Halifax Current Account Reviews

  Ratings based on 692 reviews       Last review 6 days ago    

Halifax Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Halifax Current Account reviews to find out what life as a Halifax customer is really like. And remember, if you ar...

READ MORE

Halifax Current Account reviews come from people like you! With so many different current accounts now available, you can read these honest Halifax Current Account reviews to find out what life as a Halifax customer is really like. And remember, if you are a Halifax customer, you can write a short review here to help other potential customers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site and dedicated to being an independent and honest source of Halifax Current Account reviews. Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone.

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5

Halifax Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Customer Service

42% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 25-34

Top Channel Preference: App

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Current Account Reviews

692 reviews

Review Halifax's Current Account now

Over a HOUR SITTING IN A QUEUE

Having a problem with my card so rang to speak to someone and spent well over a hour sitting in a queue. DISGUSTING

Reviewed on 10th May 2022
Samantha 's avatar
Samantha

The worst customer service ever

I contact them about one company take! I explain to them I paid item but never received item!They ask me to call again which I did they say we can’t find any information you call us and the legal time 120 days! I pay for item which I never did received!Th Read more

I contact them about one company take! I explain to them I paid item but never received item!They ask me to call again which I did they say we can’t find any information you call us and the legal time 120 days! I pay for item which I never did received!The worst bank the worst customer service ever!

Reviewed on 26th April 2022
Zahir 's avatar
Zahir

Halifax bank steals your money

Halifax bank steals your Lindy from you account with out prior communication or consent. Then sends out a statement showing 0 balance with money out reason Credit Decisioning. This is how institutions that your supposed to trust steal from you. DONT tru Read more

Halifax bank steals your Lindy from you account with out prior communication or consent. Then sends out a statement showing 0 balance with money out reason Credit Decisioning.
This is how institutions that your supposed to trust steal from you. DONT trust them with you money or finances. They will rob you one day too. Take out you money. Close you account before it’s too late. We are living in strange times. Even institutions are hungry. So they steal from their own customers.

Reviewed on 31st March 2022
Badshah Hussain's avatar
Badshah Hussain

Good Bank and Good Products

After the financial crisis, this bank is going from strength to strength has a great future.

Reviewed on 28th March 2022
Isaac Elesia's avatar
Isaac Elesia

Excellent bank

Had this account for over 15 years and never had a problem

Reviewed on 27th March 2022
Wayne's avatar
Wayne

Great and easy online banking service

Halifax makes it so easy to change your personal details online or over the phone with no hassle. Customer service face to face and online have always been fast and helpful.

Reviewed on 9th March 2022
Kim Ryle's avatar
Kim Ryle

No fuss current account

My account does not allow me to have an overdraft and sends me texts saying how much I have spent in the last week. Also texts me when I am due to make a payment but have insufficient funds to pay, giving me time to transfer money from one account to anot Read more

My account does not allow me to have an overdraft and sends me texts saying how much I have spent in the last week. Also texts me when I am due to make a payment but have insufficient funds to pay, giving me time to transfer money from one account to another.

Reviewed on 8th March 2022
Helen Barr's avatar
Helen Barr

Good bank

Easy to open online. Branch staff responsive and helpful. Good online bank but the mobile app fails to load at times and limited branch hours are the reason for the 4.

Reviewed on 5th March 2022
Gabriell's avatar
Gabriell

Easy to use

Good website, good communication, easy to understand and informative

Reviewed on 3rd March 2022
J M B's avatar
J M B

Terrible customer service avoid this bank !

Spend over 50 min on the phone been transferred from many times with no reason and last stuff member just hung up . Terrible service avoid

Reviewed on 1st March 2022
Chris's avatar
Chris

Halifax has gone downhill fast

I have eben a customer for about 15 years of halifax , yet over the past few years,I noticed staff seemed rude and unhelpful. Now their website is not doing it's job and so far I have hung on today for over an HOUR with 2 different operators trying to get Read more

I have eben a customer for about 15 years of halifax , yet over the past few years,I noticed staff seemed rude and unhelpful. Now their website is not doing it's job and so far I have hung on today for over an HOUR with 2 different operators trying to get through as I need to make 2 payments. No one even apologised for the long delay in holding on .This is not how I expect to spend my day and time. I will be changing banks soon as this is not what I expect from a high street bank

Reviewed on 28th February 2022
Carol Cooper's avatar
Carol Cooper

Impossible to contact

Had a fraud issue with a card. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get Halifax to take any notice They don't have a secure message facility and will not, under any circumstances answer the telephone. I've spent over 2.5 hours trying to get through over the last two days. Read more

Had a fraud issue with a card. It is IMPOSSIBLE to get Halifax to take any notice They don't have a secure message facility and will not, under any circumstances answer the telephone. I've spent over 2.5 hours trying to get through over the last two days. I'm now in the process of emptying the account as I don't believe my money is safe with this organisation

Reviewed on 8th February 2022
Rm's avatar
Rm

Vigilant

Were quick to identify issues, & make us aware.

Reviewed on 29th January 2022
Tarnie's avatar
Tarnie

Worst bank and Complaint department not bothere

I spoke to a complaint handler his name was Adam Extension number: 1581599, very rude and unprofessional, refused to raise a complaint against him when he was rude on the phone, refused to deal with my open complaint and he wanted to close it without revi Read more

I spoke to a complaint handler his name was Adam Extension number: 1581599, very rude and unprofessional, refused to raise a complaint against him when he was rude on the phone, refused to deal with my open complaint and he wanted to close it without reviewing it as apparently its the same complaint as the one was opened a year ago but its not the same, he refused to listen to the call between me and collection when they actually gave me incorrect information.

I strongly don’t recommend anyone to bank with them or even bother raising a complaint as they wouldn’t even bother dealing with you, I think if there was a trophy for worst customer service, Halifax would be in the lead !

Reviewed on 28th January 2022
Laith's avatar
Laith

Easy peasy!

Online access great plus a branch if I need one!

Reviewed on 24th January 2022
David Reeves's avatar
David Reeves

Pretty standard experience

I joined Halifax as it had one of the higher interest rates and convenient branches (I am on the Expresscash account). My experience with them has been pretty standard - no bad experiences but nothing outstanding or exciting. One thing I really don't like Read more

I joined Halifax as it had one of the higher interest rates and convenient branches (I am on the Expresscash account). My experience with them has been pretty standard - no bad experiences but nothing outstanding or exciting. One thing I really don't like is their login system. You cannot have symbols in your password, it is limited by length and requires you to use a memorable phrase as a second factor (2FA is brilliant but there must be better options than this). I am considering moving to a neobank like Monzo or Starling for a better experience that reflects how I actually use my account and what a modern current account should look like.

Reviewed on 24th January 2022
Sean's avatar
Sean

Fantastic Customer Service

Offered excellent financial support especially in times of needs. Easy banking experience

Reviewed on 22nd January 2022
Jessica Dicdican's avatar
Jessica Dicdican

Super service

Friendly and helpful staff who will take time and trouble to sort out problems

Reviewed on 20th January 2022
Bella's avatar
Bella

Customer service

Even though our local bank got rid of the face to face tills, there is always a friendly face there to advise you or help you out if needed

Reviewed on 20th January 2022
Helmut Oettinger 's avatar
Helmut Oettinger

Poor interest rates

Customer service has been reasonable but the company offers no incentives to save with them unlike others. Customer service staff aren't in a position to justify those decisions

Reviewed on 19th January 2022
Margaret Ray's avatar
Margaret Ray