MORE THAN Pet Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 90 reviews       Last review 2 weeks ago    

We’ve got plenty of genuine MORE THAN pet insurance reviews, from pet owners just like you, to help you understand what life as a MORE THAN customer is really like. MORE THAN is one of the most popular providers on the market, with a policy sold every...

READ MORE

We’ve got plenty of genuine MORE THAN pet insurance reviews, from pet owners just like you, to help you understand what life as a MORE THAN customer is really like. MORE THAN is one of the most popular providers on the market, with a policy sold every two minutes. But with four different levels of cover, specialist insurance for different animals, as well as options like multi-pet insurance to consider, it can be helpful to take other people’s experiences into account. Our mission is to use the power of your reviews to help people make more successful choices when it comes to their finances. You can help us by writing your own MORE THAN pet insurance reviews to help other pet owners doing their research. Write about how easy it was to set up a policy, how your claims were handled if you made any, and any support you’ve received from customer services too. Don’t forget to include details on the type of policy and level of cover you took out as well. Smart Money People is the UK’s largest financial services review site. Help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services, by reading or writing a MORE THAN pet insurance review below.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Pet Insurance Reviews

90 reviews

Review MORE THAN's Pet Insurance now

Morally reprehensible

I'll keep it brief. They're quite happy to accept your hard earned cash, year after year. But when the time comes and you have to make a claim, they concoct some cock & bull nonsense as to why it isn't covered. 3 times in 18 months (2 dogs) we tried to cl Read more

I'll keep it brief. They're quite happy to accept your hard earned cash, year after year. But when the time comes and you have to make a claim, they concoct some cock & bull nonsense as to why it isn't covered. 3 times in 18 months (2 dogs) we tried to claim for different things and none of them were covered, leaving us with a £4k vet bill. Simply not to be trusted.

Reviewed on 5th August 2022
Chuck's avatar
Chuck

Beware of price increases at renewal

More than offer 2 policies - an annual policy and a life time policy. The life time policy means that if your pet requires ongoing treatment for an ongoing condition over several years you can claim year after year and you pay extra per month for this typ Read more

More than offer 2 policies - an annual policy and a life time policy. The life time policy means that if your pet requires ongoing treatment for an ongoing condition over several years you can claim year after year and you pay extra per month for this type of policy. What they don’t tell you is that is that if they are aware you will be claiming year after year they estimate what the vets bills will be and add that to your premiums at renewal. The price of my policy has jumped by over £500 in two years because my dog requires an antihistamine for a skin condition. And because he now has this condition I am restricted to staying with morethan which means they can increase the price by as much as they want knowing my options are limited. When I challenged them on the price increase they tried to say my Vet was the most expensive in the UK!!

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
Alan's avatar
Alan

Totally Useless Avoid !

I have been a loyal customer for many years and never made a claim on my pet insurance. Today I called More Than to try and reduce my 2 pet springer policies by combining into one. The representative was useless to say the least and had no idea what she w Read more

I have been a loyal customer for many years and never made a claim on my pet insurance. Today I called More Than to try and reduce my 2 pet springer policies by combining into one. The representative was useless to say the least and had no idea what she was doing. She could not grasp the idea of what I was trying to do. In total I pay over £600 per year for the 2 dogs. Yet go online and do a quote for both and it comes down to less than £300 as a new customer. I really would avoid these people, god knows how they would perform if I had to make a claim!!

Reviewed on 22nd April 2022
Robert McCracken's avatar
Robert McCracken

9 years insured, no claims and will not pay

Until this year we have had no problems, in the beginning of the year our dog had a cyst on her lower eye lid. We had it operated on and then claimed. More Than Reply..as we had renewed our policy online we fell under the 14 days clause...£600 not covered Read more

Until this year we have had no problems, in the beginning of the year our dog had a cyst on her lower eye lid. We had it operated on and then claimed. More Than Reply..as we had renewed our policy online we fell under the 14 days clause...£600 not covered.
2nd incident. So our dog has come out in hotspots which are due to allergies. I had blood tests done, sent to America for results. Vaccination available. Obviously I booked it and paid for in advance as our vet tells me that her dog has had the same and her insurance has paid out. More than reply. Not covered. £700 Thank you More Than for nothing. 9 years no claims. No payout. That's loyalty. Not! Didn't even inform me. Had to chase up myself.

Reviewed on 13th April 2022
Rachael Odom's avatar
Rachael Odom

Rip off & tried to take two excess payments

They are the worst pet insurance , They took two excess payments for one illness I rang & rang them I had to involve the Ombudsman then they paid the excess back but they then paid the vets instead of me then I had to get it back off the vets ? they neve Read more

They are the worst pet insurance , They took two excess payments for one illness I rang & rang them I had to involve the Ombudsman then they paid the excess back but they then paid the vets instead of me then I had to get it back off the vets ? they never respond back to you when you ring them they say they understand and will get back to you but they never do , now they have increased my policy for my dog by £70 month what a rip off I will never insure any future pet car or house with them again avoid them like the plague

Reviewed on 6th April 2022
Ros 's avatar
Ros

High Premiums but worth it when I needed to claim

I've been with MoreThan Pet insurance for several years, my dog is now 11 years old and I was concerned at the increase in premiums at renewal as she gets older. This year I needed to claim over £1000 of vet bills, and I must say I am very impressed with Read more

I've been with MoreThan Pet insurance for several years, my dog is now 11 years old and I was concerned at the increase in premiums at renewal as she gets older. This year I needed to claim over £1000 of vet bills, and I must say I am very impressed with the ease and speed of the claim, and received my payout, minus the 20% excess very quickly indeed. Don't make the mistake of cancelling and renewing to get a better price each year, or you may not be covered for any illnesses that were present before the renewal date, in other words keep the same policy ticking over each year.

Reviewed on 4th February 2022
Mark Murphy's avatar
Mark Murphy

dental /cancer

our dog had dental work carried out ,and after a few weeks started to lose weight fast . it turned out the dental work wasnt the problem it was the cancer . the dog was put to sleep . we forwarded the bill to more than , as we were paying 120.00 per month Read more

our dog had dental work carried out ,and after a few weeks started to lose weight fast . it turned out the dental work wasnt the problem it was the cancer . the dog was put to sleep . we forwarded the bill to more than , as we were paying 120.00 per month . never made a claim ever . the dog was 13 years old . a week or so later we got a letter back we are not paying you over 1500.00 was the bill we were left with . totally crap company . avoid at all costs . they say there looking into it but after 9 days still nothing . avoid avoid avoid . a british company at its best ................

Reviewed on 24th November 2021
Kevin Routley's avatar
Kevin Routley

AVOID THIS COMPANY

Premiums will start out low. However if your pet develops any condition they will price you’re premiums to recover costs. I have a 3 year old Lhasa who has always been insured with MT. FIRST years premium was £28 pm (£336) Per yearHe was diagnosed half Read more

Premiums will start out low. However if your pet develops any condition they will price you’re premiums to recover costs.
I have a 3 year old Lhasa who has always been insured with MT. FIRST years premium was £28 pm (£336) Per yearHe was diagnosed half way through first year with hip dysplasia. Second years monthly payments £80.63 pm £967.56 for the year. Just got renewal £142 pm so £1700 for year.
DISGUSTING ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING.
They cannot justify these prices

Reviewed on 12th November 2021
dorsal-infants.0b@icloud.com's avatar
dorsal-infants.0b@icloud.com

ongoing conditions

buyer beware-- my dog suffers from incontinence which is ongoing controlled by propalin but at each renewal they start the year again so cost never reaches the excess so more than never pays, this is a rip-off

Reviewed on 10th November 2021
mary clarke's avatar
mary clarke

Transparent, helpful and empathetic

Having just submitted my first ever pet insurance claim, I've had a few challenges with my vets (administrative), but More Than have been outstanding. The two occasions I called (one to find out what the heck to do and the second to check they'd received Read more

Having just submitted my first ever pet insurance claim, I've had a few challenges with my vets (administrative), but More Than have been outstanding. The two occasions I called (one to find out what the heck to do and the second to check they'd received the forms correctly given the challenges I'd had with the admin at the vets) the customer service I received was empathetic, supportive, honest, transparent and very helpful. Despite the pandemic and the inevitable delays this could cause, my calls were answered quickly, and my claim processed in a good time. Obviously I am nervous about what this claim will do to my premium, but I appreciate the quality of the support I've received very much indeed.

Reviewed on 31st July 2021
Sian Owen's avatar
Sian Owen

GREEDY COMPANY.

It was 2018 and into my 4th year with More Than pet insurance when I had to make a claim for my dog to have treatment. Since then they have increased my premium to from £400 in 2019 to £900 in 2020 and this year they wanted £1300. Even though I have never Read more

It was 2018 and into my 4th year with More Than pet insurance when I had to make a claim for my dog to have treatment. Since then they have increased my premium to from £400 in 2019 to £900 in 2020 and this year they wanted £1300. Even though I have never made anymore claims.
I paid it last year assuming that because I had made a claim, no other company would insure me. I should have checked. I went online and got a quote from Bought By Many. It is the same amount of cover, but a lot less excess for £585 for the year. Obviously I jumped at it. I am £715 better off, not that I was even thinking of them paying More Than that amount, because I know next year it would have been £2000.
Avoid them, they pay out direct to your vets without any problems, but then they try and get as much back from you as they can. Don't make the mistake I made last year by assuming no one else will insure you.

Reviewed on 24th June 2021
Peter Reed's avatar
Peter Reed

They are money grabbing dodgy players

Got my small dog insured with with them in 2019 for £21.73 per month. The renewal figure for this year (2021) is coming in at £31.71. I have not made a claim during the two years I have been with them. I will be searching for a new provider this month . T Read more

Got my small dog insured with with them in 2019 for £21.73 per month. The renewal figure for this year (2021) is coming in at £31.71. I have not made a claim during the two years I have been with them. I will be searching for a new provider this month . They are a bunch of rip off merchants so don't go near them.

Reviewed on 11th May 2021
Mark Jordan 's avatar
Mark Jordan

DO NOT TAKE A POLICY WITH MORETHAN

Never ever use this company, MORETHAN, for your pet insurance, they sell you insurance but do not pay when accidents happen to your pet. We are not all VETs and most people don't know when dog breads have any weaknesses but be assured THEY DO and have eve Read more

Never ever use this company, MORETHAN, for your pet insurance, they sell you insurance but do not pay when accidents happen to your pet. We are not all VETs and most people don't know when dog breads have any weaknesses but be assured THEY DO and have everything covered in the small print not to cover that weakness, be assured they won't be paying your vet bills even though they tell you they will........ Always read the small print twice....

Reviewed on 14th April 2021
Catherine Hannah's avatar
Catherine Hannah

Avoid like the plague

I have had my 2 cats insured for a number of years with More Than. Suddenly last year, the insurance went to £1500 for the 2 because of their age. Plus I had to pay £200 excess each year for each pet making it £1900 PLUS another 20% of any claim. My vet t Read more

I have had my 2 cats insured for a number of years with More Than. Suddenly last year, the insurance went to £1500 for the 2 because of their age. Plus I had to pay £200 excess each year for each pet making it £1900 PLUS another 20% of any claim. My vet told me I had around £600 vet bills over the year. I am better off paying myself and get rid of the insurance. The final stab in the back? More Than said the insurance will double in price every year. What a rip off! They lure you in to a sense of trust then when they know they have you, the prices rocket. They Bought by Many or Animal Friends but ask questions and check for hidden costs. AND ask what rate of increase in cost of coverage as the pet gets older. Dont get caught like I did !!!!

Reviewed on 11th February 2021
Susan Thorkildsen 's avatar
Susan Thorkildsen

Dont ever use them money grabbing thiefs

When the dog was a puppy the price was just affordable, every year the price goes up hundreds of pounds from the year before, if i had another dog i would put the same amount in to the bank .

Reviewed on 20th January 2021
stefan Bougeard's avatar
stefan Bougeard

Don't be fooled by new policy prices as there are huge price increases year on year

Please please think twice before insuring your pet with More Than Pet Insurance, going by my experience. On my pets 8th year, my insurance renewal quote sent to me was £229.44 a month! It has left me with the heartbreaking decision to have to cancel my po Read more

Please please think twice before insuring your pet with More Than Pet Insurance, going by my experience. On my pets 8th year, my insurance renewal quote sent to me was £229.44 a month! It has left me with the heartbreaking decision to have to cancel my policy with them when i have been a customer with them since he was a puppy. I feel they don't have the dogs interest at heart and only interested in making money on each policy otherwise they out price you. I don't want anyone else to have to go through this experience without being made aware of this. Reading other peoples reviews also which are all similar to mine, it seems them pretty much double the policy price every year whether you claim or not. BEWARE!

Reviewed on 18th January 2021
CHARLIE's avatar
CHARLIE

WATCH OUT!

Check your renewal cost as mine jumped from £470 to £702 in one year and I had made NO claims whatsoever!! I feel they count on you not checking the cost and just allowing the policy to renew and then it's too late! When I phoned to cancel, they suddenl Read more

Check your renewal cost as mine jumped from £470 to £702 in one year and I had made NO claims whatsoever!! I feel they count on you not checking the cost and just allowing the policy to renew and then it's too late! When I phoned to cancel, they suddenly dropped the price by over £100 but that still wasn't comparable to what I could get elsewhere for the same policy schedule. Not the way to treat customer and I won't use them again.

Reviewed on 10th November 2020
Gail's avatar
Gail

0 stars let alone 1!

I had my amazing Lhasa apso for near 15 years and he sadly passed away a day ago. Due to this useless company not doing their job correctly not only do I have to suffer with the bereavement of losing my beloved boy, but I also have to deal with a fee of 5 Read more

I had my amazing Lhasa apso for near 15 years and he sadly passed away a day ago. Due to this useless company not doing their job correctly not only do I have to suffer with the bereavement of losing my beloved boy, but I also have to deal with a fee of 500 pounds because I was never offered the euthanasia and cremation add on to my policy from the beginning when I joined and nearly 15 years later! Any pet owner would obviously say yes to paying an extra 150 to make sure they are covered for their pet incase of illness. I am absolutely disgusted that I was also told if I didn’t decide on euthanasia and I basically allowed my boy to suffer until his final day I would have been covered. What a horrible comment to come out with! They call themselves a friendly pet insurance company. They are a disgrace to all pet owners and animals! Don’t waste your money and time on this waste of fresh air. It’ll be better off BULLDOZED!

Reviewed on 5th November 2020
S's avatar
S

Wouldn't use again after putting me in financial hardship

My dog had to have tests and treatment. Wasn't pre-existing as shown from blood results. Vets agreed that I can claim, which I why I went through with the advice. Morethan won't pay out... Annoyingly, they have tried to re-new my policy, at a much more ex Read more

My dog had to have tests and treatment. Wasn't pre-existing as shown from blood results. Vets agreed that I can claim, which I why I went through with the advice. Morethan won't pay out... Annoyingly, they have tried to re-new my policy, at a much more expensive rate than I found with them through the internet... When I called they offered a discount (why don't they just do that anyways...). Personal experience hasn't been good.

Reviewed on 5th November 2020
Dogman's avatar
Dogman

Fantastic company

Really good rates on pet insurance had everything I needed to insure my pet with them

Reviewed on 15th September 2020
Laura 's avatar
Laura