Co-op Insurance Car Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 50 reviews       Last review 4 days ago    

Co-op provides comprehensive car insurance with a guaranteed 70% No Claim Discount for 5 or more claim free years and a Courtesy Car as standard whilst yours is being repaired by a Co-op approved repairer following insured damage. If you're looking for Co...

READ MORE

Co-op provides comprehensive car insurance with a guaranteed 70% No Claim Discount for 5 or more claim free years and a Courtesy Car as standard whilst yours is being repaired by a Co-op approved repairer following insured damage. If you're looking for Co-op Insurance reviews, then take a look at what the Smart Money People community has to say.

Overall Rating

Average

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2022 is open!VOTE NOW

Your Car Insurance Reviews

50 reviews

Review Co-op Insurance's Car Insurance now

Bad customer care and not paying on time

3 weeks ago my car got accident and still they are asking lot of documents and inform us to contact many numbers to get the claim.Customer care service is horrible.even CEO didnt care about customer issues.Please dont go for this Coparative insurance. Read more

3 weeks ago my car got accident and still they are asking lot of documents and inform us to contact many numbers to get the claim.Customer care service is horrible.even CEO didnt care about customer issues.Please dont go for this Coparative insurance.

යන්න එපා.මුන්ගේ ලොකු ලයින් බලන්න වෙන්නේ දැම්මොත්..

Reviewed on 22nd June 2022
Niroshan Fernando's avatar
Niroshan Fernando

Co op, such an ironic name!

Used them last year for car insurance, however should have read reviews on them first. After having fully comp insurance, 3 months later my car got hit while stationed outside my house. Co op had been notified and police log number given. They said they Read more

Used them last year for car insurance, however should have read reviews on them first. After having fully comp insurance, 3 months later my car got hit while stationed outside my house. Co op had been notified and police log number given. They said they was not going to deal with the claim and would pass it onto another company they work with to 'see' if they would deal with it!!!! Due to this negative experience and made to feel I was an inconvenience, I chose to ignored a call from 'partner' company as if co op was like this, im sure they was not much better!
Found a company called AX (Accident Exchange) acts as an insurance claim company for victims of car accidents. Their profits come from courtesy cars they lease out.. They collected car within a couple of days; took to garage for assessment; gave me a luxury courtesy car; liased with other insurance company; Easy to get in touch with and speak too on the phone, with nice helpful staff. My car ended up being written off. I got a payment based on my cars valuation and my car back. All costs, including storage costs for car at Lexus was also passed onto other insurance company. Would give AX 5 STARS. Brilliant!
This years quote by Co op is £100 more than last year! Offers no courtesy car with that policy. Also said I have gained 0 year no claims from them. Seems unfair to put it doen as a claim when they did nothing to help anyway! No costs; time or inconvenience was incurred by Co op or their 'partner' company. So seems they are basically claiming I made a insurance claim with them, even though I basically only spoke to them once which end up as just a notification of the accident! Need to look into this. Doesnt seem fair or logical!
I have ended up finding car insurance from the comparison site at half the cost of Co op at Fully Comp, Courtesy car included.. Has a goods reviews. NEVER USE CO OP, THEY ARE EXPENSIVE AND NOT INTERESTED IN DOING THE JOB LICENCED AND TRAINED TO DO!!

Reviewed on 30th May 2022
Leah Kennedy's avatar
Leah Kennedy

AVOID THIS COMPANY

It's third week my car is not taken for repair and I was not given any curtesy car. VERY VERY BAD SERVICE. AVOID THIS WORST INSURANCE COMPANY.

Reviewed on 22nd May 2022
Omer Butt's avatar
Omer Butt

Money grabbing.

Every time you make a change it’s a £15 admin fee - but can’t tell you how this admin fee is used. And then when you pay it they put your monthly price up without notice

Reviewed on 5th April 2022
Beth H's avatar
Beth H

DO NOT BUY 12 MONTHS UPFRONT INSURANCE!!

They cancelled insurance, kept 8 months of insurance. ABSOLUTELY INCOMPETENT. expect HOURS on the phone then to be cut off. USE THEM AT YOUR PERIL

Reviewed on 1st April 2022
P Singh's avatar
P Singh

Rip off merchants

I tried to cancel my car insurance .they put down phone on me.

Reviewed on 24th February 2022
Paul leake's avatar
Paul leake

Scandalous beyond belief!

Wife’s car stolen but recovered on the same day in Feb 2021. That was 368 days ago. Now Feb 2022. Minor damage. Returned in a worse state from the garage carrying our the repair than when it was stolen. Independent assessors Hoopers shocked at the return Read more

Wife’s car stolen but recovered on the same day in Feb 2021. That was 368 days ago. Now Feb 2022. Minor damage. Returned in a worse state from the garage carrying our the repair than when it was stolen. Independent assessors Hoopers shocked at the returned state. Cost for MINOR damage £13,000 ?!? Yes £13,000….Total outrageous. Still not repaired. On Sorn as the MOT has expired. Taken away at Xmas to be repaired whilst away visiting family. Returned from abroad to discover nothing has happened to it. Now Feb 14th and it is still in a compound costing a fortune as Markerstudy who oversee these thins and deal with consumer complaints ( who I presumed were independent actually own Coop insurance ) now insist that it has to go back to the original garage that messed up the original repair. WHAT?! Having previously agreed that I have had appalling service. Spoken to 17 different people most of them fob you off. Absolutely no one takes responsibility. Truly the worst customer service I have ever received anywhere from any company. They should be ashamed.
AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!

Reviewed on 14th February 2022
Adrian Mills's avatar
Adrian Mills

Rip off

Set up policy. Decided to cancel before policy started. They insisted in charging £35. Criminals

Reviewed on 31st December 2021
Andy Frisby's avatar
Andy Frisby

Rip off and not very helpful

I have been with co-op car insurance for nearly TEN years and they are Disgusting how they treat their customers my insurance was still as dear as the day I passed my test definitely don’t recommend stay clear they are much better Company’s out their the Read more

I have been with co-op car insurance for nearly TEN years and they are Disgusting how they treat their customers my insurance was still as dear as the day I passed my test definitely don’t recommend stay clear they are much better Company’s out their they think just of the money not you as a person and your situation I’m glad I’ve left

Reviewed on 23rd December 2021
Charlotte White's avatar
Charlotte White

These people are scammers

They claim to insure you but they will just STEAL YOUR MONEY

Reviewed on 22nd June 2021
Gloria Price's avatar
Gloria Price

Absolutely rubbish

If I could put negative stars on this post I would. DO NOT use them they are a rip off. I placed a claim after a vehicle accident which wrote off my car just to be told that my insurance was void because even though the V5 had been changed to state a colo Read more

If I could put negative stars on this post I would. DO NOT use them they are a rip off. I placed a claim after a vehicle accident which wrote off my car just to be told that my insurance was void because even though the V5 had been changed to state a colour change had been done to the car I had not informed them when I took out the policy( mid July during the first lockdown) then went to customer relations to deal to be told the same rubbish by a company yes man. So no going to financial ombudsman for mediation. Don't use them they are diabolical.

Reviewed on 31st October 2020
Stephen Earle's avatar
Stephen Earle

Not helpful during Pandemic

AVOID . UNHELPFUL DURING COVID 19 Been with co - op 4 years plus. Paid monthlydirect debit installments. Because my pay dates changed and had to start paying at a different point in the month . They wanted two payments in one month ,because I couldn't Read more

AVOID .
UNHELPFUL DURING COVID 19 Been with co - op 4 years plus. Paid monthlydirect debit installments. Because my pay dates changed and had to start paying at a different point in the month . They wanted two payments in one month ,because I couldn't financially do this my insurance has been swopped to annual payment up front . Direct debit was more suitable for a single mom bringing in one wage . Don't trust them .

Reviewed on 5th August 2020
Samantha Pallas's avatar
Samantha Pallas

Smart Saver

As a member of the co-operative I was given a good discount when I first insured my car and over the years It's been with no claim discount.

Reviewed on 24th June 2020
Pythias Kangwa's avatar
Pythias Kangwa

Avoid avoid avoid!

My car was written off after the floods in Yorkshire last year. Co-op Eco Insurance paid out on the claim no problem, and everything was handled very well. However... Co-op eco insurance only has ONE underwriter, and they decided they wouldn't insure Read more

My car was written off after the floods in Yorkshire last year. Co-op Eco Insurance paid out on the claim no problem, and everything was handled very well. However...

Co-op eco insurance only has ONE underwriter, and they decided they wouldn't insure my new car. I was forced to take out another policy with a good insurer, and when I called to cancel the policy, I was told that because no-one else was involved, the floods were my fault! (I also control the wind, fire, and other natural elements).

As river's overflowing were MY fault and they paid out, they are now forcing me to pay the remaining time left on the policy. They were happy to move the policy to another car they would insure, but because they wouldn't insure my new car, they're making me pay.

I would highly recommend them when things are going good, but we all buy car insurance for the times when things are going bad - that's where they are pathetic.

Do not put yourself through it because a meerkat told you too. Co-op Eco Insurance will cost you. Not recommended at all, and very disappointed.

Reviewed on 19th March 2020
Kristian Yates's avatar
Kristian Yates

Great insurance

Always helpful when contacting customer service, good cover and competitive.

Reviewed on 8th February 2020
Leahetea's avatar
Leahetea

Car vandalised

My car was vandalised. They could not quote me for new car? but on go compare they could (strange). Then tried charging me £90 for remainder of my policy on a car they had written off? including the cancellation fee? and would not admit they were the ones Read more

My car was vandalised. They could not quote me for new car? but on go compare they could (strange). Then tried charging me £90 for remainder of my policy on a car they had written off? including the cancellation fee? and would not admit they were the ones cancelling my policy as they would not insure my new car!
Disgraceful thieves managed to get this reduced to £50 and their excuse was they had to recoup their losses!!! Will avoid like the plague all their companies in future, shops, insurance and funeral AVOID AVOID AVOID

Reviewed on 7th December 2019
david's avatar
david

Affordable and Effective

Very good pricing and I have never had a cause to complain about the insurance company.

Reviewed on 22nd July 2019
Yosef Mechti's avatar
Yosef Mechti

Good Value

Really easy to take out cover and customise to your requirements. good cover fore a good price. Plus as a Co-op member you get points towards your dividend. Also now and again new customers get £* in coop food vouchers. Over all a very good value. I Read more

Really easy to take out cover and customise to your requirements. good cover fore a good price. Plus as a Co-op member you get points towards your dividend. Also now and again new customers get £* in coop food vouchers. Over all a very good value. I have not needed to claim yet so I can't comment on their claims performance.

Reviewed on 21st July 2019
Neil Platt's avatar
Neil Platt

NOTHING BAD TO SAY

BUT PREMIUMS GO UP AND UP EVERY YEAR DESPITE MY NEVER HAVING CLAIMED AND TRAVELING LESS THAN 4K MILES PER YEAR

Reviewed on 15th July 2019
nICK-EL-ODEON's avatar
nICK-EL-ODEON

Avoid it...

The worst car insurance in the UK !!! I am awaiting my excess back for over 5 months. All the information needed was provided on my part. The other party took it to court and was found guilty, the case is closed, liability determined by court, but I st Read more

The worst car insurance in the UK !!!

I am awaiting my excess back for over 5 months. All the information needed was provided on my part. The other party took it to court and was found guilty, the case is closed, liability determined by court, but I still don't have my money back.
I called Aviva and found out that they are also awaiting some information, but Coop never spoke to them in the last 4 months hence being chased Aviva on daily basis.

I am a victim but I can not get my money back.
You all avoid this Co-Op Insurance Company!!!

Reviewed on 21st June 2019
Anonymous's avatar
Anonymous