Virgin Money Credit Cards Reviews

  Ratings based on 639 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Credit Cards Reviews

639 reviews

Review Virgin Money's Credit Cards now

Impossible to make contact

Having moved recently, I have mislaid account and logon information for a savings account and have not been able to find any remedy online that works. My only remedy seemed to be a phone call: forget it!! I have just had to hang up after a 30 minute wait.

Reviewed on 8th June 2022
Brian's avatar
Brian

Misleading and expensive (read the small print)

After booking a foreign holiday I then looked for a credit card which would not charge transactions fees. Virgin Credit Cards state that there will be no transaction fee for 6 months. I returned from holiday only to find that I had been charged 2.5% on e Read more

After booking a foreign holiday I then looked for a credit card which would not charge transactions fees. Virgin Credit Cards state that there will be no transaction fee for 6 months. I returned from holiday only to find that I had been charged 2.5% on every transactions. When I rang to complain they told me I could not have a refund because it was written in the SMALL PRINT or as they said the "Terms an Conditions" that this doesn't include using it abroad. I've told them to cancel my account as I will be cutting up my card.

Reviewed on 5th June 2022
Christina Whitwell's avatar
Christina Whitwell

virgin money are the worst in the UK by a country mile

Its official! By far the worst credit card company in the UK - clueless support staff, rubbish app that does not work. avoid like the plague

Reviewed on 26th May 2022
Saj Docs's avatar
Saj Docs

Beware - designed to nudge you onto the full interest rate

I made one payment 24 hours late so Virgin Money charged me full interest from that point on - suddenly I was paying 22.9% interest instead of 0%. Of course they don't communicate this with you so you find out several months later after parting with £100s Read more

I made one payment 24 hours late so Virgin Money charged me full interest from that point on - suddenly I was paying 22.9% interest instead of 0%. Of course they don't communicate this with you so you find out several months later after parting with £100s of pounds in interest. My fault for paying late, you might say - well I had a direct debit setup which they had inexplicably cancelled.

Beware of joining, you may end up being 'nudged' onto the full interest rate.

Reviewed on 5th May 2022
Michael Elwin's avatar
Michael Elwin

I was in the Stockton branch, cancelling a direct debit and it was very busy, but got dealt with quickly and efficiently and overall was an excellent experience.

I'm not a lover of doing things like this, I'd rather do everything online but I had to go in the bank to sort out the problem and glad I did, as it's made me think, why be bothered about dealing with things publicly. The young gentleman who served me cou Read more

I'm not a lover of doing things like this, I'd rather do everything online but I had to go in the bank to sort out the problem and glad I did, as it's made me think, why be bothered about dealing with things publicly. The young gentleman who served me couldn't of been more polite and efficient, actually put me in a good mood for the rest of the day. Problem solving 10/10 and very quick. Cannot recommend this branch anymore highly.

Reviewed on 5th May 2022
Andrew Burton's avatar
Andrew Burton

Sub standard app

Initially the app is slow to load. Thereafter, at least every 2 weeks, the app fails to load requiring me to to uninstall and reinstall. A bad move to discontinue the Web site

Reviewed on 30th April 2022
andrew stead's avatar
andrew stead

Great

Good credit card, but app is confusing

Reviewed on 4th April 2022
Daniel Austin's avatar
Daniel Austin

They Think Out of the Box!

When I came to the UK, I had no credit history here. Applied for some credit cards and all were rejected apart from Virgin. They called and verified/asked about my income channels and were pleased to issue me a card. I still have the card (2011) and ha Read more

When I came to the UK, I had no credit history here. Applied for some credit cards and all were rejected apart from Virgin. They called and verified/asked about my income channels and were pleased to issue me a card. I still have the card (2011) and happily use it. I was subsequently given and used other cards by other lenders but soon cancelled them all albeit my Virgin card. Thank you Virgin Money, you have left an impression and experience I will never forget. The card has a great App and is secure with convenient features.

Reviewed on 10th March 2022
Samir Durrani's avatar
Samir Durrani

They suck

Customer service is an alien concept. They've removed online access to card balances from all of their customers and introduced a new app. that doesn't work. Dreadful. Avoid.

Reviewed on 21st February 2022
AM's avatar
AM

Virgin Money? Give me back my Yorkshire Bank!

Yorkshire Bank customer for over 40 years. Virgin Money customer service is poor. Now I've been forced to use a smart phone app which does not display correctly on my phone, has clearly not been UAT tested correctly and leaves a bitter taste in the mout Read more

Yorkshire Bank customer for over 40 years. Virgin Money customer service is poor. Now I've been forced to use a smart phone app which does not display correctly on my phone, has clearly not been UAT tested correctly and leaves a bitter taste in the mouth. Virgin Money credit card is crap.

Reviewed on 18th February 2022
Ikigai Shinrinyoku's avatar
Ikigai Shinrinyoku

Excellent offers

Balance and money transfer offers are spot on new offers every couple of months never had a problem with them 10/10

Reviewed on 15th February 2022
Paul Harrison 's avatar
Paul Harrison

They fail to help customers who do not want to use their App

I was a very happy Yorkshire Bank customer for 40+ years. Since it was taken over by Virgin the whole ethos has changed to can't care less approach. 2 years ago when they tried to insist customers must use their app making me have to get a smart phone - Read more

I was a very happy Yorkshire Bank customer for 40+ years. Since it was taken over by Virgin the whole ethos has changed to can't care less approach. 2 years ago when they tried to insist customers must use their app making me have to get a smart phone - it was a total failure and eventually they stopped insisting on using the App. Now they are ignoring the substantial minority who don't want to use mobile phone apps to manage accounts. It would be quite easy to continue with computer based on-line, where many users feel safer doing on-line transactions on a larger screen. They show no respect for non smart phone customers.

Reviewed on 14th February 2022
John Walker's avatar
John Walker

Appalling Customer Service

I have been experiencing some irregular charges on my virgin credit card. I was charged over £335 by DD including interest between 5th January and 6th February 2022. Just within one month!!! My balance is about £4500. I thought at least the balance should Read more

I have been experiencing some irregular charges on my virgin credit card. I was charged over £335 by DD including interest between 5th January and 6th February 2022. Just within one month!!! My balance is about £4500. I thought at least the balance should be decreasing and so I’ve been trying to reach customer service for the past two days for a better explanation. I was on the phone for almost an hour and it abruptly ended. When I try to call again, I was told that they were closed now and were only available between 8am to 6pm!!! It was 18:02 hrs. I was shocked. Now I want to see my balance going down and not shooting up because I’ve not used my card for almost a year. I’m trying to pay off the balance. And the App is not user friendly either.

Reviewed on 7th February 2022
OmsBrown's avatar
OmsBrown

I would have given zero but that wasn't an option

In a few sentences, I locked myself out of my app at the time when online services were taken offline last year. I have been locked out of my account since December 2020, apparently the entire Virgin Money corporation is locked out of my account but every Read more

In a few sentences, I locked myself out of my app at the time when online services were taken offline last year. I have been locked out of my account since December 2020, apparently the entire Virgin Money corporation is locked out of my account but every 15th, the magic fairy is happy to sneak into my current account and she apparently has access to my credit card account. The tricky bit is that I can't do much, not even define the amount taken as DD monthly. And because this is a card with 0% interest rate, of course Virgin is fine to be reducing my DD from £120 per month I had a standard to now being £54. Stay Away from this company.

Reviewed on 22nd January 2022
Nicolas Kleovoulou's avatar
Nicolas Kleovoulou

Simple to Use

Straightforward app, easy to use, no issues.

Reviewed on 13th January 2022
Caroline Smith's avatar
Caroline Smith

Virgin Atlantic Credit Card

I have started using the Virgin Atlantic credit card for all my purchases and by doing this I am earning points towards flights. As long as you pay for what you spend on your card it is great. It is a great card, good credit limit and accepted everywhere! Read more

I have started using the Virgin Atlantic credit card for all my purchases and by doing this I am earning points towards flights. As long as you pay for what you spend on your card it is great. It is a great card, good credit limit and accepted everywhere!

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Sarah Gardiner's avatar
Sarah Gardiner

Great app

Easy to set up and great detail in app

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
WendyS 's avatar
WendyS

Nice easy product

Quality product with good app and clear information and commuinication.

Reviewed on 11th January 2022
jake_sandford's avatar
jake_sandford

MOST CERTAINLY NOT THE CLYDESDALE BANK ANYMORE, SHOCKING CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

've been banking with Clydesdale bank (re-branded as Virgin Money) for 37 years. Ive always used their loan facilities for purchasing new cars as their rate was always better. Recently though, I applied for a new loan, slightly more than previous as new Read more

've been banking with Clydesdale bank (re-branded as Virgin Money) for 37 years. Ive always used their loan facilities for purchasing new cars as their rate was always better. Recently though, I applied for a new loan, slightly more than previous as new car was a little on expensive side, and seeing as how I'm now mortgage free, I thought I'd treat myself!!! All applications are done online now, there's none of the old interactions with a member of staff, just a key board to say "yay or nae". I have to add that I've a near to perfect credit rating, never overdrawn, no missed payments for anything in my adult life, something that I'm proud off!!! Anyhow, not getting instant answer from website, I'm advised that it will 2 working days to reach decision. True to word, I get phone call after 2 days from VM. A young gentleman, not long out of school by sounds of it, tells me that it has flagged up as I've also got a PCP contract on going with a motorcycle company (same case for over 15 years as I change bikes reg)
I state that all this is well within my affordability as my income to VM clearly shows. After some non relevant questions, he states that he can either decline on the spot or refer to a manager!!!! At this point, I'm made to feel like I've went to bank with a begging bowl( possible slight paranoia on my part)? After some more non relevant lecturing about unsecured borrowing, I've snapped and told him what I think of VM and where he can refer the application too, and it certainly wasn't in the direction of a manager. Now I'm half Scottish / half Italian, and we are not the most patient of people at best of times!!!! , and it wasn't so much in what he said, more in the way of how he said it!!!!!
Once off phone and calmed down, I proceeded to calling of VM's competitors, actually got to speak to a representative, 10 min call with immediate acceptance!!!! WTAF Virgin Money!!!???!!! U have now lost my business, and a loyal customer of over 36 years, shame on u!!!

Reviewed on 15th December 2021
Scott Lang's avatar
Scott Lang

Trying to resolve an issue...

I have been trying to resolve an issue with Virgin Money since the 25th November, and due to misinformation has now landed me in quite an awful situation, subsequently I'm now being penalised for their mistakes, which if the correct information was provid Read more

I have been trying to resolve an issue with Virgin Money since the 25th November, and due to misinformation has now landed me in quite an awful situation, subsequently I'm now being penalised for their mistakes, which if the correct information was provided in the first instance the issue would have been resolved. First line customer services are inexperienced, have a lack of knowledge of most things it seems, poor phone etiquette and a general sense that they just don't care. I have spent so much time on hold from my initial calls, through to being COLD transferred on numerous occasions to the incorrect department, requiring me to reiterate the reason for my call. The mistake they caused will apparently take up to 8 weeks through their complaints team to resolve... which then puts me in a very precarious financial situation due to the circumstances I've been placed in, which being a mistake on their part, this should be looked at as a priority! Severely disappointed with the service offered from all accounts, and certainly will not be using their services again once this issue is finally resolved IF it get's resolved, because from my experience so far, I am not confident. I'd would urge anyone to seriously rethink their options before considering Virgin Money, any mistakes they make, you will almost certainly be penalised for!

Reviewed on 13th December 2021
Steven Glanville's avatar
Steven Glanville