Barclays Bank Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 4,480 reviews       Last review 3 days ago    

Barclays bank account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Barclays current account reviews to find out what life as a Barclays customer is really like. And remember, if you are a Barclays customer, you can write a...

READ MORE

Barclays bank account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Barclays current account reviews to find out what life as a Barclays customer is really like. And remember, if you are a Barclays customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of Barclays bank account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Amazing

1

2

3

4

5

Your Bank Account Reviews

4,480 reviews

Review Barclays's Bank Account now

My case with Barclays for 4 months - still not resolved!

We had a simple case - we got ripped off by Goldcar (car hire company) in August . It's now nearly December. No reply from Goldcar and Barclays think we collected the car late - because Goldcar lied to them. I've asked Barclays to check the time we re-pai Read more

We had a simple case - we got ripped off by Goldcar (car hire company) in August . It's now nearly December. No reply from Goldcar and Barclays think we collected the car late - because Goldcar lied to them. I've asked Barclays to check the time we re-paid (extra!) for another car (a tiny Fiat 500) which will prove we were not late and it was not an 'upgrade'. No (meaningful) reply from Barclays other 'than there's nothing we can do'. USELESS!!!

Reviewed on 28th November 2022
Curry and a Pint's avatar
Curry and a Pint

poor service in bath

Applied twice not yet received pass code... If we are reaching, then also simply excuses only.

Reviewed on 27th November 2022
Rony Xavier 's avatar
Rony Xavier

Full Service Offering to All

Barclays offers an excellent product with high reliability and efficiency for the vast majority of transactions. App is easy to use, product range is plenty, all customers are accepted including low income and of course they offer branches to help those Read more

Barclays offers an excellent product with high reliability and efficiency for the vast majority of transactions. App is easy to use, product range is plenty, all customers are accepted including low income and of course they offer branches to help those less IT literate or where you just need to speak to someone F2F.

Reviewed on 21st November 2022
Rupert Fowden's avatar
Rupert Fowden

Awful customer service

Customer service is the worst! they don't even know what they are talking about for simple matters and when you ask something the only thing they do is copy and past the information from online! it s like talking to a robot. they never respond to what you Read more

Customer service is the worst! they don't even know what they are talking about for simple matters and when you ask something the only thing they do is copy and past the information from online! it s like talking to a robot. they never respond to what you actually ask

Reviewed on 16th November 2022
Valantis Matsakas's avatar
Valantis Matsakas

Unethical bank

After years of being a dedicated customer I have realised that were investing my savings in polluting projects that other UK banks are above considering. A disgrace. They don't care about the planet or our future.

Reviewed on 9th November 2022
James's avatar
James

Barclays are bad business WARNING!!!

I have had a business account with Barclays for 23 years, for the last two weeks I have been trying to talk to them regarding making some changes, customer service is a joke on hold for 1 hour on 1 phone then while on hold tried to call my local branch 10 Read more

I have had a business account with Barclays for 23 years, for the last two weeks I have been trying to talk to them regarding making some changes, customer service is a joke on hold for 1 hour on 1 phone then while on hold tried to call my local branch 10min to 15min wait it said, someone answered after 18 mins only to tell me they would need to put me back in the que for the department i needed, I told him as a business customer for 23 years I expected him to handle my problem but he couldn't , then he said if he put me though it would be quicker then the direct dial number I was using, I asked him to explain why it was considered ok to keep people wait for over an hour when ringing direct, at that point I told him I would not recommend Barclays to anyone, and if he transfers me and I have to wait any longer than another 5 mins I would hang up and go down to the branch to vent my anger

Reviewed on 31st October 2022
George Platt's avatar
George Platt

Tried to open account. Rude useless service

Tried to open account. After hours of fiddling with app and hanging on phone got through to rude man who simply brushed aside my problems. Told me he didn't care if I opened an account or not. I assume they don't want new customers. Better avoid

Reviewed on 20th October 2022
Socrates Spider's avatar
Socrates Spider

Awful customer service

Ordered a new bank card, been 2 weeks and it hasn't come yet. They did not let me collect it form the branch even though I told them I have no card and I am only using cash at the moment.

Reviewed on 16th October 2022
Danielius Kaminskas's avatar
Danielius Kaminskas

SCAMMERS

After paying for a ps-5 and not receiving the item, even though I have emails from the company plus I phoned the carrier company and they didn’t even have any details of my address or name, Barclays still gave the company my money, they won’t help and hav Read more

After paying for a ps-5 and not receiving the item, even though I have emails from the company plus I phoned the carrier company and they didn’t even have any details of my address or name, Barclays still gave the company my money, they won’t help and have left a family with absolutely nothing, and because my account is -£380 we can’t pay any bills

Reviewed on 9th October 2022
neil bennett's avatar
neil bennett

Always...

Always there, always accessible, always helpful.

Reviewed on 23rd September 2022
Thomas Cowell's avatar
Thomas Cowell

Avoid for business banking

Charge ever-increasing fees but then offer absolutely zero service in return. First time I need assistance thru do absolutely nothing. Avoid.

Reviewed on 21st September 2022
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous

A1

The best bank I have dealt with.

Reviewed on 21st September 2022
Michael crowther 's avatar
Michael crowther

Time wasters

Thank you for protecting people from other bank not your customers from 10 year. You are shit!!! Should be closed

Reviewed on 20th September 2022
Moru's avatar
Moru

Fraud system leaves people in vulnerable positions and dire customer service

Do not join up with Barclays if youre looking at reviews for that purpose. After 20 years I'm withdrawing my money to one of the new age banks and closing my accounts with Barclays, in an age of instant communication and transparency, they still operate i Read more

Do not join up with Barclays if youre looking at reviews for that purpose. After 20 years I'm withdrawing my money to one of the new age banks and closing my accounts with Barclays, in an age of instant communication and transparency, they still operate in the dark ages. My most recent issue was the cutting off of access to my card while abroad with no notification via email, the app, or message leaving me quite literally high and dry in the middle of a city in south america with no money, leading to a difficult night of dealing with a very angry taxi driver I couldnt communicate with and walking hours to find my hotel. Barclays policy with fraud abroad is strictly through phone calls only...I mean I'm no Einstein, but if a customers outside of UK and the cards being used outside of the UK theres a huge chance they wont be able to accept phone calls, especially outside of Europe?? Hmmmm Barclays, might want to rethink this one (my network provider was charging at £1/min, believe me I had data turned off), anyway so apparently Barclays aren't that smart, fine. Next day online chat for 2 hours, told me to clean my chip first, explained again, thennnn they realised it had been blocked (what a great system for a huge banking empire that doesnt link up info between departments...I had to go through it all again a few days later and got told by somebody else it was a system error not fraud, complete shambles of misinformation when I'm explaing to the banking expert the info they have in front of them), one employee stopped responding for 3 days locking me in the chat so I couldnt talk to anyone else, I filed a complaint with 4 different employees who all lied and said they'd submitted it though when I enquired the next day (I was suspicious at this time) none of them had meaning another 2 hours on the chat app doing it all again. It absorbed the best part of 12 hours being given incorrect info, lied to, ignored, palmed off all a waste of time as Barclays "professional" opinion was they'd done nothing wrong. You'd think reading all the reviews on here Barclays would be trying to improve their customer rating but all they're interested in is protecting their own liability in situations like this and ignoring customers till they go away.

Reviewed on 17th September 2022
Sam's avatar
Sam

Good

Happy with this account updated very fast

Reviewed on 13th September 2022
Antonia Davis's avatar
Antonia Davis

Just like most banks now

They used to be great but now just like any other bank, charge to have an overdraft so I cancelled it. They have their own mobile payment method so don't work with Apple pay, g pay or any others.

Reviewed on 13th September 2022
Heather Edwards's avatar
Heather Edwards

Worst bank ever

I literally cannot get through to anyone for three days. Every person says they are the wonrg person. I have never had such a bad experience with any business in my life. I have had four accounts there for 20 years. They will all be moved by the year-end. Read more

I literally cannot get through to anyone for three days. Every person says they are the wonrg person. I have never had such a bad experience with any business in my life. I have had four accounts there for 20 years. They will all be moved by the year-end.

Reviewed on 25th August 2022
Kevin Edge's avatar
Kevin Edge

they do not want customers

go elsewhere for service. after 40 years and as a former employee I had an overdraft taken away from an account that paid the income into the account they gave me an overdraft on - yes, I did not get it either. Refused to help at any level with no logic. Read more

go elsewhere for service. after 40 years and as a former employee I had an overdraft taken away from an account that paid the income into the account they gave me an overdraft on - yes, I did not get it either. Refused to help at any level with no logic. Letters to chairman and ceo treated with breath taking rudeness. I'm off to another bank.

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
manton's avatar
manton

They treat long term, loyal customers with utter contempt.

I have banked with Barclays for 37 years and my mother for 55 years. They, as an organisation are ever increasingly treating long term loyal customers with utter contempt. The only decent/caring staff that we have encountered are at Branch level and they Read more

I have banked with Barclays for 37 years and my mother for 55 years. They, as an organisation are ever increasingly treating long term loyal customers with utter contempt. The only decent/caring staff that we have encountered are at Branch level and they are closing the local branch. They do everything they can to make their lives easier and don't give two hoots as to the effect on the customers as they are showing on a regular basis. My wife is already changing TSB and if they turn out to be any better, my mother and I will be swapping our private and business account over too. Barclays are clearly only interested in big investors and big borrowers. Everyday folk are clearly just too much trouble,

Reviewed on 22nd August 2022
Chris Spaett's avatar
Chris Spaett

Care about costumers before they leave

It's so pleasant when after too much trouble caused by barclays we decide to switch to another bank and a week later we get a phone call wanting to discuss the reasons of that. It's even more rewarding being able to say f#*@ you to in reply to this phone Read more

It's so pleasant when after too much trouble caused by barclays we decide to switch to another bank and a week later we get a phone call wanting to discuss the reasons of that.
It's even more rewarding being able to say f#*@ you to in reply to this phone call after so many abusive threatening messages that your bank account will be restricted or closed.
barclays has lost another costumer and I'm so happy for that

Reviewed on 18th August 2022
Gustavo Sirna's avatar
Gustavo Sirna