Smart Money People Logo

Direct Line: Pet Insurance reviews

3.58
Based on 30 reviews, last reviewed 11th Sep 2023
No new 5 star reviews
in the past 90 days
No new 1 star reviews
in the past 90 days
See only 5 star reviews
70%
See only 4 star reviews
10%
See only 3 star reviews
7%
See only 2 star reviews
3%
See only 1 star reviews
10%

Latest highest rating:

5

Dog and Cat Insurance Direct Line entered both Dog and Cat on one policy. Other insurers required separate policies. Direct Line were £15 per month cheaper than Pet Plan. Reviewed on: 24th August 2023
Roland Foskett's avatar
Roland Foskett

Latest lowest rating:

1

Any excuse to turn down claim. Insured for 5 years, never made a claim until now when my dog had an ear infection requiring treatment costing over £500. Never thought for a moment t... Read more Reviewed on: 11th September 2023
Alan Buchanan 's avatar
Alan Buchanan

About the Pet Insurance

If you’re looking for a new pet insurance provider, gain valuable insight by reading customer reviews. We collect Direct Line pet insurance reviews to help you understand what life as a Direct Line customer is really like.

Direct Line offers pet insurance policies for cats and dogs, with a multi-pet discount available too. Choose between Essential and Advanced cover, depending on how comprehensive you need your policy to be. Make your policy more secure with additional extras, such as third party liability and overseas travel cover. All policies come with 24/7 vet access.

If Direct Line sounds like the right insurer to protect your pet, learn more by reading our reviews. Find out why policyholders chose Direct Line and whether it has lived up to their expectations. Learn what animal customers have insured and which policy they chose. Find out how comprehensive Direct Line’s policies really are. Read all of this and more in our Direct Line pet insurance reviews.

Our mission is to use the power of your reviews to help people make more successful choices. Have you had a pet insurance policy with Direct Line? Share your honest experience with our Smart Money People community to help other pet owners just like you. Tell us what policy you opted for and whether you were satisfied with the cover you received. Detail any experience you may have had with the customer service team or claims process. Would you renew your policy with Direct Line? Whether good or bad, leave a Direct Line pet insurance review today.

Review Direct Line: Pet Insurance now

Help others make smarter decisions by sharing your own experience. Write a review

Direct Line Pet Insurance reviews (30)

Any excuse to turn down claim.

1
Insured for 5 years, never made a claim until now when my dog had an ear infection requiring treatment costing over £500. Never thought for a moment this sham of a company would turn down my claim, but they did saying as my dog had an ear infection 4 years ago that the current infection was a recurring illness..My vet wrote to them saying he believed this was a new infection with no link to the previous infection which they ignored.. Pathetic service. Reviewed on: 11th September 2023
Alan Buchanan 's avatar
Alan Buchanan

Dog and Cat Insurance

5
Direct Line entered both Dog and Cat on one policy. Other insurers required separate policies. Direct Line were £15 per month cheaper than Pet Plan. Reviewed on: 24th August 2023
Roland Foskett's avatar
Roland Foskett

Fantastic Insurance and Kind as well

5
My cat sadly had to be put down and was insured through Direct Line. The vets told me that they could communicate with Direct Line for payment, so all I had to do was fill out a short form and everything was dealt with. Direct Line then got in touch to let me know the claim had gone through and also to pass on their condolences. Fantastic service at a really difficult time. Reviewed on: 24th August 2023
Clare Burgess's avatar
Clare Burgess

Gone downhill massively in past three years.

1
Got pre authorisation and then left out of pocket by nearly £700. Not much else to say is there? Reviewed on: 22nd August 2023
Chris Roberts's avatar
Chris Roberts

Do you have a different Direct Line product?

Share your experiences with products to help others make smarter financial decisions and learn more about different products available. Write a review
Are you a business? Get insights, reply to reviews, invite customers and understand their needs

There's still more to see!

Direct Line has a range of products available. Check the ratings of each product to find the right one for you. View all products