Voting in the British Bank Awards 2020 is now open.
VOTE NOW

Virgin Money Credit Cards Reviews

Ratings based on 545 reviews Last review 3 days ago

5 396
4 59
3 18
2 18
1 54

Your Credit Cards Reviews (545)

25th October 2019

Account under review

The process of choosing/ordering/account opening + App setup was quick and easy I agree. Balance transfer from previous credit card company was a breeze. Made a purchase the 1st week, staying below my credit limit by at least 15%. Just after that,...

Read more

The process of choosing/ordering/account opening + App setup was quick and easy I agree. Balance transfer from previous credit card company was a breeze. Made a purchase the 1st week, staying below my credit limit by at least 15%. Just after that, received an email saying that my purchase didn't go through, payment declined. Card blocked, app blocked, called customer service twice (1h waiting on the phone total) and they told me my account was "under review'', no timeline, can't talk to a human (from the department that's "reviewing" my account), no letter. It's been a week, my order got cancelled by the supplier. Maybe they'll call me in a fortnight if I am lucky ? GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE. To avoid, customer service is key

22nd October 2019

THE TRUTH

The Truth about this Bank...

Read more

The Truth about this Bank
As a huge fan of Virgin i opened an account and savings account.

i have been a customer for over 2 years. no problems at all until now.

I got an offer from credit cards to do a money transfer and i did so sending my available money to my current account.

Then i find out they have blocked my account and i have NO ACCESS TO MY MONEY, its been 24 hours and they have not given me any information and how long it will take. apparently they are doing a review.

They also dont tell you how long this will last ,

SO BEWARE, THIS BANK WILL FREEZE YOUR ACCOUNT IF YOU TRANSFER CREDIT CARD MONEY TRANSFERS INTO IT.

POOR CUSTOMER relations from the Branch Upwards.

I have now launched a complaint and will see it through to the Banking Ombudsman once I have waited for the required period of two weeks.

I will also be looking for an alternative bank once my saga is over.

what dont they do :-

1-TCF - treating customers fairly - does not exist
2- Customer - The simply dont care - no matter how much you want to help them do the review.
3- Loyalty- None to you no matter how long you have been a customer

Virgin Brand you have today LOST a customer not only for Banking but also any other service you provide, i will never return to use your services ever again -

YOUR TREATMENT OF CUSTOMERS IS SIMPLY NOT GOOD ENOUGH.

10th October 2019

Poor customer service (or should it be NO customer service)

So I received my replacement credit card and went to log on to my account to activate it. Couldn't log on and was given a number to ring. Rang number and eventually was told my online account had been deactivated as I hadn't accessed it for a while....

Read more

So I received my replacement credit card and went to log on to my account to activate it. Couldn't log on and was given a number to ring. Rang number and eventually was told my online account had been deactivated as I hadn't accessed it for a while. I was told I would have to re-register for online account. Following this call I coincidentally received yet an other email from Virgin offering 0% money transfers and decided to unsubscribe from emails - but, no unsubscribe link! Instead, the customer has to ring them. So I rang, followed to process and eventually got to speak with someone. Was told I would be asked security questions. Numerous questions later was told I'd failed (despite actually knowing my mother's maiden name, where I was born etc.). I was told I would have to ring back - did so, failed again (how useless am I?) but I insisted on speaking with a supervisor. Was told someone from the fraud team would ring within the next 4 hours - no call. Rang the next morning and 20? minutes later my call was answered but I was told someone would ring me back as I'd been waiting a long time. Bemused by this I quickly explained my situation and that I was waiting for a call from the fraud team. I was assured they would ring me shortly and I provided my mobile number so I wouldn't miss the call.
Guess what? Yip - still no call some 11 hours later. Old and new card have now been cut in two and Virgin and I will go our separate ways.

9th June 2019

Smooth process

I found the application process easy to navigate and I was provided with information about my application at all times. I find the app helpful and easy to use. My card and documentation arrived quickly and activating was easy.

5th June 2019

AVOID!!! Account under review

Absolutely fuming with Virgin Money. I received my new card yesterday, took out some cash and now my account has been blocked. Customer services will not advise any information due to this review and have been told there is no timeline for the review...

Read more

Absolutely fuming with Virgin Money. I received my new card yesterday, took out some cash and now my account has been blocked. Customer services will not advise any information due to this review and have been told there is no timeline for the review but I obviously cannot use the card, I can’t view account and they will not discuss my account. I couldn’t even cancel and pay off my card. Am just told I will be contacted by mail.!.! AVOID at all costs!!!!!!!

9th May 2019

fast decision and great 0% on purchase period

0% interest on purchases and a useable credit limit is hard to beat, I would recommend to anyone who wants an easy way to get on top of their finances. Plan ahead to ensure you can pay off the balance before the end of the 0% period.

15th April 2019

Disappointed

They sent me a reminder email to pay my credit card after they had charged me £8.00 for late payment

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Andrew, if you'd like us to look into this further please email your details over to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com and I'd be happy to. Thanks, Lindsay
10th February 2019

No smartphone app, tedious and time consuming account login

Unfortunately, Virgin is the only card provider I use which hasn’t developed a native smartphone app. ...

Read more

Unfortunately, Virgin is the only card provider I use which hasn’t developed a native smartphone app.

In addition, the web login is cumbersome and time consuming, as it requires the user to go through lots of hoops and loops without the option to save and auto-fill the login credentials.

It’s a pity, really, as otherwise it is a good service.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Alex, thanks for getting in touch. We don't offer an app at the moment but it is something we're currently working on. We'll be sure to let our customers know as soon as there's an update! Thanks, Jane
8th February 2019

Lies

Terrible service just reduces your credit limit with no warning just when I was going to book holiday for me and my wife who is dienosed with bowl cancer it just turned our words up side down

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi John, thanks for getting in touch. So I can take a look at this for you, can you email your details to reviewhelper@virginmoney.com? Thanks, Jane
7th February 2019

Easy to use online, great monthly prizes

So early to log in and manage, super easy to set up, lots of great prizes monthly. From otherwise fantastic customer service I did once have a very annoying call about the credit limit i was granted with a particularly condesending support agent, but...

Read more

So early to log in and manage, super easy to set up, lots of great prizes monthly. From otherwise fantastic customer service I did once have a very annoying call about the credit limit i was granted with a particularly condesending support agent, but one person does not define the company and otherwise it's been a totally smooth experience.

6th February 2019

Easy and reliable

I have found Virgin Money to be an extremely easy company to deal with and very reliable. The language used to explain terms, processes and requirements is simple to understand, communication is timely, accurate and useful. I've rarely had to contact...

Read more

I have found Virgin Money to be an extremely easy company to deal with and very reliable. The language used to explain terms, processes and requirements is simple to understand, communication is timely, accurate and useful. I've rarely had to contact support due to their really helpful self serve options however on the one or two occasions that I have, resolutions have been quick and useful. Virgin Money promote competitive offers in a respectful, responsible and unobtrusive way. I would have no qualms in recommending to a friend, colleague or family member (and have done). I even like the look of the card! Good luck and cheers.

5th February 2019

Excellent service

The only thing missing from this credit card is an app to make it easier to manage the account - unless there's already one available that I'm not aware of.

Reply from Virgin Money
Hi Ali, we don't have an app at the moment but it is something we're currently working on. We'll be sure to share any news as soon as we can! Thanks, Jane