Halifax Clarity Credit Card Reviews

  Ratings based on 208 reviews       Last review 3 weeks ago    

If you're wondering whether the Halifax Clarity Credit Card is right for you, read our reviews from customers who already have the popular card. Our community reviews can help you to find out about the pros and cons of the Clarity card, which will help you make an informed decision...

READ MORE

If you're wondering whether the Halifax Clarity Credit Card is right for you, read our reviews from customers who already have the popular card. Our community reviews can help you to find out about the pros and cons of the Clarity card, which will help you make an informed decision about whether or not you should choose Halifax.

Already have the Clarity credit card? Please write your own review and share your experiences with Smart Money People, the UK's leading financial services review site.

Together, we can make financial services work better for everyone - but we need your help!

Overall Rating

Great

1

2

3

4

5
Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Insurance Choice Awards 2022 is open!VOTE HERE

Your Clarity Credit Card Reviews

208 reviews

Review Halifax's Clarity Credit Card now

Nightmare!

Just booked flights, villa, car hire and travel insurance and what a nightmare it was using my Halifax Clarity Card! Their security procedures are pants! In one day booking the above, my card was rejected 9 times. I had to ring customer services twice spe Read more

Just booked flights, villa, car hire and travel insurance and what a nightmare it was using my Halifax Clarity Card! Their security procedures are pants! In one day booking the above, my card was rejected 9 times. I had to ring customer services twice spending 20 minutes on the phone each time. I pay my credit card in full every month, so no problem on the credit front. Incredibly they've recently removed the ability to let them know you are travelling abroad. When you're increasing your security measures, why on earth would you remove this layer of extra security?? I want to let them know which country I'm travelling to so they don't block my purchases. I'm now looking for another credit card, this experience was too stressful and just not worth it. I'll be moving to a credit card with robust security procedures THAT DOESN'T BLOCK MY LEGITIMATE PURCHASES!

Reviewed on 3rd September 2022
JOHN's avatar
JOHN

Try 1 hour waiting time

Your account would be robbed of all moneys if you were trying to report a transaction by phone the waiting time is shocking, and when I finally got through to lodge a complaint it wasn't worth waiting for the service provider to log details, I have been w Read more

Your account would be robbed of all moneys if you were trying to report a transaction by phone the waiting time is shocking, and when I finally got through to lodge a complaint it wasn't worth waiting for the service provider to log details, I have been with this provider for years but I will be changing companies as soon as I can. (Halifax Mastercard wake up and smell the coffee)

Reviewed on 2nd September 2022
Stuart MacDonald's avatar
Stuart MacDonald

NEW SECURITY PROCEDURES A NIGHTMARE!

Hi, I've been booking a holiday this week and had nothing but trouble with my Halifax Clarity Card being declined. I've been booking flights, car hire, travel insurance etc. I had to ring Halifax customer services twice because payments weren't going thro Read more

Hi, I've been booking a holiday this week and had nothing but trouble with my Halifax Clarity Card being declined. I've been booking flights, car hire, travel insurance etc. I had to ring Halifax customer services twice because payments weren't going through online. I was told they were having technical issues. Their security authorisation is ill-conceived and slow. If your card is declined for a large purchase, they send a text 5 minutes afterward asking if it was you making the purchase. After responding 'yes', it takes another 5 mins to receive a text saying try again in another 10 mins! Nightmare, cannot recommend this card at all.

Reviewed on 26th August 2022
JOHN's avatar
JOHN

Best for foreign currency transfers and withdrawaling cash abroad

Great card for paying in a different currency and withdrawing cash abroad all with no charge!

Reviewed on 13th August 2022
Anton's avatar
Anton

Poor customer service

Advertise the product as a travel card. Been on holiday spending on the usual meals etc for 3 days then go to use it to hire a car (not unusual on holiday) and card is blocked. No notification or communication from Halifax. Ring up to investigate to be pu Read more

Advertise the product as a travel card. Been on holiday spending on the usual meals etc for 3 days then go to use it to hire a car (not unusual on holiday) and card is blocked. No notification or communication from Halifax. Ring up to investigate to be put through to fraud. Been waiting over an hour to get through. Why advertise as a travel card when they block it after a small number of transactions. Goodness knows how much the phone call has cost. Avoid if you want to enjoy your holiday

Reviewed on 20th July 2022
Richard Storey's avatar
Richard Storey

Mortgage, Personal and Business Accounts

I have decided to move my Mortgage, Personal and Business Accounts from Halifax after 27 years as I will not do business with a company that promotes an ideology that pretends to be inclusive, but is designed to coerce its staff and customers. The promot Read more

I have decided to move my Mortgage, Personal and Business Accounts from Halifax after 27 years as I will not do business with a company that promotes an ideology that pretends to be inclusive, but is designed to coerce its staff and customers.
The promotion of displaying pronouns was illiberal enough, but the Halifax Twitter feed insulting customers and telling them to quit the bank demonstrates that Halifax's judgement cannot be trusted.

Reviewed on 29th June 2022
Jenny Effbloor's avatar
Jenny Effbloor

Fantastic customer service

Halifax provided fantastic customer services after I was a victim of online fraud

Reviewed on 11th March 2022
Eden Musyoki's avatar
Eden Musyoki

Well done

I have to say Halifax are a great company for all my banking but I particularly like the Clarity credit card. Great card for all my travel needs. Thanks

Reviewed on 2nd March 2022
Barbara McGarrity's avatar
Barbara McGarrity

Best overseas credit card

I use it all the time to pay for meals and other purchases when I'm abroad. The fees are minimal.

Reviewed on 19th February 2022
Dawn's avatar
Dawn

Easy to use credit card

Easy to use credit card with no extra overseas charges.

Reviewed on 30th January 2022
Lan Vong's avatar
Lan Vong

Card that does not let you down

Useful when travelling abroad as the exchange rate applied appears fair with no hidden extras.

Reviewed on 18th January 2022
Happyhen's avatar
Happyhen

Great clarity card

Been using this card abroad for many years, always a comforting backup and easy to use in all shops, bars, and restaurants. Knowing the low/no fees is superb.

Reviewed on 13th January 2022
robflow401's avatar
robflow401

Great card for using abroad

I have had this card for over 12 years, I take it everywhere with me as it has free transactions abroad. Plus when I have had to make a claim after there was an issue with a cancelled holiday during the pandemic I was refunded by Halifax straight away

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Julie Feathers's avatar
Julie Feathers

Great credit card

Love the Halifax Clarity Credit card; it's great for overseas spending as it offers a competitive exchange rate. I also love that I can track my spend straight away on the Halifax app and check pending transactions!

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
Josh's avatar
Josh

Great card for foreign use

Had this card for years as it's perfect for using abroad and at home. Never had any issues with customer service from Halifax.

Reviewed on 12th January 2022
GB's avatar
GB

Great for travelling abroad

Great for travelling abroad. Very friendly customer service and good app.

Reviewed on 6th January 2022
Kamil's avatar
Kamil

Wouldn't leave the UK without It!

Take all your travel cards and bin them... clarity isthe way to go!

Reviewed on 28th July 2021
Ben Jeffs's avatar
Ben Jeffs

Halifax lowered my credit limit

Halifax lowered customer credit limits for no valid reason. the Institution must improve the conditions of its clients or clients must be rewarded since without clients there are no institutions. Halifax wants disgruntled customers to be forced to spend t Read more

Halifax lowered customer credit limits for no valid reason. the Institution must improve the conditions of its clients or clients must be rewarded since without clients there are no institutions. Halifax wants disgruntled customers to be forced to spend their time making phone calls to complain or asked to write down their complaints, which in my opinion never produces a positive outcome for customers.
Whoever applies this strategy of deteriorating the conditions of customers clearly shows that he has no idea what customer service is all about.
The clients are what keep the institutions running without the clients there would be no institution.

Reviewed on 24th July 2021
Orlando Marquez's avatar
Orlando Marquez

Product easy to use, excellent customer service.

Have always found the card easy to use and financially beneficial. Plus, after once falling victim of a cyber crime, had instant help from the customer relations team. Bravo, and thank you.

Reviewed on 14th June 2021
Vladimir Naoumov's avatar
Vladimir Naoumov

Used to be great, but overtaken by competitors, and customer service is woeful

I originally got a Clarity card for use abroad. There are now other products that offer far greater benefits, so my card sits unused. Customer service has been dreadful whenever I’ve had reason to contact Halifax, and their app is woeful compared to other Read more

I originally got a Clarity card for use abroad. There are now other products that offer far greater benefits, so my card sits unused. Customer service has been dreadful whenever I’ve had reason to contact Halifax, and their app is woeful compared to others that I use. Not recommended.

Reviewed on 10th March 2021
cmsmith8's avatar
cmsmith8