I had provided hospital receipts. Then credit card statements showing euro exchange rates. This was back in May 2022, it is now September and I am still chasing them whilst I pay my credit card bill off monthly with added interest, so frustrating. Tried calling them 50 mins on hold to be cut off or get through to someone who just lies to you! This was the first and last time I will use them. I certainly wouldn't recommend them. Appalling service, spend your money with a decent insurer.

Reviewed on 5th September 2022
Madge's avatar
Madge

Poor service

Been waiting since may for any status of my claim with post office insurance no joy no reply no word from them

Reviewed on 18th August 2022
Sandra Roberts 's avatar
Sandra Roberts

Easy to buy

Travel insurance is easy to purchase and amend as needed.

Reviewed on 14th August 2022
Nellie's avatar
Nellie

Con artists

Never never use this traval insurance they will delay delay make a hundred promises like give your claim priority give your claim directly to claim manager will pay in 20 days etc etc all lies. They are liars a cheats they take your money and leave you h Read more

Never never use this traval insurance they will delay delay make a hundred promises like give your claim priority give your claim directly to claim manager will pay in 20 days etc etc all lies.
They are liars a cheats they take your money and leave you high and dry.
We are taking them to court to try and close them down never never use this traval insurance company

Reviewed on 7th August 2022
Leslie 's avatar
Leslie