Esure Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 178 reviews       Last review 2 days ago    

Esure car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Esure car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process....

READ MORE

Esure car insurance reviews on Smart Money People come from drivers like you! You can read these honest Esure car insurnance reviews to help you decide which car insurance provider is right for you...and your car! For example, read through our review to find out how good the claims process. And remember, if you've used Esure before, you too can write a short Esure car insurance review here to help other drivers. Smart Money People is the UK's leading financial services review site. Together, we can help us to increase trust and transparency in financial services.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Car Insurance Reviews

178 reviews

Review Esure's Car Insurance now

Don't use them!

They pass you on to deal with another company who are a joke. Esure did nothing to help and I was left without a car despite paying for business use and the accident caused by the other driver who admitted liability.

Reviewed on 26th September 2022
MrJ's avatar
MrJ

Don't get it

My insurance renewal has gone up by £120 over the year, I don't understand why because no claim has been made. Anyway, good luck trying to cancel the policy, you have to ring them, obviously trying to put people off cancelling. Took ages to get through, t Read more

My insurance renewal has gone up by £120 over the year, I don't understand why because no claim has been made. Anyway, good luck trying to cancel the policy, you have to ring them, obviously trying to put people off cancelling. Took ages to get through, then the person on the other end claimed he couldn't hear anything I was saying and made me say everything twice. But then mysteriously could hear me at the end of the phone call when he asked was there anything else I needed and I said no? Very bizarre glad I have renewed with someone else much cheaper. Seem like money grabbers

Reviewed on 10th September 2022
E C's avatar
E C

Email spamming

I am leaving Ensure because of a price hike & i have informed them to not auto renew as i got a price 20% cheaper with more cover. Now i am getting pestered with emails with the impression they will auto renew.

Reviewed on 25th August 2022
Chris morris's avatar
Chris morris

Overpriced unprofessional

Had a 25% increase in policy cost without any claim found another insurer that was fully comp instead of third party that included breakdown cover and a courtesy car esure quote 520 swiftcover quotes 230 avoid company

Reviewed on 22nd August 2022
darren smart's avatar
darren smart

Thumbs up

Always competitive with the annual quote

Reviewed on 12th August 2022
Robert Edwards's avatar
Robert Edwards

Awful company!

I was an esure customer for 2 years. I sold my car but the new owner crashed it a few days later. He gave his name, his insurance, accepted responsibility etc. A month later, I get a message from esure saying I have had an accident, failed to notify th Read more

I was an esure customer for 2 years. I sold my car but the new owner crashed it a few days later. He gave his name, his insurance, accepted responsibility etc. A month later, I get a message from esure saying I have had an accident, failed to notify them and to contact them within 5 days or they will pay out. No one from the claims dept would answer the phone. No one dealing with the case would answer calls and emails would take a week or more. Eventually I get an email to say they made the claim in error, the name given did not match mine, not my claim and it is closed. End of or so I thought. They then reopend the case and I had to go through the hassle of getting it closed again. Days of my life on hold. Esure then lied to me saying it wont make a difference but it does. I now have a claim on my record for someone elses accident and my insurance premium has increased massively. Avoid these cowboys!

Reviewed on 9th August 2022
redfish0's avatar
redfish0

Worst

Don't waste your time by insuring with Esure

Reviewed on 2nd August 2022
IKTIAR MASHUD's avatar
IKTIAR MASHUD

Disgusted with cancellation!!

I was forced to reinsure my dads car in April after he passed away,bearing in mind he’s had insurance with Esure for last 6-7yrs. It’s now July and my niece is using the car ,so has her own insurance. They’ve just charged me £60 to cancel the policy cos Read more

I was forced to reinsure my dads car in April after he passed away,bearing in mind he’s had insurance with Esure for last 6-7yrs. It’s now July and my niece is using the car ,so has her own insurance. They’ve just charged me £60 to cancel the policy cos it’s in its first year. However I tried the jobsworth on the other end of the phone wasn’t bending to reduce the payment to the standard £35. Disgusting given the circumstances. WILL NEVER TAKE INSURANCE OUT WITH THESE EVER AGAIN .

Reviewed on 27th July 2022
Sharon Day's avatar
Sharon Day

Left carless

I was hit at no fault of mine so my car needed to go in for a repair, collection went smooth however there was no hired car. After going back and forth for 4/5 hours I was informed I couldn’t get a hired car for 3-4 days leaving me stranded. I explained t Read more

I was hit at no fault of mine so my car needed to go in for a repair, collection went smooth however there was no hired car. After going back and forth for 4/5 hours I was informed I couldn’t get a hired car for 3-4 days leaving me stranded. I explained to them I needed my car for work etc and they didn’t care they simply said getting the customers car repaired is more important than sorting a hired car.
Absolute joke of a company.

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
Michael West's avatar
Michael West

Avoid These Scammers

Terrible Customer Service, after waiting and waiting on the phone I was cut off by a person who I thought 100% was abroad overseas due to the poor English and lack of understanding. I then had to call again and to find out I had to pay a cancellation fee Read more

Terrible Customer Service, after waiting and waiting on the phone I was cut off by a person who I thought 100% was abroad overseas due to the poor English and lack of understanding. I then had to call again and to find out I had to pay a cancellation fee for my monthly direct debit car insurance. They are scammers , stay away, pay that little more and receive the service you desire. It’s not worth saving money, or at least think your saving money when you have incompetent customer service. Stay Away or you will for sure regret your experience.

Reviewed on 18th July 2022
David Gill's avatar
David Gill

Automatic Renew Issue

Getting insured with esure was fine, at the time i opted out of automatic renew ( as i always do ) so wasn't happy receiving "automatic renew" email. I went into my log in 7 weeks before run out - renew date. Tried to do all online, but it wouldn't allo Read more

Getting insured with esure was fine, at the time i opted out of automatic renew ( as i always do ) so wasn't happy receiving "automatic renew" email.
I went into my log in 7 weeks before run out - renew date. Tried to do all online, but it wouldn't allow me to, this is to put people off & so they get fed up. I tried to call them, 40 mins holding one day, 30 mins another & so on, i finally got through after over 45 min wait on 4th attempt, calling at 8am on a wed morning, to be informed all will be sorted. But esure has taken out the money on the day now, causing overdraft issues !!! It couldn't be stopped via bank end as long card number given to pay up front for the yr, to receive discount, only if done by direct debit can it be stopped ' at the bank. It is so difficult to speak to anyone, plus all online is fine, unless you want to stop "automatic renew" then it's a "computer glitch" just absolute rubbish, but none of the hassle, waiting, calling & all that goes with it should have been anyhow, as automatic renew was declined at first stage, lost a customer here due to the hassle & stress caused, plus banking issue.

Reviewed on 18th July 2022
Beau's avatar
Beau

Horrendous contact wait time

It’s almost impossible to contact ensure via phone and live chat had me waiting over half an hour and eventually sent me back to where I started. Seriously time this company employed more staff

Reviewed on 1st July 2022
Brian R's avatar
Brian R

Worst insurance company will be takimg legal action

The worst insurance company i had a accident no fault of my own In march. I have had 0 contact from them my car still has not yet been repaired i have taken legal action against you for breach of contract

Reviewed on 7th June 2022
Sadaf's avatar
Sadaf

NEVER USE ESURE NEVER USE ESURE NEVER USE ESURE

Third party victim hit by a run away car driven by a 17 year old at 50 MPH down a one way street through a red light smashed into me head on and then reversed back and smashed into a young girl with 3 dogs. absolutely frightening thought i was dead amazed Read more

Third party victim hit by a run away car driven by a 17 year old at 50 MPH down a one way street through a red light smashed into me head on and then reversed back and smashed into a young girl with 3 dogs. absolutely frightening thought i was dead amazed when the girl walked out of her van he then did a runner before coming back much later what an experience
ESURE will insure anyone who will pay for it.
Then they totally ignore all the victims who are injured mentally and physically offer a few quid to get rid of you then wont speak to you
no help for physio MRI scans nothing on you go and get on with it
The police should be knocking on their door not the wee boy they let loose on the road
totally iresposnsible and just not interested
I suspect a pnzi schem
not to Bain Capital the owners beware of long term liabilities its like they are running out of money
Try and get the same person on the phone twice impossible

Go to Direct Line

Scott Friery

Reviewed on 2nd June 2022
scott friery's avatar
scott friery

Terrible company

Terrible customer service either polite but know nothing and give false info to get you off the phone or they’re downright rude. Be prepared to wait up to an hour at a time for them to answer your calls, then you’re put on hold for around 15 minutes and h Read more

Terrible customer service either polite but know nothing and give false info to get you off the phone or they’re downright rude. Be prepared to wait up to an hour at a time for them to answer your calls, then you’re put on hold for around 15 minutes and have to go through your whole tale again to someone else. They refer RTC damage to outsourced companies who take weeks to give an estimate then they suggest a total loss, it’s passed back to Esure whose ‘expert’ - be some kid in a call centre - takes over 2 weeks to decide if it is a write off or if they give the go ahead to repair, all the time the customer is without a courtesy car as the outsourced garage don’t have any, and you feel suicidal with the shoddy, uncaring service. Yet they’re happy to take on new customers. Never again, I’d rather pay double than go back to these cowboys

Reviewed on 28th May 2022
Terry Lane's avatar
Terry Lane

Dishonest

Hit by a young driver caused massive damage to my car and me Esure client They only talk to you if your paying them. I’m going to have to pursue the driver and insurance company through the courts even after they admitted full liability im lucky it was o Read more

Hit by a young driver caused massive damage to my car and me Esure client
They only talk to you if your paying them. I’m going to have to pursue the driver and insurance company through the courts even after they admitted full liability im lucky it was on cctv or I wiuod get nothing. My car has been off the road for 2 months They don’t return calls I have over 30 unanswered emails then you go to their complaints dept they just shrug there shoulders and that’s it
Avoid avoid avoid
They give you a video exam by a doctor of sorts he isn’t interested in what you say is wrong with you he asked me to make 2 movements and that was it then writes lies about examining me
Scott Friery

Reviewed on 23rd May 2022
Scott Friery's avatar
Scott Friery

Greedy useless company

Been with them for four years came to renew my wife's car insurance on the car because she's changed her maiden name it's now gone up over £100 they won't give us a answer as to why so I'll be canceling all three policies I have with them

Reviewed on 21st May 2022
james potts's avatar
james potts

Useless and not interested

Someone hit my car in a car park and i rang up for information They then logged it as a claim and now i have a record of a claim on my account for no reason plus i had to pay for the damage to my car myself !!!

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
Daniel 's avatar
Daniel

Incredulously poor customer service

9th March car drove into my wall. Took several attempts to engage esure who ignored me before eventually telling me to get 2 builders quotes, but they still ignored my request for information on what would happen next / the process which would get my wall Read more

9th March car drove into my wall. Took several attempts to engage esure who ignored me before eventually telling me to get 2 builders quotes, but they still ignored my request for information on what would happen next / the process which would get my wall repaired. It took over a day's worth of effort over a period of 4 weeks, contacting 13 builders, to get two quotes (main reason for not quoting was the job was to small), I sent the quotes to esure and again asked them to tell me what happens next who then ignored me, despite now requesting that they handle my case as a formal complaint. Two week's later I've just been contacted by Sedgewick Validation Services who say they have been appointed by Esure to "assess the damage". They had no other information from esure, including the 2 quotes I had sent to esure, Sedgewick suggested that I show the quotes to their assessor as it might help them in "assessing the damage". I will never, ever take insurance with esure!

Reviewed on 17th May 2022
John Sanderson's avatar
John Sanderson

USELESS

I was involved in an accident where a van collided into my car (he came into my lane) he then drove off and when I caught up to him he tried putting all the fault on me so we agreed to let insurance settle this. It was in JANUARY it’s now may and I have s Read more

I was involved in an accident where a van collided into my car (he came into my lane) he then drove off and when I caught up to him he tried putting all the fault on me so we agreed to let insurance settle this. It was in JANUARY it’s now may and I have still not heard anything from the insurance. We have tried ringing numerous times and get placed on hold or get out through to someone who knows nothing about the case. We’ve not had one single email or letter through to update us on this. I would 100% not recommend. They even said it’ll probably be shared responsibility like they didn’t want to fight my case when it was blatantly another drivers fault!

Reviewed on 11th May 2022
Emily Drury's avatar
Emily Drury