Saga Home Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 2,587 reviews       Last review 1 month ago    

Saga home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Saga handle your home insurance claim? Our Saga home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a...

READ MORE

Saga home insurance reviews can tell you how good this product really is. How quickly did you get the policy documents? How well did Saga handle your home insurance claim? Our Saga home insurance reviews can help you to find out this and much more. Have you ever had a policy with Saga? You can tell us about it by writing your own review below.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Home Insurance Reviews

2,587 reviews

Review Saga's Home Insurance now

Disingenuous and dishonest and try their best to avoid making progress with a claim

They were happy to take money from me for years and increase my policy cost at renewal. When I put in a claim in 2021, they did everything they could to delay getting anything done. They would just send people round to take a look at the job and cost Read more

They were happy to take money from me for years and increase my policy cost at renewal.

When I put in a claim in 2021, they did everything they could to delay getting anything done. They would just send people round to take a look at the job and cost it up, but no one did anything. They also asked me to find people to cost up too.

I gave up in the end and cancelled my policy and went with another company.

Reviewed on 5th September 2022
LoveWins's avatar
LoveWins

Emergency? What emergency?

No electric--box kept tripping and couldn't isolate the problem. Fridge freezer rapidly defrosting, rang Saga 'emergency line' hung on for 8 minutes only to be cut off. Rang back hung on for another 8 - you guessed cut off! Tried once more .. no reply aft Read more

No electric--box kept tripping and couldn't isolate the problem. Fridge freezer rapidly defrosting, rang Saga 'emergency line' hung on for 8 minutes only to be cut off. Rang back hung on for another 8 - you guessed cut off! Tried once more .. no reply after 10 minutes. Phoned a friend. will cancel policy tomorrow

Reviewed on 24th August 2022
Georgia Smith's avatar
Georgia Smith

Steer well clear of Saga insurance. Appalling service!

On Friday Feb 18th, storm Eunice brought our gable wall down at 1.30 p.m. I telephoned Saga at 3 p.m. the same day and was told someone would phone me back within 24 hours. They didn't. Even though the cavity wall was exposed, nothing was done to protect Read more

On Friday Feb 18th, storm Eunice brought our gable wall down at 1.30 p.m. I telephoned Saga at 3 p.m. the same day and was told someone would phone me back within 24 hours. They didn't. Even though the cavity wall was exposed, nothing was done to protect it. It took 45 days, a series of phone calls, often waiting for up to 2 hours, and dealing with agents Working from Home, none of whom were credible. We were passed on endlessly to other names, but always had long waits on the phone. In all, I spoke with 17 different people, and each one wanted to start from scratch again.
Turns out that in our case, Saga use underwriters called Acromas, who were just as inept in dealing with us and they in turn used a company called Davies to investigate our claim. Just as inefficient as the others!
Obstructive is the only word to describe all three organisations.
To add insult to injury, when I complained to Saga, the complaint of poor service was "Not Upheld" because they claimed that the damage was caused by exceptional and unexpected weather. I pointed out that storm Eunice was well forecast, both in terms of timing and severity, for over a week which should have given Saga et al the opportunity to ensure that they had sufficient staff working to handle claims.
NEVER EVEN CONSIDER USING SAGA INSURANCE PRODUCTS.
..... and a last comment.
My neighbour who suffered no damage at all in the storm, was telephoned by her insurers, (Churchills), to see if she had suffered any damage and how they could help. Another neighbour received a text message the day after the storm offering help if it were needed.

Reviewed on 7th May 2022
Royston KItley's avatar
Royston KItley

rip off

trying to charge for renewal not wanted or asked for

Reviewed on 27th April 2022
Tony Beard's avatar
Tony Beard

Something Changed

It appears Saga have either changed underwriters for insurance or they have made a corporate decision to refuse claims. The ratings over the last 6 months are abysmal. Saga are a sales agent the underwriters are being obstructive with claims and extremely Read more

It appears Saga have either changed underwriters for insurance or they have made a corporate decision to refuse claims. The ratings over the last 6 months are abysmal. Saga are a sales agent the underwriters are being obstructive with claims and extremely difficult.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Bob.b's avatar
Bob.b

Sales operator sub let insurance.

Failed on security qustions when trying to make a claim. Did i have contents and buildings cover answered yes. No i didn't not with Lloyds building insurance as contents underwritten by a different company ? Finally spent 2 hrs on phone with person trying Read more

Failed on security qustions when trying to make a claim. Did i have contents and buildings cover answered yes. No i didn't not with Lloyds building insurance as contents underwritten by a different company ? Finally spent 2 hrs on phone with person trying to tell me i wasn't covered as leak on roof was prior to new policy, then went to check what the rainfall was for my area a month before. Then offered a survey to establish when leak occurred by a company with 50no 1 star ratings about refusal to support claims. It appears my home insurance isn't worth the paper it's written on as a phone operator working from home thinks my leak started prior to their responsibility. How do i know im not a roofer and don't climb into the loft on a daily basis. 21/2 to 3hrs still not resolved. Avoid like the plague, home working has a lot to answer for.

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Bob.b's avatar
Bob.b

Total rip off

After being with saga for over 10 years had to do a new home insurance policy as debit card had expired they charged me over £34 for cancellation fee which I didn't cancel my policy and then wanted more than twice as much money for the same policy total r Read more

After being with saga for over 10 years had to do a new home insurance policy as debit card had expired they charged me over £34 for cancellation fee which I didn't cancel my policy and then wanted more than twice as much money for the same policy total rip off now gone with another company even cheaper same cover

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Paul green Bridlington's avatar
Paul green Bridlington

Absolutely First Class performance

I had a leak in the pipe going into my mains tank and made a claim on their Home Emergency policy . The problem was found late on a Saturday evening and I rang Saga claims 9 am Sunday morning. The claim was logged and I received very informative texts as Read more

I had a leak in the pipe going into my mains tank and made a claim on their Home Emergency policy . The problem was found late on a Saturday evening and I rang Saga claims 9 am Sunday morning. The claim was logged and I received very informative texts as to progress and when a plumber should call. A very competent tradesman called the same afternoon, who quickly isolated the fault and repaired it completely. A perfect and speedy resolution. Thoroughly recommend this company, their brilliant attitude and attention to their customer.

Reviewed on 6th March 2022
Graham Adley's avatar
Graham Adley

Penalised by them and they're SLOW.

Had to claim for a garage fire - which started in next door's garage. The fire was six months ago. Repairs have NOT started yet. Policy is due to renew in two days time and Saga have increased the premium by more than 50% - talk about adding insult to inj Read more

Had to claim for a garage fire - which started in next door's garage. The fire was six months ago. Repairs have NOT started yet. Policy is due to renew in two days time and Saga have increased the premium by more than 50% - talk about adding insult to injury!

Reviewed on 19th February 2022
Malcolm's avatar
Malcolm

Mis-sold policy

We took out a policy on the 26th November 2021 online and this was followed up by a Saga sales agent about 20mins later to go through everything to make sure everything was correct. During this call we requested additional options including boiler and hea Read more

We took out a policy on the 26th November 2021 online and this was followed up by a Saga sales agent about 20mins later to go through everything to make sure everything was correct. During this call we requested additional options including boiler and heating cover as their Home emergency Cover. I clearly remember the call and was advised it was an extra £39.99 which we agreed to. Needless to say took out the policy on this basis. Today went to put in a claim for boiler which started leaking and they said it wasn't covered, looked through the schedule and can clearly see Home Emergency is covered however not the heating and boiler or annual boiler service as requested. After requesting a copy of the telephone call with the sales agent they tried to say that seeing as it was setup online it wasnt added which is when I mentioned one of their sales agents called up pretty much straight after setting it up which is when this was added.
In short don't use this company and if you do ensure that you record the telephone call as it is very clear that they will do anything to get out of you making a claim.
Needless to say a subject access request has gone in for access to that telephone call.

Reviewed on 6th January 2022
Andy Simpson's avatar
Andy Simpson

Still waiting - 2 months later

I started a claim for a leak on 04/10/21. To date several people have been to our house to cost up the job but no work undertaken and the leak still exists. Pushed from pillar to post when you try and contact the people involved. Thoroughly unimpressed.

Reviewed on 9th December 2021
Andrew's avatar
Andrew

quick enough taking your money but when you put a claim in they will do anything not to pay you out.

The worst company I've ever had to deal with. they take six days to answer your questions then they will do their utmost to get out of paying out for a claim.

Reviewed on 4th December 2021
carl king's avatar
carl king

A company that does not settle a claim

My parents in their 80’s were burgled in July. All relevant police reports a receipts we produced for evidence. Every piece of documentation from photographic evidence, police reports, original receipts and full disclosure reports were submitted. The com Read more

My parents in their 80’s were burgled in July. All relevant police reports a receipts we produced for evidence. Every piece of documentation from photographic evidence, police reports, original receipts and full disclosure reports were submitted.
The company is still stalling to make any reparations and settlement. Customer service has been appalling with us constantly chasing our claim.

This company is more than happy to take your payment, but God forbid you place a claim through your household insurance the obstacles place before you to impede payment are unimaginable. We have now been waiting over 5 months for any action to be taken. For an incident that had taken place in July there is a strong possibility this will still be unresolved before the end of 2021 !

An appalling company to make a claim from. Avoid should you need to make a claim.

Reviewed on 23rd November 2021
Rachel Pydiah's avatar
Rachel Pydiah

Extremely poor and unsatisfactory claims process, which they "outsource" to other insurers and then do nothing to help to resolve

Absolutely rubbish at resolving a simple water pipe leak. And all those people who say the process of insuring with Saga is simple - why yes it is! But wait until you have a claim that gets messed up by their insurance partners.and they absolve res Read more

Absolutely rubbish at resolving a simple water pipe leak.

And all those people who say the process of insuring with Saga is simple - why yes it is!

But wait until you have a claim that gets messed up by their insurance partners.and they absolve responsibility..... 5th September to 17th November seems an awful long time to fix one internal water pipe leak! And given now that the inaction has destroyed most of the fitted bedrooms furniture (valued at £39k), the whole hall, one shower room, the family bathroom, the kitchen and utility room (another £29k) and we have been moved out since the end of September and are looking at at least another 6 months!!! I would not wish that on anyone, let alone two pensioners with chronic health conditions the impacts of which have been reported to all insurers involved from day 1! As of 22nd December 11am, still no satisfactory resolutions.

Reviewed on 22nd November 2021
Ian Munro's avatar
Ian Munro

Simply the best.

The only company to tailor your policy to your specific requirements and budget, offer class leading service and offer a 3 year price promise.

Reviewed on 10th October 2021
William Govan's avatar
William Govan

most efficient with regards to renewals.

There is always someone to talk to if there is a problem.

Reviewed on 9th October 2021
David Munns's avatar
David Munns

Totally reliable for long term

I spend more than 60 days traveling around the UK or the world, very important as very few companies cover and gives you peace of mind. The price is acceptable against others and will no doubt Renee when due.

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
Pedro Davies's avatar
Pedro Davies

Older and bolder

Far cheaper than other companies and easy to understand online

Reviewed on 8th October 2021
James Teeney's avatar
James Teeney

First class service

Always try to be helpful and considerate at all times.

Reviewed on 7th October 2021
Pauline Woodcock's avatar
Pauline Woodcock

Great company always helpful

Quick precise clear and good value

Reviewed on 6th October 2021
Veronyka Carson's avatar
Veronyka Carson