1st Central Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 494 reviews       Last review 2 hours ago    

1st Central car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest 1st Central car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the...

READ MORE

1st Central car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest 1st Central car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used 1st Central before, you too can write a short 1st Central car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

494 reviews

Review 1st Central's Car Insurance now

Horrible company

Set me up for an automatic higher insurance renewal even though the previous year I had no accidents. Decided to take payment with no knowledge and consent at all, plus charged me cancellation fee.

Reviewed on 7th December 2022
Harry Pham's avatar
Harry Pham

car stolen and now recovered

my car was stolen, but was recovered. I only know this because the police informed me. No contact from 1st central, the claim handlers Brownswords are even worst - do not use this company. Reading previous reviews about increasing the quote that also h Read more

my car was stolen, but was recovered. I only know this because the police informed me. No contact from 1st central, the claim handlers Brownswords are even worst - do not use this company. Reading previous reviews about increasing the quote that also happened to me. Stay from this company

Reviewed on 7th December 2022
Sharon Quigley's avatar
Sharon Quigley

Don't Use 1st central - scam charges

I hope people read the recent reviews on this terrible company. I'm now £200 out of pocket because I was tricked into a competitive car insurance quote on go compare. I paid up front for a year's car insurance and after uploading my VC5 keeper document Read more

I hope people read the recent reviews on this terrible company. I'm now £200 out of pocket because I was tricked into a competitive car insurance quote on go compare.
I paid up front for a year's car insurance and after uploading my VC5 keeper document they alleged I'd put in the wrong date of purchase of the vehicle (2021 Not 2022) they wanted to charge me an extra £157 pounds for the error which is nearly a third of a year's insurance for me. They offered no recourse on this so i decided to cancel my insurance and take a £50 fine and go with another provider. It took me 4 calls to cancel my insurance they kept hanging up mid conversation after I had told them I want to cancel my policy. I wasn't rude or angry at any point. Reading these reviews confirms this company have a recorded of hitting customers with unfair fines on any technicality they can find. It would appear they have a whole department dedicated to it.
It's hard enough to manage finances with a young family and cost of living without big companies trying to unfairly fine you a significant amount of money for a simple error. I'd advise anyone who reads this to stay away from this company and if you have insurance with them don't pay their scam charges cancel your account and go with a reliable firm even if it costs you more. If you do need to claim, I imagine this is the last company you want as your insurer if the worst was to happen. Hope this review prevents some else getting ripped off by this terrible company

Reviewed on 6th December 2022
Paul T's avatar
Paul T

SCAM KEEP AWAY

I completed details online but in their system everything came out differently and somehow after 5 days they called me to check the details. And it turned out to be a surprise that I had to pay 120 pounds for the changes because something went wrong and t Read more

I completed details online but in their system everything came out differently and somehow after 5 days they called me to check the details. And it turned out to be a surprise that I had to pay 120 pounds for the changes because something went wrong and then I started reading the review and I found thats they way to collect extra money. Of course, if you want to cancel the policy, you have to pay 106 pounds. I paid £370 for the whole year and wanted to save £30 from my previous insurer. Keep away this is the scam with lots of negative review.

Reviewed on 5th December 2022
John's avatar
John

Thieves

STAY AWAY! Not sure why they still not shut as they MUST! They are robbers , unprofessional and rude don’t know why they are operating. If you will have to deal with claim - accident which wasn’t your fault - and with fully comprehensive insurance- you Read more

STAY AWAY! Not sure why they still not shut as they MUST! They are robbers , unprofessional and rude don’t know why they are operating.
If you will have to deal with claim - accident which wasn’t your fault - and with fully comprehensive insurance- you will get nothing. They stealing cars saying can’t be fixed (when garages do not see problems there) and not paying out market value like-to-like. They are rude emailing “we not going to read your email in full and we will close complaint and we not going to respond anymore” is this is professional?
Better do research first with who you will be insuring your car

Reviewed on 5th December 2022
Laura Bogdanova's avatar
Laura Bogdanova

Disappointed

Very disappointed and annoyed and angry

Reviewed on 2nd December 2022
Janis Berzins's avatar
Janis Berzins

SCAM

First central is a poor excuse for a company. I hadn’t yet drove my car yet they cancelled my insurance because my mum hadn’t downloaded the app. Only contact over email and cancel it without any communication. Their black boxes don’t work! Once I had d Read more

First central is a poor excuse for a company. I hadn’t yet drove my car yet they cancelled my insurance because my mum hadn’t downloaded the app. Only contact over email and cancel it without any communication.
Their black boxes don’t work! Once I had downloaded the app I got in my friends car who is also with 1st central, her black box connect to my app and not her own! Meaning all her driving was logging in my insurance and none on her own! Which is a policy preach and overall so dangerous.
After all this and loads of contact with the company they couldn’t care less. Still charged me a £114 cancellation fee.
Save your time and money! Awful company.

Reviewed on 2nd December 2022
drew keane's avatar
drew keane

Terrible communication and not user friendly

I have found 1st Central to be a particularly poor company. They cannot respond when dealing with simple issues and are indifferent when their un-user friendly customer portal leads to issues. I will never pass them my custom again and encourage others to Read more

I have found 1st Central to be a particularly poor company. They cannot respond when dealing with simple issues and are indifferent when their un-user friendly customer portal leads to issues. I will never pass them my custom again and encourage others to AVOID this poor company.

Reviewed on 1st December 2022
Paul E's avatar
Paul E

Pathetic excuse of a company

If I could give 0 stars I would. No wonder the insurance quotes are so cheap, they make their money back by scamming it out of you. No communication from their behalf. My monthly instalment was due out as normal however it wasn’t taken out, the next day I Read more

If I could give 0 stars I would. No wonder the insurance quotes are so cheap, they make their money back by scamming it out of you. No communication from their behalf. My monthly instalment was due out as normal however it wasn’t taken out, the next day I receive a text message saying my policy has been cancelled. Tried to get in contact with them and they have no valid reason as to why it’s been cancelled. Awful company. Stay well clear.

Reviewed on 1st December 2022
vanessa taylor's avatar
vanessa taylor

Any excuse to raise the price

Tried to tell me I had 0 years no claims wanted to add £688 on to the price 3 calls to 3 different advisors before they themselves sent me proof of my 12 years no claims still added £50 admin charge

Reviewed on 29th November 2022
lee's avatar
lee

Zero stars, absolute thieving over priced robbing kunnnnts

Absolute thieving robbing over priced, take advantage of their customers when ever they get any chance too, downgraded my car with 4 months left on my policy to get a quote of £300 extra, straight scumbags, no justify their greedy actions, zero stars and Read more

Absolute thieving robbing over priced, take advantage of their customers when ever they get any chance too, downgraded my car with 4 months left on my policy to get a quote of £300 extra, straight scumbags, no justify their greedy actions, zero stars and would never ever recommend or get insured if they was the last company in the world! Scumbags

Reviewed on 28th November 2022
Tee 's avatar
Tee

Terrible company

Refused to cancel policy on my terms then cancelled the policy themselves so i have to declare a policy cancellation each time I renew. Absolute joke

Reviewed on 24th November 2022
E's avatar
E

Unprofessional

I called to query an email about my renewal only to be cut off everything second by the advisor after I expressed how expensive they were last year and now I've found a company doing it for half the price. He was so rude, he wouldn't let me speak. Never a Read more

I called to query an email about my renewal only to be cut off everything second by the advisor after I expressed how expensive they were last year and now I've found a company doing it for half the price. He was so rude, he wouldn't let me speak. Never again and definitely wouldn't recommend.

Reviewed on 24th November 2022
Chris 's avatar
Chris

Automatically renew

1stCentral automatically renewed my policy and then refused cancellation when called them and told them I find better options somewhere else. They keep saying never received my emails and lost £60 cancellation fee. I am waiting for my refund ☹️ So disappo Read more

1stCentral automatically renewed my policy and then refused cancellation when called them and told them I find better options somewhere else. They keep saying never received my emails and lost £60 cancellation fee. I am waiting for my refund ☹️ So disappointed with you 1stCentral we should have the option to choose who we want to insure our cars with and right to ask for cancellation.

Reviewed on 24th November 2022
Elena T's avatar
Elena T

Worse company to deal

I bought car insurance back in April and paid extra for brake down cover I didn’t get chance to read the small print I had chance few days ago to read the small prints and I was shocked if I brake down some where in motor way they will only take my car up Read more

I bought car insurance back in April and paid extra for brake down cover I didn’t get chance to read the small print I had chance few days ago to read the small prints and I was shocked if I brake down some where in motor way they will only take my car up to 10miles when ring the company and spoke to the customer service she didn’t have answer to my question then I asked to put me through to the manager which she did after waiting for more than 1 hour but the manager was very rude and no knowledge at all they are cheater they very helpful when they take your money after that that they don’t want to know I request every one not to buy insurance from this company they are cheater .

Reviewed on 24th November 2022
abdul rehman's avatar
abdul rehman

Robbery

Not recommend. They'll offer a low price, but then will try to balance their books overcharging you in all the different manners for fictional reasons. Stay away!

Reviewed on 22nd November 2022
Dorin Butilca's avatar
Dorin Butilca

IF ONLY I COLD RATE THIS COMPANY 0 STARS

horrible rude customer service on every phone call. really unhelpful and wanted to charge me more per month to switch to a smaller, less power and engine capacity vehicle. i strongly advise going over to admiral as they provide much better customer servic Read more

horrible rude customer service on every phone call. really unhelpful and wanted to charge me more per month to switch to a smaller, less power and engine capacity vehicle. i strongly advise going over to admiral as they provide much better customer service and have better prices.

Reviewed on 21st November 2022
Tyler Krycler's avatar
Tyler Krycler

Charged me double for second year!

Disgusting! Tried to charge me double for second year at £2200 and couldn’t match the £800 from Hastings! Only would decrease by £100. Don’t bother - Hastings have been great!

Reviewed on 18th November 2022
Lucy Cantwell's avatar
Lucy Cantwell

Rip of merchants

Rip of merchants charging over £100 extra to remain with them compared to joining as a new policy holder via compare the market.

Reviewed on 18th November 2022
Luke Burdall Goodchild's avatar
Luke Burdall Goodchild

Why is this ok

If I could give a minus I would I was recently employed and then I was let go due to cut backs and mental issues and now not working there charging me £894 how or there going to cancel my policy of I do not pay upfront as they will not add to monthly inst Read more

If I could give a minus I would I was recently employed and then I was let go due to cut backs and mental issues and now not working there charging me £894 how or there going to cancel my policy of I do not pay upfront as they will not add to monthly instalments so is there a point of carrying on as we do our best to survive then corporate companies see it OK to take money you have got as no job so what's the point might as well give up now save all the struggle

Reviewed on 16th November 2022
glenn cundy's avatar
glenn cundy