Swinton Insurance Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 86 reviews       Last review 3 months ago    

Swinton car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Swinton car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process....

READ MORE

Swinton car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Swinton car insurance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Swinton before, you too can write a short Swinton car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

Your Car Insurance Reviews

86 reviews

Review Swinton Insurance's Car Insurance now

SCAM money out of you, no idea what they are doing!

Got new insurance with them, they sent a letter saying it was cancelled, when I called its because a previous case was open even though its settled, (took multiple calls for them to realise this is why) anyway finally paid extra to cover it, including an Read more

Got new insurance with them, they sent a letter saying it was cancelled, when I called its because a previous case was open even though its settled, (took multiple calls for them to realise this is why) anyway finally paid extra to cover it, including an extra fee for paperowrk which is fine, only to have an email this morning to say our insurance has been cancelled, we were refunded MINUS another free and MINUS the money Ipaid previously on top of the origional.

So I am now £70 down and have to fork out for another insurance company! Complete waste of money and time, the customer service lady has NO idea what she is doing, very unprofessional, useless and scammers!

Reviewed on 23rd August 2022
Honest Life - Creative Soul's avatar
Honest Life - Creative Soul

Very poor customer service

Called Swinton 3 times to discuss the price of my car insurance. The person I spoke to hung up before answering all of my questions. Treated with contempt. Will not use them again.

Reviewed on 30th June 2022
Alan Wakeham's avatar
Alan Wakeham

Horrible service

Never sign up again! My car was hit in a carpark, and I reported claim on the day. Now it's been almost a week, it is still unsettled yet. My car has not being picked up to repair, neither a replacement car provided. I have been spent hours every day Read more

Never sign up again!
My car was hit in a carpark, and I reported claim on the day. Now it's been almost a week, it is still unsettled yet. My car has not being picked up to repair, neither a replacement car provided.

I have been spent hours every day to chase up, and everytime I was told different stories. First I was told my have no liability, will get my car repaired and replacement car in next day, which didn't happen of course. Then I was told there is no third party for them to claim to, so they are putting my claim as "Approved Repair", which mean I need to pay the excess myself. I accepted it. but it didn't happen either. Now I was told that I need to claim under my own policy, which means I am losing my NCD.

The worst thing is every time I call, I am redirect among different companies. and I need to chase up each companies myself, to name a list the companies I have to call on a daily basis.

Swinton (My insurance company)
Kinderton ( My insurance handler)
MarketStudy (My insurance underwriter)
Vizion or something sounds like that ( orginizer for car repiaring)
Auxillies ( Car rental)

MarketStudy was the worst among them, put into the queue for literaly hours.
I have even more company names i have dealt with.

This is ridiculous and stressfull for a whole week.

A strong advice... LEAVE !

Reviewed on 28th June 2022
Jianbin Gao's avatar
Jianbin Gao

Lied to me

Told me I would receive a interim payment and then second instalment at further date for full value of vehicle being written off lied and shut case left me with no van total liars do not trust

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
David Baker's avatar
David Baker

cashback offer car insurence

Putting offers on cashback sites to get you to buy insurance then when it's due refusing in the hope you forgot and give you nothing, took out car insurance paid in full with the offer through top cashback of 42 pounds, refused it months later con and fal Read more

Putting offers on cashback sites to get you to buy insurance then when it's due refusing in the hope you forgot and give you nothing, took out car insurance paid in full with the offer through top cashback of 42 pounds, refused it months later con and false advertising and taking people's money by deceit, in the process of sending screenshot off top cashback of there refusal to Ombudsman and trading standards as they have probably done this to hundreds of customers, and top cashback takes you to the offer you can't make a mistake before they say that as an excuse, probably owe thousands to a lot of people. And please ignore their trained customer service response of never heard of you, there are rules, please contact us (which I have) we are sorry customers first, and whatever else. I have now again contacted them failed for weeks to deal with it sent a letter to me saying we are investigating will be in touch after weeks of waiting. Had another letter 2 months later saying there investigating but as time is up I can contact financial Ombudsman which I will now do, as they are still investigating, how can they need to investigate there own offer from themselves for 3 month its there own offer they can see it, and second how do they need time to see there offer on top cash back they out it there just contact top cash and look at there own system, third its wrote in black and white on top cash back account that they refused to pay it, there's nothing to investigate its all there to see, and even though the evidence is there they have it they still refuse to pay up and even put me through having to contact Ombudsman by there asking in the hope i dont, an investigation into a offer that's own and that in wrote in black and white showing there refusal on a respected company site top cash where swinton put the offer just contact them investigation over, if they can't deal with this thats there own doing how the gods name do you go on with something serious, so I'll say once again to anyone using offers or cashback sites thinking of taking offers with these as it comes up cheaper in the long run DO NOT AS IT WONT, look for other insurance offer on the sites,probaly happend to hundreds, so now Ombudsman it is because they cannot find there own offers. avoid.

Reviewed on 7th November 2021
sarah's avatar
sarah

They don't cover my area

They don't cover my area as if I live in a foreign country! Talk about integration and no child left in poverty well if people are given insurance quotes based on where they are born or live surely you are partly to blame for poverty and inequality in my Read more

They don't cover my area as if I live in a foreign country! Talk about integration and no child left in poverty well if people are given insurance quotes based on where they are born or live surely you are partly to blame for poverty and inequality in my area.
If you think my area is not worthy of insurance then get bulldozers and bring down to ground!

Reviewed on 27th September 2021
Ana's avatar
Ana

The very best for car insurance

I've been unlucky enough and had to make 2 claims recently for my car that I recently purchased. First someone hit my car in a public car park and drove off and then again someone pulled out on me and I reversed to avoid the collision and into a bollard. Read more

I've been unlucky enough and had to make 2 claims recently for my car that I recently purchased. First someone hit my car in a public car park and drove off and then again someone pulled out on me and I reversed to avoid the collision and into a bollard. Both times the claims process was quick and painless and they helped rectify the issue. Payout was quick and the customer service agents were helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed on 22nd August 2021
Sarah Webster's avatar
Sarah Webster

Really bad service

All sorts of problems. If you say you get paid on 7th so can't pay on 6th, they say its fine we have adjusted this. And then they continue to take it on the 6th. Which it bounced on my credit file. This kept happening and I have had to cancel, really ba Read more

All sorts of problems. If you say you get paid on 7th so can't pay on 6th, they say its fine we have adjusted this.
And then they continue to take it on the 6th. Which it bounced on my credit file. This kept happening and I have had to cancel, really bad company. I had 4 bad issues in 3 months, always begging for my money.
One time it old them I get paid 300 I can pay 173 and they took nearly 250 I was literally in shock and all they did was say sorry. Please don't use this company. Plenty mire with good reviews.

Reviewed on 15th June 2021
Ryan holt's avatar
Ryan holt

Theives

Cancelled my policy 9 months in and because I brought online they charged me an extra £40 for cancellation charges. Which was half my original policy. Refused to continue the policy because I had sold my bike. And no waving of cancellation fee because I t Read more

Cancelled my policy 9 months in and because I brought online they charged me an extra £40 for cancellation charges. Which was half my original policy. Refused to continue the policy because I had sold my bike. And no waving of cancellation fee because I took the policy out online. Will never use swinton again.

Reviewed on 29th May 2021
daztats@gmail.com's avatar
daztats@gmail.com

£39 pounds to amend policy for installing a towbar

Got quoted £39 for adding a towbar to my car in my car insurance policy; not only that I tried several dates using their online procedure for amending the policy and always got quoted £39; even once I forgot to put the modification and still got quoted £3 Read more

Got quoted £39 for adding a towbar to my car in my car insurance policy; not only that I tried several dates using their online procedure for amending the policy and always got quoted £39; even once I forgot to put the modification and still got quoted £39 to amend policy. Looks like a flat rate to modify policy. When contacted the customer service they didn't care much and told me they are just brokers and is nothing to do with them.

Reviewed on 25th May 2021
Marquitos 's avatar
Marquitos

Appalling!

I have never dealt with a company like this in my life! One word.... Appalling! After my Mother's partner passing in July she has had nothing but threatening letters asking for the outstanding balance as his insurance hasn't expired!! What? He has passed Read more

I have never dealt with a company like this in my life! One word.... Appalling! After my Mother's partner passing in July she has had nothing but threatening letters asking for the outstanding balance as his insurance hasn't expired!! What? He has passed away!!!! After emailing them the relevent documentation proving he had passed away and been cremated we were told the account was now closed.... However.... She is STILL continuing to get threatening letters. The most recent arriving today October 28th. Absolute joke. If she hasn't been through enough. After calling again this evening and telling them what an embarrassment they were the call was answered by a cocky individual by the name of Luke! He didn't even apologise once for the inconvenience, let alone her loss. He wouldn't even give me the name or an email address of a manager and wanted to do nothing more than antagonise me even further. What delights you have representing your company! Bravo! I have requested an email from a senior manager tomorrow (for the third time), informing that the account has now been dealt with and closed. I'm not holding my breath. Please give these guys a wide berth. God forbid a love one passes whilst in contract with them. Charlatans!

Reviewed on 28th October 2020
Tara's avatar
Tara

Excellent Service

Excellent service and the website is easy to navigate around. I decided to renew my policy with Swinton as I was pleased with their overall performance and customer service. Thank you

Reviewed on 13th July 2020
Glyn Williams's avatar
Glyn Williams

RIP off nobs

Rip off there wanting 600 pounds off me I only been with them 14 days Keep away from them Do Not Go With them

Reviewed on 28th May 2020
Amanda Noble's avatar
Amanda Noble

Scammers!

Just a bunch of scammers. The experience was cost me 635 pounds. Stay away from the Muppets.

Reviewed on 3rd May 2020
C I's avatar
C I

Appalling service

Swinton insurance turned out to be a nightmare even before the insurance kicked in. Due an error, of which we had no part whatsoever, Swinton made upsetting and urgent demands the night before Christmas, threatened repeatedly to cancel our insurance, and Read more

Swinton insurance turned out to be a nightmare even before the insurance kicked in. Due an error, of which we had no part whatsoever, Swinton made upsetting and urgent demands the night before Christmas, threatened repeatedly to cancel our insurance, and made changes to our no claims history to a period before we became their clients. Throughout our interactions with the company, customer service has proven to be unreasonable and unfriendly. Overall, becoming Swinton's clients has proven to be a thoroughly unpleasant experience.

Reviewed on 27th February 2020
Harry Tuttles's avatar
Harry Tuttles

Terrible Company To Deal With When Car Is Stolen

Terrible Company! I will never use Swinton Car Insurance Company again. I had a BMW stolen in June. They didn't really do anything other than chase money from me. The underwriter were great and done everything they needed to. Swinton on the other hand dec Read more

Terrible Company! I will never use Swinton Car Insurance Company again. I had a BMW stolen in June. They didn't really do anything other than chase money from me. The underwriter were great and done everything they needed to. Swinton on the other hand decide to chase me for £285 when I only had £160 left to pay on the policy. I've paid the full amount to get rid of these pests but will never use them again. I would seriously consider not using them as if you have a car stolen you won't get any support or courtesy car and all they will do is hound you for your money.

Reviewed on 22nd January 2020
Steve Bird's avatar
Steve Bird

Excellent company

I've been with Swinton insurance for a few years now, they are always very helpful with any queries I have.

Reviewed on 14th September 2019
steph lovatt's avatar
steph lovatt

Faithful and loyal

Always a happy voice at the end of the line and a very helpful one too.

Reviewed on 12th September 2019
Gem Hordan's avatar
Gem Hordan

Ok, nothing special

Competitive price but average service.

Reviewed on 11th September 2019
Paul Harrison's avatar
Paul Harrison

Great insurance package

Great insurance package but ensure you do not just let them renew your policy without calling them for a better quote. They emailed to say thank you for renewing and I called as I compared other prices and they were too high and I got the exact same packa Read more

Great insurance package but ensure you do not just let them renew your policy without calling them for a better quote. They emailed to say thank you for renewing and I called as I compared other prices and they were too high and I got the exact same package as I was renewing for over £125 less per year.

Reviewed on 1st September 2019
KAREN UTTERSON's avatar
KAREN UTTERSON