Triodos Bank Personal Current Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 3,477 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Triodos Bank now offer an ethical current account! We'd love to hear your honest feedback about this product, so why not leave your own Triodos Current Account review today? Tell us more about what makes this account different. What do you love, and what ...

READ MORE

Triodos Bank now offer an ethical current account! We'd love to hear your honest feedback about this product, so why not leave your own Triodos Current Account review today? Tell us more about what makes this account different. What do you love, and what could be better.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Triodos Bank Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

41% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: App

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Personal Current Account Reviews

3,477 reviews

Review Triodos Bank's Personal Current Account now

Over intrusive and patronising questions

I've been a business customer since the late 90s and decided to move all my current accounts over as well since the ethical stance is important. However I tried to pay a bill for £3000 yesterday. Went through the phone app security on my phone (face ID Read more

I've been a business customer since the late 90s and decided to move all my current accounts over as well since the ethical stance is important. However I tried to pay a bill for £3000 yesterday. Went through the phone app security on my phone (face ID and password) and then had to use the separate keycard device to confirm. All good if long winded. However received messages today saying call them to find the payment hadn't actually been made and they wanted to do some checks. This involved me calling them and being subjected to the most ridiculous and patronising call I've ever had. Not only that but he asked me, in public, to say my password in full, not a 3rd or 5th letter etc which is potentially highly inadvisable and amusing given the call was to ostensibly make sure the transaction and account were secure. Following questions included why was I making the payment including details of the items being bought, how did I get the recipient bank details and when I said it was an invoice sent by email was told to please go and double check that the email was genuine. When I said I knew who the email was from I was told that he had written down that I had refused to double check. The whole process was stupidly intrusive and insulting. I totally get the need for security but this was just not workable. Sadly I am now closing my accounts but I doubt they will care.

Reviewed on 30th April 2022
Drum's avatar
Drum

Great eco credentials but incovenient

I switched to this bank because I wanted every penny of my money to be used only for ethical projects, which I believe they do. However, I should have done some research as the debit Mastercard cannot be used in Apple Pay, and so called faster payments ta Read more

I switched to this bank because I wanted every penny of my money to be used only for ethical projects, which I believe they do. However, I should have done some research as the debit Mastercard cannot be used in Apple Pay, and so called faster payments take hours, or even overnight to arrive. The app is not as attractive as others I've used before.

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Caroline Cordery's avatar
Caroline Cordery

The only bank to go with.

There’s just no debate. Every other uk bank invests in terrible, unethical things. Triodos does not. And it has everything you need.

Reviewed on 2nd April 2022
Josy's avatar
Josy

My money in safe ethical hands

I wholeheartedly recommend and support Triodos and have used them since the mid ‘90s . I know that with them my money is being used for projects that do good, and not for ones that cause global harm. I bank with them for Climate, for Social reasons, becau Read more

I wholeheartedly recommend and support Triodos and have used them since the mid ‘90s . I know that with them my money is being used for projects that do good, and not for ones that cause global harm. I bank with them for Climate, for Social reasons, because good ethics and sustainabilty are essential parts of ensuring we mitigate and ideally reverse the climate damage that threatens us all.

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
CD's avatar
CD

One of Few Banks You Can Trust

We live in a time where we can feel helpless that we can do little to change the world for the better. With Triodos, I do actually feel I am making a difference and not contributing towards negative effects - climate crisis, poverty, unethical business, w Read more

We live in a time where we can feel helpless that we can do little to change the world for the better. With Triodos, I do actually feel I am making a difference and not contributing towards negative effects - climate crisis, poverty, unethical business, war etc - and am joining with others to contribute towards positive effects, like fair trade, cleaner air, fairer wages...

On the banking side, I have found that, not only are there people there to answer messages, but they are kind and helpful.

There aren't many financial institutions you can say are 100% positive, not having a negative impact on the world, so having Triodos as an option has made me feel very differently about my place in the world, and given me hope that, bit by bit, we can make a difference for the good. I recommend Triodos to anyone who'll listen!

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Annelisa Christensen's avatar
Annelisa Christensen

Excellent support, good current account

Speak to real people. Calls answered with little or no delay. The account does what I want an account to do. Not feature bloated which is a refreshing change.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Kenneth Bird's avatar
Kenneth Bird

perfect

Nothing in the UK comes close to Triodos for fully accountable and ethical banking. No greenwashing here!

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
M's avatar
M

Trusted ethical bank

I switched to triodos as i wanted my money to go to ethical and environmental causes I love the map feature that lets me know where triodos have been investing locally

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Lani Dines's avatar
Lani Dines

Top ethical bank!

Great service, website and app all made switching to this ethical bank a real pleasure.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Simon Bosley's avatar
Simon Bosley

A great value based Bank

In my experience Triodos provide an excellent service on a day to day basis. However, their stand-out quality is their value based ethic.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Graham Leggatt-Chidgey's avatar
Graham Leggatt-Chidgey

A fantastic and innovative ethical bank

Triodos is a fantastic and pioneering bank, putting values and regenerative principles at the heart of the economy.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Felipe Viveros's avatar
Felipe Viveros

Triodos

The only bank I've found with a beating, moral heart.

Reviewed on 30th March 2022
Michael Ripley's avatar
Michael Ripley

Ethical Banking is the future

Many of us want to lead more ethical and sustainable lives. What our money does is an important part of this. The Triodos account's highly ethical standards allows this to happen, and targetting social and environmental enterprises with the funds invested Read more

Many of us want to lead more ethical and sustainable lives. What our money does is an important part of this. The Triodos account's highly ethical standards allows this to happen, and targetting social and environmental enterprises with the funds invested in it leads the way. The account is also a joy to use backed up by excellent customer service.

Reviewed on 23rd March 2022
Stephen Akeroyd's avatar
Stephen Akeroyd

The Gold Standard of Modern Banking

Triodos Bank combine the highest levels of ethics with superb user friendly customer service. I love that the bank won't lend to companies damaging the environment. Its more pleasant speaking with UK based customer services representatives but I don't eve Read more

Triodos Bank combine the highest levels of ethics with superb user friendly customer service. I love that the bank won't lend to companies damaging the environment. Its more pleasant speaking with UK based customer services representatives but I don't even need to much as their online service is very user friendly. Keep up the good work Triodos.

Reviewed on 21st March 2022
Simon Miller's avatar
Simon Miller

Great service. No bad stuff.

I went to Triodos because I did not want my bank to invest my money in bad stuff (arms, tobacco, etc). The bonus is I've had a far better customer experience than anywhere else I've banked. When you call there is a helpful person wanting to solve your que Read more

I went to Triodos because I did not want my bank to invest my money in bad stuff (arms, tobacco, etc). The bonus is I've had a far better customer experience than anywhere else I've banked. When you call there is a helpful person wanting to solve your query. The new website is clear. All for a very small sum a month.

Reviewed on 21st March 2022
S Moor's avatar
S Moor

Excellent

We can shop, travel and get our energy from ethical companies so why can't we do it with our banks. That's what Triodos offers. I've been with them for 4 years now and love it. Knowing I can make a difference with banking is important to me and I thank Read more

We can shop, travel and get our energy from ethical companies so why can't we do it with our banks. That's what Triodos offers. I've been with them for 4 years now and love it. Knowing I can make a difference with banking is important to me and I thank Triodos for that.

Reviewed on 19th March 2022
Rob's avatar
Rob

Sustainable banking

Sustainable banking is great. It combats so many of the problems that some people complain about in everyday life, but then do nothing about. Everyone should switch to sustainable banking!

Reviewed on 18th March 2022
Doofgreed's avatar
Doofgreed

Fabulous!

Probably the most ethical current account in the country. The security on the web and in their app gives me confidence that my money is in safe hands. Customer Services staff are always very helpful.

Reviewed on 17th March 2022
Robin Smith's avatar
Robin Smith

Great bank doing the right thing

We are very pleased with our Triodos accounts, with the customer service and with the ethical way they run their business. Definitely recommend.

Reviewed on 17th March 2022
Londonbanker's avatar
Londonbanker

A service that meets modern challenges

The personal account offers an excellent service, with friendly & knowledgeable call handlers. This was especially helpful when we switched to Triodos last year. The security measures already in place seem to be what other banks are now striving for. Comi Read more

The personal account offers an excellent service, with friendly & knowledgeable call handlers. This was especially helpful when we switched to Triodos last year. The security measures already in place seem to be what other banks are now striving for. Coming highest in Ethical Consumer magazine ratings raises my confidence that this bank's objectives are aligned with a future for our children. Triodos gives me hope where other banks could not.

Reviewed on 17th March 2022
Mangala Patil Mead 's avatar
Mangala Patil Mead