John Lewis Pet Insurance Reviews

  Ratings based on 7 reviews       Last review 7 months ago    

John Lewis offer pet insurance policies designed to help keep your beloved pet safe and sound. With pet owners understandably wanting to make sure that they choose the best pet insurnace company, Smart Money People is the place for independent John...

READ MORE

John Lewis offer pet insurance policies designed to help keep your beloved pet safe and sound. With pet owners understandably wanting to make sure that they choose the best pet insurnace company, Smart Money People is the place for independent John Lewis pet insurance reviews. Our mission is to use the power of YOUR reviews to help increase trust and transparency in financial services. You can help us by writing your own John Lewis pet insurance reviews to help other pet owners to find out what life as an John Lewis pet insurace customer is really like.

Overall Rating

Good

1

2

3

4

5

John Lewis Review Insight

What are people saying in their reviews?

Price & Interest Rates

100% of feedback is Process related

Customer profile

Top Age Profile: 35-44

Top Channel Preference: Online

Consumer Credit Awards
Voting in the Consumer Credit Awards 2021 is now open!VOTE NOW

Your Pet Insurance Reviews

7 reviews

Review John Lewis's Pet Insurance now

Try leaving them!

A lot of positive reviews for JL pet insurance are around initial set up. That and their customer service (bar when you try to leave them) are great.... Read more

A lot of positive reviews for JL pet insurance are around initial set up. That and their customer service (bar when you try to leave them) are great.
However....
Every year you will be stung with huge premium increases even if you make no claims/ the claims you make are for one-off (not ongoing/ lifelong) issues. I was an idiot and kept paying it for 12+ years (ending on £95pm to insure a Yorkie that I've paid 95% of the vet's bills myself) because they cover your pet for life. Believe me this gains you no grace with them - they will never budge on the cost because they know they're one of the only providers who offer life-time. But when you look at what you can claim back for a life-long illness be aware; you have to pay quite a lot yourself first - luckily my pup didn't have a lifelong issue but had she it would have rendered the policy nigh-on worthless, depending on the ongoing costs.
Their claim-back process is stuck in the 90's, none of it's truly online, you have to print things out and email everyone yourself trying to get back any money you want (after their hefty excess -which also sneakily increases some years) ... it's tiresome to the point you have to question whether any claim is worth your time.

Then, when you finally can't afford to be with them and you try to leave - good luck! I cancelled my policy on 12/8/20 by email, no reply by 09/09/20 so I called to cancel. I got an email the same day replying to my email of the 12th asking me if I wanted to cancel in language that made no sense 'please let me know so I can do the needful' (?) and as I had cancelled by phone already and my email clearly stated I wished to cancel I disregarded it. If you cancel a policy by email a provider's response should not be to ignore you for a month, for you to repeatedly chase to then reply asking you if you want to cancel.

4th Jan 21 and my bank text me about an account I no longer use saying I'm being charged for unauthorised use because JL have been taking £95pm for the last 5 months after my policy was cancelled by email and phone.
I called JL - on hold for 30 mins to get through, got through put on hold for another 5 mins when I did, got cut off, no call back.
I called again, on hold for 30 mins to get through and the lady said that they need to check with their underwriters that they can refund me - even though they can see I emailed to cancel, and there is a call with no notes on the day I called to cancel.

I will have to wait for 48 hours to find out if the underwriter's accept my cancellation and will back-date the money owed to me. All because JL didn't cancel my policy as requested by me. £500 for their mistake and rather than refund me and accept the loss if the underwriter says no - I have to accept the loss if they do? I've spent about £10k with them and this is the goodbye I get.
Imagine if I went into a JL store and helped myself to £500 worth of stuff and on being stopped by security said 'You'll need to wait 48 hours while I check with my friend if you can have it back'. JL would have me arrested.
They will happily steal from you and say that though.

If you take a policy out with them it will be the most boring, expensive, experience of your life - you have to get everything in writing and be spot on with your own admin because they cannot be trusted.

Reviewed on 4th January 2021
MrsH's avatar
MrsH

Avoid!

They have just increased my annual premium by £400 I failed to notice this last year but they now want £1500 to ensure two mongrel dogs aged 5 and 6. I am appalled.

Reviewed on 5th February 2019
Kate Amy's avatar
Kate Amy

Premium Rip Off

5 years no claims. Massive premium hikes year after year. Another £200 this year. Decision taken to change saving of £400 for identical cover! Thought John Lewis was a trustworthy company but now realise they are like all insurance companies if you a... Read more

5 years no claims. Massive premium hikes year after year. Another £200 this year. Decision taken to change saving of £400 for identical cover! Thought John Lewis was a trustworthy company but now realise they are like all insurance companies if you auto renew they rob you blind. On principal will never insure with them again. Be warned!

Reviewed on 18th January 2019
Angela's avatar
Angela

Purrfect

The initial set up was easy, straight forward and very clear. We have had no further calls pushing us to buy other products and we can rely on the service when we need.

Reviewed on 4th July 2017
Krystal Cunningham's avatar
Krystal Cunningham

sick cat

what i like about john lewis pet insurance,is you have the option to speak to a vetinary nurse who can often save you time and money,rather than going to the vet itself.and we all know how expensive they are!

Reviewed on 15th September 2016
alan millard's avatar
alan millard

Helpful friendly service

One of our cats recently went missing for a couple of nights, which is highly unusual. I called John Lewis and they said my policy covered advertising and a reward. I started to take them up on this offer and the gentleman on the call was extremely... Read more

One of our cats recently went missing for a couple of nights, which is highly unusual. I called John Lewis and they said my policy covered advertising and a reward. I started to take them up on this offer and the gentleman on the call was extremely helpful and understanding of the situation. Fortunately a couple of hours later i found the cat trapped down a hole a few streets away, so i didn't need to use the advertising or reward money offered by my policy. Just knowing it is there and can be used in this instance is very good and the staff were extremely friendly.

Reviewed on 22nd August 2016
Chris Pike's avatar
Chris Pike

Don't get fooled by the fantastic price when you first take out policy. Started out at £19.00 pm, now paying £64.00 pm.

My husky suffers with Rhinitus, it's an on going thing requiring steroids and antibiotics maybe twice a year. If I try to change companies, I will not be covered for this as it is pre existing illness. Only way is to take a policy with another... Read more

My husky suffers with Rhinitus, it's an on going thing requiring steroids and antibiotics maybe twice a year. If I try to change companies, I will not be covered for this as it is pre existing illness. Only way is to take a policy with another company, but when we need the steroids and antibiotics, get vet to write prescription and buy online.

Reviewed on 26th November 2015
Lynne Hicks's avatar
Lynne Hicks